We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels

Reviews of AIG Hostel Mergellina

Hostel | Via Salita della Grotta, Naples, Italy 80122

74.3% Overall Rating

161 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2013)

"Location is quite ok, the area is safe area, this is the International Youth Hostel, with bunk beds, but space is little, and no lockers in the room, for stay 1 nights is fine, staffs are quite ok, but not really…"

Read all AIG Hostel Mergellina reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Naples?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Naples

H rooms Boutique Hotel
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Cesare Augusto
56.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Casa 12
46.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Buonanotte & Buongiorno
23.40 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 65 reviews
IMMAGINEAZIONE B&B
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
79.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Spaccanapoli Comfort Suites
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
La Controra Hostel Naples
16.45 USD

Hostel 95.3% 487 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

161 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AIG Hostel Mergellina'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 128 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Richard Wolters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014

Liked: As I had my own transport i looked for a safe parking area- it has.

Disliked: Location is difficult to find. also if I would have arrived by train i would not felt save walking through the long and dark tunnel to reach the site. Many weird characters in the area. got of the area as quick as I could

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014

Liked: Bread

Disliked: There was a crazy lady from NYC, smoking inside of dorm n always drunk. Suddenly she shouted at me saying bad stuff like f""" bi""" I've been telling about this st the stuff but they didn't do ath. I don't wanna stay there ,I had a terrible time being scared by that lady.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel buffery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff are nice and friendly!

Disliked: There are no lockers and you have to share the key with the other members of the shared room ( leaving it at the reception)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and Living Station near

Disliked: Is far from the city

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Conor Whitehead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 August 2014

Liked: It was cheap. Breakfast was good and included.

Disliked: Was in a very strange location, not that easy to find but really close to the metro station. only 2 keys for a 8 person dorm and no lockers, I was given a master key because the other keys werent there and told to return the master key asap. Room was extremely hot to sleep in. Also no lockers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, in a nice part of Naples, good communal areas

Disliked: Hostel computer was very, very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Faith Cantarero

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2014 Annabel Faith would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff always there 24 h , clean rooms, good facilieties

Disliked: Annabel Faith left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Tyrrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No security lockers or kitchen to use.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite ok, the area is safe area, this is the International Youth Hostel, with bunk beds, but space is little, and no lockers in the room, for stay 1 nights is fine, staffs are quite ok, but not really friendly, i am pretty much sure that in the summer time it will be very hot inside the room. showers are ok~

Disliked: Breakfast need to be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything, especially the staff.

Disliked: It was cold in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near train station, good price and friendly staff.

Disliked: There is a strange smell on the street in front of the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, very close to stazione Mergellina (though a bit uphill), basic amenities but substantially clean

Disliked: no free towel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roald Lengu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Roald would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and location great, nerby lungomare caracciolo. The price very honest.

Disliked: Breakfast was not good and there were some very noisy dutch teenagers the first night, I slept only 5 hours. Next night the dutch people went away and I slept very well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the 2km of pedestrian area along the seafront

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: Ther rooms were very clean and they gave a free breakfast. They also had a lift so i didn't have to walk up the stairs with my bags.

Disliked: The rooms were almost unbearable hot! I poured water over my bed so i could sleep at night. There are also millions of mosquitos. The worst thing was the location. Although it is easy to get to the city, the place where the hostel is, is quite dangerous and I had people harassing me on the street each day and I didn't even go out after dark .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location (next to mergellina metro) in a safe area. good value for money. paid just 30 Euros for a single room, not bad, isn't it?

Disliked: it's next to a building site but didn't bother my sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good, just behind the metro station mergellina, and its one of the cleanness youth hostel i ever been, the price is good, the staff is quite friendly and for me who don't like to eat in the morning the breakfast is enough though its only croissant and coffee.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the low cost to stay

Disliked: the room has not much space

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, a suitable place to meet international traveller

Disliked: The location was hard to find, I even could not finad the entrance

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 January 2011

Liked: It was just close to where I wanted to be. Nothing else to like about it.

Disliked: I wouldn't stay at this hostel again. The staff was so rude and unfriendly. We had to ask three different receptionists for an extra pillow. When they clean the rooms they leave every door open with minimal security. In the lobby there was a middle aged lady, clearly with some mental problems, who was cussing and swearing all the time in Italian (which unfortuntately I could understand!) and I have no clue why they let her stay there. We had to wait in the lobby for around 3 hours due to a connecting train and this lady really made our time miserable. The receptionist was there and he did nothing to stop her. The rooms are stripped down to a bare minimum and nowhere in the description does it mention that the hostel is located at the very top of a steep hill, with no outside elevator! Never again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010

Liked: Close to station. Quiet. Clean

Disliked: It is more like a hotel and not hostel. Internet availability - No big deal. It's available almost everywhere in the world. What needs to be mentioned is that if it is free or if there is a separate charge. Kitchen - There is no kitchen. Generally properties in the category of hostel are associated with kitchen where you can use microwave, kettle, refrigerator, etc. Here there is a restaurant, where you have to request atlest 20 time even for hot drinking water and then it is given as if it is really a big favour. So either categorise this as a hotel or ask them to suit their arrangements to be categorised as a hostel Ensuite rooms have toilet but not always in good condition. Mine was pretty smelly. I preferred to take shower, etc. in the common toilet for dormitories which was better than one in my ensuite . Seems it was clean because it was not in use due to end of season English Speaking Staff - The person working in Kitchen cannot speak and understand English AT ALL. The guy who was there on 25th night and 26th morning couldn't speak / understand a single English word. The lady on 27th morning was better... but still ... way to go. Either ask them to recruit english speaking staff in kitchen or make it madatory for travelers travelling for all parts of the world to learn Italian. Key of my room 124 was not working smoothly. The arrow directions to hostel mention it as youth hostel and the word "AIG" is not displayed anywhere. So it is difficult to identify if youth hostel and AIG Hostel are one and same thing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2010

Liked: friendly staff in reception

Disliked: unfriendly cafe (staff)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

nicole moyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010

Liked: its cheapish but probably not worth it. the location is good but not actually in the city of naples

Disliked: the place is very hard to find..and looks like and old hospital. When we arrived the staff were so rude and we wanted to pay seperatly they guy started arguing with me and waving a 500 euro note at me saying he couldnt give the right change and i needed different money. it was bizare and really not our problem! they were always rude and the place was just crap. it is cheap but i would never stay there again it would be worth paying the extra few euros. its also not a youth hostel...so dont go there for a good time!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its close by the metro, and easily accessible. the rooms are clean, and staff are very friendly. its close by sea, and placed at very important strategic location, easily accessible, lot of restaurents near by

Disliked: internet is too expensive if you dont have your laptop, the rooms doesnt have a locker to lock your bags, thats too bad.They say they provide breakfast for free, but its just a piece of bread and a cup of coffee, so dont take that into consideration.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mafalda Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Mafalda would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a nice neighborhood of Naples, which is important cause the city is a little beat insecure. It has a nice price for the offer.

Disliked: It has some construction around so it isn't very easy to find, and the view it's ugly. The traditional Italian Breakfast doesn't exist, it is a croissant and a cup of coffee, to little and to controlled.


See all Naples hostels
See all Naples hotels