HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel of the Sun

Hostel | Via Melisurgo 15, Naples, Italy 80133

96.6% Overall Rating

889 out of 900 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Kimberley Malivanek thinks…

"I rented a private room, which was extremely spacious. Staff were extremely welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure I was having a good time. Great location- you can walk around Naples very…"

Read all Hostel of the Sun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Hostel and Hotel Bella Capri
24.90 USD

Hostel 85.6% 363 reviews
Bovio Suites
50.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Executive
31.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nettuno
24.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 45 reviews
The Fresh Glamour Accommodation
41.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Decumani Hotel De Charme
77.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Attico Partenopeo
138.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Maison Degas
50.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.6%

Overall Rating

889 out of 900 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel of the Sun'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 722 of 782 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Malivanek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: I rented a private room, which was extremely spacious. Staff were extremely welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure I was having a good time. Great location- you can walk around Naples very easily.

Disliked: Kimberley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mustafa kemal baran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 mustafa kemal would recommend this property

Liked: first of all, the staff. they were energetic and incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. they do everything to help out the guests and make them feel welcome. the location is very good, in walking distance to the attractions and but still slighty away from all the city centre hustle. plus it is literally next to the pier so you can take a walk along the coast anytime. the hostel covers a couple of floors on a big building. so it can be a bit crowded when everybody comes to the common room.

Disliked: not really a dislike but some of the rooms open directly to the common area and you may get affected by the noise coming from there. but it is a matter of architecture rather than a flaw on the staff's side.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people working there!

Disliked: I disliked that on certain times you had to use 5 cent coins in order to operate the elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me it's better than the Waldorf Astoria. Great stuff, very welcoming.

Disliked: Leaving it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, lively, new linens every day. One of the best I've been in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ricardo Andres Conde Blanco

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Ricardo Andres would recommend this property

Liked: attention

Disliked: anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, and the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nellie Meunier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Nellie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hostel near the bay with lovely staff and loads of free activities every day

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Staged on second floor but Common area on 7 floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 February 2014

Liked: Very Friendly/ Helpful staff

Disliked: Alot of construction work in and surrounding the building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place. Very friendly and helpful staff who really take their time to explain everything about what to see and do in and around Napoli. Comfortable beds, good common area, easy to meet other travellers. Also love that breakfast is provided.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malissa Phey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Malissa would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved every single thing about this hostel! I had booked a 4 bed dorm with shared bathroom but ended up getting put into a 3 bed room (with proper beds) and an ensuite! The staff were so friendly from the second I entered the hostel and immediately sat me down and started going through the map with me and telling me where the best sights were, and the best restaurants in town. They told me that if I felt something wasn't clean enough, they would clean it or if I wasn't happy with something, they would tend to it. I would definitely come back here and highly recommend it!

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tim yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 tim would recommend this property

Liked: I lived and travelled quite extensively in Germany and its northern neighbors. I have to say that Hostel of the Sun is perhaps my favorite hostel of all time. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the staff is excellent!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koen van der Veen

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2014 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: We spent 10 nights in the hostel. The staff makes you feel like you're at home and they organise dinners for the whole hostel. Music, food, drinks, very friendly and helpful staff, everything is there to enjoy your stay. And it is in Italy, so the combination is great!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel was peferct. The staff were super friendly and were the major determinant of my excellent experience in Naples. My best day/night in Italy so far has been in Naples and it was because of this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Rozum

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, willing to answer all the questions you may ask while being in a foreign country

Disliked: Izabela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Recently, I stayed a couple of days in this Hostel and I had a great time! Bed was comfy and clean. Bathrooms were clean! More importantly, the staff was really great, attending to my needs. This is a really fine Hostel, manned by people that care!

Disliked: Bathrooms are kind of old! Not much room to hangout with the others!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are wonderful. They know the city and its attractions and were able to give particularly useful advice about the public transport system.

Disliked: Just one small complaint. The kettle in the kitchen was very dirty and needs a good clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first ever review and I have been travelling for 2 months! I am making this review because the hostel and its staff were the best I have encountered in my travels. I had been warned that Naples was not a nice place to go..this is rubbish! Naples is a really cool place but if u are concerned about your hostels surrounds then this is the place to stay! The staff are really helpful and make sure you make the most of your time. They cooked a free breakfast and dinner and even took a group of us out at night to show us the local scene and make sure we got home safe! This hostel is A+

Disliked: Restock the bar

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Facilities were good. Very upbeat atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franco Stibiel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Franco would recommend this property

Liked: Little things that make the difference like the free spaghetti one night, free internet, spaciuous bathroom, lockers that work...

Disliked: Franco left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Burnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic friendly staff

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Bunker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmosphere. The staff work really hard to make you comfortable and to create a fun atmosphere e.g. with planned cheap dinners nearby and reasonably priced group excursions. They are also really good at advising places to see and to visit in and around Naples. We only booked two nights originally but ended up staying four or five. The only downside to such a great atmosphere is that it makes it so hard to leave.

Disliked: Foam beds are a little comfortable and my locker was a bit beaten up looking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Mittelman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Small hostel excelent to meet people

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is the best ever!! Staff was friendly and helpful;) I was so much enjoying stay with this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels