HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 41%

Location 56%

Safety 57%

Staff 50%

Value 58%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 104.78USD
  • Breakfast 2.33USD
  • Linen 2.79USD
  • Towel 0.58USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 41%

Location 56%

Safety 57%

Staff 50%

Value 58%

Showing 41-50 of 72 reviews

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rude staff. Bad bad location. The room you sleep in is so hot 40 degrees- you will not be sleeping. Additional charges when you arrive for linen and some tax. Rudest staff I've ever come across. I have been staying in cheap hostels around Europe for 9 months and this is by far the worst. People smoking in kitchen where you eat.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's cheap and the staff is friendly and talkative.

Disliked: Smoking area and kitchen is combined in the same room. And the only common area/area with places to sit beside ones bed is already closed from about 11 or 12 PM.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: None.

Disliked: There was no toilet paper in the toilet....

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: chepest place i could find

Disliked: nothing special. just a room with 5 bunk beds and a shower. not terribly clean.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The kitchen is available to cook and safe some money :)

Disliked: There was not toilette paper :(

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I did not like anything

Disliked: very dirty. I could not take a bath, because it was very unclean. I have booked for 10,60 a nicht, but I should pay 16 Euro when arrived

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our heads and meant we could sleep, but it was not a pleasant experience.

Disliked: The staff at this hostel were not welcoming or helpful in anyway and seemed to spend most of their time standing around chain smoking in the kitchen area. When my friend and I went to check in we said that we had 3 friends arriving in the afternoon and his reply was: "Are your friends all beautiful ladies like you?" This was not the kind of statement to make two girls feel at ease in their accommodation, but a rather sexist one that annoyed us straight off. Following this we found there were no locks on the doors to our dorm room which wasn't ideal. Considering there was a lack of security it did not seem like it would matter if we were to go see our friends in the other dorm (even though we had all booked to be in the same dorm room). However, when we went into each others room, the same staff member to have made the comment at check in was then very rude to us and said we were not allowed in each others rooms. Surely if this was such a problem they should fix locks onto the doors of each room and should have put my friends and I all into the same room as we had requested? Usually I ignore flaws of a hostel such as cleanliness or lack of atmosphere, but this place was very dirty as well as the above problems, and I would therefore not recommend people to stay here. We had a change of plans and it was all we could find at the last minute, but I will try to avoid this being the case when travelling again!

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing in particular.

Disliked: Atmosphere very bad

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: No thing

Disliked: We booked on hostelbooker and when we arrived they told us that they don’t have free beds. The staff at this hostel were not welcoming or helpful in anyway and seemed to spend most of their time standing around chain smoking in the kitchen area.

Check Availability