HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

60.7% Overall Rating

413 out of 730 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

christopher redmond thinks…

"particularly the people who worked there and the other guests. all very relaxed, friendly and interesting."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Linen USD 3.24
  • Towel USD 0.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
28.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
20.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 262 reviews
Hotel Alba
20.25 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.2% 292 reviews
Hotel Ambra
1.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.4% 184 reviews
Hotel Galla
24.29 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
44.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
25.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
24.29 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 59.9% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.7%

Overall Rating

413 out of 730 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
64.0%
Value
62.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 398 of 672 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kristina Tothova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: * location is close to the Central station. It is not really in the center, but we needed to catch early bus to the airport * safety, no need to lock the door

Disliked: it is not really clean, but for one night it is ok. It is more student dormitory hostel, but for that money,what we paid, it is ok

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013

Liked: This hotel was not worth of money even if it was cheap!

Disliked: Staff was rude and took extra money to own pocket. City tax should have been couple of euros and it was 12 euros!! Toilets and showers are awful. In 12 persons dorm they only have one toilet + shower. Kitchen is dirty and there is not much ecuipments.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kornelia radomska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 kornelia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Pacesova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: was value for money

Disliked: location was a bit far from old town

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Luis Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 June 2013

Liked: cheap

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013

Liked: Not much besides it being cheap

Disliked: It was very unsanitary with bugs in the bathroom.very far from the center and hidden charges.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Syazwan Khairi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2013

Liked: It had a common room where you can chill out and meet people

Disliked: everything except the common room. even the common room closes at 11. they charge extra for bed linen per night. ive never stayed at a hostel that charged linen per night, and if they did, they would change it everyday, in which this hostel didnt. they charged people differently, from where they booked, some people paid as high as 13 euros per night and in comparison i paid 7,50 per night. there were no keys to your room, and the rooms are not good, one room you have to go through another room and go up a winding stairs so people who checked in late turned the lights on to go through the room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a low price bed not far from the centre in an expensive city this is a very good option. That's all i needed and it worked very well. Not too noisy either.

Disliked: Look, for 8Euro50 I don't expect great security or frills -neither should you. In summer heat in the rooms might be an issue.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Muhammad Anis uddin Nasir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: they charge more money later

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Guilherme de Almeida Gasque

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: Only the localization

Disliked: We paid more than we booked because we had to pay the extras costs, but if it`s a extra cost, we only pay if we want the service.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: 1. The room does not have a locker!!!! 2. The guy at receiption is very rude!!!! When I doubted his service, he said if you like you can stay, if not, you can just go!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2013

Liked: Ho fatto la prenotazione su hostelbookers, mi scalano il deposito.... quando arrivo li mi dicono che la mia carta e' stata rifiutata (come fanno a scalarmi i soldi e rifiutarmi la carta, una normale postepay?) e che la mia prenotazione non c'e' piu... mi offrono una letto in stanza da 10 a 50 euro e lo prendo se no non so dove dormire, morale della favole ho speso quasi 60 euro per dormire una notte in una stanza da 10, in un ostello dove cmq non ci sono ne servizi ne niente. ma gli ostelli non dovevano essere a basso prezzo? come si fa a pagare 50 euro per dormire quasi con in un dormitorio?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Tiina Keskisimonen

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Tiina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the sheets were clean and the blanket was warm enough. There was warm water 24/7. If you don't mind walking long distances and feeling a bit unsecure with your stuff or person, this is the adventure for you!

Disliked: It is further than you would expect from any buss stop or metro line. The distances described are too optimistic. The sign outside was just a A4-paper taped to the side of the building. There were people going through the room I was staying in to go to their own room. ****** They aded 'city tax' to the price even though my reservation and confirmation said that the amount due at the destination was about 40eur. When I got to the hostel, thay said I have to pay the city tax and for the linen so the end amount was over 80eur!!! ****** AND if you check out early, they do not give any refund on your money. "it is too late since you have already paid to give anything back" !!!!!!! The free Wi-Fi didn't work anywhere else than the common room on the top floor and the cosy breakfast they say they have in their introduction, I never saw it. And the cosy common room is not that cosy. The free kitchen they have in the top floor, connected to the common room is in poor condition and there is not enough room for everyone to keep their food items if they decide to buy more than for one day. The kitchenware to cook with is very poor too. The staff is not that friendly. I saw exactly 2 guys during my stay alternating at the desk, and when the guy went for a smoke on the common room, there was no one at the desk so that's it about the 24hr security with the camera they have at the door. The beds are not sturdy and they make sounds everytime you move. The lockers you can put your stuff behind a lock, is made from plastic. I think I forgot something, but you got the picture... And I wouldn't have minded all these things if the price would have been the promised 40eur (for 10 nights) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Inger Helene Mosland

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Inger Helene would recommend this property

Liked: it was polite and helpfull staff and nice and clean rooms. Internett in the common aera (not always very good internet). Kitchen. The other people living there where also very nice.

Disliked: smoking in the common aera, could have cleaned the bathroom more often. Noise at nigth, could have been better internet connection.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cheap and the guy in the reception was really nice.

Disliked: I disliked the bathrooms, they were not enought for so many people and they were not clean as well. I thought that it was everything a little cold too, I do not know if the heater was working well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, accomodating staff, generally clean, well kempt

Disliked: difficult to find

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michele Gregorini

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean (sufficiently)

Disliked: Michele left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013

Liked: Quite nothing. There is some supermarkets near there, and it's easy to achieve the center by walking (but you need at least 1 hour of non-stop walking). I really don't know what more to answer to that question, even if I think of it for a while...

Disliked: I have felt that this hostel only wants my money and it doesn't think of my satisfaction staying there. In general, the staff is not as friendly and dynamic as the profile tries to convey. It's not a safe place and it's not a safe hostel to stay. The rooms doesn't close its doors in the night, and sometimes the front door of the hostel is not correctly closed (it's an advice in that door to close correctly but well...). Read the other reviews and you will understand it faster... Too much half-trues in the hostel's profile and in the same hostel... Anyway, what I dislike the most is the extra charges not initially included in the prices and, in general, all this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013

Liked: its cheep and easy to get to a little difficult to find but its ok!

Disliked: did not feel very safe.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sandor Jonas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Sandor would recommend this property

Liked: price is good ,staff is good ,wifi is good ,hot water in the shower is good.

Disliked: far in the city center

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

andreas kasparis

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: smell very bad every ware , for 13 bed they have only one plag for charger , ishower not lock , soap not have for shower and wash hand , toilet paiper not have , only one day i was see a roll and was dirty on the floure , the machine for visa card not work , i was 4 days there and i listen to say to all customers (im sorry just now broke , wifi was very bad connection and very slow , is very bad hostel

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013

Liked: I only liked the fact that the hostel was the fact that the housekeeper was pleasant, kind and efficient with his job.

Disliked: It's not in a safe location. Appearently the front door is supposed to be closed and it wasn't. My friend and I were returning back to the hostel around 8pm and to get into the actual building you have to press a button and the person at the reception desk lets us in. We were let in, but then I was attacked by a random stranger on the hostel stairs. I screamed bloody murder for a little over two minutes and after the person attacking me was able to get a hold of my phone he escaped and that's when people came down. The man at the reception desk which is right at the top of the stairs claimed that he wasn't at the reception desk, but that could not have been true because someone was looking at the camera to let us in. He also claimed that he did not here me screaming, but everyone else in the hostel heard me. It was actully others who were staying in the hostel who eventually came to my aid. The hostel worker insisted that it was our fault that I got attacked and was reluctant to call the police. I had to call the police on my own and ended up going to the hospital to find out I have sprained wrist.. The hostel is not in a good location. The receptionist was also reluctant to show the video of the incident to the police when it clearly shows someone strange trying to get in behind my friend and I. If it is supposed to be 24 reception and they claim someone is always watching the cameras then someone should've known that I was in trouble and that someone unknown had entered the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Ugraded me to a female-only room when there was a bed available for no extra charge.

Disliked: Room had a cracked window and the radiator was on a timer so was a bit cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Mikolajczak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 February 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good facilities, the best value for money

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ilias Fanteev

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Ilias would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful stuff, good wi-fi.

Disliked: The bathroom lock broken, not enough plugs in the room.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels