HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Holiday House Gilda

Hostel | Via Arienzo, n° 76, Positano, Italy 84017

96.8% Overall Rating

101 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/06/2014)

"Location is right on the coast about 1.5km from Positano with superb view overlooking the Mediterranean Sea and Positano. Staff were excellent in their friendly, welcoming manner and helpfulness with knowledge of local…"

Read all Holiday House Gilda reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All payments must be made in cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Positano?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.8%

Overall Rating

101 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Holiday House Gilda'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right on the coast about 1.5km from Positano with superb view overlooking the Mediterranean Sea and Positano. Staff were excellent in their friendly, welcoming manner and helpfulness with knowledge of local sights and informing us of how to use the local bus services during our stay and suggestions of where to dine. Apartments were spotless, simple and welcoming with added thoughtfulness by provision of seasonings, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and coffee in the kitchenettes. Breakfast provided was fresh produce (fruit, yoghurt, eggs and a range of bread and pastries) all served by Gilda and Rosa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike though it is 1.5 km from the town which we were happy to walk given it was a holiday weekend when we visited and there was often a wait for the local bus or it was very full when it did arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Cardamone

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 May 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: We LOVED Rosa and the rest of the family, they really did make us feel at home. The views of the ocean and the main part of Positano were breathtaking. Rosa gave us all the tips we needed (great restaurants) and always made sure to make a reservation for us if needed, including having the restaurant pick us up from Holiday House. Rosa cooked us a very nice breakfast each morning, with tasty croissants (no small feat in Italy!), toast, eggs, yogurt, and orange juice! Rosa was always joking around with us and even gave us a bottle of wine because we were celebrating our honeymoon! Daniella, Gilda, and Giuseppe made us laugh and we couldn't have picked a better place in all of Positano. We very much enjoyed staying a little bit away from the main part of the town. It was a really nice walk along the road to get into town, probably only took 20 minutes with a leisurely pace. We would highly recommend anybody looking to have a great time to stay at Holiday House Gilda when they visit the amazing town of Positano!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and helpful family run B and B. Wonderful hosts. The view back to Positano was breathtaking. A little out of town, but bus stop just outside door, with regular buses into and out of town and to Amalfi, we had a car but preferred not to drive around while here, and were happy to find off street parking at B and B. Rosa organised free pick up and drop off at 2 very good restaurants. Would recommend to all my friends and family.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, just perfect for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Carlson

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: WE LOVED EVERYTHING, WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE! Right when we got there Gilda brought us cappuccino and coffee to our apartment; the apartments have beautiful views and are very clean. The staff does a wonderful job. Homemade breakfast made by Gilda herself, the staff was also very helpful and made us feel like family, the location was perfect (very easy to get into town-less than 1 km-and could see the beautiful Positano from our balcony, great view of the coast and sea!) We had such a great experience that I want to go back to Positano and stay at Holiday House Gilda again!

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked about our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Avedikian

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic Italian family environment for any type of traveller. Absolutely amazing staff who are so friendly and warm, it feels much like you are part of the family. Would absolutely recommend as the best place to stay in Positano and of course, Positano I would love to live here. You get the best Views here at Holiday House Gilda with the best rooms which feel like a home in itself and as mentioned the staff here are absolutely the best!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reinaldo Bittencourt

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 October 2013 Reinaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is wonderfull in this hostel. Rosa, Daniela , Gilda, Giusepe are the best guests in the world!

Disliked: Reinaldo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, attentive family run, good atmosphere-a genuinely lovely place to stay.

Disliked: Really everything was great for the price and enjoyable, well equiped. Looking for an improvement, maybe stronger side lights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an amazing find!! The staff was incredibly helpful. We arrived late at night and Rosa was waiting for us. Since it is a little bit farther away from the main city (only 15 minutes) she even arranged someone to pick us up and take us to dinner in the main area for free. Everything was amazing...we will be back!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Virginia Gay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: The views from our bedroom window were unparalleled picture postcard vies of Positano. And from a hostel/holiday home! We felt like we were living like Beyonce, dammit! The family who runs it basically adopted us as their own. We knew their cats, shared their lunch, which was sourced from their onsite garden, and through that garden there was a secret path to a little known beach just around from the main Positano bru-hoo-ha. It's called Arienzo, and it's a gorgeous, private cleft in the cliffs, with a boat service that can take you to Positano main and all the ridiculously expensive restaurants and shops. We felt so welcome and included. The rooms were spacious and clean, light and airy with good air con and wifi. We even had a little kitchenette that we could have used, though we mostly ate out. I loved this place. I wanna move in.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Seaton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: The people, everyone here made me feel like family. They helped us everyway they could. I would never hesitate to send anyone here. I highly recommend!!!

Disliked: I had to leave it behind for someone else :-).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: • The room you get is actually an apartment with one bedroom. You also get a fully equipped kitchen. • The view from the room is spectacular • The crew is very nice and very helpful

Disliked: • The place is 2 km far from the town center. The center is packed and parking place is very hard to find. There is a bus but not frequently. • There is air-conditioning in the bedroom but not in the leaving room. We were there in May, so it was not a problem. You may find it problematic in summer. • The apartment need to be better maintained. You can find black spots on the walls and the ceiling, and the paint is cracked in some places. • The breakfast is very poor. Only pastry (no eggs, cheese, sausage or vegetables)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view and service was wonderful.

Disliked: A little out of the way.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing stay: unbelievable view...waking up with sun coming through the window and a heartbreaking sea view. Great place and only 15 min walk from the village. very nice garden and a very friendly and helping staff. Gilda likes baking and with her Tiramisu and caprese at the end of our stay we put a good 5 lb on!

Disliked: Mind if you are allergic to cats....they are all over and one of them just sleeps in the sun all day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic unit facing the sea with amazing views. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing breakfasts. Slightly out of Positano giving great Views back to the village

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JINYOUNG LEE

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 JINYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: We stay for only one night for travelling from amalfi to positano. However, the view from the room especially at night was the greatest one for my Italy travelling in last October. Still looking forward to going back and enjoying the view from the accomodation once more in this year.

Disliked: You need to walk from the bus station around 5-10 mins. Also, there is nil clear sign on the street about getting off and on the bus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Smigel

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at three locations during our vacation. Holiday House Gilda was certainly the best for location, friendliness. We could not speak Italian, but through gestures both our hosts and ourselves were able to manage to communicate. Rosa, one of the B&B staff, was extraordinarily friendly and helpfut. We were surprised to find out that not only did we have a very nice bedroom and bath, but also a separate kitchen and dining area. The views were amazing from our bedroom suite and from the common areas.

Disliked: The location is 2 km away from Positano. Be prepared to walk or catch a bus, both are doable. In addition many restaurants will pick you up and bring you back.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoy the staff and being in a real family house! The apartments have a lot of space and the view takes your breath away. The Arienzo beach was a beautiful bonus :) and the parking place was priceless.

Disliked: It was not that easy to find. The streets are very narrow and it's hard to go around and look for something with the traffic...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

terry franicevic

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 September 2012 terry would recommend this property

Liked: it was perfect...best place by far..what a lovely location and owners...perfect..magnificent breakfasts and breathtaking view...easy walk to Positano

Disliked: Nothing...could not fault it..10 out of 10

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evan Powell

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located, near to bus stops and a relatively short walk into Positano town centre. The dining area was homely, the balcony of our apartment had beautiful view of Positano town.

Disliked: Kitchen lacked a kettle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Antonio Berto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Fernando Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: excellent

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Holiday House Gilda offers excellent value for money. Upon booking a room for 2 (apartment Letizia) we found it was incredibly spacious with a big kitchen, and could have slept up to 7 people! The view was stunning, and the owners (Gilda and Giuseppe) were very helpful and did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was more than ample and of excellent quality. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Disliked: The only slight inconvenience of this property is that it's a 15-minute walk into the centre of Positano. However, there's a regular bus service from just outside the gate, so it's really not a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wojciech Majewski

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

08 August 2011 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: I woudl recommend this place if you want to relax outside of Positano. It's about 25 walk from the village, close to Alienzo beach. It fitted our need perfectly as we did not want to stay in very turistic and crowded Positano. Main pros: - staff: really friendly, nice and helpfull - location: if you don't want to stay in the cented there is no better place in this area - food: breakfast was perfect really fresh and tasty - view from the window is breathtaking

Disliked: place is not that new nevertheless it's very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonie Cavagna

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: This was a holiday like no other. I was absolutely blown away by the hospitality of Gilda, her husband Guiseppe and friends and daughters. It was like being part of a family and we were treated like so. It completely made our holiday and they were so kind with helping out with transport, and tips on where to eat etc. My friend was also travelling with a baby and Gilda was like a proud grandmother always holding and helping with the baby. It was incredibly overwhelming to have such amazing care and love from them. I was suprised to discover that Gilda and Guiseppe don't own the Holiday House, they work, cook and clean for the owner . I would strongly recommend tipping them on departure as they don't earn a salary. The ocean views from the bedrooms and balconey are simply breath taking and it was great to be out of the hustle and bustle of Positano. A little walk never killed anyone and it was great to try and walk off all the pasta and pizza that we were consuming!

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, everything was amazing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hosts were very helpful and friendly - always willing to help out. Many long conversations! Breakfast was incredible - many different foods and drinks on offer. Service was fantastic. Beautiful balcony overlooking Positano and beaches. Very large apartment and very good facilities. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Only criticism is location - approx 2km away from main town of Positano however there is a beautiful beach only a short walk away which is highly recommended. My husband and I enjoy walking however so the location wasnt really an issue. There is also a bus very close to entrance of accommodation which takes you directly into the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If I could rate Holiday House Gilda higher I would but 5/5 is the best I could do. They truly make you feel part of the family, the breakfasts are the best we had in Italy and the views are to die for.

Disliked: Nothing