We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

51.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 750 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 97.85
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Linen USD 2.61
  • Towel USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
22.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
16.31 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 294 reviews
Hotel Ambra
11.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
17.40 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
76.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
51.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 750 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
52.8%
Value
55.2%
Safety
55.2%
Refine your results Showing 409 of 690 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cheap and the guy in the reception was really nice.

Disliked: I disliked the bathrooms, they were not enought for so many people and they were not clean as well. I thought that it was everything a little cold too, I do not know if the heater was working well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, accomodating staff, generally clean, well kempt

Disliked: difficult to find

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michele Gregorini

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean (sufficiently)

Disliked: Michele left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013

Liked: Quite nothing. There is some supermarkets near there, and it's easy to achieve the center by walking (but you need at least 1 hour of non-stop walking). I really don't know what more to answer to that question, even if I think of it for a while...

Disliked: I have felt that this hostel only wants my money and it doesn't think of my satisfaction staying there. In general, the staff is not as friendly and dynamic as the profile tries to convey. It's not a safe place and it's not a safe hostel to stay. The rooms doesn't close its doors in the night, and sometimes the front door of the hostel is not correctly closed (it's an advice in that door to close correctly but well...). Read the other reviews and you will understand it faster... Too much half-trues in the hostel's profile and in the same hostel... Anyway, what I dislike the most is the extra charges not initially included in the prices and, in general, all this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013

Liked: its cheep and easy to get to a little difficult to find but its ok!

Disliked: did not feel very safe.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sandor Jonas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Sandor would recommend this property

Liked: price is good ,staff is good ,wifi is good ,hot water in the shower is good.

Disliked: far in the city center

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

andreas kasparis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: smell very bad every ware , for 13 bed they have only one plag for charger , ishower not lock , soap not have for shower and wash hand , toilet paiper not have , only one day i was see a roll and was dirty on the floure , the machine for visa card not work , i was 4 days there and i listen to say to all customers (im sorry just now broke , wifi was very bad connection and very slow , is very bad hostel

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013

Liked: I only liked the fact that the hostel was the fact that the housekeeper was pleasant, kind and efficient with his job.

Disliked: It's not in a safe location. Appearently the front door is supposed to be closed and it wasn't. My friend and I were returning back to the hostel around 8pm and to get into the actual building you have to press a button and the person at the reception desk lets us in. We were let in, but then I was attacked by a random stranger on the hostel stairs. I screamed bloody murder for a little over two minutes and after the person attacking me was able to get a hold of my phone he escaped and that's when people came down. The man at the reception desk which is right at the top of the stairs claimed that he wasn't at the reception desk, but that could not have been true because someone was looking at the camera to let us in. He also claimed that he did not here me screaming, but everyone else in the hostel heard me. It was actully others who were staying in the hostel who eventually came to my aid. The hostel worker insisted that it was our fault that I got attacked and was reluctant to call the police. I had to call the police on my own and ended up going to the hospital to find out I have sprained wrist.. The hostel is not in a good location. The receptionist was also reluctant to show the video of the incident to the police when it clearly shows someone strange trying to get in behind my friend and I. If it is supposed to be 24 reception and they claim someone is always watching the cameras then someone should've known that I was in trouble and that someone unknown had entered the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Ugraded me to a female-only room when there was a bed available for no extra charge.

Disliked: Room had a cracked window and the radiator was on a timer so was a bit cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Mikolajczak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 February 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good facilities, the best value for money

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ilias Fanteev

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Ilias would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful stuff, good wi-fi.

Disliked: The bathroom lock broken, not enough plugs in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013

Liked: They has a kitchen n free wifi

Disliked: Too cold. There was one heater on my room but didnt work well. Only two toilets total(shower room was also in thr)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Oscar Barreto

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 January 2013

Liked: Nothing. Only point in favor if any.. was that internet worked..

Disliked: Bad location, really bad environment, and they will try to charge more than they are supposed to at any occasion. No locks on the doors, doesn't feel like a very safe place to leave your stuff and go sightseeing, anyone can enter to your room. People there is not very friendly and they will overcharge your stay with any excuse. Not very clean.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kusmiati Dewi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013

Liked: nothing. this hostel sucks

Disliked: everything. we reserved for a cheap room, then it turned out we couldnt get that room due to some mistakes. we're forced to pay almost 3 times higher for new reservation without considering previous DP to hostelbooker.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

13 January 2013

Liked: Very cheap but we have decided to move after 2 nights to more expensive but better

Disliked: Cleanliness (bathroom terrible, floor dirty), you have to pay for bed linen every night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adelina Petrova

Alone

City break

10 January 2013 Adelina would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy, nice staff, there is beer available!

Disliked: Nothing special

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm and clean and had a nice communal space.

Disliked: I found the directions they sent me a bit tricky (had to take a bus and then walk). In fact it is just a twenty minute walk from the central station, pretty much down a straight road. This would have been easier for me.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Vikki Evans

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Vikki would recommend this property

Liked: it had everything you needed to survive and we weren't paying a lot for it. there is a supermarket down the road with cheap food to cook if you can't afford to eat out everyday, and is a ten minute walk from two stops on the metro which is good to navigate your way around the town.

Disliked: they had no spoons! we got cereal for breakfast and had to eat with forks. the bathrooms weren't especially clean and there was a man (who seemed rather permanent) in our room snoring as loud as he possibly could.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Noor Zaiedurra Irdawatie Nordin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: The common room (dining place quite enjoyable)

Disliked: The dorm, the toilet, the receptionist. He is not friendly at all and even take more money from me. He force me to pay for the mis date booked full amount and service tax for the hostel. Even the linen should be paid in advance. Overall, the honesty of this hostel not good and the accomodation is on average value.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean. Friendly people.

Disliked: Its location probably. Was hard to locate.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hui Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Remote location and poor facilities like the wifi signal is very poor and even not available in the room. If you want to use it, you would have to stand in the lobby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liudas Mikalkevicius

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012

Liked: There was a very nice company, the bed was comfortable. Shower and toilet was shared only with roommates.

Disliked: Like always in Italy. There was city tax which was not mentioned in the advertisement. Also, I was charged addtional tax for the linen. For these addtional 3Eur they could at least had given me some towels. The kitchen was not too clean, but there were some dishes.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is pretty close to all that You might need during Your stay - communication (buses, metro), small restaurant of any cuisine (Chinese, Thai, Italian, Arabic, Indonesian, Capo Verde, McDonald and so on.:), even at the corner there is a very well stocked and damn cheap SIMPLY market. Just a short walk from Loreto square, where You can get with buses or the tube. Common area is a good place to organise some hot food for Yourself plus You can interact with other travellers/guests if You feel it is worth it.:) People at the reception know all the answers and are quite nice and smiling.:)

Disliked: OK, just like always - You get what You paid for.:) So if You`re paying peanuts for You stay in a dorm room with 14 beds do not expect luxury. People are coming and going out all the time. No intimacy. At night they come totally drunk, sing or shout or quarrel. Some of them get phonecalls at night, sometimes their mobile alarms will wake You up in the middle of the night. They also snore like hell and fart all night long..:) Just a warning for a delicate souls who might feel embarassed, cause personally I do not mind - we are all humans.:)


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels