We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Star Hostel

Hostel | via varesina 63, Milan, Italy 20100

63.3% Overall Rating

33 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Sne Nomvete thinks…

"The atmosphere, you immediately feel as though you are at home due to the friendliness of the staff. The beds were comfortable, rooms and the interior were spacious, clean and well heated(I stayed…"

Read all Star Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 6.33
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

FULL BOOKING FEE WILL BE CHARGED FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD ON THE SAME DAY OF BOOKING 20 days prior to arrival for you can cancel for free and payment will be refunded 10 days prior to arrival incurs a 50% cancellation charge and any balance will be refunded cancel less than these 10 days the payment is non-refundable. (see cancellation policy) linen and sheets cost an extra 5.00 euro per person per night (OBLIGATORY) payment upon

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Bel Sit
29.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.6% 77 reviews
BBMILAN Bed & Breakfast
43.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel HI Piero Rotta
12.65 USD

Hostel 67.8% 913 reviews
Hotel Losanna
164.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 67 reviews
Gogol'Ostello
35.42 USD

Hostel 76.3% 7 reviews
Hotel Bogart
29.10 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Lumiere Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Amendola Fiera
35.84 USD

Hostel 76.7% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.3%

Overall Rating

33 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Star Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
56.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Balcony

Disliked: not very good to reach

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sne Nomvete

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Sne would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, you immediately feel as though you are at home due to the friendliness of the staff. The beds were comfortable, rooms and the interior were spacious, clean and well heated(I stayed during Winter so this was an important factor). Coffee, tea and juice were always on offer at no cost at all which was great. A good balance between having your own privacy but always having someone to chat to, if not other customers , Bob was always available to help out or talk about anything under the sun. Also, the bus stop is literally right in front of the hostel so getting around was easy.

Disliked: Nothing, really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely welcoming and helpful!

Disliked: The property is kind of far from the city center, but it was very close to a bus stop that goes into the center of town.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to meet people because of the coziness of the hostel. Bob, the owner, tried hard to bring everyone together.

Disliked: no air conditioning or fan, kitchen didn't have a stove. A bit hard to get to from Milano centrale, but only one bus to the center of milan. Don't forget that you have to pay 5 euros per person for linen if you book through hostelbookers

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Unclean Unfriendly Bugs and Ants on bed Full of Mosquitos Trying to get extra money for everything from Air conditioner to Water, even was reluctant to pay my change back. wanted to charge more for bed linen fine. but then wanted to charge more for towel and lastly even pillow ! so 15 euro more for linen, towel and pillow. Wifi doesnt work.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: The balcony was welcome, as was the large doors, letting cool air on a hot day. The location was good for us, as we were getting a train from the station close by. The free wifi was also great.

Disliked: It wasn't anything special, we were happy to have somewhere to sleep after a long day getting to Milan. Bob on reception was nice enough even after the misunderstanding on our arrival. He is a heavy smoker and smoked in the lobby/communal area (despite the no smoking sign on the door). The smell of it found it's way to our room, and as both of us are non-smokers, it was very unpleasant. It would have been good if our upgrade to a better room included the bathroom that came with it, but it was kindly locked. So we had to use the communal one. I've had to use some filthy hostel bathrooms before, but this takes the cake. We took this hostel because of the price (and location to train), but add on the extra linen cost and it makes it about average.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was nice

Disliked: It was a little hard to get to

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Winwit Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: Bob was very nice and helpful. Although he smokes in the lobby and he might come off as a little cold to some people at times, I personally liked him a lot and he was very helpful when I asked him questions. He even gave us a free cup of coffee/hot chocolate. I didn't find the location to be very bad. Because of Milan's public transportation system, you can take the bus, tram, and metro unlimitedly for 90 minutes for only 1.50. Buy a a 24 hour ticket for 3.50 and you can never get lost in Milan if you're savvy with public transportation. The hostel was about 17 minutes away by bus from Castello Sforzeco and from there you can take the metro anywhere you want.

Disliked: Bob offered us a nicer room with its own bathroom for a 5 euro per person upgrade and while the bathroom and the room itself were nice, the bathroom floor would become flooded whenever water landed on the bathroom walls and not directly into the tub while showering. The door knob of the bathroom would also come off. In addition, the room was rather cold at night in December and there was no heat or radiator. The sheet provides was very thin.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2011

Liked: Good directions to get there from trains downtown. Owner shared wine and conversation and cigarettes.

Disliked: Location was far away from city center. I was cold at night, difficult to sleep. Owner is kind of pushy, I didnt enjoy his company. Separate mandatory charge for linens is tricky and it is blamed on the customer for not reading the fine print, when clearly we chose that hostel for its low price...actually its not that different, just not advertised honestly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of contact with other travellers, big room in the middle where everyone can join, have a chat.

Disliked: The way the building looked from the outsite and the fact that we needed to book a more expensive room cus the other rooms were 'fullbooked' (not there).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011

Liked: The staff was friendly enough, offered help to the best of his ability though his knowledge of the city was not extensive.

Disliked: The reviews on the website are very misleading. It is much, much farther from the city center then stated, the majority of the services listed are not actually offered. You had to pay for linen, which he did not mention, even when providing the total cost. All guests had to share one bathroom, and there were no locks for any of the doors or lockers, just cupboards. The TV does not work, we got told to be quiet in the middle of the afternoon (it was just two of us on the patio chatting), the Internet was extremely slow, towels were not offered and the bathroom was not very clean. I would not recommend this property, unless you only need a place to sleep for one night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeremy Casorso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011

Liked: Just on the left when you leave the hostel a ways down the road there is a tasty kebab shop with amazing cheese potato sticks. I mean, by no means is there a shortage of delicious food in Milan but it's open late the staff at the kebab shop were wonderful. As for the hostel itself nothing stands out as particularily thrilling.

Disliked: It wasn't particularly terrible in any sense but it was definitely missing the hostel feeling. There wasn't a bar or a comfortable common area to integrate with the other travellers, it was on the dirty side, and it was in a bit of a run down area quite far from the city center. I've done a good bit of travelling and I've stayed in some amazing hostels with excellent staff, facilities and activities. With this in mind I've got to say that this hostel is mediocre at best with no real personality or spark that would ever draw me back.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, free red wine

Disliked: No safety box luggage storage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huili HAN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Huili would recommend this property

Liked: far from the city center but you can find the bus and tram nearby, so it's easy to get to the center. I suggest to take the tram 1, it's not crowded and stops very close to duomo.the staff is welcoming. the hostel is clean.

Disliked: the blanket is like a piece of paper so i got cold at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place to stay in .

Disliked: nothing at all

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: Without breakfast for booking in Hostebookers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting layout with a nice atmosphere, doesn't charge extra for services like internet & laundry, good, present staff, the beds were pretty comfortable by hostel standards.

Disliked: It's a decent hike from the city centre, needs more bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

okan tiryaki

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 October 2011 okan would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and kind staff, especially Bob was extremely nice and helpful. I stayed in the 10 people dorm, bed were quite clean. Also very good atmosphere.

Disliked: Location is not perfect, but it's ok. It's not like if it was out of milano, but you would spend some 40 mins from duomo to the hostel normally. Sleeping on the upper bed is not very comfy since it shakes a lot.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011

Liked: Free wifi, one computer to use.

Disliked: The location is a quite a bit out of the city centre. You have to get the metro and then a bus to get there. There were only two avaiable bathrooms, so there was almost always a long wait until you could use it. I found the staff a bit unfriendly and intimidating, although this can in part be due to a language barrier, but they just made me feel intimidated. Rooms were not locked, so anyone could go into anyone's rooms, and there was no secure lockup area in the rooms. I felt uncomfortable leaving any of my valuables there. The staff just came in and out of the rooms at any time they wanted, I felt like we were being kicked out of the rooms in the morning because they would walk in and then leave our door open. There was no mentioned room lock out so this was annoying. What is worrying about this place is that it didn't really seem to be a hostel at all. It's on the top floor of an apartment block, so it's more like the owner rents out his own home to people, which is okay, except that the advertisement for the property makes it seem like a hostel - there is definitely no "hostel" environment. There is no bar, the kitchen is like a kitchen you'd find in your own home, the 'commonroom' is as big as a loungeroom. It is someone's apartment, not a hostel. Also, you had to be buzzed in via their intercom system everytime you wanted to go in. My cards were not accepted by their eftpos manchine, which makes me think there was actually something wrong with their machine, not with my cards, so I had to go down and get cash from an ATM. It was just tedious. There is no games room, I didn't see the washing machines - not saying that there isn't any but I was not shown around at all. I felt awkward using the kitchen because quite often the owner was cooking his own food there - not really enough room. Even if you're on a budget, like I am, I still wouldn't recommend this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

naghmeh shafiei

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 naghmeh would recommend this property

Liked: I got in after a long days journey, got a welcoming drink, and chatte for hours with the owner. I was only there for one night, but honestly it was so pleasant. Very friendly saffron, great price, a bit out of the way but the bus stops right in front of the building. Good Internet connection, and a nice clean bed to spend the night on. I was skeptical given all the lengthy terrible reviews, but if you are a backpacker and have realistic expectations for what 13€ a night will get you, you will love this place. And your wallet too.

Disliked: The room I was in let in a lot of light from the reception... I had difficulty falling asleep.a small curtain there would fix that problem :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kari-Ann saunders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 kari-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, big kitchen area and nice rooms.

Disliked: It was very far from the centre of Milan so took about hour to get to the hostel which was frustrating.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011

Liked: Wifi worked well, had a real computer to use.

Disliked: The reviews for this hostel are very suspicious. The description is also dishonest so it would be no surprise if the reviews were also false. I would like to know where the bar, travel desk, air conditioning, games room, or lounge area are, they are all listed as facilities, none of which exist. I didn't need any of these but the description still blatant lies. The hostel consists of two fifth floor apartments converted to cram about thirty beds in. The kitchen is a tiny apartment kitchen in a passage way, on the night of my stay it was covered in rubbish and food scraps and unwashed dishes to the point of being unusable, without any one looking like tiding up. Both sides of the hostel are narrow decks, which resemble giant ashtrays. The whole hostel was pretty filthy, survivable, but unacceptable. The other major gripe is that you don't get a key for the building, and have to buzz reception to get in. The morning after my stay no staff members were at the hostel (despite claiming a 24 hour reception) so it was necessary to shadow other residents to get back into the building. Once in the building their is zero security, the hostel itself is unlocked, the dorm rooms have no locks. They have the cheek then to offer to let you use a locker for the small price of only three euro per hour!! The hostel is a solid twenty minute bus ride to the nearest metro station, which in Milan that has such excellent public transport the location is about as bad as it gets. I've used hostel bookers to book hostels in at least a dozen different countries, you will live through a night at star hostel, but some of the other reviews and high ratings are just total BS.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Denis Zub

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: Bob was great!!! He is very friendly, jovial and helpful! He makes your stay in hostel memorable. And there are also very cool bathrooms!

Disliked: A little bit far away from city center and from metro station, but we found a nice tram #1 not far away and it brought us directly to Duomo, so it was ok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good atmospere, fine staff.

Disliked: We were moved out every night:) But no problem at all.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Adam Castelein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2011

Liked: It had a large balcony for very quiet drinks and chats. There isnt anything else to like.

Disliked: The hidden linen charges. The very rude hostel owner! The fact that unless you knew exactly where the hostel is there is no sign at the front door explaining that the hostel is there. It says fully air conditioned when only one room is, none of the dorms have. All the pictures on hostelbookers.com of the star hostel are fake and aren't true pictures of the hostel. In fact the whole description of the place is a lie!!!


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels