We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Zebra Hostel

Hostel | viale Regina Margherita 9, Milan, Italy 20122

65.4% Overall Rating

188 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Rebecca Moskoff thinks…

"I like the atmosphere at the hostel. There are a lot of very interesting international people. It's a relaxed clean environment."

Read all Zebra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Pavone
114.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel di Porta Romana
39.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arcohotel
33.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.4% 50 reviews
Arco Romana Hotel
38.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.9% 48 reviews
Minas hostel
20.13 USD

Hostel 67.3% 141 reviews
Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
30.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.8% 265 reviews
Hotel Poma
26.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 25 reviews
Hotel America
27.95 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.5% 427 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

188 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zebra Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
60.0%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 161 of 244 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Moskoff

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere at the hostel. There are a lot of very interesting international people. It's a relaxed clean environment.

Disliked: I wish the people working there would reply to me in Italian when I speak Italian to them. They always reply in English.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 June 2015

Liked: The staff is helpful.

Disliked: You can't go on internet from the room and you've to cross a barrier like in the subway for going out and going it. The quality of the breakfast is poor. 29 euros are too much for a bed in such location with such facilities.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 May 2015

Liked: Friendly and helping People

Disliked: Hygienical Situation, breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

20 May 2015

Liked: Central, friendly team.

Disliked: We booked a double private room for a couple, but as we arrived, the room was really of poor quality, the bed was a bunk bed in a very tiny room and the keys of the other rooms would open our room as well. Moreover, the price was 300€ for 3 nights for 2 persons, which is ETREMELY expensive for what it is. However we obtain a discount and I recognise that the guys were helpful. However it is much too expensive for what it is. Moreover, the overall maintenance of the hostel is not good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jeremy Jackson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 January 2015 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty central and it had a very friendly atmosphere that encourages you to meet and talk with fellow travelers.

Disliked: It was not very clean and it was annoying that the lockers don't lock in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suky lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 January 2015 suky would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the duomo walking distance 10mins

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the location and the hostel staff was very friendly, especially at the bar, we got some free tequila shots so it was awesome .

Disliked: you can't lock the door of the dorm rooms and you can't lock the doors of the showers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nathan Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Had a cool vibe and was well decorated. Had a lot of potential to be a rocking place but this wasn't actualised.

Disliked: Staff were very abrupt upon check-in and enforced cash payment. It was doned the party hostel but was actually quite boring and was too far out to meet like minded travellers anywhere else.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot of people, which meant a lot of stories and great fun. The breakfast was great and I also appreciated the kitchen, the games available and the computer internet access as well.

Disliked: It took me a lot of effort to push my 60l backpack into the small locker.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good, about a 20min walk to the centre and easy to get to from the train station. The bar area is nice and relaxed and easy to meet people there, and most of the staff, especially those in the evenings, are really friendly and helpful. Never had to wait for showers/bathroom.

Disliked: The bed was not comfy and the linen was old, tatty and didn't feel clean. The light in the girls showers didn't work so could only use the one with a window in. The breakfast is very, very basic so don't expect much. The bedroom doors don't lock, and there are lockers in the rooms but they suggest not to use them for valuables (!).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: There were other friendly people here and the location is only 10min walk from the metro station.

Disliked: The staff are the rudest people I've ever met! They have no idea where any major toyri attractions are- when you ask they act like they've never heard of them. After check out they won't even let you sit in the common room. There are no locks on bedroom, toilet or shower doors.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lauren schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was well equipped and a good meeting place, there were a lot of tables to sit at, the wifi was fast, there was a lounging area with pillows, ping pong table, pool table, constant music playing, big showers, the security swipe key and passport coming up on the screen to ensure safety,

Disliked: One of the night staff had an attitude problem towards me an my friend and is not the type of person who should be in customer service. 2 girls I met discovered bed bugs in ttheir room at 3am and when they told that particular staff member (showing pictures and squished ones) he didn't seem fussed in the slightest, he just gave them another room. No wifi in rooms or too far away in the lounge area,, showers were never warm, sheets and pillows were very old and not clean looking and it was obvious they didn't change the mattress protectors as I had hair and stuff all over mine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lívia Elias

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Lívia would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, bar inside the hostel working 24h

Disliked: Bedrooms without locks. The plug on my bed didn't work Teenagers were hosted there during my stay, shouted everytime and open the door of everybody just for fun...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Weng I Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Weng I would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere and the character. Free wifi !!

Disliked: A little bit far from the metro station. It takes about 15 mins walking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very awesome party hostel! Met some great people, played table tennis, pool, drank lots of cheap beer and the bar next door is pretty good too. Such an awesome hostel to go to to meet new people and have a crazy night :)

Disliked: The staff had a bit of attitude and weren't very welcoming. Every time I bought a beer the guy behind the counter sighed super hard if I didn't give him the exact change. On the flip side, the bar was awesome at night and the staff put up with a lot from us!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved being able to walk to the city center. The area where the hostel is situated is nice and there were some nice zebra paintings on the walls of the hostel. I never had to queu for the toilet or shower during my stay at the end of June.

Disliked: The beds and lockers in the room were from metal, so even if people tried to be very quiet in the room when entering in the middle of the night they did make some noise because it is difficult to open the locker or climb to the upper bed without doing so. I also got an enormous amount of mosquite bites during the first night when the window in our room was open - the next day the staff had put papers on the wall advising to keep the windows closed during the night, a very wise idea indeed, you should follow the advise!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Filip Budziewicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: Cheap bike rental but they had no tool to set seat in higher position.

Disliked: I was back to Zebra Hostel after break and once again they DO NOT ACCEPT credit cards. Please do not lie to your guests!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Filip Budziewicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: They lie about accepting credit cards. Above reception desk they sticked information about 3% commission for credit card payments but when i tried to pay they said sorry we do not accept CC anymore! When i asked why, they just said "because". I lost money because of that, had to do withdrawl in atm...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Liisa Kainulainen

Alone

City break

25 June 2014

Liked: Staff was friendly. There were kitchen and games and other activities in the "living room" but I stayed only one night so I hadn't time to try them.

Disliked: The shower (ladies room) was messy and I wasn't able to close or lock the door. Also it was impossible to adjust the temperature of the water. Actually all hostel was shabby and not very comfortable. Milan was very hot on that time and so was the room. I caught the feeling this hotel is for people who like to party and stay up late during their trip.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tomás Murolo Litmanowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice hall to stay and meet people

Disliked: My room was originally a 12 mixed bedroom, but there was 14 beds in the room and in the next day other two beds on the floor on the middle of the room. The showers were aweful, the toilets always dirty and smelling bad, the free breakfast includes almost nothing, the wifi doesnt work like ten fee away from the hall, the doors have no locks, and the matresses weren't comfortable and the linen and sheets were a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simay Cavkas

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 June 2014 Simay would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cool and cheap hostel

Disliked: Simay left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: The breakfast In the morning.

Disliked: Mosquitos in rooms. Screens weren't properly installed. Not sure what you can do since they have signs everywhere of what you can't do. No hot water. A/c didn't work for some reason in all the rooms. I could tell they just didn't want to turn them on. Most importantly the didn't take my Visa card like they said they would.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014

Liked: bit close to city centre. it took 20minutes by walk.

Disliked: no wifi in the room no lift and many stairs REALLY RUDE STAFFS always turned off the light in shower, it was terrible when i took a shower at night. far from metro station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and design made you feel at home. Furnished well and breakfast included meant you could just get up eat and go. Nearby everything you would need incl transport to other parts of the city. Arcade machines, table tennis (ping pong), table fooyball, TV, radio and a large dining and lounge area made my stay just that little bit better. The wifi always worked - a necessity for me and the map handed to you on arrival was great for finding my bearings. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Paying 3€ for a padlock. But to be honest its a very open environment so it's not needed


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels