HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 44%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 42%

Location 57%

Safety 54%

Staff 44%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 100.93USD
  • Breakfast 2.24USD
  • Linen 2.69USD
  • Towel 0.56USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 44%

Cleanliness 48%

Facilities 42%

Location 57%

Safety 54%

Staff 44%

Value 54%

Showing 81-75 of 75 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a big kitchen.

Disliked: The staff was not unfriendly, but no quite competent and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Terrace next to the room.

Disliked: No social room, no chairs.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Yea, that would be nothing!

Disliked: We said there were bed bugs and they asked what we wanted them to do about it. Basically they didn't care to do anything!! Told one girl she could leave if she didn't want to stay, but not get her money back....what?!!? Staff was extremely rude and unhelpful

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I did not like a single thing about this property.

Disliked: For those who don't have time to read all of my review, let me start off by just saying: Don't stay at this place! My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights, in the 8 people room reached by a narrow staircase. I had previously stayed here with no problems, so I chose the hostel again, confident that despite the low cost, we wouldn't have any problems. I couldn't be more wrong. The main reason that made our stay a very unfavorable one were the bedbugs. In previous reviews, this issue was not often pointed at, had I read it before, I obviously wouldn't have booked this property. On our first night, we were constantly awakened by the bugs walking on our skins, I killed around 30 that night. The next day, my friend started itching and little red patches emerged on my her legs, arms, face and back. These patches became swollen and bigger in the next couple of days. We wanted to change our room for the second night but they said that it wasn't possible, so we had to bear yet another sleepless night with bugs crawling on our bodies. Next day, it was getting worse. I wish I could put some photos here, just imagine 60% of your visible body being red and swollen. This made a huge impact on our 3 week vacation in Italy, that's the reason I am writing so much on this subject. She was unhappy most of the time, she spent over 50 € on medicine and healing balms, she couldn't walk comfortably because of all the eyes on her smears, and even though it's been over a month since our stay there, the blotches on her body are still there and according to the doctors, won't be gone for the next six months. Sorry to have taken the time of whoever's reading this, but I had to inform anyone so they wouldn't make the same mistake we did. Again, do not stay at this hostel. Thank you for your patience.Also, they charge you around 5 euros more than displayed here on the site per person per night, labeling it as linen and sheets cost and city tax. But this won't be a problem, now that you decided not to choose this bug infested place.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: * location is close to the Central station. It is not really in the center, but we needed to catch early bus to the airport* safety, no need to lock the door

Disliked: it is not really clean, but for one night it is ok.It is more student dormitory hostel, but for that money,what we paid, it is ok

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: the ceiling above the bathtub was too low, so I had to shower on my knees

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hotel was not worth of money even if it was cheap!

Disliked: Staff was rude and took extra money to own pocket. City tax should have been couple of euros and it was 12 euros!! Toilets and showers are awful. In 12 persons dorm they only have one toilet + shower. Kitchen is dirty and there is not much ecuipments.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Mattress too soft and uncomfortable to sleep, hot room in summer.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: They charge you extra costs for blankets, bed stuff and other things. They hide that on the home page and once you pay for it, it appears which is unfair.

Check Availability