HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 52%

Safety 52%

Staff 44%

Value 50%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 45%

Facilities 46%

Location 52%

Safety 52%

Staff 44%

Value 50%

Showing 1-10 of 325 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Too far away from town centre- 25 min walk

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
49% Overall Rating


24 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It was cheap compared to other milan properties

Disliked: The chef(s) live in the hostel and we were in their room. Very uncomfortable. Bedding is not optional, i had my own bedding and was still made to pay.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


08 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating


21 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Staff was friendly and did some effort to help.

Disliked: The dorm had no airco and the big ventilator on the ceiling did not work so it was extremely hot in the room, though the windows were open. We asked the staff to print our boarding passes but they "did not know the password of the computer" and they "did not know if the printer works". Honestly, what are you even doing then at your hostel? Stalling your luggage after check out is free until 4pm, after that you have to pay 5 euros per item (!). No working wifi in the room, only upstairs in the communal area

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating


17 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: There is a metro close to the placa

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating


05 May 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nothing is good there. It was a nightmare

Disliked: Everything is worst

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: NOTHING!!!! WORSE PLACE I HAVE EVER STEPPED FOOT IN. ITS SMELLS. IT IS HIDEOUS TO LOOK AT. THE SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE. THE STAFF WERE INCOMPETENT AND RUDE. THE ROOMS ARE TOO CRAMPED, I BELIEVE IT CAN ACTUALLY BE A HEALTH HAZARD.

Disliked: I DISLIKED LIKE THERE WAS NO ACTUAL FORM OF SECURITY. MY GLASSES WERE STOLEN FROM THE RECEPTION DESK. I MEAN IF GLASSES CAN BE STOLEN FROM THE RECEPTION, WHAT GUARANTEES THAT MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS WOULD NOT BE STOLEN FROM MY ROOM? THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THERE WAS NO CHANGE OF BEDDINGS EVEN FOR ONCE YET IT WAS INCLUDED IN THE BILL. NAAHHHHHHHH THIS PLACE SUCKS PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT. AND LASTLY!!!!! THIS WAS DEFINITELY NOT WORTH MY MONEY. I WISH I COULD GET IT BACK.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating


23 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: price

Disliked: no key to room, higher price to pay than on website (no information of taxes), no linen pillowcase for quilt (just blancket)

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating


28 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: 7

Disliked: I cancelled booking for this property well advance via email and never arrived. Despite that they charged illegally my credit card

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nothing abt to like.

Disliked: There are many things to say about...there are very bad cleanliness, very bad management and very very bad at providing faculties on requirement....

Check Availability