HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 42%

Location 55%

Safety 52%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 95.66USD
  • Breakfast 2.13USD
  • Linen 2.55USD
  • Towel 0.53USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 43%

Cleanliness 46%

Facilities 42%

Location 55%

Safety 52%

Staff 42%

Value 52%

Showing 21-30 of 75 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Supermarkets run by non native italians are near and open for a long time.

Disliked: It is quite far from center. The district is full of non native italians.Hidden charges. Everyone can enter the room. No toilet paper in the toilet in the first day. Toilet cannot be locked, so everyone can enter while you are in the shower or making a poo. The room was supposed to be 14 person large, but there were like 20+ beds inside.


The property's response is

I was to paid 28 euro on arrival, but including taxes it was 38 euro for two nights.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Everything about it

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff and localisation

Disliked: To pay for sheets..they must enter this amount in the total price from the beginning

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: HIDDEN CHARGES...the prices doesn't contain several hidden charges. Extra for the leans and for taxes.There is NO HEATING...in winter at night it is a huge problem.The crew is VERY RUDE...at the arrival. There is NO TOILET PAPER and a bathroom is VERY DIRTY.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The heater. Thelamp.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: not far from the metro station

Disliked: No friendly stuff, very small space ( You have only 1 bed and very small cabinet). There was no doorlockers for cupboards. The stuff told me that I have to use my own, but I don't have it.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: I paid 35 E/night and I wash in a 14 bed room, with 1 toilet insider. There were available some lockers (not enough for everyone) and I couldn't get any lock from the reception. The room was dirty, the heating wasn't working and even the toilet was dirty with no toilet paper. not advisable.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfy beds, bicycle place downstairs to keep it safe, closed gate after 21.00. Safe and good location.

Disliked: Bed sheets are purchased separately?! Really?! Are you kidding? Why can't you write the normal price that includes the whole services. It does not seem like an option to sleep with no bed sheets so why are they purchased separately. The total arrived over 20€ even though Hostelboolers stated 17€.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was not very far from the metro station.The internet was good, always working.The rooms were clean.

Disliked: The beds are really close one to each other, you could hug the person in the next bed without much effort.They say you only have to pay for linen if you book a bed under 17 euro. We paid 21.90 euro for bed, and were still asked to pay the linen.In the last night we were moved to another room, with obviously more beds, so cheaper, but we got nothing in exchange. They gave us a double bed in this room, without being asked before, assuming maybe that me and my friend were a couple. Also, i was the only girl in the room that night, even though they could leave us in the room we got at first. (they said we were the only ones left in that room, so they want it completely empty, in case some group shows up).I think you could find a better alternative with for just an insignificant amount of money.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty floor in the bedroom

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability