HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A Casa di Amici

Guesthouse | Via Volturno, 6, Palermo, Italy 90138

90.9% Overall Rating

275 out of 291 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"I arrived to the hostel very late but still was greeted by a super friendly and helpful receptionist who helped me find safe and free parking for my car in the middle of the night. The place is very nicely decorated and…"

Read all A Casa di Amici reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation conditions: Individual reservation (1-3 people): Free cancellation: if you delete until 72 h before arrival day 50% of the1st night: if you delete until 24 h before arrival day 1 night: in case of no-show************************* Group reservation (4-24 people): Free cancellation: if you delete cancel 7 days before arrival day Charge of the 1st night: if you cancel until 48 hour before arrival day Any cancellation after this limit will be charged in full

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palermo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Palermo

Hotel Rainbow
24.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 5 reviews
Castelnuovo B&B Palermo
22.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B Teatro Massimo
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Palermo Center City Guesthouse
38.58 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 9 reviews
Hotel Liberta
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Gardenia
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 6 reviews
Hotel Gallery House
50.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
B&B Ariston
50.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

275 out of 291 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Casa di Amici'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 250 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived to the hostel very late but still was greeted by a super friendly and helpful receptionist who helped me find safe and free parking for my car in the middle of the night. The place is very nicely decorated and painted in warm colours so I felt comfortable immediately. My room was spacious and offered enough possibilities to store my stuff and also both the room and the common bathrooms were amongst the cleanest I ever experienced in a hostel or BB. I had a very good stay there and sure would go back should I ever go to Palermo again.

Disliked: Only negative point is that both flats which belong to the BB are located close to a big road and on Friday night when I was there I could hear quite a bit of traffic. However I am used to sleeping with earplugs so still had a good night's sleep though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazingly helpful, kind and respectful. Rooms, bathroom and kitchen were all spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine.

Disliked: For intangible reasons, I felt like Palermo itself was not a very safe or clean city. Even though the neighborhood of this hostel was slightly above average, I still wouldn't wander about late at night, for instance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAKSYM PISARIEV

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 MAKSYM would recommend this property

Liked: Здесь работают очень хорошие люди!

Disliked: MAKSYM left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and great location.

Disliked: Needed an extra toilet!! Also lockers would be good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not great location. But OK. Because in Palermo, almost everywhere isn't really safe. I met really friendly 2 staff and little shy stuff. But everyone tought me a place where I wanted to know. Market, big theater and famous Cathedral are close. So it's easy to make a course to around city.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work really well in my room. It was slow. And breakfast is not many kind of food.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and central

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: Location was good, except it is a long walk from train/bus station. close to airport bus departure point. good electric light in dorm at night, but only 3 individual lights for a 4 bed dorm.

Disliked: The dorms were dark and dingy with no natural light coming in. Breakfast was only cereal and rolls. Hardly a "rich breakfast". Mattress's were lumpy with springs able to be felt thru sheet. Hot water fluctuated between boiling and cold. Staff sometimes occupied an entire couch watching TV.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marija Nikolic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Marija would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpfull staff, relaxing atmosphere, nice interior, good location

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nellie Meunier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Nellie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and created a really good atmostphere in the hostel. It was very easy to meet people and everynight there would be something to do. I liked the fact there were no bunk beds and only 3 to 4 beds per room which were quite large.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Marsh

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

01 July 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value and really freindly and helpful staff. The apartment I stayed in was over the road from the reception but I was shown to where I was staying by one of the girls who ran the place who was very welcoming which helped me relax after a bit of a nightmare Sunday railway trip. I had my own keys and could come and go as I liked although it was quiet during the night as people respected the 'be quite at night' rule. It had a kitchen with basic facilities and there was also the breakfast in the room by reception. The atmosphere was laid back, no hassle and friendly both from staff and other guests and it was clean. Location is within the old town so lots of places are walkable. 5 stars if there is a 5 star system.

Disliked: Not sure what it would be like if it was full. Probably fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Sarah Oliver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location

Disliked: there are not lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mi piace tutto!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robyn Cummins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: It has charm, it is comfortable, just like sleeping at home with the way the rooms are set up (no bunk beds and big, clean bathrooms, with even a hairdryer!) nice high ceilings & bright colours. The staff are very friendly and they give you a map with all the highlights outlined- the wifi is fast, the breakfast AND towels are free! Everyday the bathroom and common area is so nice and clean- probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The highlight for me was definitely the instrument collection- its like a museum here- any percussion/ music enthusiast will be in heaven!

Disliked: There are 2 separate buildings and I stayed in the one without the laundry, kitchen and common room so I probably didnt meet as many people as I could have in the other building or make full use of facilities. The doors are big and old and bang loudly and also the tiles are loose on the floor and can make a bit of noise when people walk over them. Also there are no safes/ lockers. But I wouldn't say I 'disliked' these things, they are just things that could be improved over time :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, the room and common areas plus bathroom were very clean and the location was fairly handy.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been better ie some fresh bread or fruit considering the markets close by and there was only one bathroom for males and females with the toilet inside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...cool staff, great breakfast, comfortable beds, clean, great location

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent customer service and very friendly staffs I enjoyed the hostel as much as I enjoyed the city! Grazie mille!!

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I chose this hostel because of the excellent reviews. I'm going to add another! From the very start of my stay, I felt very welcome. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. The bed was very springy, yet comfortable (how i have no idea!). The room was spacious (I was in Blue Sky), I'd booked a 5 bed dorm and got a 3! Happy days! The shower was one of the best I've ever had in a hostel before, and you had a proper bathroom (complete with bath!) to use. The hairdryer is a really good one too! Security wise, there was no feeling of worry about my things, though there weren't lockers or anything. In fact we left our bedroom door unlocked most of the time (unheard of in most places) and nothing was taken. Breakfast was simple - corn flakes, coco pops, bread, cakes, jams and nutella - with a choice of several different types of juices, coffee, tea bags and hot chocolate, and was tasty and filling. I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. It was right behind Teatro Massimo, so easy to get to, close to everything, and it had a great atmosphere. I highly recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Palermo. :)

Disliked: I found their map on how to get there really hard to follow and it was not helpful for me to get to the location. Street names on the map would be nice... however the fact they send you a map and reasonably clear directions on how to get there is pretty awesome. :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, quirky character of the place

Disliked: Bed could have been more comfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place has its own spirit and it is located centrally to all the main attractions in Palermo.

Disliked: I cannot think of something. I liked everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Binns

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful people. Spacious bedrooms, kitchen and living areas Great well-equipped kitchen. Even when full there's lots of space for everyone. Very little outside noise in bedrooms.

Disliked: Breakfast coffee not brilliant..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TIMUR TEFIKOV

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 TIMUR would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel in the historic part of Palermo, just behind Teatro Massimo. There is a market behind it where you can buy fresh and very tasty food. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the hostel from the bus terminal/train station. The place is clean and the rooms are large. The one I stayed it had only three beds (while in some hostels they put four or five two-tier beds in a room of the same size). The guys who own and/or run the hostel are fun and very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Phillip Moll

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very safe and secure.

Disliked: Sign for hostel was very small and it was hard to find. Maybe I am just bad at this kind of stuff though. A lit up sign would be ideal. Breakfast was also meager and was amazed they charged to use the computer in the lounge area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Pirozhkova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: This is an excellent hostel! I felt like home being there, so the name fits the place very well. The staff was not only helpful, answered all my questions, recommended places to visit. The were also genuinely friendly. And this is the best. Laura, ciao from Dalston!

Disliked: Ekaterina left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and good location

Disliked: No wifi in some rooms