HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Sofia Hostel 2

Hostel | Viale Abruzzi , 70, Milan, Italy 20131

71.7% Overall Rating

114 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/01/2014)

JIAWEI WU thinks…

"close to corso Buenos Aries, and also just 20 minutes to porta venizia by walking, the distance to the center is also acceptable. each room has individual bathroom, and clean."

Read all Sofia Hostel 2 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Affittacamere Scacco Matto
36.88 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 64 reviews
Hotel Aurelia
41.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 137 reviews
Hotel Dorè
69.07 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Paganini
20.72 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.9% 69 reviews
Hotel Adler
55.26 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Del Sole
34.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.5% 15 reviews
Hotel Trentina
34.54 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Sara
69.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

114 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sofia Hostel 2'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 163 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Olga Gachkova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful receptionists

Disliked: The doorbell didn't work well, so I had to stay in the street for 15 minutes in nightime just to get in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable and safe.

Disliked: It is a little far from the city center, but not that far so it is ok.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heather Cook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: Difficult to find at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JIAWEI WU

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

01 January 2014 JIAWEI would recommend this property

Liked: close to corso Buenos Aries, and also just 20 minutes to porta venizia by walking, the distance to the center is also acceptable. each room has individual bathroom, and clean.

Disliked: the sound absorption effect is not good, especially there is a door made of wood separating our room to another, during the night, i could hear my neighbor snoring next the wall. also when i leave there is no hot water in the morning, in the third floor, also with poor wifi, almost not connected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Wael is a great guy, he upgraded our dorm to a private room free of cost and gave us tips on great places in Milan.

Disliked: It was a good stay, I will book it next time I am in Milan.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013

Liked: Near to metro station. Some restaurant beside with reasonable prices. Supermarket beside. Stuff friendly.

Disliked: Only one shared toilet bathroom.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013

Liked: Nothing specific, I suppose its proximity to a Carrefour Express.

Disliked: The single bathroom between god knows how many people. This creates, obviously, numerous problems in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Nikitin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite clean and the owner was nice. The room was small but fulfilled our needs and the bathroom was okay. It was really close to the metro station and the center was only one station away.

Disliked: We had to pay another 3€ (not optional) for the sheets and 7€ for air conditioning (optional). There were a lot of other students and backpackers staying so after 11pm it was still really loud.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Valentina Piacentini

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2013

Liked: It was kind of easy for us to get to the main station just walking very early in the morning

Disliked: On the confirmation email there's no mention about the extra 3E for the sheets, you'll get to know just if you use the link on the email and read very carefully the small sized lines right at the end...and it's something you cannot choose if you have booked for an offer...so, be careful: when a price seems nice, you'll be charged for something else, even if you have your sleeping bag with you!! Also, we were shown to a 7-8 beds dormitory even though we booked and payed for a 4 beds one and without being asked before. Only when we complained, the guy tried to solve the problem caused offering us a private room!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kaiwen Sun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Kaiwen would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I arrived with a reservation, but their rooms were all full. They kindly put us in a private room, and we had our own room with a private shower for the night.

Disliked: There's no air conditioning and no mosquito net on the window.... if you stay there in the summer, you will get raided by mosquitoes. The shower is also mediocre in cleanness. Also, there is a hidden charge of 3 Euros for sheets... something they force you to get, even if you have a sleeping bag.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, not too crowded, 24-hour reception, position in the atrium (less noise), wi-fi.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wenfei DU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: The staff are nice.

Disliked: There is only one washroom for all the people who live in mixed room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, everything went fine. The included breakfast was nothing special, but convenient.

Disliked: Our bathroom shared a small window with the next room's bathroom, probably for ventilation. So you could hear what's happening next door very clearly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cosy and comfortable. The staff seemed to know everything that I needed.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom. If someone uses it, the others should wait until one finishes.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

THOMAS PATSIOPOULOS

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: everything.1 bath room for 20 people.they must give a number like the banks

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Feikje van Gijssel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: It's just a hostel, not very special. The television was on all night, so we didn't really got sleep but the price is good.

Disliked: Only 1 toilet and shower for 5 rooms with many beds, horrible in the morning.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big lockers inside the room for your stuff

Disliked: mandatory charge for linnen 3 euros per day, only one bathroom

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karolina Cestari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good and the staff was helpful

Disliked: You have to pay for internet and breakfast. Also, the whole bathroom gets really wet after showering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Angelova

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, the friendly and helpfull staff,the price,the safety,the breakfast in the morning,the peace and calmness.I would recomend this hotel.Everything was esactly as it was described.We got even more than we expected.

Disliked: Ekaterina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean, the staff was helpful, breakfast was included, the hostel was close to the metro

Disliked: We couldn't leave our luggage in store at the hostel before check-in started, the floor of the room was cold

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were able to rent smaller rooms with bath.

Disliked: we arrived late and the hostel was very hard to find.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Check in is at 2 pm for the hostel so we made a terrible mistake by arriving at 10 am. We managed to leave our luggage there but one of the staff told us we could not sit in the lobby not more than ten minutes, we hoped we could rest for a while after a long and tiring journey but that did not happen. The staff was too rude and I cannot believe that the hostel was recommended by tripadvisor. It was not clean as well. Other than that, we booked a room for 4 people but they tried to put one more person in the room without our permission. I would never advise the hostel to anyone. Since there is only one bathroom in a floor you are willing to wait for a long line to get in there, you can book this terrible hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Чисто. Аккуратно.Дужелюбно! вполне соответствует фотографиям на саите. Главное иметь ссобой письменное подтверждение всего,на что расчитываете при резервации номера. Иначе ничего вам не дадут!

Disliked: Фен один на весь хостель!! полотенца (обещнные) выдают только после долгих выяснений отношений!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013

Liked: Close to city center, and train station

Disliked: Terrible staff, who tried to scam us out of money every opportunity they had, until I threatened to call the police on them. Would not ever recommend this hostel to anyone. Denied us the complementary breakfast as well, claiming we had to pay an extra 25 euros for it.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels