We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of New Generation Hostel Urban Brera

Hostel | Via Bertoni, 3, Milano, Milan, Italy 20121

85.3% Overall Rating

300 out of 357 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Cheuk Yin Lam thinks…

"The interior design is great. The heating is very sufficient for winter, unlike some other reviews said a blanket is not enough I would say it's like in a sauna under a blanket (but it may vary…"

Read all New Generation Hostel Urban Brera reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.44
  • Towel USD 5.55

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy : Free until 30 working days prior arrival date 50% of the total amount 10 days before arrival date

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Brianza
47.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 49 reviews
Hotel Siena
66.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.2% 50 reviews
Hotel Arno
27.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.3% 342 reviews
Gioia House
58.31 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 3 reviews
Hotel Stazione
49.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.2% 113 reviews
Hotel Flora
51.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 4 reviews
Hotel Bernina
63.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.8% 164 reviews
Hotel San Tomaso
13.33 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.3% 821 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

300 out of 357 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Generation Hostel Urban Brera'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 217 of 341 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, private bathroom in the 6-dorm

Disliked: Sleeping on top of the bunk beds without any frame around the bed is a bit scary since it makes you feel like you re gonna fall off when you move at night..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Rooms were clean. Lockers are supplied. Felt very safe.

Disliked: Was on the top bunk with no railing. Felt like I could fall!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheuk Yin Lam

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 Cheuk Yin would recommend this property

Liked: The interior design is great. The heating is very sufficient for winter, unlike some other reviews said a blanket is not enough I would say it's like in a sauna under a blanket (but it may vary between rooms, I can't tell...).

Disliked: Need to use the lift, no stairs even for just 1 or 2 floor...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vera Kovacs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: The Monastery Hostel is really close to both the historical centre and the trainstation of Milan, so we could walk everywhere and at the same time sleep in a very quite safe little street. The rooms are clean and the furniture is modern. Kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: There is no option to have breakfast in the hostel, and our room had a bunkbed that didn't have walls on either side, so it was sort of scary to sleep on the upper bed. During the day the cleaning consisted of someone coming in and opening our windows, so every evening when we got back to the hostel it took us 2 days to heat up the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Szilvia Bedi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015 Szilvia would recommend this property

Liked: The best was that the city centre was easily reachable and there 2 supermarkets in the near area which is rare in Milan.

Disliked: I wrote my request for double bed (which they have in some room), because I was travelling with my bf, but they disregarded it fully.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefanie Desselmann

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2015 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: good located

Disliked: The kitchen was bad equipped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

israel alvarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 israel would recommend this property

Liked: its near the center the people are nice, a great place to stay

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sara Filipovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The interior design. Comfy beds. Location is great.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facility, location, the staff.

Disliked: Granted it's a continental breakfast, but it'd be nice if it provided slight more in offering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is good

Disliked: One blanket they offered was not enough in Jan

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victoria Vigilanti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Location near subway!

Disliked: The way it looks from the outside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bohle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Was a little bit hard to find in the dark and on foot, but it's location isn't bad at all. About a 10 minute walk from the Duomo and Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, and there are some nice little cafes there as well. We (my girlfriend and I) shared a 6-person room, and it was clean and the shower and bathroom were great. The 6-person room has a main room with two sets of bunk beds, and a room off to the side with another set of bunk beds.

Disliked: Upon payment, the employees stated there was no tourist tax since we were under 25, yet I was overcharged by about 1.50 euros. Not a big deal, but just the principle of it. Also, he didn't give me my receipt stating he would bring it to me later and then sort of scoffed at me when I requested it upon leaving. Also, my girlfriend and I book together, so theoretically we should have been placed above one another (right?). However, they placed her off in the small room and me in the large room, and I just thought that was kind of strange. It was alright, though, because we worked it out with the other travelers, but I thought that was strange.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tik Bing Poon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Tik Bing would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is good and nice location. Good for backpackers

Disliked: The bed sheet and kitchen were dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok. Good wifi, lockers, location near the cathedral (15 min walk).

Disliked: Big hostel so didn't feel any sociable friendly atmosphere. It is situated near the city center but in rather calm district so it didn't feel very safe to come back late at night as there weren't any people walking around.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

George Curtis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 George would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has large, cool rooms with big lockers and private bathrooms which was good. The staff are ok, one of them can across a bit bipolar, shouting at us in the day and accusing us of not actually staying in the hostel, then chatting and flirting with us later that night and giving us directions.

Disliked: You have to pay for literally everything, the kitchen isn't good at all and the staff can come across rude at times.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matt louie Caspe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014

Liked: Staff: I only met 2 staff and they are okay- helpful but not the approachable type. Location: The hostel is in quite an okay location if you want to visit Milan. It's about 20 minutes walk away from the Duomo di Milan. and there's a grocery shop 10 minutes away. It's about 20 minutes walk away from the train station. Atmosphere: Sad. The place look sad. There is nothing interesting inside the hostel aside from the Bull in the lobby but aside from that, the hostel is a sad place to stay. but as a hostel, it serves it's purpose. My experience: Arrived in the hostel 2 hours early than the check-in time. My original plan was to leave my luggage in their luggage room and go for a walk but sadly, you can't leave your luggage without paying- it costs 4 Euros per bag. This is one of the drawback of the hostel. After waiting for 2 hours, I got my key and got into the room. There is a bathroom inside the room and they do have a wifi but sadly the range isn't enough and you can hardly get a coonection if you're inside the room.

Disliked: 1. You need to pay for just leaving your luggage. 2. Wifi doesn't have good range and can't reach the rooms. 3. The kitchen is unorganize. 4. The whole hostel has a sad and plain ambiance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soraia Cardoso

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Soraia would recommend this property

Liked: First of all we were very well received. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice. They have air conditioning, nice beds, clean sheets (given at the desk), a mini fridge to keep your food, a clean bathroom and a private closet for you to keep your stuff. Also there is a pc that you can use near the reception with internet.

Disliked: They don't have cutlery (knifes, fork, spoon) in the kitchen for safety purposes. You'll have to bring from home or buy a kit (cutlery, cup and plate) at the desk for 3 euros.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: The location is good - about a 20 min walk to the city centre.

Disliked: The awful smell in the room - it smelt stuffy and like the window hadn't been opened in months. The kitchen - there are about 50 plates, 2 saucepans, and one wooden spoon on offer but no knives, no forks, no spoons, no kettle, no cups, no bowls, and no glasses. Basically the provision of a "kitchen" is pointless because you can't use it. Wifi only works in reception. Soundproofing between rooms is awful - I could hear the people in the next room into the early hours of the morning. While most of the staff were pleasant and friendly, one male worker was incredibly rude. I asked where the supermarket was and because I didn't understand the directions he gave me immediately (I'm a tourist not familiar with Milan after all!) he openly complained that I was annoying him to another guest!! Save yourself the hassle and do not stay here.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014

Liked: It was clean and close to a metro station.

Disliked: The staff was extremely immature, unhelpful and rude. I understand that a hostel is mostly just a bed for most travelers but I think it's also important to have a good atmosphere and friendly environment. This was the worst in that aspect out of all the hostels I stayed in, and I have been traveling for half a year in Europe. First of all, the wifi was basically non-existent at the hostel. The staff was very unwilling to help and rude in answering my question. I asked about "Internet" instead of wifi and he rolled his eyes and made fun of me to his colleague right in front of me in Italian (He didn't know I speak Spanish, therefore can understand a good deal of Spanish). The hostel also had a flow of foreign tourist throughout the night and he was also teasing their accent and broken italian and jjoking with them in a way that was not funny at all and very unprofessional. I could tell the guests were so uncomfortable. Right at the guest leave he would then talk about them behind their back in Italian. How I know all this? Oh the only area you can get semi normal wifi in this place is the few tables above the reception desk. And did I mention he yelled at us to SHHH! several times even though we were simply talking in the tv room?? Meanwhile he had music blasting all night and singing at the top of lung. He sounded awful by the way. Sorry for the long complain but please, fire this kid. Anyone who has stayed there will know who I'm talking about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Buck

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best dorm layouts I've seen. Plenty of space, a secure locker big enough for the largest suitcase with powerpoints inside to charge your stuff without leaving it out. 8 bed dorm had 3 ensuite bathrooms and 2 fridges.

Disliked: Advertises breakfast but no longer provides it. Same with the laundry. Kitchen doesn't even have cutlery or cups for you to eat with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Mantilla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it is close to everything, great location and place. Ruled by Franciscans and friendly staff. I loved it.

Disliked: Karla left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we booked an 8 bedroom dorm, but what you get is more a 3 bed dorm with your own bathroom that is connected to another 3 bed dorm

Disliked: staff wasnt very helpful

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gabriela Goelzer bacelar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014

Liked: Good price and good location. The room for 8 people is divided in smaller, so it was really better.

Disliked: The atmosphere is terrible, breakfast is terrible. Not clean...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quietness, location, design

Disliked: potential extra charges for any additional services: left luggage, prints

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 February 2014

Liked: It was very clean and there was a lot of space in the rooms.

Disliked: It might be that i was there during off-season, but the hostel atmosphere was very chilly. You barely saw any people anywhere and it was super quiet. Also i didn't like the fact that you had to use the elevator.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels