We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel of the Sun

Hostel | Via Melisurgo 15, Naples, Italy 80133

94.5% Overall Rating

946 out of 957 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

Nicole Frias thinks…

"It is a great location. Close to the water and some beautiful scenic walks and also about a ten minute walk to the old city. It was a little tricky to see though when I first arrived. It is a few…"

Read all Hostel of the Sun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48hrs cancellation policy. Cancellations must be made by 08am two nights prior to your scheduled arrival date. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. Please note that the city tax of Eur 1 is not included in the rates. Guests older than 60yrs must book a private accommodation. This Hostel doesn't accept group bookings for more than 10 people. Please note if you proceed your booking (s) and it's a group booking, the hostel will cancel it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Hostel and Hotel Bella Capri
16.51 USD

Hostel 82.1% 397 reviews
Bovio Suites
40.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Le Orchidee
11.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 21 reviews
Nettuno
22.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 47 reviews
Attico Partenopeo
110.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Naples Family Apartments
22.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Via De Deo Studio Apartments
44.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Europeo
21.29 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.1% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

946 out of 957 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel of the Sun'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 771 of 840 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Frias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great location. Close to the water and some beautiful scenic walks and also about a ten minute walk to the old city. It was a little tricky to see though when I first arrived. It is a few floors above ground so when you are looking for the name make sure to look up! Free breakfast in the morning was lovely as well.

Disliked: I paid $16 for a mixed bed dorm which was fine. I would have liked to have a free shower for that price. they charged 1 euro for a towel but I guess you get to keep it for the rest of your stay? Not bad but just a bit annoying. Also. It is a very loud/party hostel. The music stays on all night until about 12am then it is just turned down a little. The bar in the hostel makes for a noisy crowd. But if you're into it then it's great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 5 mins walk from the pier and just opposite to the palace. Also walkable distance to main shopping area. Friendly staffs. Good services with that price.

Disliked: Limited share bathrooms/washrooms, need to queue during peak hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Bartella

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and fun hostel - the staff provided good recommendations for things to see in Naples.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff who were welcoming from start to finish, comfortable rooms (though the bathroom door was a little hard to slide open and close), lots of tours and activities offered though we had already planned what we were going to do.

Disliked: location was slightly hard to find being in the backstreets. However a friendly man on a motorbike stopped and asked if we were heading to Hostel of the Sun to which we replied yes, and he pointed us in the right direction.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is nice too. Good value for your money. The hostel is located in quite good area in Napoli. Close to ferry port and bus terminal.

Disliked: It's not too far from the metro but a bit hard to find. There is an elevator which need a coin to work. Wifi is not so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, great activities, friendly people, I thoroughly had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! Very friendly, helpful, and facilitative. I also loved having a decent breakfast included.

Disliked: I wish the rooms were all on the same floor, or that there were activities on each floor's reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farah Adibah Mohamad Nasir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Farah Adibah would recommend this property

Liked: It's situated near the city, and also near to the port, where you can take the ferry to Capri. The room, the facilites, and breakfast were all great, we couldn't ask for anything more.

Disliked: In Hostel of the Sun's website, it's stated you can take the bus from the port to get to Pompeii. I hope the hosts can correct that, or maybe add some new informations because it's actually only during summer,or that's what I'd been told by the hosts, even when I said that I read that piece of information from their website. We went during the winter so we had to carry our luggage to the station, and then took a train to Pompeii. There is also no grocery store available near the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

City break

03 February 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a good location on the seventh floor in a building near the port and not so far away from the oldtown. The staff was very nice and the hostel was clean and well ran.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brick Bradford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Brick would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for an eccentric location with a homely atmosphere to relax in then this hostel will suffice you with said charm and more. The bright decor and kind staff will leave you with a fun environment and well as helpful information for your say in Naples. The location if somewhat isolated from any 'big' sightseeing venture, yet which is replaced by its proximity to train services.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about from my experience besides a somewhat squeaky bed which was still not a problem at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Jack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming, homely, personalised atmosphere. We were greeted by name and given a very thorough introduction to the hostel and potential tourist activities. They were very helpful with directions and even provided a map. There was a fantastic breakfast provided eery day. There were also options for a dinner - this was paid for but generally very reasonable. They provided information on activities they thought we would personally enjoy, these included horse rides, archaeological museums and musical areas. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely like to return.

Disliked: The lift is very small. There are stairs but the reception is on the 7th floor. So if you have bags or heavy luggage you really need the lift. Also the lift costs 5cents (although when you get to reception they have a dish of 5cent pieces for the hostel guests to use the lift).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriel Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and community present. The staff were super helpful and the location was pretty good.

Disliked: When they advertise a triple room, what they actually meant was a double bed with a single bed installed. This should be more clearly advertised as we were 3 friends traveling and had to share a double bed between us, which was annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gollapinni Karthik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Gollapinni would recommend this property

Liked: An awesome place to live in. The staff was really helpful and gave a lot of tips. Nice kitchen and not to mention a small bar.

Disliked: Gollapinni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gollapinni Karthik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Gollapinni would recommend this property

Liked: It was really a pleasant and awesome stay.

Disliked: Gollapinni left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Perin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The hostel is very tidy and has a great atmosphere. You can be sure that you will find a nice place to stay (they even serve dinner and have nutella on their breakfast!!).

Disliked: Nothing, just the location, that could be a little bit closer to the train station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Good free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Sozzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at the Hostel of the Sun. As a solo traveler, it was really easy to meet people. I really appreciated the detailed map and the explanation of the staff of things to do and places to check out. The staff really were absolutely lovely and so informative. I would highly recommend staying here!

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nakul Shah

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

28 September 2014 Nakul would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the reception area and how they have the couches and sofas laid our for guests to relax , watch TV loaded with movies , read from a big collection of books and also liked the shared room that we stayed in...lovely view ...very clean bathrooms..

Disliked: just that you have to take a metro (just one station) to get there from Naples Central...nothing other than that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Paula Mascia

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Ana Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Best place I stayed in italy. The facilities are nothing particularly special, but the staff if so incredibly friendly that it makes you feel like it's the best hostel in the world.

Disliked: Nothing :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and the bar is small, but nice - met alot of travellers there

Disliked: The drains in the showers were often clogged with hair.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included in price Very nice and informative staff Great matresses to sleep on

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVIA WELTZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 OLIVIA would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel of the Sun is such a brilliant place. Excellent, knowledgable and friendly staff! Knew so much about Italy. Gave so much helpful advise about where to go. So welcoming on arrival it's a little shocking! Really great chilled out atmosphere, like a big psychedellic house of nomads. Music blearing, cool dogs coming up for cuddles. Loved it.

Disliked: We had some issues with some nice but very drunk idiotic guys sharing our room. Kept us up all night with their antics. Staff were very supportive and gave us a shot of whiskey to say sorry. We weren't too bothered though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Emmerson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in and I've been to A LOT. I loved everything about it. yes it looks a little sketchy outside but inside is so cozy and makes you feel right at home. staff are really helpful, breakfast is great and the bar is cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas.

Disliked: The street it was on wasn't the best.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels