We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

87.4% Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

"palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.31
  • Towel USD 2.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
21.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
29.09 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
30.97 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
19.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 66 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
17.24 USD

Hostel 84.9% 257 reviews
Carlito's Way
17.24 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
20.92 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1112 reviews
Termini Accommodation
21.54 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 787 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: Very clean and feels safe inside the hostel. Good that it has 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Very small rooms and not very personal. Felt like in a bunker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great! they will assist you to all your needs, they have tours and it was fantastic!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly.

Disliked: The hostel is too crowded because of the bar is opened for public. Thus, makes us feel insecure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kourtney Arvai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Kourtney would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff that I dealt with were friendly. Everything was clean.

Disliked: My friends checked in the next day and asked the guy to try to put us in the same room and he didn't even try to do that for them which was disappointing. Also, you just press a buzzer to open the door and they let you in, so basically anyone could get in. Also, the pub crawl that they offer wasn't great. They didn't tell anyone beforehand that you had to actually pay to take the metro and the guy running it was not really fun/friendly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to the Termini, made getting anywhere so easy.

Disliked: I missed having a common area with couches and a kitchen for the evening. There are tables in the bar but its loud and different atmosphere than relaxing in a sitting area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful whenever I asked them for information.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Semhar A

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Semhar would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the people I met at this hostel, everyone was so nice and friendly. The bar downstairs is really great and convenient and certain staff (like the bartender a couple of the nights I was down there) were super nice and engaged with the customers in a fun way. It was clean and spacious and convenient, can't ask for much more.

Disliked: Semhar left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far way from the train station, our room was large and had good windows. Nice roof top

Disliked: The lockers were a bit difficult and the locks they sell are overpriced, and the lift didnt always work.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chelsea Hartshorn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: That it was close to the Termini Station and close to some nice restaurants

Disliked: That we stayed in a residential building, they only gave us 1 key and you had to pay a deposit for it, the bathroom was teeny tiny, when they cleaned our room they left the window open and it was easy access from the room next door. They could come into our room and steal our belongings.The man who checked us in (asian,young,short) spoke with attitude in both Italian and English, if he doesn't like people then maybe this isn't the type of job for him.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a 6 people dorm and we were in the annex of Alessandro. It's another building at 1 min that really looks like an apartment. It was really safe and we were close to the termini to take bus or metro. The wifi was working perfectly that's pretty rare. Finally the staff was very nice we always could ask for information and tips.

Disliked: Being near the downtown when we left the window open (we had to it was cause it was pretty hot) there was a lot of noise outside. But with earplugs it was fine. Finally for us it was expensive 37$ CAD and we were there in may. It's way mor expensive then all the other hostel we booked, but I know that Rome is expensive!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the beds were good.

Disliked: the lockers were too small so if you have a bag thats slightly larger than a backpack, you can't use it. also the locks are real big, so you need to carry/buy a big pad lock to use. The shower in the bathroom was a bit annoying as the entire bathroom will be wet after use due to the way its designed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Demitri Dedousis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Demitri would recommend this property

Liked: Staff gave helpful travel recommendations.

Disliked: They pushed their tours alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gizem öztürk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2013 gizem would recommend this property

Liked: staffs helpfulness was really at the peak.

Disliked: wifi was enable just in lobi not enable in my room.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: nothin

Disliked: The cleaning staff does not change the blankets used! Location very sketchy part of town, not safe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff , overall nice :)

Disliked: Nothing specific

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Sebastian Cao

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Luis Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, and very friendly and helpful, alway able to help you. If I back to Rome I certainly back here.

Disliked: Luis Sebastian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Lau

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything you could think of.

Disliked: Wifi system is weird, 6 hours to renew everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, clean rooms. helpful staffs. free wifi, and cool bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason serrano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location nearby termini the subway station, you can go walking to the most imooortant tourist atracctions. Rooms and toilets clean. Stay in Rome = stay in Alessandro Palace

Disliked: jason left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location , staff ,

Disliked: drunks yelling and fighting late at night!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pedro Briceno

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The environment. Lot of Travellers

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness was fantastic.

Disliked: We were moved from one room to another between nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the bar, cheap drinks. breakfast worth for 3 euros not bad.. approachable staffs

Disliked: you need to change your money for a token, but its ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, easy to find. upon my check in the reception gave me a lot of idea how to get around the city. thank you very much guys, you made my stay easy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a lot to like about it

Disliked: the wifi was horrible


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels