HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

89.9% Overall Rating

911 out of 1011 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"The staff was extremely nice, spoke perfect English, and helped with any problems. The facilities were clean, the rooftop bar was fun, and the distance to Termini was perfect."

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.37
  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
25.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
29.54 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
25.18 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
18.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.2% 58 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
26.86 USD

Hostel 82.9% 235 reviews
Carlito's Way
26.86 USD

Hostel 84.1% 85 reviews
The Yellow
36.12 USD

Hostel 87.8% 1076 reviews
Termini Accommodation
24.17 USD

Guesthouse 79.8% 191 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

911 out of 1011 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 712 of 769 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace on the 5th floor, too bad you cannot bring your drinks upstairs in the evening.

Disliked: Paid 20€ for the pub crawl organised by the hostel bar staff, really not worth the money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone that worked at Alessandro was really friendly and always willing to help 24 hours a day. The other people we shared our room with were also very friendly. I had a great time at Alessandro.

Disliked: If I had to complain about anything it would be the size of the shower and the fact that the door opened into the shower, making it almost impossible for me to close the shower door without it rubbing and scratching along my body.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kim Leclerc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012

Liked: free WIFI

Disliked: The crowd is very young and the drink like they never had drink before and the staff is not that nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to termini was great, Alessandro is very easy to find. The staff was welcoming and helpful with our questions. We liked the free pizza as a concept, although we happened to be there only one night @ 8.00 pm. The bar was great and it was easy to meet people and have a nice time :)

Disliked: We paid extra for a private twin + private bathroom and found it weird that the bathroom had NO DOOR? How private is that? You could also hear conversations from the rooms next door, which was a bit annoying late at night, because people were partying in their rooms when we wanted to sleep... The free WiFi was a joke, the Internet connection barely worked and was too slow and unreliable to be of much good...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were great and really helpful when it came to directions and what not, made me feel comfortable even when I was traveling alone :) Nas has some pretty sweet dance moves!!! The bar is great for meeting people.

Disliked: Well there was a fire in the basement on my last night there.. I think their smoke alarms could have been a little louder... Waking up to firemen in our room and a bunch of smoke was an experience. They did put it out and everyone was fine, I'm sure it rarely happens!!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012

Liked: Very close to train station, but far from everything else.

Disliked: Very poor security. Had an unregistered guest stay in our dorm style room who was black out drunk and let her alarm go off for over an hour in the middle of the night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: no kitchen,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere!! Definitely must check out the pub crawl !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emilie Ammann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: G

Disliked: Private ensuite room ( paid top price) bathroom was dirty and smelt. Bedroom floor dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacy Edwards

Alone

City break

06 April 2012 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, staff were great (especially Nas and CJ - great fun and very cool guys!) really made me feel welcome and looked after me when I ended up with a cold! The rooms were great and had enough room for everyone. Nice roof garden and bar areas

Disliked: Computers are slow!! And the shower flooded very quickly but nothing too major! I enjoyed myself and would recommend the hostel to anyone looking for a fun hostel with a nice atmosphere :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, nice beds, free pizza every night

Disliked: hard to use internet- i am not sure if they have wifi or not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nigel Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Separate building for double rooms, quieter for us oldies. Free Internet not just free wireless. Lovely breakfast with a dedicated guy serving.

Disliked: I cannot think of anything

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Isa Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Overflowing toilets, cramped dorms, staff not very helpful. Bar is horrible and not a good place to meet other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reema Vazirani

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Reema would recommend this property

Liked: Located very close to the Termini station, this is a lovely hostel to stay in. Even if you are travelling alone, the Hostel offers an opportunity for you to interact with others at the bar. The staff at Alessandro too is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfy and provide you with a cosy duvet during the winter period. The option of leaving the luggage in the cloak room for as long as you want, without having to pay any extra money is surely a bonus.

Disliked: Nothing at all...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is well located close to the main station in Rome and is surrounded by a good selection of restaurants, The room and bathroom were clean. There was a filled soap dispenser and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The shower was hot and powerful The buffet breakfast was only 3E and you could eat as much bread/coffee/cereal/juice as you wanted.

Disliked: The 4 bed dorm was mixed gender which was a surprise. The mattress was hard and the top bunk had rails or anything to keep things falling off onto people below. Not every quilt had a cover that could be laundered. There was only one central dim light so you need a torch for a reading light There was very little storage space in our room and there were few places to hang clothing when it was not locked up in your case or locker. The lockers need a biggish padlock to fit through the catch and it was fiddly and noisy to operate. Our room was above the bar which seemed popular for the Roman Bar Crawl in which the hostel participates. Music and the sounds of people enjoying themselves into the small hours made it difficult to sleep. Out of 4 nights I was woken by (different) people returning to my room at 4am on one night and 3am on another. One day when we depended on breakfast being available (we were running in the half marathon) the guy must have slept in.....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Some of the guests were very noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yeung Chang

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

07 February 2012 Yeung would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no breakfast included

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm which was a good size and a nice ensuite bathroom. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was acceptable.

Disliked: the wifi didn't work in the rooms, the computers in the internet room was slow and not in perfect condition.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is amazing, but I've had problems with people from my room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun place to stay. Usually always somebody in the bar. Very close to the train station, good restaurants close by. Very friendly staff. Free pizza some nights. 1 hour free internet each day. 3 euro breakfast- cheese ham tinned fruit bread cereal drinks

Disliked: My only complaint was that my bathroom didnt have a window so it was very smelly!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had lockers in the rooms you could lock (had to bring your own lock though) and had a bar downstairs slash is 5 minutes from the train station.

Disliked: It's loud if you're trying to sleep and the bed sheets are kinda sketchy/beds are small bunk beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff with helpful knowledge about the city who were able to prevent us wasting time acting like confused tourists.

Disliked: Left luggage store not secured

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Natalie Swan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to have the bar in the same building!

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't very clean and the lifts hardly ever worked

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe with bar downstairs but drinks were not the best and free pizza on offer was very limited. Get there early if you plan to have this for dinner. Our bathroom was very dirty when we first checked in and only one bed was cleaned but after a quick word with the staff they immediately came and fixed it.

Disliked: Luggage room was not overly secure but you can store for free.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sean Wood

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant rooms with air conditioning! On my second night, the 6 bed dorm had 2 bathrooms, which were both nice. This dorm also had individual reading lights for each bed. The owner was friendly and polite. Open 24 hours a day. Great location near the central train station. A glass lift made it easy for getting luggage up to higher floors.

Disliked: The bar constantly had MTV or some other rubbish music channel on - it was like a low-grade students union. Some people might like that, but personally I wasn't so keen on shouting over 90s pop hits (and trying to ignore the big flatscreen TV on the back wall) when trying to get to know fellow travellers. And, I was especially not keen on this when trying to have breakfast! MTV, loud, at breakfast? Also, there were plastic throw-away cups and cutlery with the breakfast... why?? Not good environmental credentials.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels