We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

87.4% Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

"palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.35
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
21.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
27.22 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
20.41 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
21.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 66 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
13.06 USD

Hostel 84.9% 257 reviews
Carlito's Way
13.06 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
21.14 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1112 reviews
Termini Accommodation
21.77 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 787 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Stephens

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: Had an absolutely brilliant stay at the Alessandro. Great bar for you to socialise which really helps when traveling alone as I was and have not come across better staff in any other hostel I've stayed in. They are incredibly friendly, fun and most of all helpful. Special shout out to Nas who is an absolute gem. Happy to recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere in Alessandro's is the best so far! I loved the roof terrace and the bar, it was so easy to meet great people. Great for solo travellers! Staff was incredibly helpful and polite, couldn't hope any better. Dorms were clean and safe and the bed was confortable. Breakfast was good value for your money. I definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

pedro vieira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: the others backpackers

Disliked: The toilletes are bed and old,the shower dont works well,the room had one ac noisier than a jet plain,the room was dirty on overall.not a must go!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice modern rooms, air conditioning, nice rooftop garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is wonderful. The rooms are nice and clean, there are multiple tours avaliable and they offer a 20€ endless drinks bar crawl. Also the staff here is extremely warm and helpful, especially Naz and Niko. I would totally stay here again

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Lukie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really good, I really liked the atmosphere and the staff were really friendly and helpful, I ended up staying longer. Aircon in the rooms was good and the bar was small but a great place to meet other people. Also had a great deal with a restaurant around the corner for cheap food (that was amazing). Thanks Alessandro Palace for an awesome time in Rome, I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The only things I could fault were that the bathroom got absolutely flooded when ever anyone had a shower! I stayed in 2 rooms and they were both the same. Breakfast was pretty average but it was cheap. If you want to do a Rome pubcrawl, I would not recommend the one the hostel organises.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: had luggage room, its own bar!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aurore DOUTEAU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Aurore would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace. Shower in the room. Air co

Disliked: Aurore left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had private bathrooms which was a nice change. The staff where really nice and helpful.

Disliked: would be nice if the breakfast was included in the price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Olson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and liked having 2bathrooms in our room

Disliked: There was an over booking in our room that didn't get sorted until 2am in the morning

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Eliezer Dos Santos Pereira

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Eliezer would recommend this property

Liked: Gostei da área de happy hour.

Disliked: Eliezer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localizacao.

Disliked: Rede sem fio ruim e intermitente

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace on the 5th floor, too bad you cannot bring your drinks upstairs in the evening.

Disliked: Paid 20€ for the pub crawl organised by the hostel bar staff, really not worth the money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone that worked at Alessandro was really friendly and always willing to help 24 hours a day. The other people we shared our room with were also very friendly. I had a great time at Alessandro.

Disliked: If I had to complain about anything it would be the size of the shower and the fact that the door opened into the shower, making it almost impossible for me to close the shower door without it rubbing and scratching along my body.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kim Leclerc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012

Liked: free WIFI

Disliked: The crowd is very young and the drink like they never had drink before and the staff is not that nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to termini was great, Alessandro is very easy to find. The staff was welcoming and helpful with our questions. We liked the free pizza as a concept, although we happened to be there only one night @ 8.00 pm. The bar was great and it was easy to meet people and have a nice time :)

Disliked: We paid extra for a private twin + private bathroom and found it weird that the bathroom had NO DOOR? How private is that? You could also hear conversations from the rooms next door, which was a bit annoying late at night, because people were partying in their rooms when we wanted to sleep... The free WiFi was a joke, the Internet connection barely worked and was too slow and unreliable to be of much good...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were great and really helpful when it came to directions and what not, made me feel comfortable even when I was traveling alone :) Nas has some pretty sweet dance moves!!! The bar is great for meeting people.

Disliked: Well there was a fire in the basement on my last night there.. I think their smoke alarms could have been a little louder... Waking up to firemen in our room and a bunch of smoke was an experience. They did put it out and everyone was fine, I'm sure it rarely happens!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012

Liked: Very close to train station, but far from everything else.

Disliked: Very poor security. Had an unregistered guest stay in our dorm style room who was black out drunk and let her alarm go off for over an hour in the middle of the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: no kitchen,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere!! Definitely must check out the pub crawl !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emilie Ammann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: G

Disliked: Private ensuite room ( paid top price) bathroom was dirty and smelt. Bedroom floor dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacy Edwards

Alone

City break

06 April 2012 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, staff were great (especially Nas and CJ - great fun and very cool guys!) really made me feel welcome and looked after me when I ended up with a cold! The rooms were great and had enough room for everyone. Nice roof garden and bar areas

Disliked: Computers are slow!! And the shower flooded very quickly but nothing too major! I enjoyed myself and would recommend the hostel to anyone looking for a fun hostel with a nice atmosphere :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, nice beds, free pizza every night

Disliked: hard to use internet- i am not sure if they have wifi or not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nigel Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Separate building for double rooms, quieter for us oldies. Free Internet not just free wireless. Lovely breakfast with a dedicated guy serving.

Disliked: I cannot think of anything


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels