HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of AIG Hostel Mergellina

Hostel | Via Salita della Grotta, Naples, Italy 80122

78.5% Overall Rating

156 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2013)

"Location is quite ok, the area is safe area, this is the International Youth Hostel, with bunk beds, but space is little, and no lockers in the room, for stay 1 nights is fine, staffs are quite ok, but not really…"

Read all AIG Hostel Mergellina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

H rooms Boutique Hotel
53.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Cesare Augusto
60.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Casa 12
49.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B La Bouganville
93.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Buonanotte & Buongiorno
22.76 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 63 reviews
IMMAGINEAZIONE B&B
26.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
84.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Spaccanapoli Comfort Suites
40.17 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

156 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIG Hostel Mergellina'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 119 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, in a nice part of Naples, good communal areas

Disliked: Hostel computer was very, very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Faith Cantarero

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2014 Annabel Faith would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff always there 24 h , clean rooms, good facilieties

Disliked: Annabel Faith left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Tyrrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No security lockers or kitchen to use.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite ok, the area is safe area, this is the International Youth Hostel, with bunk beds, but space is little, and no lockers in the room, for stay 1 nights is fine, staffs are quite ok, but not really friendly, i am pretty much sure that in the summer time it will be very hot inside the room. showers are ok~

Disliked: Breakfast need to be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, especially the staff.

Disliked: It was cold in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near train station, good price and friendly staff.

Disliked: There is a strange smell on the street in front of the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, very close to stazione Mergellina (though a bit uphill), basic amenities but substantially clean

Disliked: no free towel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roald Lengu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Roald would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and location great, nerby lungomare caracciolo. The price very honest.

Disliked: Breakfast was not good and there were some very noisy dutch teenagers the first night, I slept only 5 hours. Next night the dutch people went away and I slept very well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the 2km of pedestrian area along the seafront

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: Ther rooms were very clean and they gave a free breakfast. They also had a lift so i didn't have to walk up the stairs with my bags.

Disliked: The rooms were almost unbearable hot! I poured water over my bed so i could sleep at night. There are also millions of mosquitos. The worst thing was the location. Although it is easy to get to the city, the place where the hostel is, is quite dangerous and I had people harassing me on the street each day and I didn't even go out after dark .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location (next to mergellina metro) in a safe area. good value for money. paid just 30 Euros for a single room, not bad, isn't it?

Disliked: it's next to a building site but didn't bother my sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good, just behind the metro station mergellina, and its one of the cleanness youth hostel i ever been, the price is good, the staff is quite friendly and for me who don't like to eat in the morning the breakfast is enough though its only croissant and coffee.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the low cost to stay

Disliked: the room has not much space

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, a suitable place to meet international traveller

Disliked: The location was hard to find, I even could not finad the entrance

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 January 2011

Liked: It was just close to where I wanted to be. Nothing else to like about it.

Disliked: I wouldn't stay at this hostel again. The staff was so rude and unfriendly. We had to ask three different receptionists for an extra pillow. When they clean the rooms they leave every door open with minimal security. In the lobby there was a middle aged lady, clearly with some mental problems, who was cussing and swearing all the time in Italian (which unfortuntately I could understand!) and I have no clue why they let her stay there. We had to wait in the lobby for around 3 hours due to a connecting train and this lady really made our time miserable. The receptionist was there and he did nothing to stop her. The rooms are stripped down to a bare minimum and nowhere in the description does it mention that the hostel is located at the very top of a steep hill, with no outside elevator! Never again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010

Liked: Close to station. Quiet. Clean

Disliked: It is more like a hotel and not hostel. Internet availability - No big deal. It's available almost everywhere in the world. What needs to be mentioned is that if it is free or if there is a separate charge. Kitchen - There is no kitchen. Generally properties in the category of hostel are associated with kitchen where you can use microwave, kettle, refrigerator, etc. Here there is a restaurant, where you have to request atlest 20 time even for hot drinking water and then it is given as if it is really a big favour. So either categorise this as a hotel or ask them to suit their arrangements to be categorised as a hostel Ensuite rooms have toilet but not always in good condition. Mine was pretty smelly. I preferred to take shower, etc. in the common toilet for dormitories which was better than one in my ensuite . Seems it was clean because it was not in use due to end of season English Speaking Staff - The person working in Kitchen cannot speak and understand English AT ALL. The guy who was there on 25th night and 26th morning couldn't speak / understand a single English word. The lady on 27th morning was better... but still ... way to go. Either ask them to recruit english speaking staff in kitchen or make it madatory for travelers travelling for all parts of the world to learn Italian. Key of my room 124 was not working smoothly. The arrow directions to hostel mention it as youth hostel and the word "AIG" is not displayed anywhere. So it is difficult to identify if youth hostel and AIG Hostel are one and same thing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2010

Liked: friendly staff in reception

Disliked: unfriendly cafe (staff)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

nicole moyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010

Liked: its cheapish but probably not worth it. the location is good but not actually in the city of naples

Disliked: the place is very hard to find..and looks like and old hospital. When we arrived the staff were so rude and we wanted to pay seperatly they guy started arguing with me and waving a 500 euro note at me saying he couldnt give the right change and i needed different money. it was bizare and really not our problem! they were always rude and the place was just crap. it is cheap but i would never stay there again it would be worth paying the extra few euros. its also not a youth hostel...so dont go there for a good time!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its close by the metro, and easily accessible. the rooms are clean, and staff are very friendly. its close by sea, and placed at very important strategic location, easily accessible, lot of restaurents near by

Disliked: internet is too expensive if you dont have your laptop, the rooms doesnt have a locker to lock your bags, thats too bad.They say they provide breakfast for free, but its just a piece of bread and a cup of coffee, so dont take that into consideration.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mafalda Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Mafalda would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a nice neighborhood of Naples, which is important cause the city is a little beat insecure. It has a nice price for the offer.

Disliked: It has some construction around so it isn't very easy to find, and the view it's ugly. The traditional Italian Breakfast doesn't exist, it is a croissant and a cup of coffee, to little and to controlled.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

clare dunne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2010 clare would recommend this property

Liked: was grand, nothing major nothing horrific, beds are comfy, really nice location and great pizzeria close by

Disliked: clare left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that was ok.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wellington Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

07 August 2010 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: Certainly the most cheap hostel in Naples in a very central neighborhood.We (me and my boyfriend) had lucky that it was not so full, so we stayed in a room only for us.The hostel has coffee and water machine for 0,50 each! and it's open 24hs a day. Highly recomended.

Disliked: The internet service (very expensive by the way: 3€/hour) announced is crap. Only one computer "working" (the other two was out of service) and the day I decided to use, it was not working. The "breakfast" announced is a croissant + a couple of cofee. Some of the staff are very unfriendly (but on the other hand, there was a woman very nice and helpfull) and the most important thing: THE BATHROOM on our floor was everyday with the flush broken and water on the floor everytime we tried to use. The locker rooms annouced to leave the bags is a place OPEN TO EVERYONE.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally behind the metro station; breakfast was amazing: homed croissant and fruit smoothies!

Disliked: Ugly building in the middle of construction area because they were laying another track on the metro.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

angela dinuzzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 angela would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the metro station

Disliked: the front desk was always busy and there was always only 1 person


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels