HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel Giovanni's Home

Hostel | Via Sapienza, 43, Naples, Italy 80138

94.2% Overall Rating

177 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2014)

Marit Lizee thinks…

"Fabulous owner! Giovanni made it a priority to get to know his guests and helped them navigate the city. Great location! Everything was clean. I reccomend this hostel and will definitely return."

Read all Hostel Giovanni's Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Guests under 18 must be accompained or authorized by parents or the booking will be refused.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Guest House Civico16 B&B
43.28 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 4 reviews
Naples Pizza Hostel
21.64 USD

Hostel 74.7% 61 reviews
La Locanda dell'Arte & Victoria House
30.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Welcome inn
21.64 USD

Hostel 83.7% 421 reviews
Art Hostel
24.35 USD

Hostel 79.3% 53 reviews
Portalba Relais
60.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B Palazzo Ruffo di Bagnara
47.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Europeo
24.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.4% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

177 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Giovanni's Home'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marit Lizee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Marit would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous owner! Giovanni made it a priority to get to know his guests and helped them navigate the city. Great location! Everything was clean. I reccomend this hostel and will definitely return.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abi Benford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Abi would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni was incredibly helpful, informative, funny, and even gave us tips on cooking pasta. We had over packed and Giovanni kept a bag of excess luggage safe for us until we returned two weeks later the night before we flew home. The location was ideal, and the map Giovanni gave us (along with some great background knowledge on the city's history) ensured we had a great time. The hostel had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, we felt genuinely at home there. Would recommend, and we'll definitely be visiting again sometime in the future!

Disliked: Nothing - above our expectations for a property at this price range.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great info about the city, in the center of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly guy, safe environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Peebles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is like the cool uncle that everyone has that pulls out a guitar at dinner and serinades someone! I absolutely loved it! If you are going to naples, stay with Giovanni.

Disliked: Not being able to spend more time here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paula Pacheco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is very friendly and helpfull. Perfect location. Hot shower. Good socialization.

Disliked: Lots of stairs. No heatting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Tobin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Got a little lost on the way (directionally challenged) but Giovanni stood on the terrace yelling out my name in the rain. When I arrived he greeted my sister and I with a bowl of pasta water. Giovanni takes the time to tell you everything you need to know about Napoli. Seemed a little dangerous at first, but I soon changed my mind, thanks to Giovanni and his passion for Napoli. I felt like I was at home here, Giovanni really looks after everyone! And he is an amazing cook. Definitely will be back to see the parts I missed. This hostel was an amazing experience. From 'GPS girl'

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Green

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is the greatest- he always made us feel safe and welcome, cooked great food, and shared his vast knowledge of Napoli with us. This is not a hostel- it's a home. It is hard not to fall in love with Napoli when you see it through Giovanni's eyes, and the motorbike ride around the city was incredible. This is a truly fantastic place to stay and make friends.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Dewdney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni!

Disliked: Not a thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Arrieta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: it is conveniently located close to historic center, Giovanni has a passion for Napoli and it shows. He gives you a detailed map including where to get the best pizza (Ginos). He also likes to play the guitar, armonica and sing!

Disliked: It is in a historical building, so no lift.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Simon Dyball

Alone

City break

17 November 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: 60 Stairs To the Hostel!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is so lovely and helpful and will tell you absolutely everything there is to do in Naples as well as a detailed history of the city (and italy as a whole). We felt bad as we were only there for 2 nights so couldn't do everything he said!

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarissa Sugeng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Clarissa would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first hostel I had ever stayed at and Giovanni made me feel so at home! He gave excellent information about Naples and great tips on how to stay safe. I felt very comfortable going around Naples even though it looks a little rough around the edges. The hostel is in a fantastic location too, very close to the best pizza places and attractions.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Popescu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is such a great host, he gave us a lot of useful information and he cooked a nice pasta for us. The hostel is small and friendly and has a nice terace where everyone gets togheter - definitely it's not the place for clubbers. No breakfast unfortunately but you can use the small kitchen. The location is close to everything. Pretty good Wi-Fi.

Disliked: Be prepared for steep stairs - the hostel is at the third floor of the building and there isn't any elevator (construction restriction)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Colman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni's is the kind of hostel you hear about, but rarely ever experience. Upon arriving at Giovanni's he gave us water and food, he sat us down and gave us a map and directions to the best pizza and gave us advice on everthing Naples. Despite the fact that there were lots of people at Giovanni's he had time for us and was attentive to our needs. A great host who I hope to visit again one day.

Disliked: It is so far away from where I actually live!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni is great host.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

christopher daniels

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A quirky hostel in a quirky city! I loved Giovanni's. The man himself is well commented on in the other reviews...looks after everyone like a father figure and his welcoming talk about Naples is unexpectedly detailed! The hostel is fairly small and does indeed feel like an old city appartment that's been turned into a hostel. The rooftop outside area is the place where everyone gets together in the evenings and drinks wine - one of the best hostels I've ever been in for meeting people. Very friendly. (But this is definitely not a clubber's hostel (if you are looking for that)). The rooms are fairly small but ok. No breakfast unfortunately, but free use of the small kitchen if you want it (and Giovanni does frequently make simple pasta for everyone!) Internet access is available on 1 computer but is slow. The location in the old city does feel a little unsafe when you first arrive - but this is Naples! - and after a couple of days you realise that actually this part of the centre is fine. Would definitely reccomend Giovanni's! Had a great time here.

Disliked: christopher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serife ezgi mertturk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 serife ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: giovanni was so helpful like a father .when i arrived he appeared with a glass of water and told me everything about naples. he cooks pastas ,asks about everything is fine or not. maybe the best is the atmosphere , because whole hostel is like a family ,usualy go out together ,eat and chat amd have fun. i really enjoyed my stay and i can say it was my best stay in whole italy.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly host great part of town

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micael Pereira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Micael would recommend this property

Liked: everything, giovanni shows you all the interesting things to do in the town, tell to the people facts about the city, gives discounts in some activities, makes you enjoy all you want from the city. Next time i'll go to Naples, i'll definitely stay there, hardly recommended.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location and staff very helpfull

Disliked: Nothing !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was superior, especially Giovanni. He loves Naples and takes personal care of his "family" of guests. His daily free pasta offerings show this. Stay there.

Disliked: Bunkrooms were tight, but not a big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Hardy

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 August 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Well, the past reviews are right. I was warmly welcomed by Giovanni before being given advice, maps and a history lesson all about Napoli (which I loved because I had done no research before going) then when I asked for a good place to eat he cooked me some of the best pasta I've ever eaten. The whole property is air conditioned and you can bring your own food and cook or pop to the nearest restaurant. If you need advice or recommendations ask giovanni, but don't feel pressured to always take his advice!

Disliked: Nothing much ^^*

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Portia Beckwith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Portia would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni! He was so so lovely and incredibly helpful! He was more of a crazy uncle than a hostel owner. He gave a big talk on whats to do in and around naples as well as how to stay safe. He told us where to get the best pizza in Naples (take his advice on it!), as well as making us lots of yummy pasta and sharing his limoncello. He definitely made our stay in naples! (from Pig, Blondie and Ron)

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanni was the most welcoming host - he brought us cold water when we arrived and then sat us down for an hour long introduction to Naples and the Campania region! His travel tips ensured that we had a great time in Naples, and he told us where to find the best pizza too. Giovanni keeps his hostel very clean, and asks that people not come back drunk at night, so it is very quiet. The safety of his guests is very important to him, and he gave us lots of tips on how to stay safe. Also, the air con was a great break from the heat!

Disliked: The hostel is up three flights of very steep stairs, so lugging your suitcase up can be a bit rough. The beds sagged, but seemed to be structurally sound. Giovanni can seem a bit forceful with his travel advice, but he really means well and just wants his guests to have an enjoyable stay in Naples.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels