HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

89.1% Overall Rating

914 out of 1014 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Luisa Turner thinks…

"The roof garden was fabulous- myself and my two teenage children were up there every afternoon to have a picnic lunch and most evenings before the rowdy crowd ! It was an oasis of calm in the middle…"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.25
  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
23.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 7 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
36.11 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
23.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.0% 62 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
23.63 USD

Hostel 81.1% 239 reviews
Carlito's Way
23.63 USD

Hostel 81.9% 88 reviews
The Yellow
32.50 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1082 reviews
Termini Accommodation
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 193 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

914 out of 1014 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 714 of 772 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Gallardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: rooms have air conditioning, good bar, you can find good cheap restaurant, actually I loved the Pizzeria close to the hostel.! ... extremelly friendly staff

Disliked: The hostel is perfect, the only problem is outside, Termine station is dirty and unsafe, i felt scared when i was walking at night (after 8pm). you could find homeless people close to there.. you just have to be careful .. and be sure stay with somenone if you go to the "Pub Crawl", I went alone, the lead disappeared, I didn't know how to back to the hostel at 2 am in the middle of Rome, it was a really bad experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: few blocks away from the train station, staff was helpful. clean rooms & toilets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Andrus Norway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Mark Andrus would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, i like the roof garden and the bar downstairs. Staff are helpful all the time, wifi is a little slow but it's free!

Disliked: Mark Andrus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and well kept, beds were pretty comfy and the bathrooms were a decent size. I liked that the shower and toilet were separate so there never seemed to be a wait. Staff were friendly and helpful. They have nights out a few times a week which were great for meeting people but a little pricey.

Disliked: I didn't realise there was no kitchen facility when I booked, but managed to work around it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near train station, which was great and very convenient for daily activities. Room size was good

Disliked: Needed your key to turn the lights on and only got one key between 2 ppl, so trying to use the bathroom at night was difficult. Also, Sharing one bathroom with 8 ppl is a little much, should have toilet and shower separate. Floor in bathroom was always wet from people coming out of showers wet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, the staff were really nice and helpful, really appreciated everything they did for us! It's just a short walk from the trainstation

Disliked: We had booked this hostel because it was on the 'famous hostels' page and were expecting a really fun party hostel but unfortunately found it was really the complete opposite and quite quiet unfortunately. Bar and common room was always empty. Wifi was also a bit temperamental and you were constantly having to log back into it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

hannah morrissey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere & friendly staff always happy to help!

Disliked: hannah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Trudy Mauldon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Trudy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms where big and had aircon which was good as it was so hot in room. You didn't have to go far to get a meal or a drink and the pub crawl on the Friday night was really good. People in my room were very friendly as well

Disliked: The bathroom was way to small for 8 people and the cleaner the day I was checking out was quite rude while I was trying to pack my stuff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luiz Suárez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness

Disliked: The atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, 5 mins walk from the main station. upon check in the staff suggest me a lot of things, very informative.. thank you very much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

?AHABETT?N BURAK GÜVEN

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 ?AHABETT?N BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very good.there was not negative situation.hostel was better than my guess.i think you dont regrit if you chose that hostel.clean, location and safe everything is perfect

Disliked: I think a lot but i couldn't find negative situation to write here. Good luck. .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Felipe Zucchini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good stay in this hostel. Alessandro Palace is in a central location in Rome, very close to Termini Station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the cleanliness is a differential of this hostel.

Disliked: The price that I paid was a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall it was good. it was fun at the bar, they organize great party and tours!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013

Liked: I didn't like tis, allessandro downtowner was much better and better value

Disliked: the annex was around the corner and up a narrow flight of steps, no auxillarry bathroom facilities ensuite so if the ensuite was in use, there was only the option of going to the main hostel, which would mean getting dressed and walking around the corner in the middle of the night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: Very clean and feels safe inside the hostel. Good that it has 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Very small rooms and not very personal. Felt like in a bunker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great! they will assist you to all your needs, they have tours and it was fantastic!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly.

Disliked: The hostel is too crowded because of the bar is opened for public. Thus, makes us feel insecure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kourtney Arvai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Kourtney would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff that I dealt with were friendly. Everything was clean.

Disliked: My friends checked in the next day and asked the guy to try to put us in the same room and he didn't even try to do that for them which was disappointing. Also, you just press a buzzer to open the door and they let you in, so basically anyone could get in. Also, the pub crawl that they offer wasn't great. They didn't tell anyone beforehand that you had to actually pay to take the metro and the guy running it was not really fun/friendly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how close it was to the Termini, made getting anywhere so easy.

Disliked: I missed having a common area with couches and a kitchen for the evening. There are tables in the bar but its loud and different atmosphere than relaxing in a sitting area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful whenever I asked them for information.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Semhar A

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Semhar would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the people I met at this hostel, everyone was so nice and friendly. The bar downstairs is really great and convenient and certain staff (like the bartender a couple of the nights I was down there) were super nice and engaged with the customers in a fun way. It was clean and spacious and convenient, can't ask for much more.

Disliked: Semhar left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far way from the train station, our room was large and had good windows. Nice roof top

Disliked: The lockers were a bit difficult and the locks they sell are overpriced, and the lift didnt always work.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chelsea Hartshorn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: That it was close to the Termini Station and close to some nice restaurants

Disliked: That we stayed in a residential building, they only gave us 1 key and you had to pay a deposit for it, the bathroom was teeny tiny, when they cleaned our room they left the window open and it was easy access from the room next door. They could come into our room and steal our belongings.The man who checked us in (asian,young,short) spoke with attitude in both Italian and English, if he doesn't like people then maybe this isn't the type of job for him.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a 6 people dorm and we were in the annex of Alessandro. It's another building at 1 min that really looks like an apartment. It was really safe and we were close to the termini to take bus or metro. The wifi was working perfectly that's pretty rare. Finally the staff was very nice we always could ask for information and tips.

Disliked: Being near the downtown when we left the window open (we had to it was cause it was pretty hot) there was a lot of noise outside. But with earplugs it was fine. Finally for us it was expensive 37$ CAD and we were there in may. It's way mor expensive then all the other hostel we booked, but I know that Rome is expensive!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the beds were good.

Disliked: the lockers were too small so if you have a bag thats slightly larger than a backpack, you can't use it. also the locks are real big, so you need to carry/buy a big pad lock to use. The shower in the bathroom was a bit annoying as the entire bathroom will be wet after use due to the way its designed.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels