HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 42%

Location 55%

Safety 52%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 96.04USD
  • Breakfast 2.13USD
  • Linen 2.56USD
  • Towel 0.53USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 42%

Location 55%

Safety 52%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

Showing 71-75 of 75 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place.

Disliked: Only 2 bathroon for all guests..

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the personal at the reception, the quiet location

Disliked: no plug socket near the beds

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The room was nice and warm. Got a kitchen and a fridge for those who want to cook. Thas the possitives :)

Disliked: The room was not clean and its almost imposible to have a shower. The guy working there at the night i arrived is supper rude

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel is for the ones that gonna spend just 1 night there. That was my case, so it fitted ok. You get what you paid. I liked that has a girls room with private bathroom. There is a supermarket near the hostel and the subway station isn't so far.

Disliked: Well, like I said you get what you paid, the beds are not so confortable (but they're clean); it's not close to main attractions, so you're gonna have to use the public transport; the lockers are small (I couldn't put my backpack inside), the wi-fi isn't good and, the most important, there isn't a key for the room.. the room stays open 24h (quite unsafe).

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: There is a big great room upstairs with a fridge and tiny kitchen? and a lot of tables - to spend free time/ Wifi is included. In my room there were women only, so I really was not nervouos at all.

Disliked: Too many peaple in the room is of course difficult. But that's what I've chosen , so I'm not complaining :)

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only a place for sleeping.

Disliked: Location and traffic are not good. Environment and facility is not good, no living room, no wifi, even noplace to sit. Only sleeping. They even charge me more than it indicated on the website.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: nothing

Disliked: When i arrived i was asked to pay for 2,40e for each night i was going to spend there for the sheets and a map. I understand to pay it once but not for each day.Then they were reforming the hostel so everywhere there was dust and people in reception didn`t care about nothing. In the kitchen there were just 3 plates to eat and of course there were more than 3 people in the hostel, the pots were dirty, and there were no lighters. The wifi doesn`t work in the rooms and it badly works in the common areas. I was bitten by fleas or bugs, i don`t know, and when i ask in the reception to change the bed he said me that the hostel was full,so it was imposible to change; and when i asked him for something for the bites he just said me : " this is not a pharmacy". Know i still having horrible marks and taking pils because of this.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The linen was clean and the beds were confortable. You had a little garden in one of the rooms. You can smoke in upstairs...

Disliked: The unproffesional and unfriendly staff. The bad atmosphere and the missing pans and plates in the kitchen...

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is pretty standard and a decent place to stay if you're not expecting too much. It has a little kitchen upstairs that you can use and tv/comfy chairs so you can chill, which was a bonus. But watch out for the sketchy fridge which hasn't been cleaned out in about a billion years. It's also about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro, which is quite handy.

Disliked: When we first got there, the guy told us we only had 2 nights booked despite the fact I booked 4 nights about 5 months in advance (in the end we got that part sorted). As well, we ended up paying about DOUBLE of what we were expecting, due to the hidden price of city tax (2 euros per person per night) AND 'bed linens' which was 2.40 per person PER NIGHT, despite the fact the sheets didn't get changed or cleaned at all during our stay. The guy tried to tell us this was standard in Milan, but I don't think so because I haven't had to pay for bed linens in a hostel, EVER. We also heard that people paid different prices for the same bed in the same room. The beds were basically a plank that if you turned over too quickly on the top bunk you would definitely fall out :(

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Was quite far away from the centre.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability