HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Onda Road Beach

Hostel | Via U. Boccioni, Praia a Mare, Italy 87028

89.1% Overall Rating

47 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

Nicola Simpson thinks…

"This hostel was a fantastic find, the best I've stayed at in Italy. Great location, great facilities, great atmosphere and great people! The hostel is very homely with lots of places to relax and…"

Read all Onda Road Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Praia a Mare?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

47 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Onda Road Beach'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was a fantastic find, the best I've stayed at in Italy. Great location, great facilities, great atmosphere and great people! The hostel is very homely with lots of places to relax and socialise inside and outside. Close to the beach and town, I couldn't have asked for a better place to relax and immerse in the real Italy. The staff are really helpful and accommodating and know alot about the area, I felt quite pampered after my stay. The only thing I regret about Onda Road Beach is that I only stayed 4 nights. Onda Road Beach is a must-stay place, I definitely reccommend it. Thanks guys!

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martin Blatak

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up from Praja-Ajeta-Tortora train station. Italian dinner (spaghetti and another type of pasta the other day with vegetables, wine, cheese, salami). I did not choose fish, because I don´t eat them but am sure that they would be excellent. The owner Papi was friendly and helpful. Reccommended me to go to see the Arco Magno which was very nice place near Praja. I could borrow a bike from them for free to get around, so I was much faster than walking on foot. It was not far from the beach and from Dino island, the town was about 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: The breakfast were some biscuits and milk (x the dinner was really good). The house is not locked, it´s always open, so I was a little bit worried about my staff left there during the day. But there was a dog who guards the house. There were many mosquitos in the room and I disliked the beds covered with a plastic film on the matelas (maybe against the cats that are free moving in the house) and than covered with bedlinen.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dimitrios Tsonis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2013 Dimitrios would recommend this property

Liked: Great people and a great place. Try to spend at least 3 days of your trip at Praia a Mare.

Disliked: I disliked the beds. But seriously, this won't stop me from going again.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is fine and has a nice garden outside with tables and hammocks where everyone congregates. The beach area too is amazing! In the middle of July it was almost secluded and had cabanas and a nice bar too! The water is amazing as well, and the hostel organise a boat trip around the coast which was really cool. The people were lovely too and it's a good place to go if you're a solo traveller!

Disliked: Martina isn't particularly warm and was incredibly unhelpful with helping me book transport, which I couldn't do because the internet was TERRIBLE and you're charged 2 euros for it! I only realised on the penultimate day but I would avoid wasting time trying to do anything serious on the internet there, like booking transport, and walk seven minutes up the road to the petrol station that has a computer with super fast free internet!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Law

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2012 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Myself and two friends stayed at Onda Road last week and we had an amazing time... we wish we could have stayed longer! Martina was an excellent host and we really appreciated her taking the time to tell us about the area and she even took us out on our first night. The hostel is not your typical hostel, its a family home and when we were staying there were not many people there which was better for us. Martina opens her home up to travellers and expects respect for the property in return, which is not hard to do! If you are looking for a standard hostel then maybe this is not for you, but if you want a warm friendly environment you can't go wrong. Martina cooks breakfast for you every morning and helps you to arrange the days activities. We really enjoyed spending time with her and getting to know some other travellers as well - as I said we would have stayed longer if we could! Thanks for everything Martina! From Monique, Will & Alex

Disliked: It is a walk to the beach and to the town, but its not too far at all... good to get some exercise!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Santo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is run by a true, experienced and hardcore traveller, Martina. She knows the area very well and gives great advice on where to go and which activities are available. Although this is the only hostel in the town, it certainly does not abuse this fact and it delivers well. If I'm ever in the town again, I'll be definitely booking a room here again and for longer!

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Santo

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Nice homely feel. Doesn't seem to have so many rules. Just a nice laid back place and a lovely back yard.

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie torgrimson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: the owner martina literally steam cleaned the entire place every day so the place was immaculate and it was in somebodies home instead of a cold old building so it was really really great. her dad papi was also there off and on and took us on a boat tour of the area which was really fun! It was great being able to have somebody pick you up at the trainstation and the hostel is in a perfect location. very laid back and perfect place for a beachy vacation

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really really good place to stay. Martina was really helpful and went out of her way to make you feel at home. She even cooked us pizza at midnight!!! A really friendly social atmosphere.

Disliked: No internet at the hostel, however you can use it for free in town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimmy Andersson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

17 July 2011 Jimmy would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and just awesome staff. loved them all, hello papa

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: boring

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is brilliant. I stayed three nights in Praia Mare and didnt want to leave. Pappy made me delicious meals.

Disliked: Theres nothing bad about this Hostel, its all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Pingle

14 October 2009 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: the hosts made it a truly fantastic experience! It is a beautiful part of the world! I would love to go back and stay for a week and just hang out on the beach and jump off the 22 meter cliff again

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jospeh Monty

25 July 2009 Jospeh would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place. Wish I could have stayed longer. The host, Martina, and her dad Papi are two of the kindest people. I arrived to a homecooked meal of spaghetti, bread and wine cooked by Papi. Martina treated all her guests like they were her best friends. Great find!

Disliked: Jospeh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilla Humphries

23 July 2009 Camilla would recommend this property

Liked: The host was friendly, cooked us breakfast and was generally very helpful. Family atmosphere- very Italian! Lovely hostel - villa. Lots of space. Great location.

Disliked: Camilla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Mietz

13 September 2008 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar; Nice decoration; TV with DVD; Nice dog

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the place were great, very welcoming and a lot of fun. The hostel felt like you were right at home, it was very comfy and fun. The location was great, just a short walk to the beach and town center. We had a great time at this hostel, worth visitng!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Minott

02 September 2008 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! Martina was amazing and very accommodating and the house was amazing where we stayed.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hansen

09 July 2008 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Martina, was VERY hospitable and SO welcoming and friendly. Everyone went out of there way to make sure you had a good time. It was small and almost like staying with close friends. Easy to meet people.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maryse van Caloen

03 July 2008 Maryse would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the beach!

Disliked: Maryse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Stayt

22 June 2008 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Cant rate Onda road enough, beautiful town and beautiful people. made to feel a real part of the family, and the life in Praja. you must do the boat trip, it is just beautiful! already looking to when i can go back!

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHELLE BAXTER

20 May 2008 MICHELLE would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the best place I have stayed!! Martina, the host, went above and beyond to make our stay memorable!! Lots of things to do and plenty of places to relax... like on the lovely beaches!! It is a must to visit here, if you have been travelling and want to get away from the hustle of big cities then this is the best place to do so!! There is no doubt I will return to this hostel!!

Disliked: MICHELLE left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamilah Welch

12 May 2008 Kamilah would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!!

Disliked: Kamilah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Martina and her family were so friendly, caring, thoughtful and inviting. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and actually already have! It was great to go to the beach, get a tour on the boat and get a personal tour of old town as well. We even all went out bowling! Great times, I miss them already!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Lambert

14 April 2008 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Martina and her family made us both so welcome and i had an amazing time here. Martina made my birthday unforgetable, thank you!! this place really is special, you want to taste a real piece of Italy this is it!! Rafting, cliff jumping, ice cream tasting and chilling. was an amazing experience that i will never forget, especially the food! amazing! thanks

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.