We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

47.4% Overall Rating

423 out of 759 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 98.25
  • Breakfast USD 2.18
  • Linen USD 2.62
  • Towel USD 0.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
30.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
21.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.5% 295 reviews
Hotel Ambra
10.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.5% 188 reviews
Hotel Galla
19.65 USD

Hostel 65.7% 110 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
52.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
76.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.4%

Overall Rating

423 out of 759 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
48.0%
Location
50.4%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
48.8%
Value
48.8%
Safety
52.8%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 699 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oana Pascu

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Oana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot the fact that I have been there one year ago and I have seen a lot of improvement since then. The attic is amazing now! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is very nice. Also, it's clean.

Disliked: The shower in the bathroom for our room was very uncomfortable and hard to use because of the "attic-like" roof. It's a little bit loud in the room which is located right next to the common room. Be careful, you cannot pay by card unless you need to pay more than 50 eur or so.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very friendly, you can spend the evening with other people in the common room or just sit there with your computer or rest in the bedroom anytime. The deposit for your computer and money is available 24/7 and for free, the location is also OK, not far from the famous Corso Buenos Aires and even closer to the train station. I'm really glad I chose this hostel.

Disliked: Some people might prefer to take their own bedlinen because in fact there were pillows without pillowcases and so on.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Omar Bautista

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Is a good place, it have a good relation price-quality

Disliked: my bed was in a little room that is so far to the enter, I had to cross the interior of a room with a lot of hosters to can go to my room :SS

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012

Liked: cheap hostel

Disliked: no lockers, rooms were a bit dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aron Rigo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2012

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: one of the rooms were being reconstructed, and the work was still going on after 23.00, making it hard to sleep...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Shew Fei Chee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Cleanliness and the atmosphere. Staff was alright but did not seem to be very friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: The price of the accomodation

Disliked: The atmosphere. The hallways were dark. Toilets looked clean but did not smell fresh.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lo staff gentile e disponibile :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area is nice.

Disliked: Cleanliness of kitchen and bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

André Gomes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 André would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and the private 6 bed room for its price.

Disliked: The staff spoke very little English, there were no hairdryers, and the cleaning staff didn't clean everyday. Also, the bathroom on the top floors were vey uncomfortable because of the low ceiling.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Quang Minh Than

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Quang Minh would recommend this property

Liked: A preferred choice for people want a place to sleep at low-price. .

Disliked: Quang Minh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Balazs Gaspar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Balazs would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very kind, and the atmosphere is very good in the kitchen every night, You can make lots of friends if You want, and go to sightseeing or to pubs with them. It was cool, and for this money it's just perfect!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was perfect for my needs and the staff made every effort to create a comfortable and helpful environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice.

Disliked: The common area was rather small. I disliked the fact that people were also allowed to smoke here. It was especially annoying for me a non-smoker. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms :( I thought the cost of the linen was a bit high

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 January 2012

Liked: not far away from the city centre

Disliked: dirty, unfriendly staff, dangerous neighbourhood

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012

Liked: Finally nothing was stolen and I didn't become ill - even if anybody could enter our room and we slept with homeless people DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSTEL, ITS BETTER THE SLEEP IN THE METRO

Disliked: Guys, I'm not naiv and I travel a lot so I know that fo so much money one can not except a lot. I said, "OK. It will be dirty, but cheap." In the reality: 1. It's NOT CHEAP, because everybody have to pay extra for the bed sheets, even if you bring sleep bags!! (5 EUR/person/night) 2. It's NOT ONLY DIRTY, it's messy the receptionist are very unfriendy, we ere afraid of them! They knew we don't have the choice to go somewhere else and they didn't really cared about our problem! We slept with hompless people who are staying there for more than 6 months. We couldn't stand the smell, its unbareable! That's why the window was open all the time (yes, it was freezy in the winter). I have been to a lots of hostels in my life, and I always try to get the cheapest hostel for the minimum service, but THIS DOESNT APPROACH the minimum service level. Please guys, DO NOT SUPPORT a business like this (they don't really work for returning guest they just want to collect the money for first travellers), DONT GO THERE: There are many other hostels in MILAN, they are even cheaper than California, because they don't make you pay the (minimum) 5 EUR extra fee/person/night! I was with my friends could stand it! D O N T G O T H E R E

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dee Stam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2012

Liked: it was less than twenty min walk to metro, shopping area etc. It was in a nice quite location

Disliked: We had to pay more per night for our bed linen/sheets than our actual room,we had to cut through someone else's room to get to ours, for the shower we had to crouch like a monkey to wash ourselves, the spiral stairs heading up to our room were nice and dangerous, no key for room or lockers in our room

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Uncomfortable atmosphere and dirty linen (which I expected to be clean having paid 5 euros a night).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mazdak Hashempour Igderi

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 January 2012 Mazdak would recommend this property

Liked: The free kitchen lets you cook your meal fre of charge. the cost is in general low. the free internet access in public area is worthy.

Disliked: the linen cost of 5 euros will be added automatically to your general room charge which is not mentioned in the booking websites.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kaiyu Shao

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Kaiyu would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the kitchen.

Disliked: the heater in our room is either broken or turn down by the hostel! it's really cold in the room.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012

Liked: It was cheap, but keep in mind, SHEETS COST 5 EURO. So it isn't as cheap as we thought.

Disliked: The location is HORRIBLE... if you want to go out in Milan (sightseeing, nightlife, anything!) I would recommend shelling out a little extra dough to stay somewhere more central. Staying here you will have to take the metro or a cab anyway, unless you know someone with a car, and those cost money. And the closest metro isn't very close either. Neighborhood did not seem safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Kennedy

Alone

Events / festivals

17 January 2012 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: It was centally located.

Disliked: It did not provide breakfast.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Amie Tolson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012

Liked: 24 hour reception

Disliked: Where to start. I was only there for one night and that was enough. The toilet/shower was filthy, there was a huge damp/mould patch on the dorm wall. The linen was terrible for 5 Euros a night, and the bed just a fold out camp bed. There's no common area and the only security is getting into the building, none at all within the hostel, and if you wait around outside for long enough you'll get into the building when someone leaves. It seemed cheap at 3 Euros for the night, but when you add in the 5 euros for linen it gets expensive and really isn't worth it.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rodrigo Sorghi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012

Liked: DO NOT STAY THERE, please read all people review it is dirty, I could not have a shower... and this is not all, I have been charged 5 euros for the sheets..late at night no option, gotta be a big joke and for finish because i did not stay long, my room was full of beggar.... Please pay a bit more and stay at Alba hostel very nice and close by

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joel Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: People, Staff, atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels