HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Music Hostel

Hostel | Via Comandini 16, Milan, Italy 20124

70.1% Overall Rating

208 out of 285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2014)

"It is by metro good connected to the city center and by walking just 20min from Centrale F.S. The rooms have a normal size and are clean. As it was cold and rainy during my stay in Milan but the hostel was well…"

Read all Music Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.07
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

The room of 7 people ,is not including linen, sheets or towel and should to be 7 people not less.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Gala
27.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 46 reviews
Rent Room ZARA
17.98 USD

Hostel 68.5% 36 reviews
Holiday Homes Residence
117.58 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Melchiorre
27.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.0% 22 reviews
Hotel Greco
12.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.8% 34 reviews
Flower Hostel
13.83 USD

Hostel 48.3% 63 reviews
B&B I AM HERE - GIOIA 66
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 97.6% 28 reviews
Bio city Hotel
50.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.1%

Overall Rating

208 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Music Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 277 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: I didn't get a key for my room and got charged extra for linens which is a very sleazy move.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ywaki Jaki

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 Ywaki would recommend this property

Liked: Reception staff were very helpful. Hotel is in an excellent location - great part of Manhattan that's close to everything with plenty of cafes / bars / shops in the vicinity.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fazzi Bitutj

As a family with children

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2012 Fazzi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable room - Restaurants and subway only few blocks away - A properly working shower - Luggage room

Disliked: Fazzi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pardiso

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish decor in communal areas, good location, free WiFi

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarle Opheim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

11 July 2012 Jarle would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel near tram stop, not far from centre, Even includes a small breakfast :)

Disliked: Jarle left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012

Liked: The lady during the day was helpful and the place is clean.

Disliked: They are misleading about their prices. They don´t tell you about the extra hidden cost you must pay for bedsheets on arrival.These is not optional. Staff member woke up the hostel last night shouting and swearing at some guest about money. Many many mosquitos during the night. The place needs flyscreens over the windows - I was getting bitten all night and barely slept.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renee Karlson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012

Liked: The shared bathroom was very new - spa bath, new fittings, great shower head and jets everywhere. The kitchen was neat & tidy although it's not really a kitchen that backpackers could cook a meal in, except in maybe the microwave. The property was secure with entrance gained only by buzzer at a large gate. The staff were very helpful in addressing my concerns which I will list below.

Disliked: I booked a 4 bed dorm room and when I arrived my room had 6 beds (2 double beds and 3 singles with all up 6 occupants) - this should not happen - 4 bed dorm means 4 bed dorm! It doesn't go up because hostel has reached capacity. Also, when I arrived I was told that the towel and linen are not optional - they should not be written as purchasable extras if they are non negotiable, they should be included in the base price. I would have spent that extra money on a dorm closer to the CBD if I knew I was going to be in a 6 bed dorm for €17 in the outer suburbs. Also, the bathroom floor was always wet and slippery - rather dangerous considering you need to use stairs to get to it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012

Liked: They had a serviceable free breakfast in the morning. The daytime woman working there was very friendly. The tapwater came out so steaming-hot that you can make coffee and tea with it, without having to boil water (but watch your hands!). I met some very nice fellow travelers in my dorm room.

Disliked: The guy who worked the night shift was terrible, he went out of his way to be as rude as possible. The hidden charges of 2.4 Euro PER DAY for linen and a towel are compulsory, even if you have your own sleeping bag and towel... the hostel's own description of them as 'purchasable extras' is very misleading. I ended up paying over 7 Euro extra for this, as I stayed 3 nights. There is no kitchen at all (a common theme in Italy, for some terrible reason). The rooms were scorching-hot, with absolutely no ventilation, and no fan. I can understand not having air-conditioning in a hostel, but a fan certainly wouldn't hurt. But the worst thing about the rooms were the bed set-ups... there was a peculiar, awkward mixture of double beds and single beds in the rooms, with about 3 inches of space between them (NO walking room!!)... several people who came in were forced to sleep together in the double beds, even though they weren't 'together', simply because they booked for two. A brother/sister, 2 girlfriends traveling together, and 2 guys traveling together all were forced to sleep in the same bed, and they didn't much like it. I had my own bed chosen for me, I had no choice in the matter. Really stupid set-up, probably the worst i've seen in a hostel. The bathroom situation was equally terrible... there was only one bathroom with shower for all the dorms to use, and there were frequent waits, obviously. The commons room was tiny and right next to the reception desk, and there were some pretty nice balconies on the 2nd and 3rd floors, but none of them had chairs or anything out in them. The location is also quite far from the central area and the train station, although it is in a pleasant, local neighborhood close to a grocery store so it isn't that bad. But all in all, not a very good hostel and I wouldn't advise staying here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

María Puelles Marín

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 June 2012 María would recommend this property

Liked: Me ha gustado la limpieza de la habitación, la relación calidad-precio y la amabilidad del personal del hotel.

Disliked: No tener el baño dentro de la habitación.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrew Webb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012

Liked: 10 minute bus ride to the hostel from the main train station followed by a 2 minute walk. Cheap stay. Didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment. If you're just looking for a cheap place to spend 1 night in between travelling it's a great value. I wouldn't want to spend another night there or leave my stuff unattended.

Disliked: 7 beds in 1 room. Not bunk beds so no room for anything else. Sheets were like paper, not so comfortable. Soo hot and no air conditioning. Hotter inside than out. Unfriendly staff. No locked door or lockers. No soap or toilet paper. Dirty toilet. My experience may be different from others as we stayed in a mixed dorm. It was cheap but not really worth it. Should have springed the extra 5-10$ each for a better place. There "bar" consists of a fridge. The common room is small and in the same room as the office. There is 1 bathroom with a shower for all the non private rooms. NOTHING in the area. No bars, convenience stores or grocery stores. Just a couple restaurants.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012

Liked: It was cheapish, that's why I chose it. The bathroom was nice and big.

Disliked: You have to pay for the linens and towel, even if you have one. So it meant it was not as cheap as I thought. It is far from transport. They don't have keys for the dorm room, so the door is always opens and there are no lockers or safety deposit boxes in the room. I didn't like that at all. One bathroom for everyone. It is very annoying. There are way too many beds in each room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012

Liked: Is cheap. They have a coffee machine that is awesome and are open 24hrs.

Disliked: The caracter aren't so nice, but I understand because they're Italians.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

meltem gezer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 meltem would recommend this property

Liked: It's ok.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, they will help you order pizza or Pasta delivered to the hotel (not many restaurants close by ) its easy to get there by public transport.

Disliked: Big rooms, but normal beds not bunkbeds so not so much space. Not much of a commonroom to hang out, few bathrooms so you might have to wait a bit to use the shower. And you have to pay extra for the linnens ( you cant choose not to, even with å sleepingbag) I still think it was a good hostel :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Qu 'on parle francais

Disliked: la chambre pas tres lumineuse

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MURAT CIFTCI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 MURAT would recommend this property

Liked: clean .practic and economic ..Supermarket is 50 meter far.

Disliked: MURAT left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHENG-YI HUANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 SHENG-YI would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing is good, but the location is far from city center and not easy to find.

Disliked: No lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paola Gori

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Paola would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and as per website description. I'll recommend for sure.

Disliked: Paola left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Ko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi. Friendly staff.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect

Disliked: .

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012

Liked: The shower is ok.

Disliked: It's not really a hostel: "mixed dorm" is just a room in the basement with six beds. No reading lights, visitors are not given a room key, no blankets. There were three electricity blackouts.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simona Hunáková

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, great room temperature, nice bathroom

Disliked: No key for the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Rochtus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

20 May 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: I was replaced to a hostel of the same owner, It was real nice, closer to city centre etc...

Disliked: the walk to the other hostel was quite far

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Belqis Yousefi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Belqis would recommend this property

Liked: Its common room was pretty big and it has a ping pong table, the environment is definitely conducive to making friends if you're travelling alone

Disliked: In the words of my German friends "its a bed factory" loads and loads of beds all over the place... and no friggin' elevator...but hey its Milan and it was worth the price you paid. oh and showers were tricky, you had to find the right one to make sure you had consistent hot water

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SHALOM VINEETH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 SHALOM would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price.

Disliked: The staff was extremely rude.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels