We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Zebra Hostel

Hostel | viale Regina Margherita 9, Milan, Italy 20122

72.3% Overall Rating

179 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"There was a lot of people, which meant a lot of stories and great fun. The breakfast was great and I also appreciated the kitchen, the games available and the computer internet access as well."

Read all Zebra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Pavone
59.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel di Porta Romana
44.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arcohotel
55.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 49 reviews
Arco Romana Hotel
42.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 48 reviews
Minas hostel
19.24 USD

Hostel 72.8% 128 reviews
Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
35.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.9% 263 reviews
Hotel Poma
6.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.1% 23 reviews
Hotel America
24.37 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 82.2% 425 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

179 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zebra Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
68.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012

Liked: good atmosphere, free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: It has a weird smell, there's a construction going on so there's dust everywhere. Don't know if someone actually cleans th bathroom and there are lots of mosquitos!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sander Martin Bachfeldt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Sander Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area, kitchen, close to the main sites (i walked), friendly staff. People say its loud, but my room was quiet (some people did snore, but its a HOSTEL and not a private room!).

Disliked: Sander Martin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to kitchen, friendly fellow travellers who were our age, felt secure

Disliked: Mosquitos everywhere, even in our room No windows in the room, no lights in the hallway making it feel like we were in a dungeon. Terrible lighting in the bathroom Showers were small and the doors didn't close

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiro Sakai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Jiro would recommend this property

Liked: for everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Herrera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the big common area and the key card entry. It made me feel secure.

Disliked: The short walls but that wasn't as bad as some people said it was on the reviews.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ARCHONTO ATHANASIOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 ARCHONTO would recommend this property

Liked: communal spaces, helpful stuff

Disliked: no doors at the rooms and the walls weren't ending at the ceiling

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall friendly hostel, but not much privacy.

Disliked: Access to other rooms was from my dorm room. Also biggest issue for me was the complete lack of hot water in the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

AMER SHIRAZ

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 AMER would recommend this property

Liked: I was greatly touched by the friendless and helpfulness of the staff and also the nice manners and friendliness of the hostel occupants.

Disliked: Zebra could do better with their heating facilities in the 12 bed dorm (it was freezing cold in the night). Also, during my last night of stay, there was NO HOT WATER in the bathrooms all day and night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere , the location

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Maria De Los Angeles Picone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Maria De Los Angeles would recommend this property

Liked: It has a huge common room with lots of things to do: ping pong, wifi, games, books, TV... Other guests complained about breakfast but for me it was quite good: bread, juice, coffee, tea, conrflakes, etc. They had rules about what to do in each place and it was ok because it is a big hostel. The kitchen is comfortable and nice. The fact that the dorms were REALLY small made you stay downstairs in the common room/bar meeting other guests. You have free wifi and lockers.

Disliked: It was really cold at ALL times, I did not feel safe in the night (you had to walk several long dark blocks to get there from the metro) and although the bathrooms were in general OK, you could tell they needed maintance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff during the major part of the day

Disliked: The late night staff (to be expected I suppose)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: It was fairly clean and the lounge area was big with strong wifi while we were there.

Disliked: Basically everything else! We weren't too fussy but this was probably the worst/weirdest hostel we stayed in on our 2 month trip around Europe. We booked in a 4 bed room which was fine except that none of the rooms have doors and the walls only go 3/4 of the way up before there are sheets hanging!! So you can see other people in their beds and HEAR EVERYTHING. We got hardly any sleep it was so noisy with everyone around, and half the place was still in construction, it was like sleeping in a warehouse. Absolutely NO SECURITY. Only wristbands not a single key needed. And you had to pay for the padlock on the locker, which in this case was ridiculous. Yeah, was so strange and ridiculously expensive for the place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Julissa Rachor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Julissa would recommend this property

Liked: The theme of the Hostel and the atmosphere of everyone staying there. Friendly people all around.

Disliked: The location. There really wasn't very much around it or really any places close enough to go to.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Audrey Goudreau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Very big hostel. Very nice common rooms. Big kitchen, big living room with lots of entertainment (music, pool table, monopoly, scrabble, etc..) The staff was very nice as well, super helpful. The location isn't exactly in the city center but is walkable to everywhere.

Disliked: Not a lot of bathrooms/showers for the amount of beds available

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. the pizza place, Da Willy's, served me up the most most gargantuan calzone i have ever feasted on for 6 euro. some of the staff members are quite beautiful. there was a ping pong table as well as some board games to play as well. bike rentals for fairly cheap.

Disliked: i don't know why there is a mosquito problem there but there is. I was bitten all night. the smaller, more expensive 12 bed dorm was right next to the only shower and bathroom, so it was just a noisy as the large dorm but at a higher cost.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were good, and the theme was cute! It wasn't too far from downtown - 2 subway stops.

Disliked: The showers are small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Millington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice freindly staff

Disliked: poor shower and toilet services

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmoshphere

Disliked: some rooms dont have doors :D

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2011

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location in the city.

Disliked: Anyone can come in this hostel and get all the way up to your room as there is no front door or doors on the rooms (at least the floor i stayed on there were no doors). There is lockers you can use though. The walls don't go up to the ceiling and a curtain hangs across it. So you hear the noise from other rooms and in the hallway. There were a lot of mosquitos and were buzzing around my head all night. The shower works and is warm, but it's a little dribble of water coming out, so it just takes awhile to have a shower.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good social areas - i.e kitchen and lounge room

Disliked: Showers were more like a spurt of water than a shower.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Aaron cairns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: No doors on the rooms- no security, we had stuff stolen Infested with mosquitoes to the point we could not sleep and were itching for days after we left Unfriendly, unhelpful staff Overpriced No toilet seats in men's bathroom Not hot water- luke warm, 8 second timer on shower WIFI was off for a whole day and dropped out all the time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Milano communication way, quite rough at the beginning but it was great afterwards

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place turned out to be better than I expected. In the first place it's a hostel so I didn't expect much but truth be told it went beyond. It was quiet enough it was clean enough. It's very central and I even met other cool tourists. What else do you really expect from a hostel.

Disliked: Not much. Maybe it could be a little cleaner but it's a hostel with hot showers. Can't complain.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: there are no doors on the bedrooms. You get the noise from all the other rooms & it echoes quite loudly! Not secure, anyone can come in your room as its open all the time 24 hours & security at front desk is not good. If you want to party and not sleep then its ok. Dont plan on getting any sleep though. Showers are bad. Nowhere to get undressed or dressed. Nowhere to hang your towel. They are also renovating. Very noisy. Not recommended.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels