HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

61.3% Overall Rating

418 out of 739 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Vandini Pathak thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 113.85
  • Breakfast USD 2.53
  • Linen USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
29.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Ambra
15.18 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
21.51 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.3%

Overall Rating

418 out of 739 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
62.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 402 of 680 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: Just cheap

Disliked: The only one staff who was bald and so bad attitude for us. I've never seen such as unfriendly staff. You might get angry at the staff. It is very difficult to find this hostel out. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL STRONGLY !!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011

Liked: A kitchen available to use in common room although unfriendly atmosphere at times.

Disliked: Beds very close together, no lockers or locks on doors. Some staff are friendly, but there are extremely unfriendly people staying there for free who seem to help out making the beds which made me very nervous about leaving any valuables in the room in which they sleep aswell. The common room closes at 11 but seems to stay open too staff (and 'helpers'?) Till the early hours of the morning making lots of noise. Also as some staff stay in the dorms they have no respect for the people already asleep, when they do eventually go to bed, turning the lights on and talking / arguing very loudly. Most of the people who stay at the hostel are from Italy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time while we were staying there!!! Good job guys!!!keep going!! :) :) :) The room was clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: I like everything!!! ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011

Liked: fairly cheap if booked ahead of time

Disliked: kinda far from train station, people not staying there can not get in but no lockers for stuff, hidden linens fee

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Oleksandr Kretov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandru Pitea

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2011 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: Close to public transport and cheep.

Disliked: Interior overall finishing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: that all rooms had bathrooms.it was hot though the humidity.the common room was very nice painted .

Disliked: no obvious sign outside the street to find it.we were going around for hour.too much noise.far from metro.needs colour in the walls.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: the common room!!like a small sale!multicultural tables!!!

Disliked: no keys,anybody coming i n and getting out.far from metro or bus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, 24 hour reception, safe

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms with one shower each on one floor, cold rooms, no key for room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time staying at hostel California.The staff were very friendly & helpfull. I liked staying with the other quests in the common areas & met kind people from everywhere.You can also smoke in the kitchen and common area.It was easy to get from the hostel to every place I liked to see :-))))

Disliked: Euhhhhh, think,think..... No nothing comes up in my head Ciao

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not that far from a Metro Station. It was also close to some restaurants and pubs. It wasn't a beautiful place, but for the price we paid, I think it was more than fair.

Disliked: It's an old house and it is not as well signaled.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aniko Diosi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Aniko would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and flexible staff with a great sense of humour and hospitality. The hostel was clean, comfortable and safe. The beds are surprisingly comfortable! The completely equipped common kitchen area let us meet other people and enjoy our stay even more, plus we could prepare warm meals. The common bathroom sounds a bit weird at first, but there are 2 of them and you can lock the door, so you will have complete privacy, don't worry! Furthermore, the bathroom is very clean compared to other hostels. All in all I can only recomend Hostel California, especially if you are a joyful chilled young spirit searching for cheap solutions without sacrifising comfort, tidiness and safety.

Disliked: The location of the hostel is a bit far from the very centre of Milan, but in fact it is very close to a cheap supermarket and numerous public transport stops. If you purchase a 24h public transport ticket (4.5€ only) to see Milan, there is no problem to reach anything, and you can overcome the location of the hostel as well. And it is not very far from the railwaystation on foot either, a pleasant walk.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amirtaha Taebi

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Amirtaha would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: They added some euros to the final price for linen and etc!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea russo

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, place was clean and well organised. I'm particularly greatful to the member of staff who let me have a bed ridiculously early so I could recover from my all night train. The kitchen up in the attic is a lovely place to hang out.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: bathroom

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cassandra Sheley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The cleanliness, the location was dirty and dangerous, it was far from everything, it was noisy, too many people, uncomfortable, etc.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martinengo Francesco

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Every thinghs

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011

Liked: Price is cheap

Disliked: My room located at the attic, lighting is very minimum with steep chair. Hospitality also not good, when I check in for the first time, hostel keeper said my bed not ready yet, He advise me to go somewhere else and back later.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ketan Balsaraf

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011

Liked: NOTHING !!!!! absolutely NOTHING !!!!

Disliked: I hated this place. I've stayed in dozens of hotels and I've never been in one that was WORSE !!! We reached there in the afternoon and they said you cant check in later as the rooms were not ready. So we went sightseeing and came back at night. When we reached, they told us shamelessly that they don't have a room for us. When we said that this was unfair, they said "You can take your deposit back and find another hostel".(This was late in the night !!!!). Then they finally gave us a room in another hostel which was atleast 15-20 minutes walking from their place and we had to drag our luggage all the way up there late in the night. The staff were rude, the location is in some dingy corner( it took us 15 minutes to find their place when we were on their street, there's no signs or no proper address). I HATED this place and wouldn't recommend it for anybody. They promise the cheapest price but make you pay dozens of extra charges when you reach there. Please DONT go there !!! There are hundreds of better alternatives.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: quite far from the center and metro station, very small space between beds, noisy neibours, no tv or computer for usage and other quite awful conditions ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the beautiful room and bathroom connected to the room. The kitchen was also fine.

Disliked: I actually didn't dislike anything. Everything was fine.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011

Liked: ...

Disliked: The staff were rude, the cancellation policy was ridiculous as we cancelled 48 hours before the night we couldn't stay but they insisted it must be 48 hours before arrival. They tried to charge us for linen on the day we weren't staying there. After they had given us the compulsory linen, we realised there wasn't even a sheet! it was just a blanket. Guests and staff were smoking indoors which stunk out the whole place.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Richard Bystrický

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2011

Liked: There were good people in our room and the staff guy was pretty helpful

Disliked: bad location, it's hard to find from the street, the price was higher than we had in reservation form

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Syakir Zailani

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011

Liked: It was affordable, and near to some good places to eat.

Disliked: It was far from the town center, and requires a lot of walking.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Maria Gotzner

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2011

Liked: - Bathroom connected to room.

Disliked: - At arrival I had to pay an extra charge for the lien. Would be nice to know sth. like that in advanced for better/ fair comparision. - And you only get one lien so that you can put it under you or above. At least one part of your body has to deal with the "dirt" of former guests.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels