We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel of the Sun

Hostel | Via Melisurgo 15, Naples, Italy 80133

94.4% Overall Rating

924 out of 935 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

Nakul Shah thinks…

"i loved the reception area and how they have the couches and sofas laid our for guests to relax , watch TV loaded with movies , read from a big collection of books and also liked the shared room that…"

Read all Hostel of the Sun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48hrs cancellation policy. Cancellations must be made by 08am two nights prior to your scheduled arrival date. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. Please note that the city tax of Eur 1 is not included in the rates. Guests older than 60yrs must book a private accommodation. This Hostel doesn't accept group bookings for more than 10 people. Please note if you proceed your booking (s) and it's a group booking, the hostel will cancel it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Hostel and Hotel Bella Capri
18.98 USD

Hostel 82.3% 388 reviews
Bovio Suites
46.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nettuno
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 47 reviews
Attico Partenopeo
126.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Maison Degas
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Naples Family Apartments
25.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Via De Deo Studio Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Europeo
22.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.4% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

924 out of 935 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel of the Sun'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 753 of 818 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nakul Shah

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

28 September 2014 Nakul would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the reception area and how they have the couches and sofas laid our for guests to relax , watch TV loaded with movies , read from a big collection of books and also liked the shared room that we stayed in...lovely view ...very clean bathrooms..

Disliked: just that you have to take a metro (just one station) to get there from Naples Central...nothing other than that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Paula Mascia

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 Ana Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Best place I stayed in italy. The facilities are nothing particularly special, but the staff if so incredibly friendly that it makes you feel like it's the best hostel in the world.

Disliked: Nothing :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and the bar is small, but nice - met alot of travellers there

Disliked: The drains in the showers were often clogged with hair.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included in price Very nice and informative staff Great matresses to sleep on

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVIA WELTZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 OLIVIA would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel of the Sun is such a brilliant place. Excellent, knowledgable and friendly staff! Knew so much about Italy. Gave so much helpful advise about where to go. So welcoming on arrival it's a little shocking! Really great chilled out atmosphere, like a big psychedellic house of nomads. Music blearing, cool dogs coming up for cuddles. Loved it.

Disliked: We had some issues with some nice but very drunk idiotic guys sharing our room. Kept us up all night with their antics. Staff were very supportive and gave us a shot of whiskey to say sorry. We weren't too bothered though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Emmerson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in and I've been to A LOT. I loved everything about it. yes it looks a little sketchy outside but inside is so cozy and makes you feel right at home. staff are really helpful, breakfast is great and the bar is cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal areas.

Disliked: The street it was on wasn't the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful, informative, friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful, offered lots of things to do in and around Naples

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I've stayed in (and I've stayed in a lot!). The staff are so friendly and helpful and give lots of information about things to do in Naples. Everything is clean and my dorm was really comfortable and safe. There are lots of activities and the common area and bar are great places to meet people. It's a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Smyth

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. They were so helpful. Everything was either cheap or free such as drinking/printing. Not trying to make additional money at every turn.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Churriana Genillard

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Churriana would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying with my 15 yr old daughter so we has a private room and shared bathroom which were v good. Excellent location and felt v safe. Breakfast was food and she loved the 5kg jars of Nutella on the tables!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

? ??

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2014 ? would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constanza Vera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and confortable. I really recommend this property. BUFFET breakfast was very nice

Disliked: Constanza left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hosier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The 24 hour reception with friendly and helpful staff (especially Harriet!) meant that whenever you had a question you could go and ask. They also recommend places to visit and activities that fit within your budget. The location is a minute walk from a port with a stunning view of Vesuvius. There's a kitchen, cheap bar,telly and so much more. Could not recommend this hostel more!

Disliked: It's up 8 flights of stairs.The lift costs 5 cents on weekdays but the Hostel have a pot on reception with loads of 5 cents for you to take at your leisure. Just make sure when you first arrive you have the change handy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome! They are very friendly and helpful. Reception is open 24 hours, too. And there's also a bar at the hostel (only open until 11p, though). The staff gave us excellent tips and instructions in order to see both Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii in a single day. Breakfast is awesome, too. The bathrooms were very clean and well-maintained. Nice, clean sheets.

Disliked: You have to pay 5 cents to use the elevator (only if it's before 7:30pm), but the hostel staff is awesome and throws 5 cent coins at you often so that you don't have to pay out of pocket! (There's also a "take a coin" jar at the reception desk for this purpose.)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Fakude

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The best staff in any hostel: they are the most helpful & very lovely too

Disliked: I think the bathroom facilities need up grading, they are a bit dated, but they do work

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure with VERY helpful staff.Convenient location for exploring the city and especially handy for the ferry terminals.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Nonn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel of the sun was the best hostel experience I had in europe. The atmosphere is so colorful, vibrant, and clean. The hosts are the nicest people who genuinely care for your stay. I would highly recommend doing the boat tour of capri organized by the hostel it was one of the best days I've had in a while, well worth the money!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about honestly !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly personnel !! Happy and ready to give you the proper ideas of how to explore Napoli !! :) Thanks a lot guys !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room had a great atmosphere, fun and chilled vibe.

Disliked: Location is a little bit far away from main town for walking distance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hawkes

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we entered the hostel we were greeted by such warm, welcoming and funny staff. We were sat down and talked through a helpful map of Naples and were even recommended the 'best pizzeria' to visit while there and it did not disappoint - so much so that we went twice! (it is called Starita). We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip to Naples and the Amalfi coast and it was so close to the Alibus to and from Naples airport.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Rigg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great atmosphere, clean bedroom with all the facilities you could want, plus a very filling and varied breakfast.

Disliked: Our room was on the 6th floor of the building, luckily there was a functioning lift for us to carry our suitcases up and down but I did notice that mid-week, you need to pay for use of the lift which might be a hassle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sofia correa de sa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Super central, fantastic and super friendly staff, very knowlagable about location!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Whitwham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Everything basically! Really helpful friendly staff, good friendly atmosphere with free wifi, communal area with TV/ computers to use, dvd's to borrow (players & TV in the room). Nice bar area, good breakfast.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels