HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar Rome

Hostel

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 72%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.80USD
  • Towel 2.40USD

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].


* Heating & air conditioning are on energy-saving timers.
** In storage room. Provide your own locks or purchase one from the vending machines.
*** We are unable to send fax or letters for visa document applications to embassies and/or consulates.

Check-in: 3pm. Late arrivals are accepted. You're welcome to leave your luggage with us if you arrive early. Please make sure to inform us of any changes of your arrival time. Don't worry if you've got a late flight coming in our reception is open 24 hours.
Credit cards accepted.
Towel rental available.
Lockout is from 10am to 3pm to facilitate the cleaners.
Airport pickup is available upon request. For 1-4 persons with up to four suitcases it's from 57 Euro (in one car). For 5-8 persons with one suitcase per person the price is from 15 Euro per person. The stated price is minimum tariff; the fee varies depending on flight arrival time and airport (Fiumicino / Ciampino).

Pick-up must be arranged at least three days prior to arrival as we need to check availability. For more details please inquire by email after booking.

Please note that group reservations of more than 8 people are not accepted through the online reservation system.

For cases in which this term is not respected, we reserve the right to cancel the reservation/s without any notice. The paid deposit is not refundable.

Payment is due upon arrival.

Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night accommodation.

Cancellations or alterations are only accepted by email or fax. Phone cancellations/alterations are not accepted.

Please note:
We do not accept group bookings for Easter.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 72%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 135 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very easy to get to and the staff were great. also near other good hostel bars and nice restaurants.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: In the room o stayed in there were six beds. However there were only four lockers for securing your belongings and out of this four, there were only two that functioned properly. This left me feeling worried about my belongings all day

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. I mean I wish they did more about the bathroom while we were there but I guess they did the best they could with what they had.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled really horrible and the hostel was not as Soical as we thought it was going to b

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: My favorite hostel I stayed at during my 4 months of traveling Europe. This place is right by main transportation in Rome, near the central station where all the bus lines and metro come by. The hostel is clean and he a really fun atmosphere, with tons of activities hosted each week. We had a party on the garden rooftop with good, cheap drinks and time to hang out with other travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location - 5 min walk from Roma Termini (if you know the directions)Bramble Bar - the next door bar / restuarant was one of my best in Rome.

Disliked: At night, the walk from train station to the hostel might seem a little scary and dirty.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Leaving Bed Bug Palace!

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!! I got over 60 bites on my body on my first day there. I had to relocate to a different room at 3am and then changed hostels first thing in the morning. I was refunded for the nights I didn't stay, but they should have given me a complete refund since they gave me bed bugs! Bad business practice to make someone pay any amount for bed bugs! To make matters worse, it cost me €100 to get medicines, shampoo, do ALL my laundry, had to throw away a few items that got damaged in the process, AND I lost a full day in Rome having to take care of all this! Unacceptable! Not something that any traveler should have to deal with, due to laziness and poor cleaning! Instead of worrying about making money, why not close for a day and take care of the infestation throughout your hostel?! This isn't a one time thing either. They admitted having an issue with bed bugs in their other building as well, and it's been reported before. Google Alessandro Palace and bed bugs!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness to the location, you wouldn't be in a better place.

Disliked: The bar should be open after 1am.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to Termini station which meant it was really easy to get around Rome.

Disliked: We were sharing an 8 bed dorm so we didn't expect it to be immaculate, but it definitely could have been cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I cant say enough, surpassed my expectations

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability