We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

61.3% Overall Rating

418 out of 739 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Vandini Pathak thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 113.85
  • Breakfast USD 2.53
  • Linen USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
26.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
20.24 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
22.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
17.71 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.3%

Overall Rating

418 out of 739 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
62.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 402 of 680 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Stay, 24 hour reception.

Disliked: hidden costs!!! You have to add 2,30€ for sheets per night!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alicia Williams

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: Was not able to stay a the property because of the over booking problem.

Disliked: I was frustrated that there was an over booking problem. Even though another accomodation for me was made, the new place didn't have some of the things that Hostel California offered....such as free wi-fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marek Drewniak

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff who provided basic information about localisation of most important things in Milan, rooms and bathrooms tidied and cleaned up every day, good localisation, good food places around. As for hostel and for such price conditions were at least good. Do not expect as if it was 4-star hotel: bathroom didn't look very well but it was cleaned every day. Sleeping with 12 people in the same room wasn't very comfortable as well but that's a hostel - if you expect to have your own marriage bed don't go to place like California Hostel. In general, all was very good and we left that place having good memories.

Disliked: Weird roommates. Not informing about 'city tax' fare before making payment at the reception desk (not big amounts, like 1E/day per person but still, we weren't informed about that).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Horrible! Don't go here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Rice

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 October 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the room was of an exeptional standard and surprisingly quiet. Also I really loved having a bathroom in the room. The best bit for me though was just how secure it was. Security access, no keys required and camera's everywhere. Its the first time staying in hostels that I actually left my very expensive guitar unattended and felt like it was safe, which was a real treat :)

Disliked: Nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 October 2012

Liked: Leaving!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Onur Öztürk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012

Liked: it was just cheap. thats it.

Disliked: i disliked everything.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

BIJOY CHAUDHURY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012

Liked: Only the price was less, so ideal if you want to spend few hours or just the night.

Disliked: No safety lockers, too many people in same room, suffocating environment, no privacy and security. Don't plan any long stays here...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: They have charged me for the bed sheets

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bruce Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a big fridge, big kitchen and open communall area. Good place to cook your own meals and meet new people.

Disliked: The staff were not the most helpful people and often seemed quite uninterested in your enquires. The shower and sink clogged up twice in our stay of 4 nights.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

vishnukanth allika

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012

Liked: NOTHING. DISASTER TO STAY IN CALIFORNIA HOSTEL.

Disliked: COMPLETELY. THE STAFF IS HOPELESS. THE BOOKED ROOM WAS NOT GIVEN. IRRESPONSIBLE STAFF.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

11 September 2012

Liked: not alot. private bathroom i suppose was a plus.

Disliked: I hated it before i even got there. Only after i booked and paid the booking fee did i recieve an email from the telling me that the last two nights would be almost double the price; 15 Euros instead of 8, with no exceptions. Thenn after all the mandatory extras were added when i got there it ended up being 69euros, instead of the 40 or so it was meant to be. ABSURD!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and common room. Location was good.

Disliked: Toilets were quite dirty.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Alicja Lawniczak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012

Liked: close to the railway station and 2 supermarkets

Disliked: no air-conditioning, extremely hot in the rooms, no towels included (although should be according to the description), not much equipment in the kitchen (not even a kettle!!), very dirty everywhere, the staff didn't understand much English

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jean Coulon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012

Liked: The lounge was ok.

Disliked: I've done lots of hostels in my life, and this one was definitely the dirtiest; I think the staff is way to busy to do nothing behind their desk to clean the damn bathrooms (and kitchen); even the towel I had to buy was full of orange stains; the toilets had no seats, everything was broken and disgusting; the 16 people dorm it just the worst, bed are really close together and make an awful lot of noise

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012

Liked: Not much... It's the worst hostel I've ever been to!

Disliked: Very dirty hostel, very unfriendly staff. They let you know about the additional cost of 2.40€ for sheets straight away (not able to decline them) at the desk letting every sinlge traveller in a bad mude. I'd say all the guests are there because the online price was fairly cheap and with the additional cost it is far from that. Not mentioning you hardly get any sheets on your bad.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price, wifi ok

Disliked: Not that clean, specially bathrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Judy Song

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: Its quite near to station

Disliked: The room on the 10 bed is so crowded, poor lighting, extremely hot in summer. They charge a compulsory linen of 2.40. My friend who arrive without reservation is overcharge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma lynas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Not great location- a good few metro stops and directions to it made it difficult to find.

Disliked: An okay common area for meeting people- otherwise standard beds and rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy going and flexible :)

Disliked: No lock on doors, only small lockers for your personal items

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I payed for 14-bed mixed room and I got 6-bed female one! They are supernice :)

Disliked: My friend, who was helping with my bags wasn't even allowed to enter the room!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

stephanie brewer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: not alot. close to a very large supermarket so good to get food from.

Disliked: very dirty. the bathrooms were constantly dirty - hair everywhere. the bathroom overlooked a children's play centre which is made to look like party of the hostel in the photos like an outdoor area but its actually children playing at 8 am. the staff were very unhelpful and rude. we were staying three nights and they moved our stuff whilst we were out on the 2nd day and left it piled up in the reception without asking us. so we had to move rooms. it is not made clean about the linen charge on their decription and the linen was SO dirty that we used our own sleeping bags so hat was a waste of 2.50 a night for linen that we didnt even touch. The location is bad and badly explained directions on the website. bad cooking facilities including dirty broken plates old food left in trays in the oven and an overflowing fridge with rotten food. nothing to do in the evenings except sit in the boiling hot kitchen on broken tables. very rude service and ruined the end of an amazing trip. would definitely not go back.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, clean beds, big common room, helpful staff...

Disliked: Bathrooms in the dorm could be cleaner, but not disgusting.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price

Disliked: The bathroom has the ceiling at a very short height; it is allowed to smoke in the kitchen.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels