HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

56.0% Overall Rating

410 out of 723 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

Daniela Albuquerque thinks…

"Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.21
  • Linen USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
17.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 257 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.67 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.2% 285 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.7% 180 reviews
Hotel Galla
23.52 USD

Hostel 68.8% 108 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
45.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
26.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.37 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 65.0% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.0%

Overall Rating

410 out of 723 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
58.4%
Value
54.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 667 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kaiyu Shao

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Kaiyu would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the kitchen.

Disliked: the heater in our room is either broken or turn down by the hostel! it's really cold in the room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, but keep in mind, SHEETS COST 5 EURO. So it isn't as cheap as we thought.

Disliked: The location is HORRIBLE... if you want to go out in Milan (sightseeing, nightlife, anything!) I would recommend shelling out a little extra dough to stay somewhere more central. Staying here you will have to take the metro or a cab anyway, unless you know someone with a car, and those cost money. And the closest metro isn't very close either. Neighborhood did not seem safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Kennedy

Alone

Events / festivals

17 January 2012 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: It was centally located.

Disliked: It did not provide breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amie Tolson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012

Liked: 24 hour reception

Disliked: Where to start. I was only there for one night and that was enough. The toilet/shower was filthy, there was a huge damp/mould patch on the dorm wall. The linen was terrible for 5 Euros a night, and the bed just a fold out camp bed. There's no common area and the only security is getting into the building, none at all within the hostel, and if you wait around outside for long enough you'll get into the building when someone leaves. It seemed cheap at 3 Euros for the night, but when you add in the 5 euros for linen it gets expensive and really isn't worth it.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rodrigo Sorghi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012

Liked: DO NOT STAY THERE, please read all people review it is dirty, I could not have a shower... and this is not all, I have been charged 5 euros for the sheets..late at night no option, gotta be a big joke and for finish because i did not stay long, my room was full of beggar.... Please pay a bit more and stay at Alba hostel very nice and close by

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joel Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: People, Staff, atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, value for money, and safety stuff, i would recommend it to my friends if they want to stay 2-3 days.

Disliked: i didnt like cleanliness, for me the bathroom suppose to be cleaned twice a day, and the sleeping sheets should have to be change more often.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012

Liked: to meet different people all over the world!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very affordable. Nice common area. Close to train station.

Disliked: The first night the bathroom was not clean at all, but after that it was quite clean. It would be nice to have walking directions (rather than just bus directions) easily available, as it is only a 25 minute walk from central station.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleanness is very bad

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the cleaness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap price

Disliked: far from centre

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

niraj patadiya

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 niraj would recommend this property

Liked: A good kitchen with all the required stuff.

Disliked: Too many beds for the size of the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Everything but the price. But I was aware of that - no miracles for 5Euro..

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Minh Tu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011

Liked: Shower was hot at least

Disliked: This hostel has BED BUGS! 1st of all traveling for 5 years and staying many hostels this is my 1st encounter with bed bugs. Thanks a lot! 16 bed dorm are single beds squished together there are 8 then another 8 upstairs so you can hear the people at night going up the loud stairs. You will get NO sleep in that room. So people probably put their bags on the beds and they don't wash the wool blankets that is why they have bed bugs!!! I have bite marks on legs and neck! They do a BAIT AND SWITCH here! When I booked I actually read that there was a 2 euro charge for sheets/linens but when I arrived the guy changed it to 5 euros. He was like look at the website, I said he had changed it. At 9pm there was nothing I could do except pay it. Other people in the dorm was charged 2 euros. This hostel should be banned from Hostelbookers! Worst hostel ever read all the reviews! I have traveled for 5 years and this was the worst experience!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, & the kitchen was very nice.

Disliked: The bathtub was extremely uncomfortable, because it was in the corner of the attic, so you couldn't even stand straight. We could hear the bell ringing every time someone arrived, which while sleeping is annoying (the hostel is open 24/7)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011

Liked: Just cheap

Disliked: The only one staff who was bald and so bad attitude for us. I've never seen such as unfriendly staff. You might get angry at the staff. It is very difficult to find this hostel out. I DON'T RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL STRONGLY !!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011

Liked: A kitchen available to use in common room although unfriendly atmosphere at times.

Disliked: Beds very close together, no lockers or locks on doors. Some staff are friendly, but there are extremely unfriendly people staying there for free who seem to help out making the beds which made me very nervous about leaving any valuables in the room in which they sleep aswell. The common room closes at 11 but seems to stay open too staff (and 'helpers'?) Till the early hours of the morning making lots of noise. Also as some staff stay in the dorms they have no respect for the people already asleep, when they do eventually go to bed, turning the lights on and talking / arguing very loudly. Most of the people who stay at the hostel are from Italy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time while we were staying there!!! Good job guys!!!keep going!! :) :) :) The room was clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: I like everything!!! ;)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011

Liked: fairly cheap if booked ahead of time

Disliked: kinda far from train station, people not staying there can not get in but no lockers for stuff, hidden linens fee

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Oleksandr Kretov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Oleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandru Pitea

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2011 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: Close to public transport and cheep.

Disliked: Interior overall finishing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: that all rooms had bathrooms.it was hot though the humidity.the common room was very nice painted .

Disliked: no obvious sign outside the street to find it.we were going around for hour.too much noise.far from metro.needs colour in the walls.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2011

Liked: the common room!!like a small sale!multicultural tables!!!

Disliked: no keys,anybody coming i n and getting out.far from metro or bus.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, 24 hour reception, safe

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms with one shower each on one floor, cold rooms, no key for room


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels