HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

56.0% Overall Rating

410 out of 723 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

Daniela Albuquerque thinks…

"Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.21
  • Linen USD 3.31
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
27.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
17.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 257 reviews
Hotel Alba
17.94 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.2% 285 reviews
Hotel Ambra
12.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.7% 180 reviews
Hotel Galla
23.46 USD

Hostel 68.8% 108 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
42.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
26.22 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.32 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 65.0% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.0%

Overall Rating

410 out of 723 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
58.4%
Value
54.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 667 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Herda Sabriyah Dara Kospa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: Big kitchen

Disliked: Everything must pay, it doesnt like others hostels that I've ever stayed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela Albuquerque

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place.

Disliked: Only 2 bathroon for all guests..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Lopez

Alone

City break

11 March 2014 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: the personal at the reception, the quiet location

Disliked: no plug socket near the beds

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Filippos Filippou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Filippos would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and warm. Got a kitchen and a fridge for those who want to cook. Thas the possitives :)

Disliked: The room was not clean and its almost imposible to have a shower. The guy working there at the night i arrived is supper rude

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is for the ones that gonna spend just 1 night there. That was my case, so it fitted ok. You get what you paid. I liked that has a girls room with private bathroom. There is a supermarket near the hostel and the subway station isn't so far.

Disliked: Well, like I said you get what you paid, the beds are not so confortable (but they're clean); it's not close to main attractions, so you're gonna have to use the public transport; the lockers are small (I couldn't put my backpack inside), the wi-fi isn't good and, the most important, there isn't a key for the room.. the room stays open 24h (quite unsafe).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elena Khramtcova

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: There is a big great room upstairs with a fridge and tiny kitchen? and a lot of tables - to spend free time/ Wifi is included. In my room there were women only, so I really was not nervouos at all.

Disliked: Too many peaple in the room is of course difficult. But that's what I've chosen , so I'm not complaining :)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013

Liked: Only a place for sleeping.

Disliked: Location and traffic are not good. Environment and facility is not good, no living room, no wifi, even noplace to sit. Only sleeping. They even charge me more than it indicated on the website.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 September 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: When i arrived i was asked to pay for 2,40e for each night i was going to spend there for the sheets and a map. I understand to pay it once but not for each day. Then they were reforming the hostel so everywhere there was dust and people in reception didn`t care about nothing. In the kitchen there were just 3 plates to eat and of course there were more than 3 people in the hostel, the pots were dirty, and there were no lighters. The wifi doesn`t work in the rooms and it badly works in the common areas. I was bitten by fleas or bugs, i don`t know, and when i ask in the reception to change the bed he said me that the hostel was full,so it was imposible to change; and when i asked him for something for the bites he just said me : " this is not a pharmacy". Know i still having horrible marks and taking pils because of this.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013

Liked: The linen was clean and the beds were confortable. You had a little garden in one of the rooms. You can smoke in upstairs...

Disliked: The unproffesional and unfriendly staff. The bad atmosphere and the missing pans and plates in the kitchen...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Selina DiSimone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013

Liked: The hostel is pretty standard and a decent place to stay if you're not expecting too much. It has a little kitchen upstairs that you can use and tv/comfy chairs so you can chill, which was a bonus. But watch out for the sketchy fridge which hasn't been cleaned out in about a billion years. It's also about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro, which is quite handy.

Disliked: When we first got there, the guy told us we only had 2 nights booked despite the fact I booked 4 nights about 5 months in advance (in the end we got that part sorted). As well, we ended up paying about DOUBLE of what we were expecting, due to the hidden price of city tax (2 euros per person per night) AND 'bed linens' which was 2.40 per person PER NIGHT, despite the fact the sheets didn't get changed or cleaned at all during our stay. The guy tried to tell us this was standard in Milan, but I don't think so because I haven't had to pay for bed linens in a hostel, EVER. We also heard that people paid different prices for the same bed in the same room. The beds were basically a plank that if you turned over too quickly on the top bunk you would definitely fall out :(

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Was quite far away from the centre.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, not far form the center, good connection by metro.

Disliked: Small room for many people, staff not really helpful, English difficulties, extra payments!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far from the center, easily reachable via underground. Bef was ok and staff was friendly.

Disliked: Tax was 2€/person/night and u have to take linen, so the total payment is like double to the said price. The WiFi was also dodgy. Sometimes it's there and sometimes it's not. Box is in the reception so ppl were sitting in the hallway to have connection.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

noyan yalcin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013

Liked: I did not like a single thing about this property.

Disliked: For those who don't have time to read all of my review, let me start off by just saying: Don't stay at this place! My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights, in the 8 people room reached by a narrow staircase. I had previously stayed here with no problems, so I chose the hostel again, confident that despite the low cost, we wouldn't have any problems. I couldn't be more wrong. The main reason that made our stay a very unfavorable one were the bedbugs. In previous reviews, this issue was not often pointed at, had I read it before, I obviously wouldn't have booked this property. On our first night, we were constantly awakened by the bugs walking on our skins, I killed around 30 that night. The next day, my friend started itching and little red patches emerged on my her legs, arms, face and back. These patches became swollen and bigger in the next couple of days. We wanted to change our room for the second night but they said that it wasn't possible, so we had to bear yet another sleepless night with bugs crawling on our bodies. Next day, it was getting worse. I wish I could put some photos here, just imagine 60% of your visible body being red and swollen. This made a huge impact on our 3 week vacation in Italy, that's the reason I am writing so much on this subject. She was unhappy most of the time, she spent over 50 € on medicine and healing balms, she couldn't walk comfortably because of all the eyes on her smears, and even though it's been over a month since our stay there, the blotches on her body are still there and according to the doctors, won't be gone for the next six months. Sorry to have taken the time of whoever's reading this, but I had to inform anyone so they wouldn't make the same mistake we did. Again, do not stay at this hostel. Thank you for your patience. Also, they charge you around 5 euros more than displayed here on the site per person per night, labeling it as linen and sheets cost and city tax. But this won't be a problem, now that you decided not to choose this bug infested place.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: They charge you extra costs for blankets, bed stuff and other things. They hide that on the home page and once you pay for it, it appears which is unfair.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a big kitchen.

Disliked: The staff was not unfriendly, but no quite competent and helpful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronika Kubí?ková

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Terrace next to the room.

Disliked: No social room, no chairs.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013

Liked: Yea, that would be nothing!

Disliked: We said there were bed bugs and they asked what we wanted them to do about it. Basically they didn't care to do anything!! Told one girl she could leave if she didn't want to stay, but not get her money back....what?!!? Staff was extremely rude and unhelpful

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Diogo Calado

Alone

City break

21 July 2013 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Mattress too soft and uncomfortable to sleep, hot room in summer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eleni Kalantzi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: the ceiling above the bathtub was too low, so I had to shower on my knees

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kristina Tothova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: * location is close to the Central station. It is not really in the center, but we needed to catch early bus to the airport * safety, no need to lock the door

Disliked: it is not really clean, but for one night it is ok. It is more student dormitory hostel, but for that money,what we paid, it is ok

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013

Liked: This hotel was not worth of money even if it was cheap!

Disliked: Staff was rude and took extra money to own pocket. City tax should have been couple of euros and it was 12 euros!! Toilets and showers are awful. In 12 persons dorm they only have one toilet + shower. Kitchen is dirty and there is not much ecuipments.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kornelia radomska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 kornelia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Pacesova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: was value for money

Disliked: location was a bit far from old town

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Luis Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels