We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

89.3% Overall Rating

917 out of 1018 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

mohammed rahman thinks…

"The people were great, staff was great and the party's were epic! Plus location was perfect as it was only a 5 minute walk to the main train station"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.06
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 65 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
11.39 USD

Hostel 83.3% 243 reviews
Carlito's Way
12.65 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
15.69 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1092 reviews
Termini Accommodation
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

917 out of 1018 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 717 of 776 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the center, near at the train station. big dorms, comfy beds,.

Disliked: wifi resets every 6 hrs but overall very good hostel!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Carlo at reception is an encyclopedia on rome. Hostel is good and bar had just reopened. Cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is near the train station and a 20 min. walk to the attractions, but the thing that i liked the most is the staff!. they always wear smile in their face and always ready to help you. the bar area was great i loved the structure and the atmosphere inside i think that they had just renovated the bar bec. there are still some workers working. over all great stay and for sure i will be coming back to stay again! salute to all the staff!.

Disliked: no weakness!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean enough, staff was friendly and helpful, easy to find, good location.

Disliked: I stayed here in the 'low season,' so things weren't exactly as described on the website. The bar was under renovation, which meant no breakfast, free pizza at night, or pub crawls. As a lone traveller, the bar was the reason I booked here, in hopes of meeting others. When the bar is up and running, I'm sure it's a lively place, and worth the money.... but there was no warning on the website that it was closed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2013

Liked: Marble entrance way looks very italian. Easy to find and close to station. big lockers in room and comfy beds.

Disliked: no proper social area (ie tv lounge) other than the bar. Internet very slow..wireless even slower. breakfast not included in price (qhich is expensive over new year!) only one shower/toilette per dorm room and no spare ones in the corridor so long waits! key card system for lights caused annoyance and confusuion

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon mikhail

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 simon would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the non presence of a kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kristy shipman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 kristy would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station, offered tours if you needed them

Disliked: beds could have been more comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! CJ from the front desk is a cool guy and very helpful. He even helped celebrate one girl's birthday with us. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. No complaints, I Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was a new place. As well it was really close and easy to find from the trail station. the 8 bed room was nice and big.

Disliked: This place has a realy fake feeling. the Photos look good but when we got there the web page talked up the hostel. the desk staff are not very helpful. We did there thursday party night with the free pizza and i would not recomened it. the pizza was cold and stale, you only had a hour to drink before leaving, you had to take and pay for the metro and the bar they took us to was VERY over priced and for us felt really UNSAFE!!!! they have great internet but after 6 hr of use to have to go get a new log in so, the morning facebook check has to wait.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Scott Kukeste

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: simple large rooms. cleaning daily. good mattresses. easy location and information.

Disliked: Needs to have a kitchen for guests. buying every day gets expensive. the joined bar crawl, happy hour and games was a joke. all drinks were watered down and the clubs are just plain boring in Italy!!!! more fun drinking on the street with the locals :)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dawn Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012

Liked: This is a very basic hostel with an ensuite bathroom. It is located near termini which makes getting around Rome and Italy easy. The bathrooms and facilities are dirty. They provide dirty linens. I do not recommend travelers to stay here. I also stayed at the Yellow during my trip. It is around the corner from Alessandro. The yellow is clean and comfortable. I highly recommend the yellow over Alessandro especially for solo female travelers. If unsure book a night at each one and you will see the difference.

Disliked: The bathroom was downright disgusting. The maid does a very poor cleaning job. I actually watched her do the poor cleaning job. The comforters are dirty and have stains on them. The comforters are not cleaned after people leave. The hostel does not provide a top sheet. Only a sheet to cover the matress. People are paying way too much to stay here especially on weekends Also the hostel makes people pay 20 euro to go on a pub crawl. Most other party hostels this is FREE.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff; clean room (room 15 on level 1); working wifi (just that it expires every 6 hours, so you have to request for new password afterwhich); quite clean bathroom (private one).

Disliked: Towels & toiletries not given but can be purchased at reception; would have been better if simple breakfast was provided for free.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012

Liked: The rooftop was a great place to relax and meet fellow travellers. Beds quite comfortable. The staff were friendly most of the time.

Disliked: The wifi is slow and you have to keep logging in to receive it. The prices of the tours and bar night are way overpriced. It felt like the staff were just trying to get your money and didn't really have your best interests in mind. If you want to see Rome do it yourself. So much cheaper! The bar operates on tokens. A little annoying if you have large notes. The room was quite loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Qasim Khawaja

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Qasim would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good 5 min from the station...great bar...clean rooms...and walking distance to the colosseum

Disliked: Qasim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

beatriz guimaraes

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 October 2012 beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very trendy hostel, it's great for young groups and friends

Disliked: beatriz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super helpful and welcoming (especially NAS and CJ!!), the location was great (because it was so close to the train station -- crucial when traveling with a big bag) and the room was clean, spacious and filled with really nice travellers :) Oh, and even got to meet Alessandro himself, who was a really great guy!

Disliked: I was a little disappointed that they now charge for breakfast (changed since I last stayed in 2010), but I guess that is common with hostels these days. At least it is a very filling breakfast. Also, although the pub crawl was a ton of fun, the "club" we went to is not really what you would think of as a typical "club"... more like a fancy bar that happens to have a dance floor..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the central station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite small and dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Stephens

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: Had an absolutely brilliant stay at the Alessandro. Great bar for you to socialise which really helps when traveling alone as I was and have not come across better staff in any other hostel I've stayed in. They are incredibly friendly, fun and most of all helpful. Special shout out to Nas who is an absolute gem. Happy to recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere in Alessandro's is the best so far! I loved the roof terrace and the bar, it was so easy to meet great people. Great for solo travellers! Staff was incredibly helpful and polite, couldn't hope any better. Dorms were clean and safe and the bed was confortable. Breakfast was good value for your money. I definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

pedro vieira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: the others backpackers

Disliked: The toilletes are bed and old,the shower dont works well,the room had one ac noisier than a jet plain,the room was dirty on overall.not a must go!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice modern rooms, air conditioning, nice rooftop garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is wonderful. The rooms are nice and clean, there are multiple tours avaliable and they offer a 20€ endless drinks bar crawl. Also the staff here is extremely warm and helpful, especially Naz and Niko. I would totally stay here again

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Lukie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really good, I really liked the atmosphere and the staff were really friendly and helpful, I ended up staying longer. Aircon in the rooms was good and the bar was small but a great place to meet other people. Also had a great deal with a restaurant around the corner for cheap food (that was amazing). Thanks Alessandro Palace for an awesome time in Rome, I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The only things I could fault were that the bathroom got absolutely flooded when ever anyone had a shower! I stayed in 2 rooms and they were both the same. Breakfast was pretty average but it was cheap. If you want to do a Rome pubcrawl, I would not recommend the one the hostel organises.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: had luggage room, its own bar!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aurore DOUTEAU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Aurore would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace. Shower in the room. Air co

Disliked: Aurore left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels