We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

47.4% Overall Rating

423 out of 759 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 99.06
  • Breakfast USD 2.20
  • Linen USD 2.64
  • Towel USD 0.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
44.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.71 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.5% 295 reviews
Hotel Ambra
12.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
17.61 USD

Hostel 65.7% 110 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
52.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.76 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
77.05 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.4%

Overall Rating

423 out of 759 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
50.4%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
48.8%
Value
48.8%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 699 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, value for money, and safety stuff, i would recommend it to my friends if they want to stay 2-3 days.

Disliked: i didnt like cleanliness, for me the bathroom suppose to be cleaned twice a day, and the sleeping sheets should have to be change more often.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012

Liked: to meet different people all over the world!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very affordable. Nice common area. Close to train station.

Disliked: The first night the bathroom was not clean at all, but after that it was quite clean. It would be nice to have walking directions (rather than just bus directions) easily available, as it is only a 25 minute walk from central station.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleanness is very bad

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleaness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price

Disliked: far from centre

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

niraj patadiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 niraj would recommend this property

Liked: A good kitchen with all the required stuff.

Disliked: Too many beds for the size of the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Everything but the price. But I was aware of that - no miracles for 5Euro..

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Minh Tu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011

Liked: Shower was hot at least

Disliked: This hostel has BED BUGS! 1st of all traveling for 5 years and staying many hostels this is my 1st encounter with bed bugs. Thanks a lot! 16 bed dorm are single beds squished together there are 8 then another 8 upstairs so you can hear the people at night going up the loud stairs. You will get NO sleep in that room. So people probably put their bags on the beds and they don't wash the wool blankets that is why they have bed bugs!!! I have bite marks on legs and neck! They do a BAIT AND SWITCH here! When I booked I actually read that there was a 2 euro charge for sheets/linens but when I arrived the guy changed it to 5 euros. He was like look at the website, I said he had changed it. At 9pm there was nothing I could do except pay it. Other people in the dorm was charged 2 euros. This hostel should be banned from Hostelbookers! Worst hostel ever read all the reviews! I have traveled for 5 years and this was the worst experience!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, & the kitchen was very nice.

Disliked: The bathtub was extremely uncomfortable, because it was in the corner of the attic, so you couldn't even stand straight. We could hear the bell ringing every time someone arrived, which while sleeping is annoying (the hostel is open 24/7)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: Just cheap

Disliked: The only one staff who was bald and so bad attitude for us. I've never seen such as unfriendly staff. You might get angry at the staff. It is very difficult to find this hostel out. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL STRONGLY !!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011

Liked: A kitchen available to use in common room although unfriendly atmosphere at times.

Disliked: Beds very close together, no lockers or locks on doors. Some staff are friendly, but there are extremely unfriendly people staying there for free who seem to help out making the beds which made me very nervous about leaving any valuables in the room in which they sleep aswell. The common room closes at 11 but seems to stay open too staff (and 'helpers'?) Till the early hours of the morning making lots of noise. Also as some staff stay in the dorms they have no respect for the people already asleep, when they do eventually go to bed, turning the lights on and talking / arguing very loudly. Most of the people who stay at the hostel are from Italy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time while we were staying there!!! Good job guys!!!keep going!! :) :) :) The room was clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: I like everything!!! ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011

Liked: fairly cheap if booked ahead of time

Disliked: kinda far from train station, people not staying there can not get in but no lockers for stuff, hidden linens fee

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Oleksandr Kretov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandru Pitea

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2011 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: Close to public transport and cheep.

Disliked: Interior overall finishing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: that all rooms had bathrooms.it was hot though the humidity.the common room was very nice painted .

Disliked: no obvious sign outside the street to find it.we were going around for hour.too much noise.far from metro.needs colour in the walls.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: the common room!!like a small sale!multicultural tables!!!

Disliked: no keys,anybody coming i n and getting out.far from metro or bus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, 24 hour reception, safe

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms with one shower each on one floor, cold rooms, no key for room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time staying at hostel California.The staff were very friendly & helpfull. I liked staying with the other quests in the common areas & met kind people from everywhere.You can also smoke in the kitchen and common area.It was easy to get from the hostel to every place I liked to see :-))))

Disliked: Euhhhhh, think,think..... No nothing comes up in my head Ciao

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not that far from a Metro Station. It was also close to some restaurants and pubs. It wasn't a beautiful place, but for the price we paid, I think it was more than fair.

Disliked: It's an old house and it is not as well signaled.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aniko Diosi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Aniko would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and flexible staff with a great sense of humour and hospitality. The hostel was clean, comfortable and safe. The beds are surprisingly comfortable! The completely equipped common kitchen area let us meet other people and enjoy our stay even more, plus we could prepare warm meals. The common bathroom sounds a bit weird at first, but there are 2 of them and you can lock the door, so you will have complete privacy, don't worry! Furthermore, the bathroom is very clean compared to other hostels. All in all I can only recomend Hostel California, especially if you are a joyful chilled young spirit searching for cheap solutions without sacrifising comfort, tidiness and safety.

Disliked: The location of the hostel is a bit far from the very centre of Milan, but in fact it is very close to a cheap supermarket and numerous public transport stops. If you purchase a 24h public transport ticket (4.5€ only) to see Milan, there is no problem to reach anything, and you can overcome the location of the hostel as well. And it is not very far from the railwaystation on foot either, a pleasant walk.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amirtaha Taebi

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Amirtaha would recommend this property

Liked: The low price

Disliked: They added some euros to the final price for linen and etc!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea russo

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, place was clean and well organised. I'm particularly greatful to the member of staff who let me have a bed ridiculously early so I could recover from my all night train. The kitchen up in the attic is a lovely place to hang out.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: bathroom


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels