HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of The Monastery Hostel

Hostel | Via Bertoni, 3, Milano, Milan, Italy 20121

79.3% Overall Rating

273 out of 325 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

"we booked an 8 bedroom dorm, but what you get is more a 3 bed dorm with your own bathroom that is connected to another 3 bed dorm"

Read all The Monastery Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.53
  • Towel USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy : Free until 30 working days prior arrival date 50% of the total amount 10 days before arrival date

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Brianza
30.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 47 reviews
Hotel Siena
31.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.7% 48 reviews
Hotel Verona
41.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 146 reviews
Hotel Arno
24.88 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.0% 330 reviews
Gioia House
40.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Stazione
41.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Flora
51.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 4 reviews
Hotel Bernina
39.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 164 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

273 out of 325 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monastery Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 309 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we booked an 8 bedroom dorm, but what you get is more a 3 bed dorm with your own bathroom that is connected to another 3 bed dorm

Disliked: staff wasnt very helpful

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Goelzer bacelar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014

Liked: Good price and good location. The room for 8 people is divided in smaller, so it was really better.

Disliked: The atmosphere is terrible, breakfast is terrible. Not clean...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quietness, location, design

Disliked: potential extra charges for any additional services: left luggage, prints

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 February 2014

Liked: It was very clean and there was a lot of space in the rooms.

Disliked: It might be that i was there during off-season, but the hostel atmosphere was very chilly. You barely saw any people anywhere and it was super quiet. Also i didn't like the fact that you had to use the elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin Butler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, nice kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff. Bonus, a free croissant and coffee every morning for breakfast !

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and had lots of extra services to offer

Disliked: Not overly aesthetically pleasing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: not good for meeting with other travellers, no buffet breakfast even if there had to be

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: no hot water in the shower and the breakfast is just a croissant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunji Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Hyunji would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private double room

Disliked: Second floor bed without fence

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bahar kaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 bahar would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good and also very clean.

Disliked: Atmosphere is very cold... There is no breakfast at all, even the coffee was very bad, I had the worst coffee in İtaly:( They charge money for nearly everything, expecially It's not fare to charge money to keep the luggage for a few hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SYLWIA GAC

Alone

City break

28 September 2013 SYLWIA would recommend this property

Liked: stayed one night only, but had pleasant stay, friendly staff, great location and prize, no issues

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff were rude. Everything had to paid in exact change even though they had a cash drawer; go out and buy something to get correct change. No toilet paper in the bathrooms; none available at the desk; told to wait until housekeeping comes at 8 a.m.. The place overall was dirty. The second worst hostel I've encountered in all my years of hosteling. The worst in Europe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kenny Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to yellow line metro station, Carrefour express 2 min down the road (West on Moscova st.)

Disliked: Luggage storage fee for 4 euros, even though there were rooms unused (i.e. ready to checked in) in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Khaled Zaidan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013

Liked: Location was good, very close to the train station. Bed sheets were clean. There were PC's for use for free.

Disliked: Common room has a curfew at midnight. "Breakfast" is actually just a meal at a bar next door, which is over-priced. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. No lockers in the rooms, only small (really small) boxes available at the reception. Shower water temperature is always either super cold or super hot, and the shower heads are attached to the ceiling, so it's difficult to avoid the water while balancing the temperature. Bunk bed ladder aren't fixed to the bed frame, which is a bit scary!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: Easy to get to on and from Metro. Decent wifi.

Disliked: Disappointing. No atmosphere at all. I think the property was quite full but saw very few guests around the hostel. They charge for printing, keep cutlery at reception where you have to pay a deposit to use it and the breakfast is terrible. One croissant which they keep at reception and hand to you (so you can't have more) and tea/cofee. No juice. Some of the staff are nice and helpful, others not so much. Bathroom in my dorm was cleaned but mouldy walls and just a grimey feeling.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky vibe.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emanuel Grant

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 August 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are excellent!

Disliked: That hidden fee for luggage is a scam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and the staff was very friendly! Also had nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The wash machine was broken during my stay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013

Liked: Instructions on how to find from the train station where easy to follow

Disliked: Not clean at all, bathroom was filthy, dead cockroaches where all through the room, Breakfast inadequate, hot drinks served in plastic cups which melted whilst drinking

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: Location was quite central.It provides breakfast.. but do go early because it runs out fast.

Disliked: I took a private room and I have taken private rooms in hostels before, and they would provide a towel and bed sheets were already prepared in the room and all. But this one , we had to do it and dispose it ourselves- I don't mind doing it but it bothers me because of the amount we paid for a private room and all. In addition to that, we had to pay for a towel and the price was not cheap. Other than that, with the exception of one, the staff was not friendly at all. I asked one about directions and she seemed rather cold and so was another receptionist. The facilities in the room was terrible, there were 3 plug sockets and only one worked and that was for the fridge! When I arrived at the station at night, it was rather quiet and scary, so my family and I did not exactly feel safe. I basically would not recommend this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Lawson Jakob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Would definitely stay here again, great value for just close to town.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 July 2013

Liked: The location, Decor in lobby, Hot croissant for breakfast.

Disliked: We booked in advance for the beginning and end of a holiday in Cinque Terre because of the location, it easy to get to and from the main train station to get to the airport. We were put in the same room both times. When we came back 6 nights later the bathroom was still filthy and I am pretty sure that it had not been cleaned in between our stays

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was walking distance from city center. I could book two-bed dorm for me and my friend so we get a private room with bathroom on good price. Interior design was nice.

Disliked: Room wasn´t very clean. Previous clients had leave their linen on the bed and no one had took them - we had to do this. Towel set cost 5 euros. Atmosphere was kind of hotel like. There weren´t that cozy hostel feeling. Breakfast was poor and coffee machine wasn´t working.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, spacious and clean room and bathroom. A one night stay and not much to complain about.

Disliked: plastic cups for coffee - No NO NO! And I didn't think it would be possible for me not to finish a croissant but it didn't taste great. And I'm really not a fussy person!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, several metro stations close by and easy location between central station and the city centre. I like the fact that you can bookprivate rooms with ensuite bathrooms. I like the fact that the rooms are cleaned every day.

Disliked: Our room was not very clean when we arrived, as they just did reconstruction and after placing the tiles they did not clean very well, so there was cement everywhere. With an ensuite bathroom, towels are not included. I would expect this much. Just charge an euro more and add towels. There is an adaptor needed to be able to use the fridge in the room. No mention of this while booking and not even at check in. We found out after I walked down to the reception to tell them that the fridge could not be plugged in. Down payment op 10 euro was needed to be able to get the adaptor. When we decided to do this, they found out that they ran out of adaptors and that we had to wait till the next day for people to check out and hand in the adaptor. Next day, nobody with an adaptor checked out and we were assured that new adaptors were bought so in the evening we would get one. When we arrived in the evening, no adaptors were bought so in the end we couldn't use the fridge in the room at all.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels