We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Minas hostel

Hostel | Via P. Calvi, 18, Milan, Italy 20129

67.3% Overall Rating

122 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2015)

Amelia Hamilton thinks…

"Good value for money. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Shower was lovely and hot. Good transport links to tourist attractions. 24 hour reception was useful. Hostel felt safe and secure.…"

Read all Minas hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.21
  • Towel USD 1.66

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
48.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 265 reviews
Arcohotel
36.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.4% 50 reviews
Hotel Pavone
112.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Poma
16.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 25 reviews
Hostel Brasil Milan
24.34 USD

Hostel 70.7% 402 reviews
Zebra Hostel
22.13 USD

Hostel 64.0% 268 reviews
La Caravella
24.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.1% 20 reviews
Hotel America
25.45 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.5% 427 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

122 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Minas hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
66.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

BEGUM OZYONUM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015

Liked: only the stuff. they are very helpful

Disliked: thıs hostel ıs very far from the cıty center and they explain their adress false, it was dıffıcult to find the hostel. restroom was dirty and they dıd not give any map for city like the other hostels

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly & the rooms were also comfortable

Disliked: No elevator

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niklas Spencer Avis

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2015 Niklas Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool

Disliked: Between 15 and 20 minute walk to the nearest Metrostation

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amelia Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Shower was lovely and hot. Good transport links to tourist attractions. 24 hour reception was useful. Hostel felt safe and secure. Overall good for one night.

Disliked: Welcome from staff was not very friendly. There are no locks for the rooms. Hostel is quite far from historic center 20-25 minutes walk.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2015

Liked: Minas Hostel is easy to be found. Also, they don't close their reception and you can come and go any day- or nighttime. The busstation is pretty close and a supermarket is right around the corner.

Disliked: By arriving, we got a different room than we booked. Instead of a 2-single-bed-superior room we got a 4-person-room with two double beds in it, of which we weren't allowed to use both beds because they didn't want to have to clean both beds afterwards. The bedsheets had stains on it. Gross. The "bathroom" is right in the room itself, only a small foldable door to close it, but the door has a defect and can't be closed at all. The shower is rusty and dirty, there was a razor from another guest lying in the shower. The floor in the whole room hasn't been cleaned since a long time ago. Also we had to pay extra for towels and sheets, but there weren't any towels in our room. So we paid for nothing..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Paletta

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2015 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Walking just 15 minutes, The hostel is located very near the city's beating heart the "duomo". Just around the corner you can find a supermarket which sells about everything you need. The staff was very friendly and helpfull, and having alcohol at the hostel was not a problem either (we had a little party). Wifi works in the bedrooms which is also a nice plus! Concidering we stayed 3 nights for 20 euro's a night, this hostel fulfilled all of our needs!

Disliked: Not everything can be perfect and in the case of Minas hostel it's the fact that it's not that easy to spot and easy to walk past. The only other thing i can think of that's worth mentioning is to bring your own lock for the lockers! Than again we left a lot of expensive stuff there and nothing got stolen. :)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014

Liked: I enjoyed leaving.. Showers had hot water.

Disliked: Bathrooms are gross. Shower drains overflowed. Lockers provided but they are randomly moved during the day. Charged $20 extra from the quoted price upon arrival. Guy working reception is no help for anything. He smokes in the lobby (in front of the no smoking sign) and just opens the window as if that helps. Room had four beds instead of three so the extra bed propped the door open and allowed hallway light to shine in our faces all night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite warm. Have a microwave e

Disliked: The staff is not friendly. Expensive for that kind of facility

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felipe Brites

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to have your Trip. Nice and affordable.

Disliked: Beds too soft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good and clean hostel, close to the Duomo, perfect location. The staff is very kind. I recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for staying one night. It's 20 minutes walking from Duomo in a nice area. Not a place to meet other travelers.”

Disliked: Not a place to meet other travelers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jozica prosenc

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 jozica would recommend this property

Liked: location,

Disliked: first not with stuff, but than was ok (because i was waiting to entrance the building 5 minuts, and i was not sure, that is this a hostel or no), but than was evrything ok

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: Nothing comes to mind! Nice supermarket nearby? The directions to the hostel were relatively easy to follow too.

Disliked: Very strange, uncomfortable atmosphere! No locks on any of the dorm rooms which is not great.. Every time you return to the hostel you need to be buzzed in by the staff instead of having keys which is annoying! The poor excuse for a kitchen was never cleaned and was so messy that it physically couldn't be used! The location was far out of the way for both the main train station and the city centre so be prepared to pay or walk a long way!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: Very cheap hostel, about a 20minute walk into the city. Close to supermarket, bus and tram stops. Lockers in the dorms. Helpful staff, Fine for a short stay

Disliked: No real atmosphere, bathroom could do a clean,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ali asli

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 ali would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and comfirtable and the staff veey friendly , good place to stay in milano

Disliked: ali left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

larissa will

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: We had to pay 4€ (!!!!) extra for linen, only 2 bathrooms, only plastic spoon fork! No real plates. Only plastics. Only 2 coffee cups..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

VINCENT MURPHY

Alone

City break

19 April 2014 VINCENT would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Self-catering poor - no toaster, very small fridge, very few cutlery.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014

Liked: There's nothing that I really liked it.

Disliked: It's still under construction, it's not that clean, the rooms are not that good, there is not a decoration, the staff are not friendly or kind.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind of central, cheap as it'll get in Milan.

Disliked: Staff's English weren't good, although they were helpful. Not as centrally located as it states.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent: frequent direct bus to Central Station and Linate airport, buses and trams to city centre, but you can also walk there. The staff was very helpful, even though a few misunderstandings occurred due to the language barrier.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been a tiny bit cleaner, but that was nothing to really worry about. You should be aware that there's not much common space and no Internet PC (but free WiFi if you bring your own device) and that the hostel is on the 2nd floor without a lift. To me, all that was OK though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Görkem AKCAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Görkem would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: I like all of them

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RAJESH PANDEY

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 RAJESH would recommend this property

Liked: its value for money... near to bus stop... and Mc donald

Disliked: No Lift,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

01 December 2013

Liked: Staff went above & beyond and was just so so sweet

Disliked: It wasn't bad. If you need a place to stay don't avoid it but if you have other choices go with those. It wasn't as close as it made it seem- you have to take public transport to get there which fine but not what I was expecting. There were only 2 bathrooms and they were rather dodgy. The common room was just a waiting area and the bunks were ridiculy low. Like you couldn't sit on your bed and were likely to hot your head if you moved in your sleep. The ceiling are high enough in the room so I have no idea why they did that. I also did not feel my stuff was secure- left my back pack there when I checked out and they just had it displayed in the hall. And I'm not one to complain about comfort especially in the hostel but omg were the pillows made of rocks? Okay to sleep 1 night but choose another hostel if you want anything else

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Trn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a decent area with shops, restaurants, and transport nearby. It's an easy walk to the Duomo, the staff were very friendly (although some of the family speak limited English). I met some nice travelers in my room. The price was right.

Disliked: The one shower I used was small, a bit dirty, and leaked a bit, but - based on my experience living in Italy - Italian bathrooms usually aren't the best and I don't think this is the hostel's fault. The girls in my room complained about mosquitos at night, however this wasn't a problem I had. The bed was small - my feet hung off the end and I couldn't sit up since I was on the bottom. The directions on here aren't the best; check out google maps and you shouldn't have a problem. All-in-all, these are minor complaints and the hostel is good.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels