We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Colours

Hostel | Via Privata Desiderio, 24, Milan, Italy 20131

78.9% Overall Rating

167 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

Diego Monteleone thinks…

"Everything. Staff, wi-fi, cleanning and rooms were perfect. Also the breakfast it's very complete and the common area it's so good."

Read all Hostel Colours reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.24
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

€ 1 for air conditioning per person per night € 1 each towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Lugano
85.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 55.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Chopin
27.95 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.4% 14 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
27.95 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews
Hotel Iride
27.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.4% 3 reviews
Hotel Galla
19.01 USD

Hostel 67.0% 112 reviews
Hotel Alba
25.72 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.5% 295 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban Città Studi
20.13 USD

Hostel 76.9% 99 reviews
Hotel Ambra
12.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 190 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

167 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Colours'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, and more than willing to assist with any request. I met some amazing people there, and found it easy to use the nearby to get to different parts of the city with my new friends. If you're looking for a comfortable, safe, accessible, and affordable place, Hostel Colours is not a bad choice. FYI: The owner told me that he just sold the place, so they may soon be under new management.

Disliked: Main hangout area closes at 2am.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have lockers in the room to put my stuff and more lockers outside if you need more. The rooms are air-conditioned at night. They have free wireless and the internet was fast. All the staff i met was very helpful and friendly. There is a nice Filipino male staff who point out all the attractions in Milan as well as amazing suggestions for places to eat and drink at night. The breakfast was much better than i thought. They have hot water for shower. I also like the decoration of the place.

Disliked: Location was a bit far from Milan attractions although most hostels are. It was close to the metro though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Good cozy place to stay. There are multiple common living spaces on the ground floor.

Disliked: The instruction to how to get to the property is confusing. Instead, take green line 4 stops to Lambrate FS.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and kitchen and fridge available for use. Large individual lockers available in room. Large bathroom. Breakfast was good, crossiants, toast, juice, coffee, cereal. Staff were nice and friendly even showed me to my room.

Disliked: It's in a bit of a dodgy part of Milan and it's not possible to walk to anything, you have to take the metro.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere met a great group if people. Was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find according to the directions provided, safe area, very clean and staff were helpful

Disliked: No complaints about it, but it's not central enough to walk anywhere of interest (but it's proximity to the metro makes up for that)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myah Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Myah would recommend this property

Liked: It was adorable. The room and bathroom was very clean with a terrace. *No elevator though if you have heavy bags*. The staff was friendly

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The complimentary breakfast was good.

Disliked: No hot water in the morning when taking a shower.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014

Liked: The beds were decently comfortable and the property was relatively clean.

Disliked: The air conditioning either doesn't work or is so weak it does not cool anything. Most of the staff are rude and can't be bothered to help you. The bathroom had no toilet seat which was strange. Overall I feel this hostel is a bad value since you can get other hostels with the same amenities for much less.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Felipe Molleda Katalinic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Luis Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very chill vibe. Some people partied others kept to themselves. The property was clean and had all enmities they described. The staff was super friendly and were very helpful in getting directions to places around Milan.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, secure and modern facilities

Disliked: The location is a little out of the centre of town but there's a metro stop a short walk away

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivienne Fang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Vivienne would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro station, clean, warm staff, bathroom inside the room (6 bed mixed dorm)

Disliked: Didn't have a stove in the kitchen to cook , low reception for internet inside room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iris Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: I'm surprised to see that this hostel is really clean and neat. The room and toilet are spacious and comes with individual locker and hot shower. The bed mattress is comfortable and firm. Definitely value for money and with daily breakfast too. I Strongly recommend this hostel. Two thumbs up from me. Good jobs guys from hotel colours!

Disliked: Low connection of wifi in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful service, sincere interest in clients and a good proximity to the metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KWANGMIN YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 KWANGMIN would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and secure! Facilities are so clean! Breakfast is so nice! So i can't believe this is free!

Disliked: Location is not good. But if you use metro, you can go everywhere. You can buy the 24 hours ticket, only 4,5euro!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Richards

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was appealing due to its quirky decor and decent location. Breakfast was also included in the price though finishes at 9:30 on the dot (we went down at 9:34 and they were packing up), the beds were comfy and they had wifi (though this didn't reach our room).

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the room we stayed in and breakfast closed too early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Palmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, ridiculously comfortable mattresses. Slept very well.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Louis Depelteau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location before it allows us to know a different part of Milano, but with good transportation services to downtown. You can go either by bus or by metro.

Disliked: The banging of the door of the stairway leading to the upper dorms. It is completely ridiculous. Anyone would immediately change the closing system of that door used by so many people at the hostal. If you are on first floor, don t expect to sleep early or get up late. The door will keep you awake... Also on first floor, tv noise can be disturbing. But Milano is expensive and this hotel is an alternative to save money...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014

Liked: Everything was "ok". Not that great, not that bad.

Disliked: The staff did not tell me there is a strike on the metro the day I checked out....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was incredible. There was one brazilian, one british, one Dutch, one Korean which made it very international.

Disliked: Just the fact that Wi-Fi didn't work in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sagi Zilbershatz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Sagi would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, easy to reach by the Metro, the room was great and comfortable, the front desk staff were helpful with everything i needed. Breafast was included and was a very good start for my day in Milan.

Disliked: I have no negative comment, i highly recommend this hostel to anyone!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Serena Guedia

Alone

Events / festivals

22 February 2014 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets and showers in the room.

Disliked: There were no hooks in the toilet to hang towels and clothes. Not even the cover of the wc. Plus, the breakfast consisted only of sweet, fat and refined foods (cakes, muffings, croissants, white bread, Nutella...). There were no wholegrain alternatives, nor muesli, for a healthier breakkie.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yilu Zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Yilu would recommend this property

Liked: TV with good movies in the common room.

Disliked: I really don't like only blanket in bed. Why not quilt?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Crichton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The layout and design was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was sensational - continental at it best - cheese, hams, bread, cakes, juice etc. One of the best hostel breakfasts I have had. It really makes the price worthwhile. The staff were really friendly and helpful as well.

Disliked: The only thing I disliked about this hostel was that I stayed for only one night! (I was in transit). You also need to make sure you have cash available. I had to find an atm quite late at night (I was also stalked by an old dude in a car... not that fun) before I could check in.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels