HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Minas hostel

Hostel | Via P. Calvi, 18, Milan, Italy 20129

73.8% Overall Rating

104 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

"The location is excellent: frequent direct bus to Central Station and Linate airport, buses and trams to city centre, but you can also walk there. The staff was very helpful, even though a few misunderstandings occurred…"

Read all Minas hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
30.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 259 reviews
Arcohotel
32.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 49 reviews
Hotel Pavone
55.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Poma
6.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 18 reviews
Hostel Brasil Milan
20.04 USD

Hostel 70.2% 391 reviews
Zebra Hostel
31.93 USD

Hostel 69.4% 217 reviews
La Caravella
30.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.7% 16 reviews
Hotel America
26.26 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 82.4% 419 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

104 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Minas hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2014

Liked: There's nothing that I really liked it.

Disliked: It's still under construction, it's not that clean, the rooms are not that good, there is not a decoration, the staff are not friendly or kind.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind of central, cheap as it'll get in Milan.

Disliked: Staff's English weren't good, although they were helpful. Not as centrally located as it states.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent: frequent direct bus to Central Station and Linate airport, buses and trams to city centre, but you can also walk there. The staff was very helpful, even though a few misunderstandings occurred due to the language barrier.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been a tiny bit cleaner, but that was nothing to really worry about. You should be aware that there's not much common space and no Internet PC (but free WiFi if you bring your own device) and that the hostel is on the 2nd floor without a lift. To me, all that was OK though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Görkem AKCAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Görkem would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: I like all of them

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

RAJESH PANDEY

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 December 2013 RAJESH would recommend this property

Liked: its value for money... near to bus stop... and Mc donald

Disliked: No Lift,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

01 December 2013

Liked: Staff went above & beyond and was just so so sweet

Disliked: It wasn't bad. If you need a place to stay don't avoid it but if you have other choices go with those. It wasn't as close as it made it seem- you have to take public transport to get there which fine but not what I was expecting. There were only 2 bathrooms and they were rather dodgy. The common room was just a waiting area and the bunks were ridiculy low. Like you couldn't sit on your bed and were likely to hot your head if you moved in your sleep. The ceiling are high enough in the room so I have no idea why they did that. I also did not feel my stuff was secure- left my back pack there when I checked out and they just had it displayed in the hall. And I'm not one to complain about comfort especially in the hostel but omg were the pillows made of rocks? Okay to sleep 1 night but choose another hostel if you want anything else

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Trn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a decent area with shops, restaurants, and transport nearby. It's an easy walk to the Duomo, the staff were very friendly (although some of the family speak limited English). I met some nice travelers in my room. The price was right.

Disliked: The one shower I used was small, a bit dirty, and leaked a bit, but - based on my experience living in Italy - Italian bathrooms usually aren't the best and I don't think this is the hostel's fault. The girls in my room complained about mosquitos at night, however this wasn't a problem I had. The bed was small - my feet hung off the end and I couldn't sit up since I was on the bottom. The directions on here aren't the best; check out google maps and you shouldn't have a problem. All-in-all, these are minor complaints and the hostel is good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Crowd in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Goedkoop voor de locatie, 24-uurs bewaking, schoon genoeg voor de prijs ervan.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matias casaretto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 matias would recommend this property

Liked: Staff muy amable y atento,buena limpieza,seguro,buena ubicacion,no centrica pero accesible y segura..todo segun lo publicado.recomendable 100%

Disliked: Niente

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Daniel Calderon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2013

Liked: Good ubication, near the center of Milan

Disliked: You have to pay the sheets, + the night fees. and they gave us just one sheet folded.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniela Triana

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013

Liked: It was in a nice area.

Disliked: One of the bathrooms smelled bad and is probably due to the nasty mop that was sitting in there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a staff member at the hostel 24/7, which was convenient. Also, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful (though it did help that we were able to speak Spanish to communicate with them better). The hostel is very safe, which was also another plus.

Disliked: None

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013

Liked: The location was great for sure. Close to some good streetcar lines that are linked well to the downtown area.

Disliked: the extra hidden fees for linens (4 euros) and towels (2 euros). Of course you need to have linens so why not just include it in the price? The atmosphere is...well there is no atmosphere, I don't know who would give this place a good rating besides the location. For the price in Milan, i didn't expect a lot, but even with my lowered expectations I was thoroughly disappointed.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staffs, good location. You can find supermarkets around and sites to eat..........

Disliked: Two toilets is not enough early in the morning.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

bruno braga

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 October 2013 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: staffs very good

Disliked: there is not lockers enough and seats in the rooms enough

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHANSHAN GU, GUOHONG ZU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 SHANSHAN GU, would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the dorm for 3 nights. There were 7 clothes hangers plus 3 hooks enough for everyone. IKEA rug and side table. Large individual lockers enough to store all your stuff. Free access to mini fridge. Sofa and cable TV in communal area. Two spacious shared bathrooms with free soaps and handwash. Hostel is located in a residential area and you can get a local life feel. Two supermarkets nearby. Security gate downstairs always locked and security door too. No metro station close by but the bus comes every 5 minutes that get you to the nearest metro station, ie, San Babila, in 20 minutes.

Disliked: No mosquito repellent in summer! Please tell the hostel to buy some plug-in repellents!! Bring your own or you might be eaten alive! No laundromat nearby!! I searched for a whole morning! Handwash is ok just not used to it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a fridge you can use.

Disliked: Just two toilettes in the hostel. It's nearly half an hour to walk to the Duomo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and the premises were clean.

Disliked: Repositories were to leave your things should be bigger so that also the bigger luggage could be put in and locked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Donna Blokland

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpfull staff. Bathrooms were properly cleaned everytime I used them. 15 min walk to nearby metro station or 2 min walk to bus 60/73 to centre of Milan.

Disliked: A bit noisy my last night; people arriving at the hostel at midnight, people coming home from drinks at 1 etc. But hey, that's part of sleeping in a hostel ;)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Spikula

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The property is located close to a supermarket, and is relatively quiet at night. It is within walking distance of the centre, and provides good value.

Disliked: The kitchen facilities were rather small, consisting of a mini fridge and a microwave.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap basic accomodation, fairly close to the duomo

Disliked: no real atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBERT LEH GUONG LING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 ROBERT LEH GUONG would recommend this property

Liked: Near to tourist spots. The staff is nice and helpful, highly recommended

Disliked: ROBERT LEH GUONG left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Kulbacki

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: Lack of space


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels