We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

47.4% Overall Rating

423 out of 759 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 98.25
  • Breakfast USD 2.18
  • Linen USD 2.62
  • Towel USD 0.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
30.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
21.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.5% 295 reviews
Hotel Ambra
10.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 188 reviews
Hotel Galla
19.65 USD

Hostel 65.7% 110 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
52.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
76.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.4%

Overall Rating

423 out of 759 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
50.4%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
48.8%
Value
48.8%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 699 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: None.

Disliked: There was no toilet paper in the toilet....

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mostafa Elshahed

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2015

Liked: No thing

Disliked: We booked on hostelbooker and when we arrived they told us that they don’t have free beds. The staff at this hostel were not welcoming or helpful in anyway and seemed to spend most of their time standing around chain smoking in the kitchen area.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015

Liked: chepest place i could find

Disliked: nothing special. just a room with 5 bunk beds and a shower. not terribly clean.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniela Castellanos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2015 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is available to cook and safe some money :)

Disliked: There was not toilette paper :(

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ruslani Balievi

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 March 2015

Liked: I did not like anything

Disliked: very dirty. I could not take a bath, because it was very unclean. I have booked for 10,60 a nicht, but I should pay 16 Euro when arrived

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anna Hoad

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015

Liked: The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our heads and meant we could sleep, but it was not a pleasant experience.

Disliked: The staff at this hostel were not welcoming or helpful in anyway and seemed to spend most of their time standing around chain smoking in the kitchen area. When my friend and I went to check in we said that we had 3 friends arriving in the afternoon and his reply was: "Are your friends all beautiful ladies like you?" This was not the kind of statement to make two girls feel at ease in their accommodation, but a rather sexist one that annoyed us straight off. Following this we found there were no locks on the doors to our dorm room which wasn't ideal. Considering there was a lack of security it did not seem like it would matter if we were to go see our friends in the other dorm (even though we had all booked to be in the same dorm room). However, when we went into each others room, the same staff member to have made the comment at check in was then very rude to us and said we were not allowed in each others rooms. Surely if this was such a problem they should fix locks onto the doors of each room and should have put my friends and I all into the same room as we had requested? Usually I ignore flaws of a hostel such as cleanliness or lack of atmosphere, but this place was very dirty as well as the above problems, and I would therefore not recommend people to stay here. We had a change of plans and it was all we could find at the last minute, but I will try to avoid this being the case when travelling again!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 February 2015

Liked: Nothing in particular.

Disliked: Atmosphere very bad

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Michele Silva Kemmerich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Michele Silva would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff.

Disliked: Not too clean hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2014

Liked: It was okey, nothing good or bad really

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Vandini Pathak

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 Vandini would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms.

Disliked: It was good...no comments

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2014

Liked: Its not clean.too expensive.

Disliked: Ggg

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

cindy gay

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: No locks...someones pack was mysteriously stolen in the night...very few plugs to charge and lots of people

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: i didn't

Disliked: you need to be quite all the time, because it's an a building with neighbors.. no common area to meet others.. no lock on the main door for the room, which mean that anyone can go in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We stayed in a 10 person private room. It is in an attic and looks like a refugee camp. There is only a small fan which used up the ONLY plug socket in the room and the air circulation is terrible, so it is very hot in the room and very uncomfortable. Wifi doesn't work in the room as well. In general, worst hostel ever!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014

Liked: cheap

Disliked: very impolite stuff (male came in while girl was changing, let me stand at reception for 20 minutes, while just sitting there) the shower was impossible! You could not even stand in it!!!!) very remote, difficult to reach!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher redmond

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: particularly the people who worked there and the other guests. all very relaxed, friendly and interesting.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Klara Elizabeth Isabela

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Klara Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: staff's friendliness

Disliked: limited electrical plugs inside the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yee Ting Hung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Yee Ting would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful

Disliked: it is a bit far from the centre

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Herda Sabriyah Dara Kospa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: Big kitchen

Disliked: Everything must pay, it doesnt like others hostels that I've ever stayed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela Albuquerque

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place.

Disliked: Only 2 bathroon for all guests..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Lopez

Alone

City break

11 March 2014 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: the personal at the reception, the quiet location

Disliked: no plug socket near the beds

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Filippos Filippou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Filippos would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and warm. Got a kitchen and a fridge for those who want to cook. Thas the possitives :)

Disliked: The room was not clean and its almost imposible to have a shower. The guy working there at the night i arrived is supper rude

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is for the ones that gonna spend just 1 night there. That was my case, so it fitted ok. You get what you paid. I liked that has a girls room with private bathroom. There is a supermarket near the hostel and the subway station isn't so far.

Disliked: Well, like I said you get what you paid, the beds are not so confortable (but they're clean); it's not close to main attractions, so you're gonna have to use the public transport; the lockers are small (I couldn't put my backpack inside), the wi-fi isn't good and, the most important, there isn't a key for the room.. the room stays open 24h (quite unsafe).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elena Khramtcova

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: There is a big great room upstairs with a fridge and tiny kitchen? and a lot of tables - to spend free time/ Wifi is included. In my room there were women only, so I really was not nervouos at all.

Disliked: Too many peaple in the room is of course difficult. But that's what I've chosen , so I'm not complaining :)


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels