We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

61.3% Overall Rating

418 out of 739 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Vandini Pathak thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 113.85
  • Breakfast USD 2.53
  • Linen USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
24.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.3% 267 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Ambra
15.18 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
21.51 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
30.36 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
17.71 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.3%

Overall Rating

418 out of 739 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
62.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 402 of 680 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Esther Loos

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2012 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really close to the center of the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Beds are nice, room is clean. The reception is open 24 hours a day.

Disliked: It can be a little noisy if your room is in the front of the building. The bathroom floor was a bit muddy at the end of the day. But as a hostel visitor you should be used to this.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jérôme Grâces

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2012

Liked: The price

Disliked: For my second night, coming back in the middle in night, nobody opened me the door. I wait for 30 minutes without any answers at the belt! More than a problem of security, atmosphere, cleaning place,...it was a problem of access!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Spacious common area. 5/10 minute walk from the nearest merto.

Disliked: It was quite far from the centre but not too far from the metro.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is awesome! But the toilet in the attic sucks, but you could always use the toilets near the reception, which were clean and good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not too far from the stazione. The rooms were not too crowded and they were clean. I thought the price was great.

Disliked: I wish the linens had been included an more bathrooms/showers would be good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANNA TAKOU

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 ANNA would recommend this property

Liked: the people staying there, the atmosphere, how clean it was.

Disliked: that the common room closed at 23.00, a bit far from the historical center but the metro line was satisfyingly close

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hermann Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Hermann would recommend this property

Liked: good value at the price/ wifi, hotwater, beds and locality ie buses, shops, pub all nearby. definately kind to backpackers.

Disliked: Hermann left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alejandra Caballero

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was friendly and helpul, the price.

Disliked: we booked a private room but they put us with 4 people more because the room wasnt ready, but htey make us a disscount the bathroom wasnt very clean, and smells bad breakfast was at a bar around the corner, not in the hostel!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012

Liked: price

Disliked: Little or no atmosphere, the room was sort of a walkway through to another. bad smell. I'm not normally fussy, but was disappointed compared to what it appeared to be like from the site. I can't really grumble for the price. didn't bother staying on last night of my stay

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom in room,warm shower.

Disliked: Took me over 1 hour to check in.... puuh long queues slow working

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Izzy Parker

Alone

Events / festivals

22 April 2012

Liked: Free Wifi and map of the city.

Disliked: I experienced 3 very rude staff, one male staff stormed in the (all female dorm) room without knocking. One female member of staff was very friendly. The bunkbeds had hardly any space between them, I couldn't climb up my ladder to my top bunk without knocking into the next door bunk bed. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the wall between the wash basin and shower/toilet room had a huge gap so you could see straight through to whoever was in the shower or using the toilet. To add privacy it seemed that previous visiters had stuffed old toilet cardboard rolls and tissue to bridge the gap! The entrance was also full of rumble, resembling a building site.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nino Laurice Barcial

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Nino Laurice would recommend this property

Liked: we had the whole room to ourselves :) we initially booked a room with 5 beds but we ended up in the attic with i think 10 or more beds haha :) very cool :)

Disliked: only problem is that the water in the bathroom in the attic overflows inside the bathroom floor - maybe a problem in the drainage i think... and i thought our balance was only 52euro in the confirmation email...but we were charged 59euro balance instead... overall it was a good stay :) our luggages were put to safety even after we checked out...we return and it was all good :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the cheapest hostel in Milan!

Disliked: Wifi signal is weak in the rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012

Liked: The people traveling were great!

Disliked: The staff were not friendly, but did the job. Added some fees that were not mentioned clearly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and when I had problems with my reservation they helped right away

Disliked: They took to long to answer to my e-mail and phone calls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oana Pascu

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Oana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot the fact that I have been there one year ago and I have seen a lot of improvement since then. The attic is amazing now! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is very nice. Also, it's clean.

Disliked: The shower in the bathroom for our room was very uncomfortable and hard to use because of the "attic-like" roof. It's a little bit loud in the room which is located right next to the common room. Be careful, you cannot pay by card unless you need to pay more than 50 eur or so.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very friendly, you can spend the evening with other people in the common room or just sit there with your computer or rest in the bedroom anytime. The deposit for your computer and money is available 24/7 and for free, the location is also OK, not far from the famous Corso Buenos Aires and even closer to the train station. I'm really glad I chose this hostel.

Disliked: Some people might prefer to take their own bedlinen because in fact there were pillows without pillowcases and so on.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Omar Bautista

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Is a good place, it have a good relation price-quality

Disliked: my bed was in a little room that is so far to the enter, I had to cross the interior of a room with a lot of hosters to can go to my room :SS

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012

Liked: cheap hostel

Disliked: no lockers, rooms were a bit dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aron Rigo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2012

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: one of the rooms were being reconstructed, and the work was still going on after 23.00, making it hard to sleep...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Shew Fei Chee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Cleanliness and the atmosphere. Staff was alright but did not seem to be very friendly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: The price of the accomodation

Disliked: The atmosphere. The hallways were dark. Toilets looked clean but did not smell fresh.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lo staff gentile e disponibile :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common area is nice.

Disliked: Cleanliness of kitchen and bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

André Gomes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 André would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and the private 6 bed room for its price.

Disliked: The staff spoke very little English, there were no hairdryers, and the cleaning staff didn't clean everyday. Also, the bathroom on the top floors were vey uncomfortable because of the low ceiling.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels