We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

84.1% Overall Rating

936 out of 1042 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Deepu Abraham Varughese thinks…

"Location - 5 min walk from Roma Termini (if you know the directions) Bramble Bar - the next door bar / restuarant was one of my best in Rome."

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.45
  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
28.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
32.25 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 10 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
31.51 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
20.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.6% 67 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
24.47 USD

Hostel 85.0% 263 reviews
Carlito's Way
24.47 USD

Hostel 81.6% 91 reviews
The Yellow
33.09 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1125 reviews
BT Rooms
24.47 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

936 out of 1042 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 736 of 799 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Deepu Abraham Varughese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Deepu would recommend this property

Liked: Location - 5 min walk from Roma Termini (if you know the directions) Bramble Bar - the next door bar / restuarant was one of my best in Rome.

Disliked: At night, the walk from train station to the hostel might seem a little scary and dirty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. I mean I wish they did more about the bathroom while we were there but I guess they did the best they could with what they had.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled really horrible and the hostel was not as Soical as we thought it was going to b

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joshua Henckel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2015

Liked: Leaving Bed Bug Palace!

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!! I got over 60 bites on my body on my first day there. I had to relocate to a different room at 3am and then changed hostels first thing in the morning. I was refunded for the nights I didn't stay, but they should have given me a complete refund since they gave me bed bugs! Bad business practice to make someone pay any amount for bed bugs! To make matters worse, it cost me €100 to get medicines, shampoo, do ALL my laundry, had to throw away a few items that got damaged in the process, AND I lost a full day in Rome having to take care of all this! Unacceptable! Not something that any traveler should have to deal with, due to laziness and poor cleaning! Instead of worrying about making money, why not close for a day and take care of the infestation throughout your hostel?! This isn't a one time thing either. They admitted having an issue with bed bugs in their other building as well, and it's been reported before. Google Alessandro Palace and bed bugs!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mugdhaa Banerjee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Mugdhaa would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness to the location, you wouldn't be in a better place.

Disliked: The bar should be open after 1am.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MICHAEL HOLT

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Termini station which meant it was really easy to get around Rome.

Disliked: We were sharing an 8 bed dorm so we didn't expect it to be immaculate, but it definitely could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARINA HUIZAR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 MARINA would recommend this property

Liked: I cant say enough, surpassed my expectations

Disliked: MARINA left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: my room was dirty and stinky

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaycob Brunton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 April 2015 Jaycob would recommend this property

Liked: awsome place to stay meet heaps of people made friends for life

Disliked: Jaycob left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff couldn't do enough to help and the location was excellent for Termini station and surrounding attractions

Disliked: There were no bad points

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun hostel, staff are polite and funny! facilities are ok, wifi works great. offers discount in tours and restaurant next door.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great party hostel, do the pub crawl!! muchos gracias

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect service! pro staff!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fun stay, great hostel. guys at the front desk was cool & helpful all the time. bar inside offer cheap drinks compare to the bar at the center. and the bramble next door served quality food with discount! very convenient location, close to the metro and terminal of the buses. recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful hostel, clean & big room. staff was informative and gave a lot of suggestions to me. the breakfast next door is worth! location was very easy to find, and walking distance from some of the attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edwin Perez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 March 2015 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere, given that there's a bar downstairs so if you ever want to go down for a drink and meet some people this hostel is for you. The staff is very kind they solved many doubts we had a about rome, and they speak many languages.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was the tax is charged per person per night which, to my view, should be included when you make the booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

City break

04 February 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, easy to find and just a short walk from the Termini train station. The staff is nice and the dorms and bathrooms are clean. The bar is nice and the hostel arrange Pubcrawls on certain days.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sonny Due

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015 Sonny would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, staff helpfull and very tolerant. Great place to both party and relax.

Disliked: Sonny left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

mohammed rahman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2014 mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: The people were great, staff was great and the party's were epic! Plus location was perfect as it was only a 5 minute walk to the main train station

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find, very friendly staff. Facilities were quite good. Met some great people.

Disliked: The top bunk I was sleeping in didn't have a safety rail which scared me a little bit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014

Liked: Drinks on the roof were a good time and a great way to meet people. The bar on the ground floor was pretty good as well.

Disliked: Drinks were served very slow, wifi was barely usable at best even on the main floor. There was dried blood on my blankets...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luisa Turner

As a family with children

City break

28 August 2014 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: The roof garden was fabulous- myself and my two teenage children were up there every afternoon to have a picnic lunch and most evenings before the rowdy crowd ! It was an oasis of calm in the middle of a bustling citty. The room was clean and ahd all we needed

Disliked: The room was too hot! We had to have the window open at night with trhe result that we got eaten alive by mosquitos.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Located close to central station Offering city tours

Disliked: Wifi unstable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely nice, spoke perfect English, and helped with any problems. The facilities were clean, the rooftop bar was fun, and the distance to Termini was perfect.

Disliked: Paying for towels is a bit of a drag, but otherwise, no complaints!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels