We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

87.4% Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

"palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.35
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
21.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
27.22 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
27.22 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
16.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 66 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
19.60 USD

Hostel 84.9% 257 reviews
Carlito's Way
19.60 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
21.14 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1112 reviews
Termini Accommodation
21.77 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 787 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar, a lot of paintings. free wifi everywhere, good service and cheerful staffs

Disliked: check out is 10

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Desiree Marquez

Alone

Events / festivals

15 March 2013 Desiree would recommend this property

Liked: Gracias a todo el staff del Alessandro Palace!!! realmente me ayudaron en todo lo que necesitaba. Los cuartos son muy limpios y bien decorados. Fue una hermosa sorpresa. Lo recomiendo!!

Disliked: Desiree left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot higher standard as a hostel. They have free wifi at bar area and even in the bed room which as really useful with my ipad. The reception staff was friendry and informative. This time I had only 1 day in Rome but next time I'll definitely come back to this hostel to stay longer. Thanks!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHARLES DE LEON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 CHARLES would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and it had everything you need to make you feel at home. Very comfortable beds and nice shower. Receptionists are very kind and helpful. I do recommend it to everybody who wants to have a nice stay at Rome. Apart from that I had very nice roomates. Congratulations Alessandro palace hostel !!!!! go for more !!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near at the train station, free wifi. cheap drinks at the bar but you need to buy tokens.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julieta Capusselli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013

Liked: Little

Disliked: Breakfast, Bedrooms, Cleanliness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the center, near at the train station. big dorms, comfy beds,.

Disliked: wifi resets every 6 hrs but overall very good hostel!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carlo at reception is an encyclopedia on rome. Hostel is good and bar had just reopened. Cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is near the train station and a 20 min. walk to the attractions, but the thing that i liked the most is the staff!. they always wear smile in their face and always ready to help you. the bar area was great i loved the structure and the atmosphere inside i think that they had just renovated the bar bec. there are still some workers working. over all great stay and for sure i will be coming back to stay again! salute to all the staff!.

Disliked: no weakness!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean enough, staff was friendly and helpful, easy to find, good location.

Disliked: I stayed here in the 'low season,' so things weren't exactly as described on the website. The bar was under renovation, which meant no breakfast, free pizza at night, or pub crawls. As a lone traveller, the bar was the reason I booked here, in hopes of meeting others. When the bar is up and running, I'm sure it's a lively place, and worth the money.... but there was no warning on the website that it was closed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2013

Liked: Marble entrance way looks very italian. Easy to find and close to station. big lockers in room and comfy beds.

Disliked: no proper social area (ie tv lounge) other than the bar. Internet very slow..wireless even slower. breakfast not included in price (qhich is expensive over new year!) only one shower/toilette per dorm room and no spare ones in the corridor so long waits! key card system for lights caused annoyance and confusuion

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon mikhail

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 simon would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the non presence of a kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kristy shipman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 kristy would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station, offered tours if you needed them

Disliked: beds could have been more comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! CJ from the front desk is a cool guy and very helpful. He even helped celebrate one girl's birthday with us. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. No complaints, I Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was a new place. As well it was really close and easy to find from the trail station. the 8 bed room was nice and big.

Disliked: This place has a realy fake feeling. the Photos look good but when we got there the web page talked up the hostel. the desk staff are not very helpful. We did there thursday party night with the free pizza and i would not recomened it. the pizza was cold and stale, you only had a hour to drink before leaving, you had to take and pay for the metro and the bar they took us to was VERY over priced and for us felt really UNSAFE!!!! they have great internet but after 6 hr of use to have to go get a new log in so, the morning facebook check has to wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Scott Kukeste

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: simple large rooms. cleaning daily. good mattresses. easy location and information.

Disliked: Needs to have a kitchen for guests. buying every day gets expensive. the joined bar crawl, happy hour and games was a joke. all drinks were watered down and the clubs are just plain boring in Italy!!!! more fun drinking on the street with the locals :)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dawn Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012

Liked: This is a very basic hostel with an ensuite bathroom. It is located near termini which makes getting around Rome and Italy easy. The bathrooms and facilities are dirty. They provide dirty linens. I do not recommend travelers to stay here. I also stayed at the Yellow during my trip. It is around the corner from Alessandro. The yellow is clean and comfortable. I highly recommend the yellow over Alessandro especially for solo female travelers. If unsure book a night at each one and you will see the difference.

Disliked: The bathroom was downright disgusting. The maid does a very poor cleaning job. I actually watched her do the poor cleaning job. The comforters are dirty and have stains on them. The comforters are not cleaned after people leave. The hostel does not provide a top sheet. Only a sheet to cover the matress. People are paying way too much to stay here especially on weekends Also the hostel makes people pay 20 euro to go on a pub crawl. Most other party hostels this is FREE.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff; clean room (room 15 on level 1); working wifi (just that it expires every 6 hours, so you have to request for new password afterwhich); quite clean bathroom (private one).

Disliked: Towels & toiletries not given but can be purchased at reception; would have been better if simple breakfast was provided for free.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012

Liked: The rooftop was a great place to relax and meet fellow travellers. Beds quite comfortable. The staff were friendly most of the time.

Disliked: The wifi is slow and you have to keep logging in to receive it. The prices of the tours and bar night are way overpriced. It felt like the staff were just trying to get your money and didn't really have your best interests in mind. If you want to see Rome do it yourself. So much cheaper! The bar operates on tokens. A little annoying if you have large notes. The room was quite loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Qasim Khawaja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Qasim would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good 5 min from the station...great bar...clean rooms...and walking distance to the colosseum

Disliked: Qasim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

beatriz guimaraes

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 October 2012 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very trendy hostel, it's great for young groups and friends

Disliked: beatriz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super helpful and welcoming (especially NAS and CJ!!), the location was great (because it was so close to the train station -- crucial when traveling with a big bag) and the room was clean, spacious and filled with really nice travellers :) Oh, and even got to meet Alessandro himself, who was a really great guy!

Disliked: I was a little disappointed that they now charge for breakfast (changed since I last stayed in 2010), but I guess that is common with hostels these days. At least it is a very filling breakfast. Also, although the pub crawl was a ton of fun, the "club" we went to is not really what you would think of as a typical "club"... more like a fancy bar that happens to have a dance floor..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the central station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite small and dirty.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels