HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of The Monastery Hostel

Hostel | Via Bertoni, 3, Milano, Milan, Italy 20121

73.1% Overall Rating

279 out of 336 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Matt louie Caspe thinks…

"Staff: I only met 2 staff and they are okay- helpful but not the approachable type. Location: The hostel is in quite an okay location if you want to visit Milan. It's about 20 minutes walk…"

Read all The Monastery Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.40
  • Towel USD 6.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy : Free until 30 working days prior arrival date 50% of the total amount 10 days before arrival date

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Brianza
37.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 48 reviews
Hotel Siena
26.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.7% 48 reviews
Hotel Verona
40.49 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 146 reviews
Hotel Arno
26.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.0% 335 reviews
Gioia House
39.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Stazione
37.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 111 reviews
Hotel Flora
53.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 4 reviews
Hotel Bernina
39.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 164 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

279 out of 336 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Monastery Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
63.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 320 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matt louie Caspe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014

Liked: Staff: I only met 2 staff and they are okay- helpful but not the approachable type. Location: The hostel is in quite an okay location if you want to visit Milan. It's about 20 minutes walk away from the Duomo di Milan. and there's a grocery shop 10 minutes away. It's about 20 minutes walk away from the train station. Atmosphere: Sad. The place look sad. There is nothing interesting inside the hostel aside from the Bull in the lobby but aside from that, the hostel is a sad place to stay. but as a hostel, it serves it's purpose. My experience: Arrived in the hostel 2 hours early than the check-in time. My original plan was to leave my luggage in their luggage room and go for a walk but sadly, you can't leave your luggage without paying- it costs 4 Euros per bag. This is one of the drawback of the hostel. After waiting for 2 hours, I got my key and got into the room. There is a bathroom inside the room and they do have a wifi but sadly the range isn't enough and you can hardly get a coonection if you're inside the room.

Disliked: 1. You need to pay for just leaving your luggage. 2. Wifi doesn't have good range and can't reach the rooms. 3. The kitchen is unorganize. 4. The whole hostel has a sad and plain ambiance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soraia Cardoso

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Soraia would recommend this property

Liked: First of all we were very well received. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice. They have air conditioning, nice beds, clean sheets (given at the desk), a mini fridge to keep your food, a clean bathroom and a private closet for you to keep your stuff. Also there is a pc that you can use near the reception with internet.

Disliked: They don't have cutlery (knifes, fork, spoon) in the kitchen for safety purposes. You'll have to bring from home or buy a kit (cutlery, cup and plate) at the desk for 3 euros.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: The location is good - about a 20 min walk to the city centre.

Disliked: The awful smell in the room - it smelt stuffy and like the window hadn't been opened in months. The kitchen - there are about 50 plates, 2 saucepans, and one wooden spoon on offer but no knives, no forks, no spoons, no kettle, no cups, no bowls, and no glasses. Basically the provision of a "kitchen" is pointless because you can't use it. Wifi only works in reception. Soundproofing between rooms is awful - I could hear the people in the next room into the early hours of the morning. While most of the staff were pleasant and friendly, one male worker was incredibly rude. I asked where the supermarket was and because I didn't understand the directions he gave me immediately (I'm a tourist not familiar with Milan after all!) he openly complained that I was annoying him to another guest!! Save yourself the hassle and do not stay here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014

Liked: It was clean and close to a metro station.

Disliked: The staff was extremely immature, unhelpful and rude. I understand that a hostel is mostly just a bed for most travelers but I think it's also important to have a good atmosphere and friendly environment. This was the worst in that aspect out of all the hostels I stayed in, and I have been traveling for half a year in Europe. First of all, the wifi was basically non-existent at the hostel. The staff was very unwilling to help and rude in answering my question. I asked about "Internet" instead of wifi and he rolled his eyes and made fun of me to his colleague right in front of me in Italian (He didn't know I speak Spanish, therefore can understand a good deal of Spanish). The hostel also had a flow of foreign tourist throughout the night and he was also teasing their accent and broken italian and jjoking with them in a way that was not funny at all and very unprofessional. I could tell the guests were so uncomfortable. Right at the guest leave he would then talk about them behind their back in Italian. How I know all this? Oh the only area you can get semi normal wifi in this place is the few tables above the reception desk. And did I mention he yelled at us to SHHH! several times even though we were simply talking in the tv room?? Meanwhile he had music blasting all night and singing at the top of lung. He sounded awful by the way. Sorry for the long complain but please, fire this kid. Anyone who has stayed there will know who I'm talking about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Buck

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best dorm layouts I've seen. Plenty of space, a secure locker big enough for the largest suitcase with powerpoints inside to charge your stuff without leaving it out. 8 bed dorm had 3 ensuite bathrooms and 2 fridges.

Disliked: Advertises breakfast but no longer provides it. Same with the laundry. Kitchen doesn't even have cutlery or cups for you to eat with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Mantilla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it is close to everything, great location and place. Ruled by Franciscans and friendly staff. I loved it.

Disliked: Karla left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we booked an 8 bedroom dorm, but what you get is more a 3 bed dorm with your own bathroom that is connected to another 3 bed dorm

Disliked: staff wasnt very helpful

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Goelzer bacelar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014

Liked: Good price and good location. The room for 8 people is divided in smaller, so it was really better.

Disliked: The atmosphere is terrible, breakfast is terrible. Not clean...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quietness, location, design

Disliked: potential extra charges for any additional services: left luggage, prints

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 February 2014

Liked: It was very clean and there was a lot of space in the rooms.

Disliked: It might be that i was there during off-season, but the hostel atmosphere was very chilly. You barely saw any people anywhere and it was super quiet. Also i didn't like the fact that you had to use the elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin Butler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, nice kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff. Bonus, a free croissant and coffee every morning for breakfast !

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and had lots of extra services to offer

Disliked: Not overly aesthetically pleasing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: not good for meeting with other travellers, no buffet breakfast even if there had to be

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: no hot water in the shower and the breakfast is just a croissant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyunji Kim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Hyunji would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private double room

Disliked: Second floor bed without fence

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bahar kaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 bahar would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good and also very clean.

Disliked: Atmosphere is very cold... There is no breakfast at all, even the coffee was very bad, I had the worst coffee in İtaly:( They charge money for nearly everything, expecially It's not fare to charge money to keep the luggage for a few hours.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SYLWIA GAC

Alone

City break

28 September 2013 SYLWIA would recommend this property

Liked: stayed one night only, but had pleasant stay, friendly staff, great location and prize, no issues

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The staff were rude. Everything had to paid in exact change even though they had a cash drawer; go out and buy something to get correct change. No toilet paper in the bathrooms; none available at the desk; told to wait until housekeeping comes at 8 a.m.. The place overall was dirty. The second worst hostel I've encountered in all my years of hosteling. The worst in Europe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kenny Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to yellow line metro station, Carrefour express 2 min down the road (West on Moscova st.)

Disliked: Luggage storage fee for 4 euros, even though there were rooms unused (i.e. ready to checked in) in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Khaled Zaidan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013

Liked: Location was good, very close to the train station. Bed sheets were clean. There were PC's for use for free.

Disliked: Common room has a curfew at midnight. "Breakfast" is actually just a meal at a bar next door, which is over-priced. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. No lockers in the rooms, only small (really small) boxes available at the reception. Shower water temperature is always either super cold or super hot, and the shower heads are attached to the ceiling, so it's difficult to avoid the water while balancing the temperature. Bunk bed ladder aren't fixed to the bed frame, which is a bit scary!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013

Liked: Easy to get to on and from Metro. Decent wifi.

Disliked: Disappointing. No atmosphere at all. I think the property was quite full but saw very few guests around the hostel. They charge for printing, keep cutlery at reception where you have to pay a deposit to use it and the breakfast is terrible. One croissant which they keep at reception and hand to you (so you can't have more) and tea/cofee. No juice. Some of the staff are nice and helpful, others not so much. Bathroom in my dorm was cleaned but mouldy walls and just a grimey feeling.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky vibe.

Disliked: N/A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emanuel Grant

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 August 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are excellent!

Disliked: That hidden fee for luggage is a scam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and the staff was very friendly! Also had nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The wash machine was broken during my stay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013

Liked: Instructions on how to find from the train station where easy to follow

Disliked: Not clean at all, bathroom was filthy, dead cockroaches where all through the room, Breakfast inadequate, hot drinks served in plastic cups which melted whilst drinking


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels