HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

56.0% Overall Rating

410 out of 723 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

Daniela Albuquerque thinks…

"Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.21
  • Linen USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
27.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 257 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.65 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.2% 285 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.81 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.7% 180 reviews
Hotel Galla
23.48 USD

Hostel 68.8% 108 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
45.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
26.25 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.34 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 65.0% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.0%

Overall Rating

410 out of 723 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
58.4%
Value
54.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 667 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

26 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff, location and the lie they told us. they did not give us what we had reserved.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shynar Dyussenbenova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Shynar would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying in this very hostel. I will reccommend this place for those who r easy going and not so picky:). Don't demand too much... for such prices. After all its not a 3 or 5 star hotel. Its a hostel that is reccommended itself as the good one in terms of atmosphere, prices and helpful staff.

Disliked: They need to change utensils:)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tobias Andersson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 September 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very friendly,

Disliked: hostesllet would need to be renovated

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its open 24 hours, the bed was pretty nice, youve got free WiFi...its a good hostel, but of course, ive been to better places

Disliked: The fridge is horrible - its full and smells terrible, they made me pay for 2 beds, althouhg Im sure I made only one reservation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anton Lyubomirov

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff, kitchen, location and price)

Disliked: Toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dragana Antic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Dragana would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: some guests didn't follow the rules

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyone is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: bho.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Kohut

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: We have to wait for roam one hour although it was after check in hours

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everybody was smoking even in the kitchen, and I didnt like it. There is no a big common room to speak to other people, and I was in one room where I heard the bell all the time during all the night, i wouldnt recommend it.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: see number 2

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tiago Almeida

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2011 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are clean ,it's easy to find this place

Disliked: it was very hot in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

claire cretel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 claire would recommend this property

Liked: automatic door, good security, large kitchen, friendly staff

Disliked: far from the center of Milan, but for the price is normal

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

FARAZ FARHANG

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: The Free WiFi internet availability.

Disliked: No AIR CONDITION! in the humid hot weather of Milan, no air condition, just a very small fan on the ceiling. and beds were some how lose and shaky specially on the top.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really loved our stay here. There are great kitchen facilities with a communal lounge which is great for meeting other travellers. The dorms were spacious and clean, as were the bathrooms. The staff were helpful and the metro is close.

Disliked: We didn't have keys to the dorm so it probably wasn't the most secure of places but we felt safe staying there anyway. There's always a member of staff about so as long as you keep your valuables with you, everything will be safe.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011

Liked: Place to sleep for the night, location was alright especially as I was using the metro

Disliked: Luggage left in the hostel didn't feel very safe, no locks on the dorm doors. Was charged for the room as well as the deposit I already paid

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap to stay and doesn't locate in a noisy neigbourhood, so you can rest well. Also rooms were confotable.

Disliked: It is hard to find the hostel with its tiny label. Also the bathrooms were vey dirty and there weren't any soap neither in the toilets nor in the bathrooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aharon Cohen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Aharon would recommend this property

Liked: great chance to meet people from all over the world!

Disliked: nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011

Liked: smelly,cheated me 2 euros for linen, others packpackers didn't pay, why they charged me?

Disliked: everything

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: Easy to meet people in the large kitchen upstair. Good location. Rooms were quite clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Very unprofessional - on the last night a few girls we had met who'd been staying there a few nights had come back to their room to find other people in their beds. Hostel had been overbooked so they had to move to another hostel even though they had paid to stay and hadn't been told till the evening they had to leave. Went trying to talk to one of the staff members about this he wasn't listenning and was drawing pictures instead! Also no ensuite in the room even though we had booked one. 2 bathrooms to share between 4 dorms. Also no toliet seat. Kitchen wasn't very clean either. Not very secure - not given keys to the dorm doors and sometimes door from the street was open and no-one on reception so anyone could have walked into the rooms from the street. Says in description there is a free luggage room even though there wasn't, but could leave bags in front of reception desk. Had to share a double bed too when hadn't booked this. Also directions to hostel weren't great - much easier to reach by metro! Basically would not reccommend!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011

Liked: location was ok

Disliked: no hot shower 1st day, forced to pay for linens, sketchy people who run the place (lying to others on the hostel deficients in front of guest who knew it), very very run down place. dark,scary, no toilet seats, spiders everywhere in the hallway, stuffy rooms (1.75 inch between beds that are lined next to each other, military style. no bunks), mosquitoes, NO electrical plugs in my room at all pretty much, this is a shit hole of a place, the worst I've been in my previous 6 weeks of travel. However, it only cost 11 euros per night so I cant complain. The wi-fi works well and there's a kitchen area. However, it is a pretty scary place. your pick

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK location, nice kitchen upstairs. Carrefour supermarket nearby (ish).

Disliked: Worst bed I've ever slept in, and i've slept in hundreds of hostels. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable Kitchen and Clean

Disliked: i always got myself lost on my way back but that wasnt the hostels fault but my bad sense of direction.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: affordable

Disliked: hidden, hard to find, can't leave valuables in the room no key to door no lockers can't eat or drink in the room very hot

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. They suggested things to do and handed out maps on arrival, and could answer any questions they were asked. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The location isn't too bad but it's not that close to any metro stations. The bathrooms weren't sparkling clean.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: Mmmm...

Disliked: Horrible place, it's not near anything


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels