HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan

Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 48%

Location 64%

Safety 64%

Staff 58%

Value 56%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 106.42USD
  • Breakfast 2.36USD
  • Linen 2.84USD
  • Towel 0.59USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 48%

Location 64%

Safety 64%

Staff 58%

Value 56%

Showing 71-80 of 93 reviews

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: They charge you extra costs for blankets, bed stuff and other things. They hide that on the home page and once you pay for it, it appears which is unfair.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not much besides it being cheap

Disliked: It was very unsanitary with bugs in the bathroom.very far from the center and hidden charges.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was value for money

Disliked: location was a bit far from old town

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: cheap

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It had a common room where you can chill out and meet people

Disliked: everything except the common room. even the common room closes at 11. they charge extra for bed linen per night. ive never stayed at a hostel that charged linen per night, and if they did, they would change it everyday, in which this hostel didnt. they charged people differently, from where they booked, some people paid as high as 13 euros per night and in comparison i paid 7,50 per night. there were no keys to your room, and the rooms are not good, one room you have to go through another room and go up a winding stairs so people who checked in late turned the lights on to go through the room.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: For a low price bed not far from the centre in an expensive city this is a very good option. That's all i needed and it worked very well. Not too noisy either.

Disliked: Look, for 8Euro50 I don't expect great security or frills -neither should you. In summer heat in the rooms might be an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: they charge more money later

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only the localization

Disliked: We paid more than we booked because we had to pay the extras costs, but if it`s a extra cost, we only pay if we want the service.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: 1. The room does not have a locker!!!!2. The guy at receiption is very rude!!!! When I doubted his service, he said if you like you can stay, if not, you can just go!!!

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Ho fatto la prenotazione su hostelbookers, mi scalano il deposito.... quando arrivo li mi dicono che la mia carta e' stata rifiutata (come fanno a scalarmi i soldi e rifiutarmi la carta, una normale postepay?) e che la mia prenotazione non c'e' piu... mi offrono una letto in stanza da 10 a 50 euro e lo prendo se no non so dove dormire, morale della favole ho speso quasi 60 euro per dormire una notte in una stanza da 10, in un ostello dove cmq non ci sono ne servizi ne niente. ma gli ostelli non dovevano essere a basso prezzo? come si fa a pagare 50 euro per dormire quasi con in un dormitorio?

Check Availability