HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Zebra Hostel

Hostel | viale Regina Margherita 9, Milan, Italy 20122

69.4% Overall Rating

158 out of 217 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Good location, English-speaking staff, big common area, decent breakfast (except coffee, which was rather poor)."

Read all Zebra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Pavone
43.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel di Porta Romana
48.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arcohotel
32.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.9% 49 reviews
Arco Romana Hotel
110.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.9% 48 reviews
Minas hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 73.8% 116 reviews
Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
30.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.9% 259 reviews
Hotel Poma
6.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.2% 19 reviews
Hotel America
5.53 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 82.4% 419 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

158 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zebra Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 201 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012

Liked: absolutely nothing!

Disliked: everything. charged 4 euros for a hand towel " sorry we dont have big towels. hopefully this property catches fire some day n burns to the ground

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: /

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location--it's a few metro stops away from the train station ( you don't want to stay around there), and it's a 8 minute walk from the metro stop. there's plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and you can easily walk to all the city sights. the bed is comfortable, and the place is friendly.

Disliked: it was under renovation when i was there, so the men's bathroom was a mess.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: posizione e attrezzatura

Disliked: pulizia

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly. Eventhough our third person was absent and we did not notify them, they still did not charge us for his reservation. It was really great location - about 20mins walking from the city centre, subway was really close.

Disliked: The fact that you have to rent your towel is a bit too corporate. They could have included it with the bed sheets. I knew that fact, but still. They would have to implement some solution about the noise in the rooms. There are 22-24 beds in a single room and whenever somebody wakes up they wake up the rest of the people in the room as well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located and the front desk staff are incredibly helpful and know how to answer all your questions.

Disliked: The property isn't fully finished. So the bathrooms are on the second floor while I stayed on the 3rd, and one of the bathrooms was out of order. There was NO air conditioning OR fans in the dorm room so it was sweltering in the night. And even with windows open it didn't help, and it only brought the mosquitoes. Its only beginning of JUne and we can't breath - I would warn anybody staying over July/August.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Beauchamp-Gauvin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: No lock-out of the rooms. Nice full kitchen. Lockers in the rooms. Enough showers. Location is good. Common room is great. There's a bit of construction right now because they are expanding I think. Stayed there for 6 nights, would do it again.

Disliked: A few mosquitoes in the rooms. I got bitten pretty bad, but i don't really mind it, and the others were fine, only 1-2 bites in one night. The showers were the kind that you have to push to get water and then it stops and you have to push again, no real control over the temperature or the pressure. It can get noisy if there are noisy guests, but that's true of everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, mostly really helpful and friendly and accomodating on the learning of my italian. very safe, trusting atmosphere..didnt feel the need to lock every single thing away. comfy bed. sadifsying breakfast. i wouldn't call it a party hostel but a good starting point - make friends in the social area/ small bar and go from there. good for a solo traveller.

Disliked: not a biggy but shower doors were a bit difficult to close. the bar doesn't serve aperol!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bianca Di blasio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was good. Surprisingly, I slept very well in the 24 bed dorm. Linen are included, bed is clean and really comfortable comparing to other hostels I've been to. Breakfast is great, they have a service of bike renting, it is close to the center and I felt very safe, the level of security is great.

Disliked: Showers are definitely not the best Ive seen so far. Did not like the fact that we needed a card to get in, it was a bit complicated, but at the same time it is More safe

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012

Liked: good atmosphere, free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: It has a weird smell, there's a construction going on so there's dust everywhere. Don't know if someone actually cleans th bathroom and there are lots of mosquitos!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sander Martin Bachfeldt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Sander Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Good common area, kitchen, close to the main sites (i walked), friendly staff. People say its loud, but my room was quiet (some people did snore, but its a HOSTEL and not a private room!).

Disliked: Sander Martin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Access to kitchen, friendly fellow travellers who were our age, felt secure

Disliked: Mosquitos everywhere, even in our room No windows in the room, no lights in the hallway making it feel like we were in a dungeon. Terrible lighting in the bathroom Showers were small and the doors didn't close

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiro Sakai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Jiro would recommend this property

Liked: for everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Herrera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the big common area and the key card entry. It made me feel secure.

Disliked: The short walls but that wasn't as bad as some people said it was on the reviews.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ARCHONTO ATHANASIOU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 ARCHONTO would recommend this property

Liked: communal spaces, helpful stuff

Disliked: no doors at the rooms and the walls weren't ending at the ceiling

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall friendly hostel, but not much privacy.

Disliked: Access to other rooms was from my dorm room. Also biggest issue for me was the complete lack of hot water in the showers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

AMER SHIRAZ

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 AMER would recommend this property

Liked: I was greatly touched by the friendless and helpfulness of the staff and also the nice manners and friendliness of the hostel occupants.

Disliked: Zebra could do better with their heating facilities in the 12 bed dorm (it was freezing cold in the night). Also, during my last night of stay, there was NO HOT WATER in the bathrooms all day and night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere , the location

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Maria De Los Angeles Picone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Maria De Los Angeles would recommend this property

Liked: It has a huge common room with lots of things to do: ping pong, wifi, games, books, TV... Other guests complained about breakfast but for me it was quite good: bread, juice, coffee, tea, conrflakes, etc. They had rules about what to do in each place and it was ok because it is a big hostel. The kitchen is comfortable and nice. The fact that the dorms were REALLY small made you stay downstairs in the common room/bar meeting other guests. You have free wifi and lockers.

Disliked: It was really cold at ALL times, I did not feel safe in the night (you had to walk several long dark blocks to get there from the metro) and although the bathrooms were in general OK, you could tell they needed maintance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff during the major part of the day

Disliked: The late night staff (to be expected I suppose)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: It was fairly clean and the lounge area was big with strong wifi while we were there.

Disliked: Basically everything else! We weren't too fussy but this was probably the worst/weirdest hostel we stayed in on our 2 month trip around Europe. We booked in a 4 bed room which was fine except that none of the rooms have doors and the walls only go 3/4 of the way up before there are sheets hanging!! So you can see other people in their beds and HEAR EVERYTHING. We got hardly any sleep it was so noisy with everyone around, and half the place was still in construction, it was like sleeping in a warehouse. Absolutely NO SECURITY. Only wristbands not a single key needed. And you had to pay for the padlock on the locker, which in this case was ridiculous. Yeah, was so strange and ridiculously expensive for the place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Julissa Rachor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Julissa would recommend this property

Liked: The theme of the Hostel and the atmosphere of everyone staying there. Friendly people all around.

Disliked: The location. There really wasn't very much around it or really any places close enough to go to.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Audrey Goudreau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Very big hostel. Very nice common rooms. Big kitchen, big living room with lots of entertainment (music, pool table, monopoly, scrabble, etc..) The staff was very nice as well, super helpful. The location isn't exactly in the city center but is walkable to everywhere.

Disliked: Not a lot of bathrooms/showers for the amount of beds available

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. the pizza place, Da Willy's, served me up the most most gargantuan calzone i have ever feasted on for 6 euro. some of the staff members are quite beautiful. there was a ping pong table as well as some board games to play as well. bike rentals for fairly cheap.

Disliked: i don't know why there is a mosquito problem there but there is. I was bitten all night. the smaller, more expensive 12 bed dorm was right next to the only shower and bathroom, so it was just a noisy as the large dorm but at a higher cost.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels