HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Ostello Bello

Hostel | Via Medici, 4, Milan, Italy 20123

97.5% Overall Rating

111 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Russell de Sa thinks…

"Best hostel I've stayed at by far. Staff are absolutely amazing, very considerate and always smiling, and there's a great atmosphere at any time. So many things to offer,mostly FREE!!, including a…"

Read all Ostello Bello reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Lupetta Hostel Accommodation
26.78 USD

Hostel 46.7% 3 reviews
Hotel Milano
267.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ostello Burigozzo 11
28.12 USD

Hostel 76.8% 28 reviews
Hostel Panizza
66.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Panizza
84.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 815 reviews
Hotel Mercurio
26.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 65 reviews
The Monastery Hostel
21.42 USD

Hostel 73.1% 336 reviews
Hotel Marte
25.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.1% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.5%

Overall Rating

111 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostello Bello'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell de Sa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed at by far. Staff are absolutely amazing, very considerate and always smiling, and there's a great atmosphere at any time. So many things to offer,mostly FREE!!, including a great welcome drink (which was handy after a full day of travelling to Milan). Great breakfast and dinner, and excellent cooking facilites too.

Disliked: Russell left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jinwook Oh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Jinwook would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, staffs, breakfast. Good.

Disliked: I think they must care to wash the dishes clean. At every breakfast time, most dishes was greasy. It was a little disgusted to us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Winkler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, must go.

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Villon Gilbert

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2014 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it, the convenience to everything the terrace everything was great.

Disliked: Viviana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Tsang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay and make friends! The place is chill and rooms are clean! staff are friendly! Big thumbs thumbs up to Louisa who are most helpful and cool! If you're not staying at OB, do drop by to this place after the sun down. It's also a bar!

Disliked: Sylvia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Midence

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!! I rate this hostel as EXCELLENT. We arrived quite late at night. We were immediately greeted by several staff, SUPER friendly and very accommodating..One of the owners was there and also was very friendly & helpful. The Ostello Bello was so well planned out...even the beds have a bottle holder. Great amenities like a room with musical instruments, lockers, good breakfast included, hair dryer in bathroom and all SUPER CLEAN. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, great way to meet other travelers.

Disliked: I found the bed & pillow too firm, but realize that a soft mattress & pillow is a personal preference.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and good standard of service.

Disliked: So little I don't feel I should comment.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karly Duffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Karly would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! They offered free breakfast and dinner every night as well as a kitchen with free food to make meaning you eat for free your entire stay! The staff was amazing and super friendly and helpful! They also allow you to print for free! The location is amazing you are in walking distance to most major attractions in Milan! The wifi was great as well reaching everywhere in the hostel! Was also super clean!!

Disliked: Only thing I disliked was that they opened up the common areas to locals as well. They were allowed to join in on the free dinner if they purchased a drink which meant they bacillus took over leaving you only two tables to sit at.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Celaya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived, people were in the cafe/lobby area drinking and having a great time. We were offered a free beer, while we filled out paperwork! When we finished we were given an in-depth description of the must see sights of the city and then we were given a tour of the place. We were also offered free pasta in the kitchen, which was very basic but still much appreciated after a long day of travel.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Any place that immediately puts a free beer in my hand gets off on the right foot, but the helpfulness of staff, solid location, and bonus comforts (free lockers, beautiful terraces, free delicious dinner every night, for example...) at Ostello Bello had me extra impressed. good atmosphere, very pleasant to hang out in and easy to meet other travelers.

Disliked: I personally don't like en suite bathrooms, because it means you're trapped with that single toilet and no matter what will wait for it, plus can hear everyone's gross bathroom noises while trying to sleep. Also, wifi kept dropping on my phone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan O'GRADY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, plenty of food, late checkout, sociable! What's not to like!

Disliked: Siobhan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the environment was really cool

Disliked: the price was a little high for a hostel in a city like Milan that is not that expensive and doesnt have much to offer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Coult

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever. From the moment I walked in the friendly staff made me feel very welcome. The location is literally 5 mins walk from Duomo and very easy to find. Included in the price is a welcome drink, breakfast and free tea/coffee at any point. The kitchen is stocked with pasta, rice vegetables etc. which are all there for the guests to use. The atmosphere is fantastic, and you are sure to meet some interesting and friendly people while staying here. If you are going to Milan, stay here.

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible atmosphere, great location, clean, free drink on arrival, free breakfast and dinner - just fantastic!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giovanni Zuniga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: I've been traveling, which in itself can be difficult, but Ostello Bello made my stay feel phenomenally welcomed. The atmosphere of the entire place is just helpful, friendly and comforting, allowing to feel like I was at my home. From the moment I entered I was offered a complimentary drink and shown my room. Since the fact the hostel has free food, yes, free food! For dinner everyone in the hostel heads on down to start conversation. I met people from all over the world because everyone was working off the joyous atmosphere of the guests and laid back staff, including the receptionist Luiza, whom was simply one of the kindest and spoke about her travels. It's places like this make me not miss home at all and wish I could be on the road forever. I'd recommend this place 100%.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is fantastic, helpful, and will come hang out with you. The atmosphere is incredible, full of local people coming to drink and hang out. The free breakfast was great, as were the free suppers.

Disliked: It was incredibly noisy in the dorm as there were so many people outside drinking and smoking into the wee hours, I am an incredibly heavy sleeper but my roommates said they didn't sleep at all. Also, our bathroom kept flooding from the shower, no matter what we did, and that made a mess of the entire bathroom floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent size rooms - mine even had a terrace area which was great to sit out on and have a drink with roommates. The bar has an excellent vibe in the evenings, particularly at weekends, and it is very easy to mix with both locals and fellow travellers. Aperitivo is a must there, between 7-9pm. Location couldn't be better really, just five minutes walk to Duomo. Staff very friendly and willing to help with any enquiries I had. Ostello Bello is fully deserving of its great reputation!

Disliked: It was a little pricey by hostel standards, but then it is Milan!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly clean sociable

Disliked: Quite pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Hind

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't recommend this hostel enough. Especially for someone travelling alone - it has an amazing atmosphere in the evenings where you can have Aperitivo with other visitors, as well as the locals who seem to love the hostel and come in hoards every night to drink! I also loved the balconies and hammock, perfect for relaxing on a sunny day. The staff are really helpful and friendly, and the lockers are massive. I'm coming back in a few weeks for another weekend, it was that good!

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been to hostels all over Europe, and this was BY FAR one of the best. Clean, secure, well-located, fun, with internet and good breakfast. Seriously. Not a single thing wrong to say with it. I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Disliked: Not a single thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louisa Tredinnick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

09 March 2014 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: everything...from the social aspect, as it has a wonderful atmosphere any day of the week, to the food and drinks available, to the accessibilty of the hostel to the city, and even that umbrellas are offered to you.

Disliked: That I had to leave...:(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and the location was v central. Also the bar and kitchen downstairs were top notch. Definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Milan

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed in every detail this hostel has to offer. The food was good and most of all I'd like to point out the staff - they're great!!

Disliked: There was nothing I would point out as bad or inappropriate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spent time here over Christmas, and they had a nice Christmas dinner and even gave a small present for all the people who attended. There was a small fee (20 euro) for the dinner but well worth it. Full 2,3,4-? course meal with all the wine you could want. Would recommend place to others!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Grois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ve ever been. Atmosphere was just amazing. Met lots of people.

Disliked: ---


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels