We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

52.6% Overall Rating

421 out of 749 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 97.21
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Linen USD 2.59
  • Towel USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
24.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
16.20 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 294 reviews
Hotel Ambra
10.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
15.12 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
39.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
34.56 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.6%

Overall Rating

421 out of 749 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
55.2%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 408 of 689 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: quite far from the center and metro station, very small space between beds, noisy neibours, no tv or computer for usage and other quite awful conditions ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the beautiful room and bathroom connected to the room. The kitchen was also fine.

Disliked: I actually didn't dislike anything. Everything was fine.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011

Liked: ...

Disliked: The staff were rude, the cancellation policy was ridiculous as we cancelled 48 hours before the night we couldn't stay but they insisted it must be 48 hours before arrival. They tried to charge us for linen on the day we weren't staying there. After they had given us the compulsory linen, we realised there wasn't even a sheet! it was just a blanket. Guests and staff were smoking indoors which stunk out the whole place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Richard Bystrický

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2011

Liked: There were good people in our room and the staff guy was pretty helpful

Disliked: bad location, it's hard to find from the street, the price was higher than we had in reservation form

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Syakir Zailani

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011

Liked: It was affordable, and near to some good places to eat.

Disliked: It was far from the town center, and requires a lot of walking.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Maria Gotzner

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2011

Liked: - Bathroom connected to room.

Disliked: - At arrival I had to pay an extra charge for the lien. Would be nice to know sth. like that in advanced for better/ fair comparision. - And you only get one lien so that you can put it under you or above. At least one part of your body has to deal with the "dirt" of former guests.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011

Liked: The sheets were clean

Disliked: Bad location. They were repairing and dust was everywhere. Crowded. The smke was bad in the kitchen so I had to stand near an open windoe.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean for the price

Disliked: far from the underground

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for and cheap.

Disliked: Reconstruction is still ongoing, and this causes some inconvienience. Didn't like that kitchen closes at 23.00.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi free with good speed.

Disliked: Staff forget to smile to guest... Nothing kindness.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011

Liked: Had a kitchen

Disliked: The staff were pretty useless and not very accomodating or organised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elena Anishchenko

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: i like a lot of this hostel)

Disliked: bed was not so cosy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Danielle Steinman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011

Liked: It's the cheapest I could find in Milan, and considering the price it wasn't awful. It was pretty bad though. The staff was moderately helpful, and the shower had good water pressure and there was free wifi. All around it was a pretty average experience.

Disliked: It was in an incredibly inconvenient location. It was hot and loud. I stayed in a room with 10 beds and there was one outlet and one toilet for all of us.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are internet and kitchen.

Disliked: no boxes for private things

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Torbjörn Lindahl

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Torbjörn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: There was always water around and about the toilet.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff, location and the lie they told us. they did not give us what we had reserved.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shynar Dyussenbenova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Shynar would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying in this very hostel. I will reccommend this place for those who r easy going and not so picky:). Don't demand too much... for such prices. After all its not a 3 or 5 star hotel. Its a hostel that is reccommended itself as the good one in terms of atmosphere, prices and helpful staff.

Disliked: They need to change utensils:)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tobias Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 September 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly,

Disliked: hostesllet would need to be renovated

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its open 24 hours, the bed was pretty nice, youve got free WiFi...its a good hostel, but of course, ive been to better places

Disliked: The fridge is horrible - its full and smells terrible, they made me pay for 2 beds, althouhg Im sure I made only one reservation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anton Lyubomirov

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff, kitchen, location and price)

Disliked: Toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dragana Antic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Dragana would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: some guests didn't follow the rules

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: bho.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Kohut

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: We have to wait for roam one hour although it was after check in hours

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everybody was smoking even in the kitchen, and I didnt like it. There is no a big common room to speak to other people, and I was in one room where I heard the bell all the time during all the night, i wouldnt recommend it.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: see number 2


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels