HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel of the Sun

Hostel | Via Melisurgo 15, Naples, Italy 80133

94.9% Overall Rating

911 out of 922 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Katherine Smyth thinks…

"Everything. They were so helpful. Everything was either cheap or free such as drinking/printing. Not trying to make additional money at every turn."

Read all Hostel of the Sun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Hostel and Hotel Bella Capri
26.85 USD

Hostel 83.8% 375 reviews
Bovio Suites
44.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Executive
30.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nettuno
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 47 reviews
Decumani Hotel De Charme
62.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Attico Partenopeo
134.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Maison Degas
49.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Naples Family Apartments
26.85 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

910 out of 921 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel of the Sun'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 743 of 805 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Smyth

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. They were so helpful. Everything was either cheap or free such as drinking/printing. Not trying to make additional money at every turn.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Churriana Genillard

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Churriana would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying with my 15 yr old daughter so we has a private room and shared bathroom which were v good. Excellent location and felt v safe. Breakfast was food and she loved the 5kg jars of Nutella on the tables!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

? ??

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2014 ? would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constanza Vera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and confortable. I really recommend this property. BUFFET breakfast was very nice

Disliked: Constanza left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hosier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The 24 hour reception with friendly and helpful staff (especially Harriet!) meant that whenever you had a question you could go and ask. They also recommend places to visit and activities that fit within your budget. The location is a minute walk from a port with a stunning view of Vesuvius. There's a kitchen, cheap bar,telly and so much more. Could not recommend this hostel more!

Disliked: It's up 8 flights of stairs.The lift costs 5 cents on weekdays but the Hostel have a pot on reception with loads of 5 cents for you to take at your leisure. Just make sure when you first arrive you have the change handy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is awesome! They are very friendly and helpful. Reception is open 24 hours, too. And there's also a bar at the hostel (only open until 11p, though). The staff gave us excellent tips and instructions in order to see both Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii in a single day. Breakfast is awesome, too. The bathrooms were very clean and well-maintained. Nice, clean sheets.

Disliked: You have to pay 5 cents to use the elevator (only if it's before 7:30pm), but the hostel staff is awesome and throws 5 cent coins at you often so that you don't have to pay out of pocket! (There's also a "take a coin" jar at the reception desk for this purpose.)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Fakude

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The best staff in any hostel: they are the most helpful & very lovely too

Disliked: I think the bathroom facilities need up grading, they are a bit dated, but they do work

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure with VERY helpful staff.Convenient location for exploring the city and especially handy for the ferry terminals.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Nonn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel of the sun was the best hostel experience I had in europe. The atmosphere is so colorful, vibrant, and clean. The hosts are the nicest people who genuinely care for your stay. I would highly recommend doing the boat tour of capri organized by the hostel it was one of the best days I've had in a while, well worth the money!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about honestly !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly personnel !! Happy and ready to give you the proper ideas of how to explore Napoli !! :) Thanks a lot guys !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room had a great atmosphere, fun and chilled vibe.

Disliked: Location is a little bit far away from main town for walking distance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hawkes

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we entered the hostel we were greeted by such warm, welcoming and funny staff. We were sat down and talked through a helpful map of Naples and were even recommended the 'best pizzeria' to visit while there and it did not disappoint - so much so that we went twice! (it is called Starita). We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip to Naples and the Amalfi coast and it was so close to the Alibus to and from Naples airport.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Rigg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great atmosphere, clean bedroom with all the facilities you could want, plus a very filling and varied breakfast.

Disliked: Our room was on the 6th floor of the building, luckily there was a functioning lift for us to carry our suitcases up and down but I did notice that mid-week, you need to pay for use of the lift which might be a hassle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sofia correa de sa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Super central, fantastic and super friendly staff, very knowlagable about location!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Whitwham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Everything basically! Really helpful friendly staff, good friendly atmosphere with free wifi, communal area with TV/ computers to use, dvd's to borrow (players & TV in the room). Nice bar area, good breakfast.

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bathrooms should have been cleaner...

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicia Dahmen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Felicia would recommend this property

Liked: Booked a private double and had a nice, clean detached bathroom. Towels were provided - always a bonus - and a DVD player (with a fair selection of DVDs in the common area) was used a lot after long, exhausting days of site-seeing. The bed was massive, and the room was spacious. Shared dinner was good, and a drink was included. The bar was a good place to chat to staff and other travellers. Breakfast had a lot of variety.

Disliked: Felicia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was great and we got a few activity and food recommendations which were wonderful. This was a perfect stay at a great hostel. Thanks!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Siobhan O'GRADY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, fun and welcoming atmosphere. The staff get to know most people by name and ensure no one us left out unless they prefer it that way!

Disliked: The sign outside is very small, I needed help to find. The 5cents you need for the lift is annoying

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the safe location and easy to reach almost everywhere. (.old town,metro,bus stop, ferry ,) Stuff is lovely and very helful.. Great breakfast . Definitely I suggest. Thanks for everthing Hostel of the Sun

Disliked: I do not remember anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Malivanek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: I rented a private room, which was extremely spacious. Staff were extremely welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure I was having a good time. Great location- you can walk around Naples very easily.

Disliked: Kimberley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mustafa kemal baran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 mustafa kemal would recommend this property

Liked: first of all, the staff. they were energetic and incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. they do everything to help out the guests and make them feel welcome. the location is very good, in walking distance to the attractions and but still slighty away from all the city centre hustle. plus it is literally next to the pier so you can take a walk along the coast anytime. the hostel covers a couple of floors on a big building. so it can be a bit crowded when everybody comes to the common room.

Disliked: not really a dislike but some of the rooms open directly to the common area and you may get affected by the noise coming from there. but it is a matter of architecture rather than a flaw on the staff's side.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people working there!

Disliked: I disliked that on certain times you had to use 5 cent coins in order to operate the elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me it's better than the Waldorf Astoria. Great stuff, very welcoming.

Disliked: Leaving it.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels