HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Zebra Hostel

Hostel | viale Regina Margherita 9, Milan, Italy 20122

72.8% Overall Rating

174 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"There were other friendly people here and the location is only 10min walk from the metro station."

Read all Zebra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Pavone
48.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel di Porta Romana
46.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arcohotel
24.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 49 reviews
Arco Romana Hotel
36.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 48 reviews
Minas hostel
16.01 USD

Hostel 71.5% 127 reviews
Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
32.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.9% 263 reviews
Hotel Poma
6.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.1% 23 reviews
Hotel America
25.35 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 82.2% 425 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

174 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zebra Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
71.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 150 of 224 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: There were other friendly people here and the location is only 10min walk from the metro station.

Disliked: The staff are the rudest people I've ever met! They have no idea where any major toyri attractions are- when you ask they act like they've never heard of them. After check out they won't even let you sit in the common room. There are no locks on bedroom, toilet or shower doors.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lauren schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was well equipped and a good meeting place, there were a lot of tables to sit at, the wifi was fast, there was a lounging area with pillows, ping pong table, pool table, constant music playing, big showers, the security swipe key and passport coming up on the screen to ensure safety,

Disliked: One of the night staff had an attitude problem towards me an my friend and is not the type of person who should be in customer service. 2 girls I met discovered bed bugs in ttheir room at 3am and when they told that particular staff member (showing pictures and squished ones) he didn't seem fussed in the slightest, he just gave them another room. No wifi in rooms or too far away in the lounge area,, showers were never warm, sheets and pillows were very old and not clean looking and it was obvious they didn't change the mattress protectors as I had hair and stuff all over mine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lívia Elias

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Lívia would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, bar inside the hostel working 24h

Disliked: Bedrooms without locks. The plug on my bed didn't work Teenagers were hosted there during my stay, shouted everytime and open the door of everybody just for fun...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Weng I Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Weng I would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere and the character. Free wifi !!

Disliked: A little bit far from the metro station. It takes about 15 mins walking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very awesome party hostel! Met some great people, played table tennis, pool, drank lots of cheap beer and the bar next door is pretty good too. Such an awesome hostel to go to to meet new people and have a crazy night :)

Disliked: The staff had a bit of attitude and weren't very welcoming. Every time I bought a beer the guy behind the counter sighed super hard if I didn't give him the exact change. On the flip side, the bar was awesome at night and the staff put up with a lot from us!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved being able to walk to the city center. The area where the hostel is situated is nice and there were some nice zebra paintings on the walls of the hostel. I never had to queu for the toilet or shower during my stay at the end of June.

Disliked: The beds and lockers in the room were from metal, so even if people tried to be very quiet in the room when entering in the middle of the night they did make some noise because it is difficult to open the locker or climb to the upper bed without doing so. I also got an enormous amount of mosquite bites during the first night when the window in our room was open - the next day the staff had put papers on the wall advising to keep the windows closed during the night, a very wise idea indeed, you should follow the advise!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Filip Budziewicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: Cheap bike rental but they had no tool to set seat in higher position.

Disliked: I was back to Zebra Hostel after break and once again they DO NOT ACCEPT credit cards. Please do not lie to your guests!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Filip Budziewicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: They lie about accepting credit cards. Above reception desk they sticked information about 3% commission for credit card payments but when i tried to pay they said sorry we do not accept CC anymore! When i asked why, they just said "because". I lost money because of that, had to do withdrawl in atm...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Liisa Kainulainen

Alone

City break

25 June 2014

Liked: Staff was friendly. There were kitchen and games and other activities in the "living room" but I stayed only one night so I hadn't time to try them.

Disliked: The shower (ladies room) was messy and I wasn't able to close or lock the door. Also it was impossible to adjust the temperature of the water. Actually all hostel was shabby and not very comfortable. Milan was very hot on that time and so was the room. I caught the feeling this hotel is for people who like to party and stay up late during their trip.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tomás Murolo Litmanowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice hall to stay and meet people

Disliked: My room was originally a 12 mixed bedroom, but there was 14 beds in the room and in the next day other two beds on the floor on the middle of the room. The showers were aweful, the toilets always dirty and smelling bad, the free breakfast includes almost nothing, the wifi doesnt work like ten fee away from the hall, the doors have no locks, and the matresses weren't comfortable and the linen and sheets were a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simay Cavkas

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 June 2014 Simay would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cool and cheap hostel

Disliked: Simay left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: The breakfast In the morning.

Disliked: Mosquitos in rooms. Screens weren't properly installed. Not sure what you can do since they have signs everywhere of what you can't do. No hot water. A/c didn't work for some reason in all the rooms. I could tell they just didn't want to turn them on. Most importantly the didn't take my Visa card like they said they would.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014

Liked: bit close to city centre. it took 20minutes by walk.

Disliked: no wifi in the room no lift and many stairs REALLY RUDE STAFFS always turned off the light in shower, it was terrible when i took a shower at night. far from metro station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and design made you feel at home. Furnished well and breakfast included meant you could just get up eat and go. Nearby everything you would need incl transport to other parts of the city. Arcade machines, table tennis (ping pong), table fooyball, TV, radio and a large dining and lounge area made my stay just that little bit better. The wifi always worked - a necessity for me and the map handed to you on arrival was great for finding my bearings. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Paying 3€ for a padlock. But to be honest its a very open environment so it's not needed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, English-speaking staff, big common area, decent breakfast (except coffee, which was rather poor).

Disliked: You cannot adjust water temperature in the shower, so good luck washing yourself with boiling water :) nearly everything comes with additional charge, they put notes about fines for smoking/overnight guests everywhere, giving the hostel slightly prison-like taste.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Iliffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Great location and much to do including games and a bar. Pretty good kitchen.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't too great, but not the worst. There were so many mosquitos in the hostel, and the rooms were so open that we were eaten alive.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: location, breakfast, the common area and the kitchen look really nice.

Disliked: Disliked: the showers are in a bad condition; there are rules written all over the place; the wi-fi is available only in the common area.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Wing yAn fanny Pong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: cheap

Disliked: location . bed .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014

Liked: The location is good and the staff is nice

Disliked: The rooms are small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Kravac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really neat hostel right off the tram and near the metro. Pool tables, board games, fusball, and a fully equipped kitchen and bar. It was very easy to find our way there from central station. The people at reception were great; they recommended great things to do and were really helpful. We were only there for two nights, but the overall experience was great. Showers worked well and there was hot water. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very clean. Breakfast was included and was really decent for a hostel; cereal, toast, pastries, coffee, OJ - better than most. Really secure too, you had to swipe a key card to get into the premises. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Disliked: Quite cold, but they provide excellent duvets.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014

Liked: staff is very friendly good location to the city center if like walking on foot (approximately 15 minutes to the main square)

Disliked: not very clean, especially the showers and linen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Maria Toth

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Edina Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed four nights at this hostel. Staff was always extremely kind, helpful, smiling and flexible. The bedding was obviously nicely fresh and the washroom was also nice and clean continuously. I loved the hot water I could get anytime I went for shower. Beds were quite comfortable for this price and breakfast also was okay. Lovely decorations with the little Zebra around, and beautiful pictures on the wall all over. :-)

Disliked: It was cold in the lounge while I was using Internet, I was sitting there wearing my winter coat.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 December 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is nice and beds are comfortable.

Disliked: It is a very long walk from the metro station and it doesn't feel very secure in the neighbourhood late at night. Toilets are horrible. Transportation in Milan is good so just try to find a hostel close to the metro station. Would not stay there again.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen, location.

Disliked: Little space in the room, doors of the room cannot be locked, poor breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hostel like atmosphere; staff very friendly; simple but good breakfast.

Disliked: not very clean, especially the showers; they have lockers on the rooms, but you have to pay extra to actually lock them;


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels