HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Colours

Hostel | Via Privata Desiderio, 24, Milan, Italy 20131

81.1% Overall Rating

116 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Louis Depelteau thinks…

"I liked the location before it allows us to know a different part of Milano, but with good transportation services to downtown. You can go either by bus or by metro."

Read all Hostel Colours reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.77
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Lugano
41.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 55.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Chopin
26.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.37 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 65.0% 91 reviews
Hotel Iride
34.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.4% 3 reviews
Hotel Galla
23.52 USD

Hostel 68.8% 108 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.67 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.2% 285 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban
15.22 USD

Hostel 82.1% 53 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.7% 180 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

116 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Colours'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 126 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2013

Liked: quiet location in a side street of an authentic local area, easy commute to the city center, close to an underground stop. big common area, loft-style very friendly and helpful staff big breakfast for Italian standards

Disliked: hostel has a problem with bed bugs in at least 2 rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Horner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013

Liked: Quiet and peaceful and close to the metro

Disliked: The heat was unbearable when they turned off the air-conditioning (which was for most of the day), and many of my roommates woke up drenched in sweat because it was simply too hot to sleep. Check in took ages because they had overbooked. Wasn't much of an atmosphere, but I suppose that's because many travelers are only in Milan as a transit point.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Renata Reznyik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: quite location, it was good to us because we travelled to and from the Central Station, though from the Duomo for example it's quite far the bathroom was renovated and clean

Disliked: Bring your paddlock, you'll need it for the locker The air conditioning was constantly buzzing and noisy during the night as well, it was disturbing, but if you really sleepy and tired I guess it's not a problem the breakfast was ok, however there was just sweet choice of food....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and peaceful hostel. Cool stuff.

Disliked: Breakfast (mainly bread)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chai Young Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Chai Young would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good. Day receptionists are nice, night one not so much- he is difficult to speak to. Self facility is well equipped,no stove but has oven,fridge,utensils, sink, and toaster. Atmosphere is good. Would recommend to stay.

Disliked: Night receptionist. Be aware of €2 tourist tax per night. I was not aware of this felt like i was getting robbed-which is actually my own fault for skimming the info. Bathroom was only clean the day i arrived, ran out of soap and toilet paper. Mosquitoes in the room. Room gets hot and a/c does nothing. There is a timer where it turns off when everyone else is sleeping and turns back on at 5 am. So you end up sleeping in your sweat without realizing. Location, must buy metro ticket to get to the city 1.5€ oneway €4.5 24h pass and €8.2 for 48h And there isnt much to see but a day trip is worth it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very new feel to it. Very clean and close to railway.

Disliked: If you stay on the top floor it is only accessible by the stair way. Also the WiFi doesn't reach the very top.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: Air conditioning is not working after few hours,very hot in summer....wifi is not available for upper floor room.....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when ı arrive hostel colours my reservatıon didn t excepted.but they fınd me another hotel galla.stuff is very frıendly ı thank you for everythıng.they brıng me great breakfast.ı hope ınternazıonale wıll be champıon thıs year.gratzı

Disliked: no problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mikaela Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2013 Mikaela would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice clean and sociable hostel. Cheap wine at the bar, super helpful staff and alright breakfast , and very close to the metro for easy access all over Milan

Disliked: Toilets weren't that nice as they seemed to flush easily, and there are lockers provided bit you'll need to pay for a lock.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Treanor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, Staff, Very Clean, Everyone had a locker, excellent security!

Disliked: Very far from centre of Milan, although easy access from metro. Bad directions to hostel. No beforehand information that under 18s must have authorisation from parents. Air con turns off at midnight and doesn't turn on again till 7 at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanest hostel I ever stayed in...helpful and cool staff, great wifi connection and nice ambiance

Disliked: The location is quite far from city center but there is an available metro station 2 blocks from the hostel..at fist very difficult to find but must enhance the description on hostel bookers as the locality is not speaking English at all and no one will help you find the place...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Nice decor and atmosphere in the communal area although could do with some music. Lockers are secure but you must BRING YOUR OWN PADLOCK.

Disliked: Staff on arrival were not very helpful and very disorganised. They were not able to provide a receipt. Website did not mention to bring your own padlock. Towels were advertised as being available but were not available. Any good hostel would go and buy more when running low but staff were not helpful at all, therefore went 2 days having to drip dry and we couldn't find anywhere to buy towels. ROOMS ARE SO HOT. AC is intermittent and the rooms as too hot to sleep. The room I was given was (number 9) was not nearly as nice and clean as my friends room and hers was cheaper, it was also half the size.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jesús Eduardo Cruz Ramirez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2013 Jesús Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: All the things here are so clean, I had never had a bad experiencia relates to clean.

Disliked: Maybe the location, it's a little bit far from the center but in 15min by underground you can make it

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andreas Beer

Alone

City break

01 July 2013

Liked: Most things promised are kept.

Disliked: Well, it's a gloomy atmosphere, the doors were so loud they kept everyone awake squeaking at every movement. People downstairs got awakened by very loud music in the common rooms in the morning. The rooms and bathrooms weren't nice at all, just cheap business. So many 100% votes should've made me suspicious.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the security of this hostel with decent lockers. They had a good atmosphere for people to commune together. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There is not really anything to dislike its just the shared toilet and shower rooms for each dormitory were not cleaned or serviced that often. Buts its a minor criticism as all in all it was not a bad place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good breakfast was provided.

Disliked: The room was far too warm at night to sleep in and the staff refused to turn on the air conditioning even though they stated this was a facility available online!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the hostel provided pretty much everything that I needed for my over night stay in Milan. It is very easy to get to from Milan's central train station and it only takes around 20 mins by metro to get to the main attractions.

Disliked: The only issue that I had was that the air conditioning equipment leaked over the floor and so had to switch it off over night. However, I'm sure that if I would have asked reception they would have fixed it for me, as they were very helpful staff.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ildiko Petho

With a large group / tour

City break

18 June 2013 Ildiko would recommend this property

Liked: Ci oiaceva tanto l'atmosfera e la disponibilitá dello staff.

Disliked: Ildiko left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Monteiro

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 June 2013 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: My family and I enjoyed the hostel. It is easily accessible by subway. Their facilities are clean and comfortable and the staff was all very friendly , which made our stay very enjoyable. Were very solicitous, assisting us and providing useful information about the city. We recommend!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SANDRO SANTOS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2013 SANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good value for money. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom has a plastic cover, what makes the water flow on the floor. It became not really nice after couple showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Keyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, friendly people& great hot showers.

Disliked: Hard to find at first. But it's in a great quiet neighborhood. Beautiful area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arden Court

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 May 2013 Arden would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. The beds were comfortable as well. Sat TV was nice in the main room. Proximity to train and bus was good and the price was right.. In terms of value, I was very impressed. The breakfast was as good as you get at hostels in Italy, however, I would like to see a fruit offered as well.. but I'm just being picky. I even got a wake up knock because I was sharing the room with family and it would not disturb the others- they did not have to do this. I really suggest this property and will stay again.

Disliked: My snoring father, but it had nothing to do with the property. I needed earplugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and kind. The proprets was good located near metro station.

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good. Not enough and bad coffee!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

chen chen

Alone

City break

04 May 2013

Liked: Spacouse room

Disliked: Located far from city center. Hostel organization is mess up, staff don't communicate with others Which leads over booking. When you come back from day trip, bang, a stronger is sleeping on your bed!!! Toilet door doesn't work properly. The dorm room 's door makes loud noisy every time when you open it. Most importantly, did not feel safe at all, there were drunk people yelling "hello" and knocking on others's doors in the hallway in the middle of night, but there s no staff to stop them.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels