HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vecchia Palermo

Guesthouse | Via San Cristoforo 15, Palermo, Italy 90133

77.1% Overall Rating

30 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2013)

Robert Sumner-Mack thinks…

"Location is just 10 minute walk up Via Roma. Very secure and in interesting area."

Read all Vecchia Palermo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palermo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Palermo

B&B A Casa Di Anna
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Roma Street B&B Palermo
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 73.6% 4 reviews
Bed and Breakfast D'Angelo
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 5 reviews
B and B Palermo
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 74.1% 37 reviews
Cecilia 5
26.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B Atlantide
23.40 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 46 reviews
Hotel del Centro
33.21 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 50 reviews
Ex Locanda Termini
26.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

30 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vecchia Palermo'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 35 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to walk to from bus station

Disliked: had to ask for cups

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maria Berthold

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013

Liked: Its really close to the railway station, just 5-7 minutes.

Disliked: It was impossible to find it without help. First we have to go to Via Roma 118 (third floor) to other place and there we found a staff that took us to our room. We could do that only because a local helped us. There was no Internet and we got no map of the city and breakfast was small but espresso was really good and breakfast was delivered right to the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Deregowska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: big comfortable bed, cute small balcony

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Sumner-Mack

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just 10 minute walk up Via Roma. Very secure and in interesting area.

Disliked: Although advertised as 24x7 WiFi, the rooms are just around the corner fron Street Roma, another nit, apparently, of same hostel complex and out of range. So one must walk around the corner and up the steps

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyting ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many bathrooms on same floor that can be secured, proper showers with warm water and sink. The exterior balcony shutters in our room could be closed to block out a lot of sporadic noise on the street.

Disliked: Elevator seems to be only working with max. 3 persons - "risk of blocking" it said in Italian on the paper attached to the gates. For that reason alone (as it seemed really like a 'trap') we all took the stairs -- the sign comes across as strong counter-advice.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

cezary osojca

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: nothing special,

Disliked: poor breakfast( one small croissant,one small glass of juice & coffee),noisy location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - very close to railway and bus stations and in the centre at the same time, spacious room.

Disliked: Shower malfunction, not very clean

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrija Todorovic

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Andrija would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Vecchia was full in that moment and owner accepted us in his another hostel across the street hostel Via Roma. In that hostel everything vas perfect. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nadia Rivet

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: Clean big room. Big shower. The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: No internet or wifi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Kitcher

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean & comfortable. The bathroom was also exceptionally clean. The staff, despite speaking very little English, were extremely helpful and also very friendly. It wasn't difficult to find, and was situated 5minutes walk from the harbour and surrounded by inexpensive restaurants & good night life. Everything you could possibly need was on your door step.

Disliked: It is not possible to pay by card upon arrival. I had contacted the hostel weeks in advance to double check and it appeared that it was possible to use VISA or other card brands. But unfortunately this was a nasty little surprise when arriving... fortunately it didn't ruin our holiday.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Vlckova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2011 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: they have air conditioner, that is important at that location, and it is close to the turistic attractions.

Disliked: Eventhough it is close to the turistic attractions, the street of the BB is very ugly, and they do not offer a map of the city and the staff don't speak English.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: next to via roma

Disliked: bad breakfast, really hard to find (check-in in B&B Vicho)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Viktor Musil

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011

Liked: Location, charming exterior.

Disliked: Very well located, but hard to find the staff and the right floor in the house, nothing signposted. An 19th century, a bit dilapidated estate, but noisy and with really poor breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

TIFFANY ANNE OUIMET

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 TIFFANY ANNE would recommend this property

Liked: Charming, old style deco. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathroom was old. Kind of mouldy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011

Liked: Location. Clean bathrooms (altgough the dimensions of shower cabin could be quite problematic for a larger person).

Disliked: Unfortunately, many things: 1. "Reception" is a joke. I had to guess which button at the entry phone to press. One of the guests answered it and let us in. If not him we would have stayed and waited on the street for God knows how long. 2. Staff seemed to be quite surprised by our arrival (although we had confirmed reservation) and evidently improvised to find a proper room for us (eventually, we got 3-person room instead of "Double provate"). 3. I'm pretty sure I could pry open the doors to our room (as well as to the balcony) with a stronger kick. Summing up: it was a dissapointment. Location was very good and the price was ok but next time I would rather spend 2-3 euro more and take a room in a regular hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, decent breakfast, huge room.

Disliked: No sign on door and on buzzers, someone happened to walk out as we were arriving otherwise I don't know how we would have gotten in even though they say 24 hour reception it took a long while to find someone to help us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excelent in terms of touristic attractions. Rooms are spacious and clean.

Disliked: Breakfast was poor, bread and butter. Staff doesn t speak any English. But they manage to comunicate with you somehow, though. It was a bit difficult to find the place since there is no 24h reception. The bell for the hostel is not marked so you can not get in if the owner is not waiting for you when you arrive. We were lucky to run into some Italian guests who helped us reach the owner. For the first night our room was not available, so the owner gave us a room in his other Hostel close by.