We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy 00185

87.4% Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

"palace is the best! bar inside the hostel is nice way to meet the other travelers. great staff and the location just few blocks from the train station"

Read all Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.35
  • Towel USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers. ** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines. *** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates. Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours. Credit cards accepted. Towel rental available. Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners. Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino). Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking. Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system. For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable. Payment is due upon arrival. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation. Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted. Please note: We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel MARI
21.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.0% 23 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Euro
27.22 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 8 reviews
A Casa Di Penelope
20.41 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 101 reviews
Hotel Positano
21.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 66 reviews
Hostel Des Artistes
13.06 USD

Hostel 84.9% 257 reviews
Carlito's Way
13.06 USD

Hostel 80.6% 90 reviews
The Yellow
21.14 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1112 reviews
Termini Accommodation
21.77 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

927 out of 1030 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alessandro Palace Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 787 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really big and it felt really secure because although there was no lock out, you must be buzzed in at night time. The air conditioning, although noisy, kept the room at a warm temperature. It was close to the station which made it especially easy to get to the airport and back and was walking distance to all the sites that we saw.

Disliked: The lockers didn't work well and the ones that did needed bigger locks than we had, although you could buy others downstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 December 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, looked good, Nice staff

Disliked: The cleaner threw away my shampoo and conditioner. (FULL BOTTLES!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Fritz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

27 November 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: weather was horrible but staff were great so thankfully i didnt need to leave, just chilled at bar with dj nas n cj. cheers guys

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, 5 mins away fron the train station. great hostel with bar. and friendly staff :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1 of the very good hostel in rome! professional staff! great bar, free wifi! and well located at the center!

Disliked: no kitchen, but no problem it was written on their facilities :), but you can use the fridge!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Register

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of availability, and will hold stuff after you check out.

Disliked: No locks to use for the lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best I've ever stayed in and highly recommended! it's really close to the main train station so ideal for getting around within and out of Rome!

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL GOOD! STAFF, BAR, FREE WIFI AND ALSO ROOF GARDEN!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Neumann

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Superb hostel! dont miss the party at the bar specially saturday night! 5 mins walk from the train station, friendly receptionist always ready to answer your question!

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've ever been! Great staff! Grazie for all guys!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Gallardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: rooms have air conditioning, good bar, you can find good cheap restaurant, actually I loved the Pizzeria close to the hostel.! ... extremelly friendly staff

Disliked: The hostel is perfect, the only problem is outside, Termine station is dirty and unsafe, i felt scared when i was walking at night (after 8pm). you could find homeless people close to there.. you just have to be careful .. and be sure stay with somenone if you go to the "Pub Crawl", I went alone, the lead disappeared, I didn't know how to back to the hostel at 2 am in the middle of Rome, it was a really bad experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: few blocks away from the train station, staff was helpful. clean rooms & toilets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Andrus Norway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Mark Andrus would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, i like the roof garden and the bar downstairs. Staff are helpful all the time, wifi is a little slow but it's free!

Disliked: Mark Andrus left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and well kept, beds were pretty comfy and the bathrooms were a decent size. I liked that the shower and toilet were separate so there never seemed to be a wait. Staff were friendly and helpful. They have nights out a few times a week which were great for meeting people but a little pricey.

Disliked: I didn't realise there was no kitchen facility when I booked, but managed to work around it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near train station, which was great and very convenient for daily activities. Room size was good

Disliked: Needed your key to turn the lights on and only got one key between 2 ppl, so trying to use the bathroom at night was difficult. Also, Sharing one bathroom with 8 ppl is a little much, should have toilet and shower separate. Floor in bathroom was always wet from people coming out of showers wet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, the staff were really nice and helpful, really appreciated everything they did for us! It's just a short walk from the trainstation

Disliked: We had booked this hostel because it was on the 'famous hostels' page and were expecting a really fun party hostel but unfortunately found it was really the complete opposite and quite quiet unfortunately. Bar and common room was always empty. Wifi was also a bit temperamental and you were constantly having to log back into it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

hannah morrissey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere & friendly staff always happy to help!

Disliked: hannah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Trudy Mauldon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Trudy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms where big and had aircon which was good as it was so hot in room. You didn't have to go far to get a meal or a drink and the pub crawl on the Friday night was really good. People in my room were very friendly as well

Disliked: The bathroom was way to small for 8 people and the cleaner the day I was checking out was quite rude while I was trying to pack my stuff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luiz Suárez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaness

Disliked: The atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, 5 mins walk from the main station. upon check in the staff suggest me a lot of things, very informative.. thank you very much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

?AHABETT?N BURAK GÜVEN

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 ?AHABETT?N BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very good.there was not negative situation.hostel was better than my guess.i think you dont regrit if you chose that hostel.clean, location and safe everything is perfect

Disliked: I think a lot but i couldn't find negative situation to write here. Good luck. .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Felipe Zucchini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good stay in this hostel. Alessandro Palace is in a central location in Rome, very close to Termini Station. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the cleanliness is a differential of this hostel.

Disliked: The price that I paid was a little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall it was good. it was fun at the bar, they organize great party and tours!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013

Liked: I didn't like tis, allessandro downtowner was much better and better value

Disliked: the annex was around the corner and up a narrow flight of steps, no auxillarry bathroom facilities ensuite so if the ensuite was in use, there was only the option of going to the main hostel, which would mean getting dressed and walking around the corner in the middle of the night!


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels