HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels

Reviews of Blue Hostel

Hostel | Via Carlo Alberto 13, Rome, Italy 00185

92.8% Overall Rating

121 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2014)

"Very well located right next to Termini. Reasonably priced and very clean and safe. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful."

Read all Blue Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rome?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rome

Hotel Giubileo
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.0% 83 reviews
Hotel Portafortuna
41.11 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Pensione Maggiore
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 46 reviews
Buonarroti Home
44.28 USD

Apartment 89.0% 127 reviews
Casa Della Amicizia
40.06 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 90 reviews
Gaia B&B
29.10 USD

Guesthouse 75.5% 322 reviews
Hotel Beauty
31.50 USD

Hostel 66.4% 621 reviews
incantoromano b&b
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

121 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blue Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located right next to Termini. Reasonably priced and very clean and safe. The staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no gathering area or bar, only rooms, so the social aspect is lacking. The wifi was also very poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Easson

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 September 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Hidden away just down from a beautiful square and close to Termini, the Blue Hostel is the perfect place to stay in Rome. The room was lovely, clean and well kept. The bathroom was perfect. Riccardo was a great help pointing us in the right direction when we got there. He gave us loads of great tips about what to see and how to get around.

Disliked: Difficult to find negative comments to make. The bed we had was particularly hard, more like a futon - but we actually found it to be incredibly comfortable after a long day walking the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very nice welcoming!

Disliked: Beds were too small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nearly everything - comfortable, close to railway station, lovely attentive staff.

Disliked: At times it might have been nice to have been in a hostel 'proper' rather than a hotel environment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay in Blue hostle! All the rooms are newly renovated and beautifully designed (which can sometimes be quite hard to find in Italy). The location was perfect; only a short walk away from Roma termini. It was clean and had a small fridge and a kettle for making tea. On arrival we were given a map of Rome with resterant recommendations on the back. When choosing where to eat these were incredibly helpful, and we made a special effort to go to as many of the recommendations as possible which were all as good as the map said. Thankyou Blue Hostle!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We walked for 3 straight days exploring the beautiful city of Rome. Blue Hostel is located conveniently from the train station and all the main attractions. There's also a great gelateria place (nutella is a must try) and a bar (crema de bombona is to die for!) just below Blue Hostel. Marcelo welcomed us when we arrived and he was very helpful in giving us a rundown of the city -- from local restaurants to bus routes etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The four flights of stairs! Shower was a little small for a tall male.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 August 2012

Liked: The room was very nice and clean.

Disliked: I was traveling on my own with a small child, and in hindsight, this was not a good option for us to stay. The hostel is on the third floor, without elevator. But more than this inconvenience, I was not impressed with the service. The manager did phone us after the reservation was made on-line (which was a nice surprise) to check our arrival time. However, we arrived as mentioned, and he was not there: I had to phone and wait 10 minutes, which is fine in itself, but can be taxing with a toddler who is tired from traveling and needs a diaper change. The manager did help me carry the luggage and stroller to the third floor. But the next day a surprise awaited us when it seemed that it wasn't possible to leave the luggage in the office in the hostel. I had explicitly asked this upon arrival (and even before paying), as we would only be flying out of Rome in the evening, and so I needed to spend a day in Rome with a good amount of luggage and a small child. When we checked in, the manager assured that one way or another there would be a way to leave the luggage (Either in the room if the room is not booked for the following night, or in the office, we'll see tomorrow, he said). But the next morning it seemed that there was "too much luggage" in the office to also keep mine (which seemed a lousy excuse, as I did try to fit my luggage and it worked out fine), despite my request of the previous day that i would need to store luggage. The tone of the conversation was not pleasant at all, and while in the end he said okay then just leave it, I would remain dependent on him to come to the hostel and open the door to retrieve my luggage, and given that I did not want to risk being late at the airport, and more unpleasant encounters, I decided not take all the luggage (and child and stroller) with me. This was definitely not what I signed up to when choosing for a hostel in a higher price category, and explicitly checking the availability of a particular service before paying.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We found the location perfect for our needs. The Metro was down the street and we were in good walking distance to historical monuments.

Disliked: There is no working elevator so the four flights of stairs can be daunting, especially with lugguage! Although Hercules was there to assist us at arrival, we had no help at check-out. We found being in the first room (with the painting 'Habitat Safe Home') rather noisy since it is by the front door. This is because the locks are old and guests (including ourselves initially) had troubles locking/unlocking the door. Our first night we were woken up at 1:30am by guests who could not get in and we had to assist.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erick Crockett

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Erick would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The room was spotlessly clean. Staff extremely helpful and knowledgable about the city.

Disliked: Stairs could be a problem for any infirm person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Lindfield

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Ercole was very welcoming and gave us tons of info about the area, the best times to visit the sights, the best places to get ice cream and the best local restaurants that were, rustic, charming, no frills food that tasted fantastic and Cheap! Room was as a good as a 3/4 star hotel, kettle and fridge and the best pillows ensuring a good night sleep!

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the trainstation and good trattoria's... I would recommend the hostel very much!

Disliked: Nothing at all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie harris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 julie would recommend this property

Liked: very clean with all the amenities one requires for a base in Rome, the location was good as it was within walking distance of the Colosseum and the Metro was a 2minute walk to travel to other areas of the city. When we arrived we were greeted by a very nice Italian chap (sorry I can't remember his name), however he was really helpful, gave us a map and pointed out good places to eat etc...

Disliked: no dilikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Storey

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It has more character and style than other hotels and hostels that you find in Rome.

Disliked: Quite a long way to walk up the stairs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Athol Keeling

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 November 2011 Athol would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, neat and tidy. Good facilities. Friendly and helpfull management. Position relative to the Rome rail station. Reasonble rate

Disliked: No lift and having to climb 3 stories.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svava Magnusson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Svava would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and beautifully presented, nicely furnished. safe, good location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The operator the the hostel was very friendly, he gave me a map and showed me which direction i needed to go to see the major landmarks. He also pointed out the best restaurants in the area for pizza, gelato, etc. The room was very spacious, very clean, the bathroom was big and had a good shower. There was only 3 other rooms in the apartment area which kept noise down. I highly recommend this place for future visitors to Rome.

Disliked: The apartment uses older style keys which makes the doors difficult to open.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff, nice room and atmosphere, private and clean

Disliked: Nothing about the property but neighbours in house opposite were very loud at night and it kept us awake

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Forman

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 November 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Bluehostel has been by far the best place we have stayed at during our trip. The rooms are simply fantastic, huge in size, extremely well decorated and spotless clean. Plus wifi in every room was a great bonus. The proximity to Termini station makes it easy to travel around the city but we preferred to walk everywhere. The staff is lovely and took good care of us giving great advice on where to eat and what to do.What else can I say? Book it!!

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great, its like having your own apartment in rome rather than a hostel! Do read and listen to reccommendations made by owners for food and things to see, they were all excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristine Martin

19 October 2008 Kristine would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to important sites,metro and train. The room was large and clean. The only downfall would be no lift for luggage but the upside was I kept in shape running up the stairs.

Disliked: Kristine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What can I say? We stayed at the private apartments near Colloseum and there was absolutely everything we needed; brilliant location, spacious, comfortable, safe and secure. Air conditioning was very effective and the facilities in the apartment were fantastic for the price we paid; fully equipped kitchen, fridge freezer, cooking hob, washing machine. Andrea was incredibly helpful; he gave us a map and showed us all the best places to go and provided a very useful booklet with recommendations on places to eat, how to get about the city, and other useful stuff.On a final note, if you go to the Trevi Fountain, look for a restaurant called 'Galleria Sciarra' at Piazza dell Oratorrio - great value, great service and we had quite possibly the best pizza ever there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Staff member extremely helpful, room and ensuite very clean, well appointed and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, room, cleanliness, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Rome hostels
See all Rome hotels