HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 42%

Location 62%

Safety 58%

Staff 50%

Value 52%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 109.32USD
  • Breakfast 2.43USD
  • Linen 2.92USD
  • Towel 0.61USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 42%

Location 62%

Safety 58%

Staff 50%

Value 52%

Showing 81-81 of 81 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: For a low price bed not far from the centre in an expensive city this is a very good option. That's all i needed and it worked very well. Not too noisy either.

Disliked: Look, for 8Euro50 I don't expect great security or frills -neither should you. In summer heat in the rooms might be an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: they charge more money later

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only the localization

Disliked: We paid more than we booked because we had to pay the extras costs, but if it`s a extra cost, we only pay if we want the service.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: 1. The room does not have a locker!!!!2. The guy at receiption is very rude!!!! When I doubted his service, he said if you like you can stay, if not, you can just go!!!

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Ho fatto la prenotazione su hostelbookers, mi scalano il deposito.... quando arrivo li mi dicono che la mia carta e' stata rifiutata (come fanno a scalarmi i soldi e rifiutarmi la carta, una normale postepay?) e che la mia prenotazione non c'e' piu... mi offrono una letto in stanza da 10 a 50 euro e lo prendo se no non so dove dormire, morale della favole ho speso quasi 60 euro per dormire una notte in una stanza da 10, in un ostello dove cmq non ci sono ne servizi ne niente. ma gli ostelli non dovevano essere a basso prezzo? come si fa a pagare 50 euro per dormire quasi con in un dormitorio?

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms.

Disliked: It was good...no comments

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was really cheap and the guy in the reception was really nice.

Disliked: I disliked the bathrooms, they were not enought for so many people and they were not clean as well. I thought that it was everything a little cold too, I do not know if the heater was working well.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that the sheets were clean and the blanket was warm enough. There was warm water 24/7.If you don't mind walking long distances and feeling a bit unsecure with your stuff or person, this is the adventure for you!

Disliked: It is further than you would expect from any buss stop or metro line. The distances described are too optimistic. The sign outside was just a A4-paper taped to the side of the building. There were people going through the room I was staying in to go to their own room. ****** They aded 'city tax' to the price even though my reservation and confirmation said that the amount due at the destination was about 40eur. When I got to the hostel, thay said I have to pay the city tax and for the linen so the end amount was over 80eur!!! ****** AND if you check out early, they do not give any refund on your money. "it is too late since you have already paid to give anything back" !!!!!!!The free Wi-Fi didn't work anywhere else than the common room on the top floor and the cosy breakfast they say they have in their introduction, I never saw it. And the cosy common room is not that cosy. The free kitchen they have in the top floor, connected to the common room is in poor condition and there is not enough room for everyone to keep their food items if they decide to buy more than for one day. The kitchenware to cook with is very poor too.The staff is not that friendly. I saw exactly 2 guys during my stay alternating at the desk, and when the guy went for a smoke on the common room, there was no one at the desk so that's it about the 24hr security with the camera they have at the door. The beds are not sturdy and they make sounds everytime you move. The lockers you can put your stuff behind a lock, is made from plastic.I think I forgot something, but you got the picture...And I wouldn't have minded all these things if the price would have been the promised 40eur (for 10 nights) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was polite and helpfull staff and nice and clean rooms. Internett in the common aera (not always very good internet). Kitchen. The other people living there where also very nice.

Disliked: smoking in the common aera, could have cleaned the bathroom more often. Noise at nigth, could have been better internet connection.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly, accomodating staff, generally clean, well kempt

Disliked: difficult to find

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability