We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Zebra Hostel

Hostel | viale Regina Margherita 9, Milan, Italy 20122

61.7% Overall Rating

192 out of 274 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

Aoife Sands thinks…

"All the people who were staying here were so nice and friendly. The three nights I was there I managed to feel at home and welcomed."

Read all Zebra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Pavone
114.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel di Porta Romana
39.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arcohotel
33.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.4% 50 reviews
Arco Romana Hotel
38.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.9% 48 reviews
Minas hostel
22.36 USD

Hostel 68.6% 144 reviews
Hotel 22 Marzo Milan
27.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Poma
16.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.8% 25 reviews
Hotel America
25.72 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.5% 427 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.7%

Overall Rating

192 out of 274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zebra Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
58.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 252 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Tomás Murolo Litmanowicz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice hall to stay and meet people

Disliked: My room was originally a 12 mixed bedroom, but there was 14 beds in the room and in the next day other two beds on the floor on the middle of the room. The showers were aweful, the toilets always dirty and smelling bad, the free breakfast includes almost nothing, the wifi doesnt work like ten fee away from the hall, the doors have no locks, and the matresses weren't comfortable and the linen and sheets were a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simay Cavkas

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 June 2014 Simay would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cool and cheap hostel

Disliked: Simay left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: The breakfast In the morning.

Disliked: Mosquitos in rooms. Screens weren't properly installed. Not sure what you can do since they have signs everywhere of what you can't do. No hot water. A/c didn't work for some reason in all the rooms. I could tell they just didn't want to turn them on. Most importantly the didn't take my Visa card like they said they would.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014

Liked: bit close to city centre. it took 20minutes by walk.

Disliked: no wifi in the room no lift and many stairs REALLY RUDE STAFFS always turned off the light in shower, it was terrible when i took a shower at night. far from metro station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character and design made you feel at home. Furnished well and breakfast included meant you could just get up eat and go. Nearby everything you would need incl transport to other parts of the city. Arcade machines, table tennis (ping pong), table fooyball, TV, radio and a large dining and lounge area made my stay just that little bit better. The wifi always worked - a necessity for me and the map handed to you on arrival was great for finding my bearings. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Paying 3€ for a padlock. But to be honest its a very open environment so it's not needed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, English-speaking staff, big common area, decent breakfast (except coffee, which was rather poor).

Disliked: You cannot adjust water temperature in the shower, so good luck washing yourself with boiling water :) nearly everything comes with additional charge, they put notes about fines for smoking/overnight guests everywhere, giving the hostel slightly prison-like taste.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Iliffe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Great location and much to do including games and a bar. Pretty good kitchen.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't too great, but not the worst. There were so many mosquitos in the hostel, and the rooms were so open that we were eaten alive.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: location, breakfast, the common area and the kitchen look really nice.

Disliked: Disliked: the showers are in a bad condition; there are rules written all over the place; the wi-fi is available only in the common area.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Wing yAn fanny Pong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: cheap

Disliked: location . bed .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014

Liked: The location is good and the staff is nice

Disliked: The rooms are small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Kravac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really neat hostel right off the tram and near the metro. Pool tables, board games, fusball, and a fully equipped kitchen and bar. It was very easy to find our way there from central station. The people at reception were great; they recommended great things to do and were really helpful. We were only there for two nights, but the overall experience was great. Showers worked well and there was hot water. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very clean. Breakfast was included and was really decent for a hostel; cereal, toast, pastries, coffee, OJ - better than most. Really secure too, you had to swipe a key card to get into the premises. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Disliked: Quite cold, but they provide excellent duvets.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014

Liked: staff is very friendly good location to the city center if like walking on foot (approximately 15 minutes to the main square)

Disliked: not very clean, especially the showers and linen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Maria Toth

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Edina Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed four nights at this hostel. Staff was always extremely kind, helpful, smiling and flexible. The bedding was obviously nicely fresh and the washroom was also nice and clean continuously. I loved the hot water I could get anytime I went for shower. Beds were quite comfortable for this price and breakfast also was okay. Lovely decorations with the little Zebra around, and beautiful pictures on the wall all over. :-)

Disliked: It was cold in the lounge while I was using Internet, I was sitting there wearing my winter coat.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 December 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is nice and beds are comfortable.

Disliked: It is a very long walk from the metro station and it doesn't feel very secure in the neighbourhood late at night. Toilets are horrible. Transportation in Milan is good so just try to find a hostel close to the metro station. Would not stay there again.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen, location.

Disliked: Little space in the room, doors of the room cannot be locked, poor breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hostel like atmosphere; staff very friendly; simple but good breakfast.

Disliked: not very clean, especially the showers; they have lockers on the rooms, but you have to pay extra to actually lock them;

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013

Liked: The only think that i liked was the location.

Disliked: The service that the staff offers to their clients is poor. The place it is a complitely mass and always is dirty.in our six shared bedroom we found fleas on the mattress. It is really expensive for the services that they offer. I would definitely not recommend this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEKSANDRA PENEVA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2013 ALEKSANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the people.

Disliked: ALEKSANDRA left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Nelly Grivko

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2013

Liked: Location quite good. Close to the city center (20-30 minutes by walk). Friendly staff.

Disliked: There were no appropriate room isolation (nor from the point of view of the sound, nor from the point of you of the light (!!!), nor from the point of view of the privacy (rooms were never locked)), due to absence of the cellar!!! The whole space was the workshop someday in the past and right now the rooms are organized by small walls (having only the half of the height of the "natural" celling)... The water oftenly was not warm enough (so that only prepared travellers could have shower). Overall the temperature in the hostel was low. To add negative I'd like to mention that the kitchen was closed at 22:00 and there were no light in the corridors, so that it was really hard to navigate to the to room or to the toilet!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jason Brown

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

19 July 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Went on the pubcrawl, had an excelent night and met some awesome people (including the guy running it). The location is pretty good aswell with most of the city centre reachable within 15 mins.

Disliked: SO MANY RULES. On every door, wall and window you will see reminders of the rules and the sanctions on offer if you fail to abbide by them. I get the feeling that the old lady that struggled to say hello to us at reception may be the owner! Also I think I may have got cleaner if somebody had spat on than in the rubbish showers at Zebra!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Hardwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: No problems meeting people when I was travelling alone. Good communal area with table tennis and pool table. Can buy drinks all night long which is a plus (although not as cheap as you may expect)

Disliked: Unbearably hot during the nights since no AC. Toilets blocked whilst I stayed there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caroline Andersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: close to town. easy to find. they have bikerentels and its 10 min to the metro. pooltabel and a bar. kithen that you can cook in.

Disliked: this is a young persons hostel. a littel bit noise.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Julia elena Calandra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Julia elena would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel good rate price/service

Disliked: Julia elena left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful,they gave you a map of the local area and amenities

Disliked: They were having renovation works , so there was often building stuff around and builders dust . It also meant that we had to use the bathroom upstairs Also the pillow was lumpy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013

Liked: The atmosphere is really nice,you can actually feel like at home,some activities at the common area and big kitchen

Disliked: There were about 8 bikes and said we could rent,all of them were broken. The staff dont care about how are the clients,they only care about money. After check out you are OBLIGATE,yes, OBLIGATE to leave the hostel,even if you dont have your next plans made.And worse than that the staff blame the owner... So this behaviour actually took the good atmosphere out !


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels