HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

60.7% Overall Rating

413 out of 730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

christopher redmond thinks…

"particularly the people who worked there and the other guests. all very relaxed, friendly and interesting."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Linen USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 0.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
28.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
20.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 262 reviews
Hotel Alba
20.29 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.2% 292 reviews
Hotel Ambra
1.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.4% 184 reviews
Hotel Galla
24.35 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
44.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
25.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
24.35 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 59.9% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.7%

Overall Rating

413 out of 730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
64.0%
Value
62.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 398 of 672 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 January 2012

Liked: not far away from the city centre

Disliked: dirty, unfriendly staff, dangerous neighbourhood

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012

Liked: Finally nothing was stolen and I didn't become ill - even if anybody could enter our room and we slept with homeless people DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSTEL, ITS BETTER THE SLEEP IN THE METRO

Disliked: Guys, I'm not naiv and I travel a lot so I know that fo so much money one can not except a lot. I said, "OK. It will be dirty, but cheap." In the reality: 1. It's NOT CHEAP, because everybody have to pay extra for the bed sheets, even if you bring sleep bags!! (5 EUR/person/night) 2. It's NOT ONLY DIRTY, it's messy the receptionist are very unfriendy, we ere afraid of them! They knew we don't have the choice to go somewhere else and they didn't really cared about our problem! We slept with hompless people who are staying there for more than 6 months. We couldn't stand the smell, its unbareable! That's why the window was open all the time (yes, it was freezy in the winter). I have been to a lots of hostels in my life, and I always try to get the cheapest hostel for the minimum service, but THIS DOESNT APPROACH the minimum service level. Please guys, DO NOT SUPPORT a business like this (they don't really work for returning guest they just want to collect the money for first travellers), DONT GO THERE: There are many other hostels in MILAN, they are even cheaper than California, because they don't make you pay the (minimum) 5 EUR extra fee/person/night! I was with my friends could stand it! D O N T G O T H E R E

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dee Stam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2012

Liked: it was less than twenty min walk to metro, shopping area etc. It was in a nice quite location

Disliked: We had to pay more per night for our bed linen/sheets than our actual room,we had to cut through someone else's room to get to ours, for the shower we had to crouch like a monkey to wash ourselves, the spiral stairs heading up to our room were nice and dangerous, no key for room or lockers in our room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Uncomfortable atmosphere and dirty linen (which I expected to be clean having paid 5 euros a night).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mazdak Hashempour Igderi

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2012 Mazdak would recommend this property

Liked: The free kitchen lets you cook your meal fre of charge. the cost is in general low. the free internet access in public area is worthy.

Disliked: the linen cost of 5 euros will be added automatically to your general room charge which is not mentioned in the booking websites.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kaiyu Shao

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Kaiyu would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the kitchen.

Disliked: the heater in our room is either broken or turn down by the hostel! it's really cold in the room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, but keep in mind, SHEETS COST 5 EURO. So it isn't as cheap as we thought.

Disliked: The location is HORRIBLE... if you want to go out in Milan (sightseeing, nightlife, anything!) I would recommend shelling out a little extra dough to stay somewhere more central. Staying here you will have to take the metro or a cab anyway, unless you know someone with a car, and those cost money. And the closest metro isn't very close either. Neighborhood did not seem safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Kennedy

Alone

Events / festivals

17 January 2012 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: It was centally located.

Disliked: It did not provide breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amie Tolson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012

Liked: 24 hour reception

Disliked: Where to start. I was only there for one night and that was enough. The toilet/shower was filthy, there was a huge damp/mould patch on the dorm wall. The linen was terrible for 5 Euros a night, and the bed just a fold out camp bed. There's no common area and the only security is getting into the building, none at all within the hostel, and if you wait around outside for long enough you'll get into the building when someone leaves. It seemed cheap at 3 Euros for the night, but when you add in the 5 euros for linen it gets expensive and really isn't worth it.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rodrigo Sorghi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012

Liked: DO NOT STAY THERE, please read all people review it is dirty, I could not have a shower... and this is not all, I have been charged 5 euros for the sheets..late at night no option, gotta be a big joke and for finish because i did not stay long, my room was full of beggar.... Please pay a bit more and stay at Alba hostel very nice and close by

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joel Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: People, Staff, atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, value for money, and safety stuff, i would recommend it to my friends if they want to stay 2-3 days.

Disliked: i didnt like cleanliness, for me the bathroom suppose to be cleaned twice a day, and the sleeping sheets should have to be change more often.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012

Liked: to meet different people all over the world!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very affordable. Nice common area. Close to train station.

Disliked: The first night the bathroom was not clean at all, but after that it was quite clean. It would be nice to have walking directions (rather than just bus directions) easily available, as it is only a 25 minute walk from central station.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleanness is very bad

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleaness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price

Disliked: far from centre

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

niraj patadiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 niraj would recommend this property

Liked: A good kitchen with all the required stuff.

Disliked: Too many beds for the size of the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Everything but the price. But I was aware of that - no miracles for 5Euro..

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Minh Tu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011

Liked: Shower was hot at least

Disliked: This hostel has BED BUGS! 1st of all traveling for 5 years and staying many hostels this is my 1st encounter with bed bugs. Thanks a lot! 16 bed dorm are single beds squished together there are 8 then another 8 upstairs so you can hear the people at night going up the loud stairs. You will get NO sleep in that room. So people probably put their bags on the beds and they don't wash the wool blankets that is why they have bed bugs!!! I have bite marks on legs and neck! They do a BAIT AND SWITCH here! When I booked I actually read that there was a 2 euro charge for sheets/linens but when I arrived the guy changed it to 5 euros. He was like look at the website, I said he had changed it. At 9pm there was nothing I could do except pay it. Other people in the dorm was charged 2 euros. This hostel should be banned from Hostelbookers! Worst hostel ever read all the reviews! I have traveled for 5 years and this was the worst experience!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, & the kitchen was very nice.

Disliked: The bathtub was extremely uncomfortable, because it was in the corner of the attic, so you couldn't even stand straight. We could hear the bell ringing every time someone arrived, which while sleeping is annoying (the hostel is open 24/7)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: Just cheap

Disliked: The only one staff who was bald and so bad attitude for us. I've never seen such as unfriendly staff. You might get angry at the staff. It is very difficult to find this hostel out. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL STRONGLY !!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011

Liked: A kitchen available to use in common room although unfriendly atmosphere at times.

Disliked: Beds very close together, no lockers or locks on doors. Some staff are friendly, but there are extremely unfriendly people staying there for free who seem to help out making the beds which made me very nervous about leaving any valuables in the room in which they sleep aswell. The common room closes at 11 but seems to stay open too staff (and 'helpers'?) Till the early hours of the morning making lots of noise. Also as some staff stay in the dorms they have no respect for the people already asleep, when they do eventually go to bed, turning the lights on and talking / arguing very loudly. Most of the people who stay at the hostel are from Italy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time while we were staying there!!! Good job guys!!!keep going!! :) :) :) The room was clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: I like everything!!! ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011

Liked: fairly cheap if booked ahead of time

Disliked: kinda far from train station, people not staying there can not get in but no lockers for stuff, hidden linens fee


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels