HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Onda Road Praia a Mare Hostel

Via Boccioni 13, Praia a Mare, Italy

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Praia a Mare?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 89%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good laugh. Beach, hammocks, caves, swimming, bars,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was a fantastic find, the best I've stayed at in Italy. Great location, great facilities, great atmosphere and great people! The hostel is very homely with lots of places to relax and socialise inside and outside. Close to the beach and town, I couldn't have asked for a better place to relax and immerse in the real Italy. The staff are really helpful and accommodating and know alot about the area, I felt quite pampered after my stay. The only thing I regret about Onda Road Beach is that I only stayed 4 nights. Onda Road Beach is a must-stay place, I definitely reccommend it. Thanks guys!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free pick up from Praja-Ajeta-Tortora train station. Italian dinner (spaghetti and another type of pasta the other day with vegetables, wine, cheese, salami). I did not choose fish, because I don´t eat them but am sure that they would be excellent. The owner Papi was friendly and helpful. Reccommended me to go to see the Arco Magno which was very nice place near Praja. I could borrow a bike from them for free to get around, so I was much faster than walking on foot. It was not far from the beach and from Dino island, the town was about 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: The breakfast were some biscuits and milk (x the dinner was really good). The house is not locked, it´s always open, so I was a little bit worried about my staff left there during the day. But there was a dog who guards the house. There were many mosquitos in the room and I disliked the beds covered with a plastic film on the matelas (maybe against the cats that are free moving in the house) and than covered with bedlinen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Praia has the safest environment you could ever encounter. In 10 years no one ever broke in or got anything stolen. This why we dont lock or anything. As you could notice maybe, no other house in the neighboorhood is locked :) we are actually very proud of this! I am also EXETREMELY SORRY for having to keep plastic film on the beds, BUT IT'S THE ONLY WAY TO MAKE SURE WE KEEP BED BUGS AWAY! i am sure you would hate bed bugs biting you.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great people and a great place. Try to spend at least 3 days of your trip at Praia a Mare.

Disliked: I disliked the beds. But seriously, this won't stop me from going again.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The hostel is fine and has a nice garden outside with tables and hammocks where everyone congregates. The beach area too is amazing! In the middle of July it was almost secluded and had cabanas and a nice bar too! The water is amazing as well, and the hostel organise a boat trip around the coast which was really cool. The people were lovely too and it's a good place to go if you're a solo traveller!

Disliked: Martina isn't particularly warm and was incredibly unhelpful with helping me book transport, which I couldn't do because the internet was TERRIBLE and you're charged 2 euros for it! I only realised on the penultimate day but I would avoid wasting time trying to do anything serious on the internet there, like booking transport, and walk seven minutes up the road to the petrol station that has a computer with super fast free internet!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

i am sorry i could not help you with your transportation! if you actually ASKED ME to help you i would have done it! not much i can do about the internet..... speed depends on how much data poeple are downloding simultanously! IF YOU ACTUALLY TOLD ME THAT YOU NEEDED TO BOOK TICKETS, i would have done it from my computer, like i did for everybody else :) i am happy though that the only thing you dislike about Ondaroad was the internet connection :)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Myself and two friends stayed at Onda Road last week and we had an amazing time... we wish we could have stayed longer! Martina was an excellent host and we really appreciated her taking the time to tell us about the area and she even took us out on our first night. The hostel is not your typical hostel, its a family home and when we were staying there were not many people there which was better for us. Martina opens her home up to travellers and expects respect for the property in return, which is not hard to do! If you are looking for a standard hostel then maybe this is not for you, but if you want a warm friendly environment you can't go wrong. Martina cooks breakfast for you every morning and helps you to arrange the days activities. We really enjoyed spending time with her and getting to know some other travellers as well - as I said we would have stayed longer if we could! Thanks for everything Martina! From Monique, Will & Alex

Disliked: It is a walk to the beach and to the town, but its not too far at all... good to get some exercise!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice homely feel. Doesn't seem to have so many rules. Just a nice laid back place and a lovely back yard.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel is run by a true, experienced and hardcore traveller, Martina. She knows the area very well and gives great advice on where to go and which activities are available. Although this is the only hostel in the town, it certainly does not abuse this fact and it delivers well. If I'm ever in the town again, I'll be definitely booking a room here again and for longer!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the owner martina literally steam cleaned the entire place every day so the place was immaculate and it was in somebodies home instead of a cold old building so it was really really great. her dad papi was also there off and on and took us on a boat tour of the area which was really fun! It was great being able to have somebody pick you up at the trainstation and the hostel is in a perfect location. very laid back and perfect place for a beachy vacation

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a really really good place to stay. Martina was really helpful and went out of her way to make you feel at home. She even cooked us pizza at midnight!!! A really friendly social atmosphere.

Disliked: No internet at the hostel, however you can use it for free in town

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability