We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of Hostel of the Sun

Hostel | Via Melisurgo 15, Naples, Italy 80133

93.5% Overall Rating

954 out of 965 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

Rob Sangar thinks…

"We really enjoyed our time at the hostel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and always happy to chat and provide local recommendations. The free dinner was excellent and really appreciated, and…"

Read all Hostel of the Sun reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48hrs cancellation policy. Cancellations must be made by 08am two nights prior to your scheduled arrival date. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. Please note that the city tax of Eur 1 is not included in the rates. Guests older than 60yrs must book a private accommodation. This Hostel doesn't accept group bookings for more than 10 people. Please note if you proceed your booking (s) and it's a group booking, the hostel will cancel it.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Hostel and Hotel Bella Capri
16.83 USD

Hostel 77.0% 412 reviews
Bovio Suites
41.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Le Orchidee
11.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 21 reviews
Nettuno
22.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 47 reviews
Attico Partenopeo
112.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Europeo
24.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.1% 23 reviews
B&B Casa Mariella
37.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
6 Small Rooms
20.19 USD

Hostel 92.5% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

954 out of 965 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel of the Sun'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 779 of 849 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Dixon

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 September 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized rooms

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Sangar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2015 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our time at the hostel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and always happy to chat and provide local recommendations. The free dinner was excellent and really appreciated, and breakfast was great too (they have 3kg tubs of Nutella, what more could you want?). The hostel is also in a great location and within easy walking distance of the historical centre, the fenicular and metro stations, and the coast.

Disliked: N/A.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ffinlo Kilner

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2015 ffinlo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastically friendly and knowledgable staff

Disliked: Initial reservations about location and entrance were wrong. We loved staying here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our bedroom was really comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful and the whole place had a really cheerful atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vamsi Spandan Arza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Vamsi Spandan would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable and friendly staff

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sivaan Lavy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Sivaan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean rooms, working wifi and the biggest plus is air con!

Disliked: None

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Markus Zöggeler

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly stuff. breakfast was a little bit below average. close to the city centre. Overall highly recommendable!

Disliked: breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Dumas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: Equidistance between the Lungomare/Via Toledo and the older part of town, this hostel allows a real home between the site seeing. The layout of the hostel is well thought out, and each detail keeps in mind it's wanderlust clientele. Each bunk-bed had a plug and a lamp, and some of the best lockers I've seen at a hostel. Bathrooms were plenty, as well as private and clean. The free breakfast offerings, apperitivo, and free hostel dinner were really a delight . Probably best of all would be the incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff, specifically Sabrina. Thank you for a great stay in Napoli!

Disliked: There were only one/two of those detachable bed shelves in the room I had stayed in. It would be awesome if every bed had one!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nicole Frias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great location. Close to the water and some beautiful scenic walks and also about a ten minute walk to the old city. It was a little tricky to see though when I first arrived. It is a few floors above ground so when you are looking for the name make sure to look up! Free breakfast in the morning was lovely as well.

Disliked: I paid $16 for a mixed bed dorm which was fine. I would have liked to have a free shower for that price. they charged 1 euro for a towel but I guess you get to keep it for the rest of your stay? Not bad but just a bit annoying. Also. It is a very loud/party hostel. The music stays on all night until about 12am then it is just turned down a little. The bar in the hostel makes for a noisy crowd. But if you're into it then it's great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 5 mins walk from the pier and just opposite to the palace. Also walkable distance to main shopping area. Friendly staffs. Good services with that price.

Disliked: Limited share bathrooms/washrooms, need to queue during peak hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Bartella

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and fun hostel - the staff provided good recommendations for things to see in Naples.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff who were welcoming from start to finish, comfortable rooms (though the bathroom door was a little hard to slide open and close), lots of tours and activities offered though we had already planned what we were going to do.

Disliked: location was slightly hard to find being in the backstreets. However a friendly man on a motorbike stopped and asked if we were heading to Hostel of the Sun to which we replied yes, and he pointed us in the right direction.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is nice too. Good value for your money. The hostel is located in quite good area in Napoli. Close to ferry port and bus terminal.

Disliked: It's not too far from the metro but a bit hard to find. There is an elevator which need a coin to work. Wifi is not so good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, great activities, friendly people, I thoroughly had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! Very friendly, helpful, and facilitative. I also loved having a decent breakfast included.

Disliked: I wish the rooms were all on the same floor, or that there were activities on each floor's reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farah Adibah Mohamad Nasir

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Farah Adibah would recommend this property

Liked: It's situated near the city, and also near to the port, where you can take the ferry to Capri. The room, the facilites, and breakfast were all great, we couldn't ask for anything more.

Disliked: In Hostel of the Sun's website, it's stated you can take the bus from the port to get to Pompeii. I hope the hosts can correct that, or maybe add some new informations because it's actually only during summer,or that's what I'd been told by the hosts, even when I said that I read that piece of information from their website. We went during the winter so we had to carry our luggage to the station, and then took a train to Pompeii. There is also no grocery store available near the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

City break

03 February 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a good location on the seventh floor in a building near the port and not so far away from the oldtown. The staff was very nice and the hostel was clean and well ran.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brick Bradford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Brick would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for an eccentric location with a homely atmosphere to relax in then this hostel will suffice you with said charm and more. The bright decor and kind staff will leave you with a fun environment and well as helpful information for your say in Naples. The location if somewhat isolated from any 'big' sightseeing venture, yet which is replaced by its proximity to train services.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about from my experience besides a somewhat squeaky bed which was still not a problem at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Jack

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming, homely, personalised atmosphere. We were greeted by name and given a very thorough introduction to the hostel and potential tourist activities. They were very helpful with directions and even provided a map. There was a fantastic breakfast provided eery day. There were also options for a dinner - this was paid for but generally very reasonable. They provided information on activities they thought we would personally enjoy, these included horse rides, archaeological museums and musical areas. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely like to return.

Disliked: The lift is very small. There are stairs but the reception is on the 7th floor. So if you have bags or heavy luggage you really need the lift. Also the lift costs 5cents (although when you get to reception they have a dish of 5cent pieces for the hostel guests to use the lift).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gabriel Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and community present. The staff were super helpful and the location was pretty good.

Disliked: When they advertise a triple room, what they actually meant was a double bed with a single bed installed. This should be more clearly advertised as we were 3 friends traveling and had to share a double bed between us, which was annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gollapinni Karthik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Gollapinni would recommend this property

Liked: An awesome place to live in. The staff was really helpful and gave a lot of tips. Nice kitchen and not to mention a small bar.

Disliked: Gollapinni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gollapinni Karthik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Gollapinni would recommend this property

Liked: It was really a pleasant and awesome stay.

Disliked: Gollapinni left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Perin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. The hostel is very tidy and has a great atmosphere. You can be sure that you will find a nice place to stay (they even serve dinner and have nutella on their breakfast!!).

Disliked: Nothing, just the location, that could be a little bit closer to the train station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Good free breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels