We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of La Controra Hostel Naples

Hostel | Piazzetta Trinità alla Cesare, 231, Naples, Italy 80135

93.5% Overall Rating

493 out of 498 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

Matthew Brown thinks…

"A great hostel with a wonderful atmosphere and excellent staff. The outdoor area has so much room for activities and provides a perfect setting to meet people while the lazy Spanish barman eats his…"

Read all La Controra Hostel Naples reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

Buonanotte & Buongiorno
20.53 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 66 reviews
I Visconti
44.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Art Hostel
19.97 USD

Hostel 78.3% 58 reviews
Spaccanapoli Comfort Suites
33.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
La Locanda dell'Arte & Victoria House
27.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa del Monacone
27.74 USD

Campsite Not yet rated
Portalba Relais
52.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Miseria e Nobiltà
21.64 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

493 out of 498 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Controra Hostel Naples'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 398 of 433 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with a wonderful atmosphere and excellent staff. The outdoor area has so much room for activities and provides a perfect setting to meet people while the lazy Spanish barman eats his watermelon.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ludek Krula

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2015 Ludek would recommend this property

Liked: the place is just awesome.

Disliked: Ludek left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015

Liked: Clean bed to sleep on. Breakfast was good. And you could get dinner if you just brought a €3 drink.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in rooms. No working air conditioning, it was horrible at night. The power points in the room were dodgy so had to use power points in common areas. Showers were fine until other people had showers at the same time as you, then the water trickled out. Lockers were to small to fit backpack in, and someone in the dorm that I was in kept leaving the door open.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, showed me the best places to see/eat in the city, Anna made 2 phone calls to my airline for me as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shola Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015 Shola would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything, a laundry service, breakfast, a kitchen area to cook and store food, a garden, a bar, the list is endless. Also, it was always regularly cleaned and there were always staff at reception to help you (and all or them were friendly). I arrived in Naples with a vague idea of what I wanted to do but when I arrived, I was given so much advice in things I could do or places I could eat, I was never bored or disappointed. Good vibe in the hostel in general. So chilled out. Music, a piano, books to borrow and read. Just loved it.

Disliked: I would have liked the lockers in the bedroom to have a bigger hole to put padlocks in. My padlock was too big (most would be) so didn't use them in the end.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really great stay here. The hostel is located close to a metro stop with a supermarket and lot of small shops nearby. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff have been incredibly friendly and helpful. The communal kitchen is great also. There was still a good atmosphere while I was here but I imagine it would be awesome in summer/peak season. The hostel also has a bar, lots of communal seating areas and even a piano! Breakfast each day was good too with toast and cereal. Also during my stay here I had booked into a 10 bed mixed dorm but they put me in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was awesome. And in the 6 bed mixed dorm I only had 1 other person staying in it with me. The room also had its own toilet and shower and both were very clean. There were also secure lockers in the room and the bed was very very comfy. Also the cleaners made my bed each day, bonus!!!

Disliked: My only problems were a broken light switch in the bedroom, and the beds are very noisy and squeaky. Not too much of an issue though. It's a great place overall and I got good value for money. I would stay here again for sure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Zhukova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Far away from train station. I was walking and always up to mountain.aweful experience. Better to take metro. Bur so many people in metro. on reception nice gue who study russian. For me it was wery nice to talk to him.

Disliked: Showers are not so good. No place for leaving clothes. Just small cabin to wash and no privat space at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful and knowledgable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

timothy reese

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, movie night, welcome drink, good breakfast

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2014 alan would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, lots of other travellers to talk to. Staff were great and helpful. Comfortable bed in a great balcony room. The neighbourhood was incredibly interesting. Breakfast spot on. Clean, safe and secure. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: wifi was iffy in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :) Wish I could have stayed longer. The stuff was amazing and always very helpful! The breakfast was very good and I haven't seen so clean hostel rooms in a while!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything except the broken washing machine.

Disliked: Hostel only had one washing machine and it was broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Florian Giese

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff that knows a lot of the region. tasty breakfast, clean rooms and located in an not so touristic area.

Disliked: It`s a little bit to far away from anything, but that don`t really matters, because the busses are driving to Amalfi every hour.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good value, relaxed atmosphere. Close to the metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Forsyth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, the garden was lovely and everything was very clean including the toilets and showers.

Disliked: Showers were a bit weak, but the rest of it made up for it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anette Jacobs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Anette would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable, great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms were not very nice. Open toilet cubicles.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ayla bongaertz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 ayla would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite spacious which was very nice. The garden area was very big and nice! The rooms were spacious and the beds were good for the price you paid. It was nice that they had a bar and the bartenders were very friendly and welcoming! The kitchen had most of the things I needed. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I traveled by myself and picked this hostel to meet other travelers and relax after a long day and it definitely fitted my wishes.

Disliked: The bathroom didn't have a lock. I'm asthmatic and the room was very stuffy. Leaving the window open would let a lot of noise in and the airco (controlled by the staff) was almost never on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was easily one of my favourite stays on my trip. The hostel was in a good location right by a metro stop and some super markets. The rooms were big, well air conditioned and very very secure. The staff were the most helpful and friendly that I came across. And finally the common area/bar was a great place to meet people. I enjoyed my stay so much I extended it!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Genevieve Kotarska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all really really friendly and helpful, especially Alex behind the bar

Disliked: Sometimes it lacked atmosphere

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was outstandingly good! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and any problem that came up was rapidly solved.

Disliked: The WIFI connection in the reception is excellent. However, it was almost unreachable from my room, even though when reserving it said that the specific room had WIFI connection.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grace Lavis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, it's an easily accessible base for most places in the region. The staff are all super friendly and helpful and it's a great atmosphere. Easy to meet people or plenty of space if you're just looking to chill out. Feels perfectly safe and easy to get too!

Disliked: Grace left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yifang Zhao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Yifang would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this hostel! The location is very close to the metro, there staff was very friendly and there is free ice tea and a free welcome drink at the bar. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and there is a nice kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was honestly the best hostel that I stayed at during my whole month-long backpacking trip. The staff are the friendliest, most helpful people and they accept credit cards for payment for rooms. Everything was super clean, including the bathrooms and kitchen. The atmosphere of this hostel was amazing! Their nightly planned events for travellers at the hostel helped people get to know each other. It was really fun just to hang out in the courtyard at the hostel in the evenings, or have a drink at the bar on site. The hostel itself is beautiful. It has a garden and grassy area and tables to sit at outside. Lockers in the dorm rooms were helpful as well.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Clifford

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were the friendliest and most helpful we encountered during our Europe trip. It was suggested by the receptionist that we go to Capri and we had the most fantastic day all arranged by the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Crowne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed in Naples for 2 nights, and in all honesty i wish i had stayed longer. The staff were helpful and friendly and the atmosphere of this hostel was wonderful. I had no trouble getting wifi (priorities right?), there was a free breakfast in the morning and the other guests were very social and willing to have a pint with you. If i return to Naples i will definitely stay in this hostel again.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels