HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 42%

Location 62%

Safety 59%

Staff 54%

Value 52%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 106.10USD
  • Breakfast 2.36USD
  • Linen 2.83USD
  • Towel 0.59USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 52%

Cleanliness 55%

Facilities 42%

Location 62%

Safety 59%

Staff 54%

Value 52%

Showing 21-30 of 81 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great price-facilities ratio. We were 10 girls at the same room even that I reserved for a bigger room in the last moment.Great location - next to metro and bus in calm part of Milano, very near to Student Town.Close to big supermarket (that works on Sunday), cafeterias, beautiful church and small park.

Disliked: There are lockers but bring your own padlock.Not the best hygiene in the bathrooms but a lot of people are using them,Possibly you have to wait to use toilet/bathroom.Common room (kitchen/dining room) is used for smoking.No lift. The hostel is on the first floor.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean beds and bathrooms

Disliked: It is not so easy to get to the hostel from the bus stop, very surprising policy of changing beds: each night you sleep in another room and bed. A man from the reception at the first moment had count 10 euro more then he should and correct himself after my question.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap. Most of the staff was really friendly. Wifi was strong and in all areas

Disliked: The area it was in seemed kinda sketchy and it is a bit away from the city the room I was in had a tub with a shower head which was not very easy to wash up in. They moved people around constantly which seemed so inconvenient for guests. One of the reception was hitting on all the female staff kept touching girls inappropriately

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was hot water.

Disliked: Dirty, loud, bad beds, no plug. Hidden fees en only a sheet to sleep with. Unfriendly receptionist to whom every question was a big issue.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The overall atmosphere of the place is not as bad as people rate it. I met lots of great people here and their kitchen is quite nice to relax in. The beds aren't great but provide a decent sleep. Free lockers in the room are a plus too.

Disliked: Forget about using the kitchen. There were literally no spoons throughout my stay and 2 bowls, one pot, and barely anything to cook with in the kitchen. The staff are HORRIBLE! And I cannot stress enough how horrible they are. They are rude, arrogant, argumentative, and downright horrible. I got in an argument with one about the Milan tourist tax that is not indicated on the website. I simply mentioned it and he freaked out about how he would have to "call and email" HostelBookers so he "couldn't change it on the website". The other staff member was simply a frustrated, arrogant, unhelpful, rude, human being. They also make up prices as they go along. We ended up staying an extra night as we didn't want to pack up to change hostels in Milan and both times we paid, they quoted us far higher prices than what was advertised. So both days we booked online and got cheaper prices than the staff had quoted us. Overall, the hostel was good but the staff completely ruined the stay. Worst staff I have literally ever dealt with in 5 months of traveling.

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was fairly easy to find

Disliked: No locks on bathrooms. No plugs in bath. No cutlery to make food.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheapest place I could find in Milan. Place was clean enough, wifi was good, kitchen decent but lacked plates and cutletry. No major downside considering how much cheaper it was that every where else.

Disliked: Needs more plates and knives and forks. 2.40 euros for sheets and 2 euro city tax was written in the fine print, which of course I didn't read.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Almost nothing, the beds were not bad but nothing special

Disliked: The front desk staff was rude. We got charged the bed sheets as we arrived, as if we have chance to say no and go look for a place to stay at midnight. Our room was on the top floor and it's bathroom has Basically nothing. You can not even stand on the shower. There is no soap to wash your hands, not even toilet paper. I guess we're supposed to travel around with toilet paper and soap.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Front desk guys was rude. Shut off lights on us rudely. Wasnt much help on finding things no A.C. just broken fans. Chargedbanper night sheet fee but didnt clean or change sheets. Kicked us out of the kitchen with no where to go so we sat on the floor outside...

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My friend and I stayed here for one night and from the start it was fabulous. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Wifi was good. Free DINNER AND WINE The kitchen was brilliant for socialising and the staff were keen to let us know where the best bars were. Close to the metro and lovely clean rooms to come back to. Thanks guys ! It was awesome :)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability