HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Art Hostel

Hostel | Via Enrico Pessina 66, Naples, Italy 80135

78.6% Overall Rating

42 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Giovanni is just the beat receptionist you will find at a hostel! Would definitely go back there!"

Read all Art Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.70
  • Towel USD 3.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

City tax is not included in the price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

La Locanda dell'Arte & Victoria House
32.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Welcome inn
22.32 USD

Hostel 84.2% 429 reviews
B&B Palazzo Ruffo di Bagnara
45.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Portalba Relais
59.09 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Art Resort Galleria Umberto
94.54 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Guest House Civico16 B&B
43.33 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 4 reviews
Hostel Giovanni's Home
23.63 USD

Hostel 94.2% 178 reviews
Miseria e Nobiltà
27.56 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

42 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Art Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well maintained. Free breakfast was also provided.

Disliked: Keys to rooms are not provided and doors remain unlocked. Anyone could walk in at any time. Was constantly worried about personal belongings. Also booked a 'female only dorm' which cost extra however, they allowed a male to share the room with us anyway.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is just the beat receptionist you will find at a hostel! Would definitely go back there!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its near piazza dante

Disliked: There was a man that came in the middle of the night and slept there (he was no turist).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: The people I met here were ace but that's down to chance

Disliked: I didn't get a key and ended up getting locked out for hours. The wifi only works in certain places and the layout is weird. Really difficult to find!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Hanley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice, and the owner helped us out of a jam. Pretty good location, some interesting little restaurants within walking distance. The room was cosy and clean. No problems with the bathroom.

Disliked: It was sort of unclear how you're supposed to actually get inside the hostel. The owner helped us as I said, but she was a bit brusque/rude... We buzzed to get in, and it took four or five buzz-convos with her before she actually told us where to go. She kept saying they were full, but I was saying (in italian) that we had reservations. Anyway, eventually she came down and let us in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer McKie

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 March 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms and good breakfast! Staff were lovely

Disliked: The hostel has moved however the directions has not.... We spent a long time looking for it ams even found the sign for the old place... We finally found it however this must be fixed. To find it take the metro to Dante, stay on the same side of the street as the metro and walk up the hill until you reach number 66 you will see a smallsign for arte hotel this is it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Estel

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. In the end, you become friends and even cook together in small groups of different hostel guests.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Andreas was extremely knowledgeable and friendly

Disliked: Slight confusion resulted in my partner and I having to sleep in separate dorms. Would also have been great if bathrooms were cleaned more often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean; staff very friendly and helpful; breakfast was much better than expected; great location.

Disliked: Breakfast was over the road from the hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly. the location was good, near the metro station, but i never used metro, it was possible to reach everywhere by foot, also. the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: in the bathroom there wasn't soap, toilet paper, hanger to hang our stuff like towel, clothes. i also didin't have any key for the room, so i thought that it could be dangerous, but nothing bad happened:)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katja Heinrich

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: sehr familiär und hilfsbereites Personal

Disliked: die Sauberkeit lässt zu Wünschen übrig, jedoch ist das in Italien relativ normal und nicht mit dt. Verhältnissen zu vergleichen. Aber wir hatten kein Schimmel oder so. Die Handtücher werden nur alle 3, 4 Tage gewechselt. Also ratsam sich ein Handtuch selbst mitzubringen. Kein TV und Radio im Zimmer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cinzia Castrignano

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 June 2013 Cinzia would recommend this property

Liked: Tutto molto bello, camere pulite e personale gentile e disponibile.

Disliked: Cinzia left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Young Jin Oh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012

Liked: 프론트 남성직원 1명과 여성직원 1명, 청소 관리 여성 1명이 있습니다. 여성직원 모두 거의 항상 친절합니다. 남성직원은 먹을 것을 주면 굉장히 친절해집니다. 아담한 분위기에 방문객들끼리 쉽게 친해집니다.

Disliked: 이곳은 냉방기를 가동시킵니다. 이탈리아 남부는 열대의 날씨지만 이 호스텔은 겨울입니다. 당신의 몸이 허약하다면 추천하지 않습니다. 이곳을 방문한 사람들 중 다수가 감기에 걸릴 정도니까요.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

David Sheridan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012

Liked: The property was kept clean, and when the A/C was working, it was effective. The hostel was situated close to public transport, including the Circumvesuviana line, and only a couple of miles from a major shopping arcade.

Disliked: The staff. By the end of our third day, we no longer wanted to go back to the hostel until bedtime just in case we were accosted and shouted at by the staff member on duty. Guests: were shouted at for leaving washed clothes out to dry, were refused keys to the property and then ignored when ringing the bell at night, had their food thrown away or eaten out of the fridge, were abused and sworn at for not being tidy, and complained about behind their backs to other guests, including racial and cultural slurs, were subjected to drunken inappropriateness by staff, were insulted and accused of lying, were woken up by the staff arguing with other guests, were forced to answer the door because the night staff was asleep and could not be woken (owing to aforementioned drunkenness), had their property opened and tampered with by staff. If this was not enough, the cooker (running on bottled gas) was badly unsafe. I sent an email to the manager describing all this, with an Italian translation provided. I have not received any response.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location, close to the metro and main sights of Naples. It was clean, and rooms were seviced daily. Breakfast is not onsite, however very nice.

Disliked: Not the best in terms of security. No working lockers in the dorm room. Was not issued a key to the dorm, and the door didn't lock. Had to pay for the towel (3 euro), even though the website states that it's included in the price. The oven in the kitchen didn't work. Also there are 8 flights of stairs to climb up (no working lift). When we arrived we waited over an hour for the receptionist to let us in, as no one was there. Our keys to the front door worked, however other guests key's did not. There were left to buzz at all hours of the night to get in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

federico ortiz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2012 federico would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the good breakfast

Disliked: mm the internet didnt work, and there was no info of tours, and no kitchen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: it was the cheapest bed in naples

Disliked: not a backpacker place, no 24h reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is very kind and helpful, let us use the internet for free, and the phone when we had some trouble booking ahead, even talked to them for us in italian! The rooms are clean and it is easy to find from the directions on hostelbookers. They have a good kitchen, and a place on the roof to hang washing. Good place, would reccomend to anyone.

Disliked: The showers can overflow a bit, but if you are sensible it is not a problem and can be avoided.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ilennee diaz

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 August 2011 ilennee would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, with many bathrooms.

Disliked: Las duchas se rebalsabna de agua.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist is friendly and flexible. he speaks so many languages!

Disliked: The showers overflow onto the floor...and the floor wasnt cleaned for several days

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff and the free use of internet.

Disliked: The stairs up to the hostel door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you follow the instructions given by hostel bookers you will very easily locate the hostel. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and easy-going. Breakfast was typical: toast, juice, fresh coffee, croissants, etc. It is a great hostel for backpackers, perhaps not so much for families. The internet worked great in our room, they also offered a computer as well, which came in very usefull. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Owen Graham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, reasonable price (for Rome) and great room. Monica at reception was especially helpful and explained how to get around and stuff which was really kind.

Disliked: Hard to find! You have to go to Hotel Hollywood to find it, which wasn't clear to us at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010

Liked: New and clean

Disliked: No reception, there was no one there to check us in. Other guests had to let us in and contact the owners. Staff were rude when they finally came. Just no idea how to run a hostel...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010

Liked: The room was clean.

Disliked: I would not reccomend this place. It is down a nasty alley that smells like pee and is scary at nigtht. They have no idea of how to run a business. There is NO ONE in the hostel and it feels creepy. There is no real reception desk, they dont speak english very well, the wifi doesn't work and they have a computer but they turned the room into a priavte room.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels