HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of New Moon Resort Hostel

Hostel | Via Privata G. Calvino, 11, Milan, Italy 20154

68.6% Overall Rating

47 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

"If you like trains you'll love it if you get the side of the building which overlooks the railway lines and sidings."

Read all New Moon Resort Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.39
  • Towel USD 6.73

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

30 days before your arrival: no charge. Between 30 and 15 days before your arrival: we will charge the 50% of the total amount. Late cancellation or no show: we will charge the 100% of the total amount.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Bogart
32.31 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Brera B&B
28.28 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 35 reviews
Gogol'Ostello
37.70 USD

Hostel 84.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Losanna
175.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 67 reviews
Hostel3
14.81 USD

Hostel 73.3% 205 reviews
BBMILAN Bed & Breakfast
94.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Brivio
12.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 39.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Salus
21.53 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 61.4% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

47 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Moon Resort Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
72.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 62 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Very friendly, helpful staff. No problems. Recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2014

Liked: If you like trains you'll love it if you get the side of the building which overlooks the railway lines and sidings.

Disliked: Awful breakfast ("freshly baked" croissant? When?), doled out like you're in the food queue in prison. Crappy cheapo plastic cup for rubbishy machine coffee. Only 1 staff member was friendly. Spartan rooms. Echo-y corridors. No soundproofing whatsoever. No creature comforts. Only the basics in the rooms - and I mean basics like "walls" and "window". Terrible cold lighting in the room making it feel like a mortuary. Only 1 wall light (no lamps) giving barely enough illumination to read in bed by. Very tall wardrobe so if you're not that tall (luckily I was OK) you won't reach the hangers. No curtains (yes, that's NO CURTAINS!!!), only an external sliding steel louvre shutter which you have to open the window wide to get to - woe betide you if you stay in winter and want to pull the shutter across as frostbite will be the likely result. Neighbourhood felt a bit iffy. Annoying little kids running up and down the corridors at all hours. Not good value at the price - I've stayed in lots of cheap hotels / hostels all over the place and they're usually better than this. And the final slap in the face... "can I leave my bag here for the morning after I check out, until I leave Milan?" Reply: "Yes, but it will cost you 4 Euros". Get lost, I'll take it to the railway station and leave it in their left luggage. It may be 2 Euros more but it saves you a whole load of time and I'd rather not give the New Mooners any more of my money thankyou very much. I've NEVER had to pay to leave a bag and I'm not starting now.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had a very nice lounge, located in a very safe area

Disliked: Internet only works in the lobby. Location is not the greatest but it is not terrible (if you plan on using public transportation. Paying €5 to rent a towel. That is absurd leaving €20 for a key deposit. Also ridiculous

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean & breakfast included

Disliked: a little far from central milan but easy to get to by tram

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean! The staff are very friendly.

Disliked: Noise & location..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zoltan Osvath

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Zoltan would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accesibble by public transport. Got a parking lot for the car.

Disliked: -

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elisabeth Gade Kjelmann

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: The rooms were nice.

Disliked: - Had to pay 5 euros to borrow two towels, overpriced. - We were 4 people, but had to share two beds. Now, that is okay, but we also had to share 2 blankets between. We didn't get a blanket each. - There were only wi-fi in the lobby, non in the rooms. We don't recall being informed about this. - The lobby was very cold. Had to wear jacket at all times. The room was very warm and we couldn't make the air-conditioning work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms, large reception area for mingling with other guests at the hostel, complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. The reception employee actually reduced the expected rate we paid for the rooms, based on the youthful age of three of the travelers.

Disliked: Towels are not included in the room rate. Of note, the hostel in in the process of changing its name to New Generation Resort Hostel. Slightly tricky to find, but not much of a problem in the day time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nur Jehan Jasmin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Nur Jehan would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean with modern, if not very basic, facilities. They seemed to go for the minimalist feel. Since we had a double room, the best thing was the TV, which was massive for a hostel, but people would not spend much time in the room anyway

Disliked: We had to go down to the lounge area (which was quite comfortable anyway) to use the wifi. Would love to have a kettle in the room but then again, would not fit in the whole minimalist atmospehre.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Viktoria Donie

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice hostel! I've seen SO much worse! Has an elevator and nice people at the reception. The beds in the private rooms are 1,40, so really big and comfy and the rooms have TV and a nice bathroom

Disliked: The street is quite close to a tram station and we never waited longer than 5 minutes for a tram, still is it a bit dark and not that easy to find. But: no reason to not book it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauri Haavel

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and kind. Supermarket and tram-connetction to the downtown are very close.

Disliked: It was extremely hard to find it in the time of darkness. Even local people didn´t have any idea...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Feehely

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, welcoming and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel was also close to public transport links, which brought us drectly into the centre of Milan.

Disliked: Could not fault the hostel for the price it charged.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean and the staff was helpful

Disliked: there is a train station nearby, so we couldn't open the window during the night becouse of the noise and the breakfast was too sweet for us

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decoration. Good price.

Disliked: Breakfast very poor,no variety.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

George Popescu-Orodel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Close to tram stop(number 12 and 14). Nice private bathroom. Big rooms.

Disliked: The blanket was dirty, with stains. No towels and soap. We had to rent the towels for 5 euro. In the first instance they claimed that we reserved 2 triple rooms instead of 3 double rooms, which was obviously not true.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christopher Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 February 2013

Liked: staff were helpful. has parking, but its not secure parking.

Disliked: Nothing like the pictures or description online. horrible dirty rooms, no services, no food, no atmosphere...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Fahad Rezwanul Islam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013

Liked: Friendly Staff.

Disliked: Not value for money, no good food inside.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adriana Kidric

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 September 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and spacious rooms.

Disliked: The hotel does not have any sign, although it is in the dead end street in residential area. It would be also helpful if the hotel will have a notice on their website that the main street is closed due to the work - we searched the hotel almost 1 hour although we were just 3 or 4 blocks away. We even turn our car almost in front of the hotel because there was no sign for the hotel not even the name, nothing.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels