We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

52.6% Overall Rating

421 out of 749 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 97.21
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Linen USD 2.59
  • Towel USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
24.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
16.20 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 294 reviews
Hotel Ambra
10.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
15.12 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
39.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
34.56 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.6%

Overall Rating

421 out of 749 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
55.2%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 408 of 689 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma lynas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Not great location- a good few metro stops and directions to it made it difficult to find.

Disliked: An okay common area for meeting people- otherwise standard beds and rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy going and flexible :)

Disliked: No lock on doors, only small lockers for your personal items

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I payed for 14-bed mixed room and I got 6-bed female one! They are supernice :)

Disliked: My friend, who was helping with my bags wasn't even allowed to enter the room!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

stephanie brewer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: not alot. close to a very large supermarket so good to get food from.

Disliked: very dirty. the bathrooms were constantly dirty - hair everywhere. the bathroom overlooked a children's play centre which is made to look like party of the hostel in the photos like an outdoor area but its actually children playing at 8 am. the staff were very unhelpful and rude. we were staying three nights and they moved our stuff whilst we were out on the 2nd day and left it piled up in the reception without asking us. so we had to move rooms. it is not made clean about the linen charge on their decription and the linen was SO dirty that we used our own sleeping bags so hat was a waste of 2.50 a night for linen that we didnt even touch. The location is bad and badly explained directions on the website. bad cooking facilities including dirty broken plates old food left in trays in the oven and an overflowing fridge with rotten food. nothing to do in the evenings except sit in the boiling hot kitchen on broken tables. very rude service and ruined the end of an amazing trip. would definitely not go back.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, clean beds, big common room, helpful staff...

Disliked: Bathrooms in the dorm could be cleaner, but not disgusting.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: The bathroom has the ceiling at a very short height; it is allowed to smoke in the kitchen.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient pricing

Disliked: quite a lot of walking from lambrate, the door was very difficult to be found as only doorbell had tiny printing referring to the hostel

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: The bathrooms were filthy, there were only two toilets and there was no toiletpaper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Kemp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the people that i met over my stay. also there is a great pizza place just down the road and some good bars near by. the commen room is a good place to meet new people and the free wifi has helped me stay intouch with my family and friends near by. the reception staff were helpfull in telling me how to get around and where is good to go. they also knew prices of how to get to the airport and what was the cheapest option. i am glad to say that i have enjoyed my stay in hostel california very much and am sad to say my farewells to the people today.

Disliked: the heat in the rooms was to much to handle, also the commen room could use an aircon as many people sit and smoke in the room and there is no real strong air flow to get the smoke out or even let in some cool air.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jenica Noble

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Jenica would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap place to stay, good atmosphere and great staff

Disliked: the hostel is a bit of a walk to the centre, though it is close to public transport. The bathrooms could have done with a really good clean. Also they need to change the directions they have here as they are a bit wrong.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: peut être le calme...

Disliked: Personnel pas agréable, pas d'ambiance, chambre en plein dans le passage de l'entrée, douches sales, couloir/dortoirs/terasse en travaux, literie d'apparance propre mais supcons de puces de lit...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 June 2012

Liked: Close by to train station and relatively near main attractions. Some good local ristorantes and bars.

Disliked: We had booked a private room with bathroom but when we turned up we were informed that there was an error and so only had a dorm option or had to go to a partner hostel. Opted for the dorm which was cheaper but not what wanted.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012

Liked: Seriously nothing

Disliked: I paid for 3 nights and I leave the hostel in the first night. If you want a very bad experince go this hostel, maybe is cheap but is better sleep in the street.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Salvatore Calì

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 June 2012 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: vicinanza metro, supermercati, pizzerie,

Disliked: pulizia

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012

Liked: do not book here!!!!

Disliked: do not book here!!!! i booked a room for a couple of nights. showed up and they had given away my space! they then said i would be moved to their sister hostel across town. they lied and said it was not far away... it turns out the hostel wasnt even on the map of milano and took almost and hour to get to the center of city by tram and subway! you ha to take a bus or tram to the nearest subway. the other people at the "hostel" were paying 5 euros a night... i was not refunded even though i was paying more than this. do not risk it booking here! find a better place to stay. the actucal hostel is in a bad part of town.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money, helpful staff on reception

Disliked: Room was very hot at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, great location (on the main street of Riomaggiore), very clean, recently renovated, perfect!

Disliked: Only dislike I can think of is that there was no wi-fi - the rest was great!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tomas Cibulka

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012

Liked: Really good price.

Disliked: There wasn't free room in hostel California despite it was booked. They moved us to another hostel.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Manuel Acevedo

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: Nothing in this place was good. absolutely nothing

Disliked: Additional to the price they charge an extra 2.4 euros per day for sheets!!! The "breakfast" they offer is in a cafeteria 2 blocks away from the hostel. The shower in the room was located under a small part of the roof you had to crawl on your knees to fit. The staff is rude and unexperienced. The handyman, a guy in mustache was drinking beer and alcohol all day, and that was the way he worked, DRUNK!!! Worst stay EVER!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good quality/price ratio in such an expensive city, cooking facilities, sometimes you get better room (less guests) than you paid for.

Disliked: x

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 June 2012

Liked: The price was good, kitchen facilities were great to have (and there is a grocery store very close by), the staff was nice, and the beds were comfortable. If you are here short term and want to save money, this is good.

Disliked: The directions to get here were a little off. I didn't like that there was smoking in the common areas. Definitely not enough bathrooms. On my last night some girls checked in to my dorm after 12, which was annoying. It was even more annoying because they were loud with their stuff and then stayed up laughing and giggling loudly. The staff can't help their annoyingness, but i thought the latest checkin was earlier than midnight.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, common room, location

Disliked: It's very open, no keys from the rooms, dirty bathroom, poor WiFi connection, loud people, smell.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: They said there was no place for us even though we had a reservation. They sent us to another place further, dirty, without kitchen and without proper bed sheets... we had to came back by ourselves to complain and they gave us a room back in california hostel. So because of their lies we lost 7 hours, which we could spend for sightseeing...The shower and the toilet of the room were super dirty and the shower flooded. You pay 2,40 per night for getting a blanket that they do not wash after being used by the previous user. And there is a drunk guy all the time around, who is really annoying.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: I've liked the fact metro station to town was relatively close. Also,very close to a big supermsrcet

Disliked: They've charged us for the linen (compulsory,having a sleeping bag doesn't help anything). AND that only included one sheet and a pillow cover,for the duvet cover you have to pay extra!! The card machine didn't work, so everything had to be payed in cash... Next:the kitchen closes at 11, so no communal place to be after that time (except in the rooms but that is disturbing for other people). The rooms dont have any kind of locks, so you either have to carry everything with you or purchase a lock.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mehmet Akif Bardakci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

09 June 2012

Liked: v

Disliked: it is not clean.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels