We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

89.6% Overall Rating

930 out of 1034 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

Leanne Clarke thinks…

"It had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff couldn't do enough to help and the location was excellent for Termini station and surrounding attractions"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.34
  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
27.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
30.35 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
29.53 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
19.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.6% 67 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
20.59 USD

Hostel 84.7% 258 reviews
Carlito's Way
20.59 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
28.45 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1120 reviews
Termini Accommodation
23.84 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

930 out of 1034 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 729 of 791 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good bar downstairs, very clean. staff helpful.

Disliked: the lockers had strange locks, small padlocks dont fit them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar and bar tender

Disliked: not much character

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Denis Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011

Liked: I liked the beds which were comfortable, and the rooms had plenty of space in them.

Disliked: I disliked that they said the bar offers wi-fi connection when in reality they only give you one hour free - thereafter you have to pay for your wi-fi access.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location for the trains

Disliked: the wifi didnt reach our room and you only got 1 HOUR A DAY! The bathroom was also a bit of a wait because there was only the bathroom in your room, so you had no other choice if it was busy....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and pizza for dinner

Disliked: Being waken-up by the other roommates

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spacious rooms, with ensuite. Really helpful staff and nice bar for social events. Pretty clean. Location 10-15 mins from city centre and a 1 minute walk to Roma Termini.

Disliked: Bins needed changing when we first arrived, but it got better!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, included breakfast and friendly staff

Disliked: the shower - kept overflowing but all and all was a good stay, would come here again!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and tidy. And well situated.

Disliked: Couldn't get wifi on my iphone in my room. Had to go downstairs and use computer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesus-Gerardo Galaz-Montoya

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Jesus-Gerardo would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice and pretty and very conveniently located, and the breakfast is filling. (It's only a few blocks from the main train station).

Disliked: The elevator was very slow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Roma Termini so dont have to lug your bags too far, elevator, bar in building, air con in rooms

Disliked: Nowhere to do washing, beds are a little weird (but comfortable enough), no kitchen to cook own food

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly and helpful, close to train/subway station

Disliked: the breakfast, coffee machine broke, food not very good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrea Villafañe Egenrieder

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011

Liked: I haven't enjoyed all the things that the hostel offers, like the free pizza and the internet. But it its a good place to stay.

Disliked: Althought it has a good location because it is close to Termini station, it is not safe to walk there on night because it is dark in front of Termini station if you want to go to another places and it has some homeless people there. It is better to walk in group of 02 people or more, specially if you are a womam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tomasz Bugajski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and air conditioning for when its still really hot at night

Disliked: Not walking distance to the Vatican if you're on a tight schedule (we found out the hard way), breakfast is absolutely atrocious compared to other hostels we stayed at that offered free breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cristina Rodrigues

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Terrace on the roof, really good place to meet people from all over the world

Disliked: To drink at the hostel bar you have to buy non-refundable metal coins. The location is not that central, you have to catch a bus to the city center at the train station wich has a lot of homeless people at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steve Anderton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: This did exactly what it says on the tin. Great fun place, and our room was pretty good too. The staff were all fantastic, and we met some good people in the downstair bar, which was really cheap! Location was pretty excellent from a transport perspective... the only downside to that was there were no good restaurants in the area, and being foodies we had to trek it quite a bit to find nice places...

Disliked: One genuinely troublesome downside to be aware of - noise carries in this place. Particularly the lower floors nearer the bar... be prepared to sleep with ear-plugs every night... we did and we were on the top floor... The booze in the bar was cheap, but it was kinda limited option/quality wise... but now I'm being picky!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Soriano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Located near main transport hub, can get anywhere easy.

Disliked: Only one free hour of wifi, then u have to pay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Yee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really comfortable and spacious, and we felt at home. Facilities were in good conditions although sockets were not provided for (we had to use those that connected to the hairdryer and air conditioning). The presence of air conditioning was much appreciated.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little too simple, with packaged bread, spreads, and two cereal varieties with drinks (milk included). In spite of this, it was still a great overall experience! Would definitely stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberto Gornstein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to have fun, get to know people. They have a nice bar with cheap drinks and Pizza every night!

Disliked: That is a big hostel, so it is hard to talk to a staff guy to ask for some travel tips.. And one day, I got a bad tip from one of them... but that is minor... The staff is very friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! great large rooms with very comfy beds and large lockers with a clean bathroom and PROPER HAIRDRYER! the happy hour and free pizza are great for meeting people and the roof terrace is awesome.

Disliked: only that the roof terrace ahd to close at 11 but I understand why

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Coleman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff behind the desk where very friendly and always willing to help, The cheap bar on site helped us meet new people, and the bar staff was Again very friendly and helped us feel very welcome with Free Pizza! The tours organised from the front desk was amazing value and helped us organise our days better. The rooms where no thrills but exactly what you need to have a great holiday. Free one day internet, Free Pizza every night, and 1 free bottle of wine. Was great.

Disliked: The bar closed at 2pm, breakfast ended at 9am

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, safe, friendly staff.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the greta staff them most

Disliked: Breakfast was horrible and and it is very noisy all the time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome. Only 5 minutes walk from the train station. Breakfast is not so good but it is free. They offer pizza slices for supper. Everybody is friendly and nice and there is a bar where everbody meets and have fun. Rooms are clean and there is a terrace on the top of the hostel where you can drink and eat.

Disliked: I recommend this hostel to every young traveller who wanna meet people and be close to all activities in Rome.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels