HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 38%

Location 51%

Safety 53%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 101.46USD
  • Breakfast 2.25USD
  • Linen 2.71USD
  • Towel 0.56USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 38%

Location 51%

Safety 53%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

Showing 21-30 of 72 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: I paid 35 E/night and I wash in a 14 bed room, with 1 toilet insider. There were available some lockers (not enough for everyone) and I couldn't get any lock from the reception. The room was dirty, the heating wasn't working and even the toilet was dirty with no toilet paper. not advisable.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfy beds, bicycle place downstairs to keep it safe, closed gate after 21.00. Safe and good location.

Disliked: Bed sheets are purchased separately?! Really?! Are you kidding? Why can't you write the normal price that includes the whole services. It does not seem like an option to sleep with no bed sheets so why are they purchased separately. The total arrived over 20€ even though Hostelboolers stated 17€.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was not very far from the metro station.The internet was good, always working.The rooms were clean.

Disliked: The beds are really close one to each other, you could hug the person in the next bed without much effort.They say you only have to pay for linen if you book a bed under 17 euro. We paid 21.90 euro for bed, and were still asked to pay the linen.In the last night we were moved to another room, with obviously more beds, so cheaper, but we got nothing in exchange. They gave us a double bed in this room, without being asked before, assuming maybe that me and my friend were a couple. Also, i was the only girl in the room that night, even though they could leave us in the room we got at first. (they said we were the only ones left in that room, so they want it completely empty, in case some group shows up).I think you could find a better alternative with for just an insignificant amount of money.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty floor in the bedroom

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: unfortunatly not much. Bed linen were clean, but you weren't able to lock the doors of the 12-bed-dorm nor the bathroom. everything but the main entrance was open all day and night.

Disliked: the lies/misleading information as mentioned in no. 2.Also the rude behaviour of the staff until the moment they saw, we were serious about reporting them with all evidence. In that moment, all price changes were canceled and staff became friendly again.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: N/A

Disliked: While staying at this hostel I lost a pair of black boots, which I am certain I had put into my luggage bag. I was told I was moving room that night and so had to keep my luggage in the store, not in a locker in the room. When I returned the boots were not in my bag. If I am being forgetful and the boots were not in my bag they should have been picked up by the cleaning staff - I checked, I was told they were not in the hostel. There are only two bathrooms, so the queue in the morning makes keeping to a schedule very difficult. The mattress was uncomfortable, and dipped in the middle. I was in a bedroom for 8 people and no extra blanket was provided, so I had to use my own towel.I was not told where the kitchen is, which did not promote the friendly fun atmosphere this hostel boasts.If you need anything in the night you would need to go into the room where the staff are sleeping and wake one of them - seems very inappropriate.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was very close to a large supermarket, had friendly staff and a secure environment for my things. The kitchen and common area were large and there was also the option of leaving your things before or after checking out. The place was very clean as well.

Disliked: The beds were squeaky and bathroom in my room's lock was broken and the shower didn't have full pressure

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great price-facilities ratio. We were 10 girls at the same room even that I reserved for a bigger room in the last moment.Great location - next to metro and bus in calm part of Milano, very near to Student Town.Close to big supermarket (that works on Sunday), cafeterias, beautiful church and small park.

Disliked: There are lockers but bring your own padlock.Not the best hygiene in the bathrooms but a lot of people are using them,Possibly you have to wait to use toilet/bathroom.Common room (kitchen/dining room) is used for smoking.No lift. The hostel is on the first floor.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean beds and bathrooms

Disliked: It is not so easy to get to the hostel from the bus stop, very surprising policy of changing beds: each night you sleep in another room and bed. A man from the reception at the first moment had count 10 euro more then he should and correct himself after my question.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap. Most of the staff was really friendly. Wifi was strong and in all areas

Disliked: The area it was in seemed kinda sketchy and it is a bit away from the city the room I was in had a tub with a shower head which was not very easy to wash up in. They moved people around constantly which seemed so inconvenient for guests. One of the reception was hitting on all the female staff kept touching girls inappropriately

Check Availability