We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

83.7% Overall Rating

944 out of 1051 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2015)

Sarah Williams thinks…

"very easy to get to and the staff were great. also near other good hostel bars and nice restaurants."

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.47
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
29.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
26.27 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 10 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
20.49 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
22.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.6% 71 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
21.24 USD

Hostel 84.6% 264 reviews
Carlito's Way
21.24 USD

Hostel 81.6% 91 reviews
The Yellow
29.35 USD

Hostel 86.9% 1127 reviews
BT Rooms
23.48 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

944 out of 1051 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 742 of 807 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very easy to get to and the staff were great. also near other good hostel bars and nice restaurants.

Disliked: nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

HUSEYIN CINAR

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 HUSEYIN would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull stuff and opens 7/24

Disliked: They dont have a line about age on the People Who share multiple rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morgan Wallace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has been my favourite so far! The location is an easy walk from the main train station and two different metro stops. The area was full of great restaurants and safe. We were two girls and were able to safely walk from the train station without any problems in the wee hours of the morning. This hostel also has a bar which hosts pub crawls every other night! The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. Definitely would stay there again and recommend it to all!

Disliked: The wifi would force you to reconnect too often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Neville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 William would recommend this property

Liked: My favorite hostel I stayed at during my 4 months of traveling Europe. This place is right by main transportation in Rome, near the central station where all the bus lines and metro come by. The hostel is clean and he a really fun atmosphere, with tons of activities hosted each week. We had a party on the garden rooftop with good, cheap drinks and time to hang out with other travelers.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catriona Fraser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2015 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: In the room o stayed in there were six beds. However there were only four lockers for securing your belongings and out of this four, there were only two that functioned properly. This left me feeling worried about my belongings all day

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Deepu Abraham Varughese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Deepu would recommend this property

Liked: Location - 5 min walk from Roma Termini (if you know the directions) Bramble Bar - the next door bar / restuarant was one of my best in Rome.

Disliked: At night, the walk from train station to the hostel might seem a little scary and dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. I mean I wish they did more about the bathroom while we were there but I guess they did the best they could with what they had.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled really horrible and the hostel was not as Soical as we thought it was going to b

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joshua Henckel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2015

Liked: Leaving Bed Bug Palace!

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!! I got over 60 bites on my body on my first day there. I had to relocate to a different room at 3am and then changed hostels first thing in the morning. I was refunded for the nights I didn't stay, but they should have given me a complete refund since they gave me bed bugs! Bad business practice to make someone pay any amount for bed bugs! To make matters worse, it cost me €100 to get medicines, shampoo, do ALL my laundry, had to throw away a few items that got damaged in the process, AND I lost a full day in Rome having to take care of all this! Unacceptable! Not something that any traveler should have to deal with, due to laziness and poor cleaning! Instead of worrying about making money, why not close for a day and take care of the infestation throughout your hostel?! This isn't a one time thing either. They admitted having an issue with bed bugs in their other building as well, and it's been reported before. Google Alessandro Palace and bed bugs!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mugdhaa Banerjee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Mugdhaa would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness to the location, you wouldn't be in a better place.

Disliked: The bar should be open after 1am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MICHAEL HOLT

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini station which meant it was really easy to get around Rome.

Disliked: We were sharing an 8 bed dorm so we didn't expect it to be immaculate, but it definitely could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARINA HUIZAR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 MARINA would recommend this property

Liked: I cant say enough, surpassed my expectations

Disliked: MARINA left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: my room was dirty and stinky

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaycob Brunton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 April 2015 Jaycob would recommend this property

Liked: awsome place to stay meet heaps of people made friends for life

Disliked: Jaycob left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff couldn't do enough to help and the location was excellent for Termini station and surrounding attractions

Disliked: There were no bad points

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun hostel, staff are polite and funny! facilities are ok, wifi works great. offers discount in tours and restaurant next door.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great party hostel, do the pub crawl!! muchos gracias

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect service! pro staff!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fun stay, great hostel. guys at the front desk was cool & helpful all the time. bar inside offer cheap drinks compare to the bar at the center. and the bramble next door served quality food with discount! very convenient location, close to the metro and terminal of the buses. recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful hostel, clean & big room. staff was informative and gave a lot of suggestions to me. the breakfast next door is worth! location was very easy to find, and walking distance from some of the attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edwin Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 March 2015 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere, given that there's a bar downstairs so if you ever want to go down for a drink and meet some people this hostel is for you. The staff is very kind they solved many doubts we had a about rome, and they speak many languages.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the tax is charged per person per night which, to my view, should be included when you make the booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

City break

04 February 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, easy to find and just a short walk from the Termini train station. The staff is nice and the dorms and bathrooms are clean. The bar is nice and the hostel arrange Pubcrawls on certain days.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sonny Due

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015 Sonny would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, staff helpfull and very tolerant. Great place to both party and relax.

Disliked: Sonny left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels