HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

61.3% Overall Rating

418 out of 739 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Vandini Pathak thinks…

"The staff was very nice and helpful. They were good people who received me at reception and also they have a good and clean rooms."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 113.85
  • Breakfast USD 2.53
  • Linen USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
29.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 111 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Alba
17.71 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
20.24 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.3%

Overall Rating

418 out of 739 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
62.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 402 of 680 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksander Górski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest possible in Milan, great location and SUPERIOR staff (Host gave us map and pointed most important things to see and do in Milan and also the best Apperitive in Milano - ASK HIM OUT !!)

Disliked: Nights are cold, no heating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anya adrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Anya would recommend this property

Liked: Located 45 mins walk from the Duomo and 5 subway station is really well placed. the neighborhood and calme.The hostel is clean and responsible smiling and giving good adviceTo exit, A bar 'The Lambrate is a 10min walk and serves 10In pressure of beer quality.The rooms are quite large.The ground, showers and toilets are clean.

Disliked: Anya left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010

Liked: This hostel is the most terrible hostel I have ever known.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel even for my worst enemy. The only worse thing than sleeping in this hostel is sleeping on the street. If you have no other place to go I suggest sleeping in the airport, at least you'll be warm there. The heating system in this hostel didn't work, it was terrifically cold when I was there, the temperature inside the room was just around 2 or 3 degrees. To tremendously stress onto the matter they gave me a blanket which was no thicker than a bed sheet and refused giving me another one when I asked. The staffs were rude and unhepful, the kitchen was dirty and they have a very annoying dog. Stay away from this hostel, there are lots of many better in Milan.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2010

Liked: Met nice people there. Staff was friendly though they didnt manage to solve or answer almost any of our doubts and probs.

Disliked: The place is run down and dirty. Cigarette-buds and dog crap on the kitchen floor! There was no heating for the first 24h and very thin quilts so we all slept in trousers sweaters and socks and the jacket on top of the quilt and still I shivered through the night... We asked for more quilts and were told to be pacient! The next day they fixed the heat but it didn't really make much difference, had to sleep with the same acessoirs again (I never sleep in anything more than my boxers at home, and I'm swedish). The guys working there were nice but hard to get hold of and they failed to answer or solve most of our inquires.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jiří Urbášek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

28 November 2010

Liked: internet connection

Disliked: In the hostel they have no heating so it was damn cold in the night. Terrible experience. Moreover rooms for couples are directly next to the office and between bathrooms so you cannot sleep because either someone is having a shower or speaking in the office. I did not really sleep any night I was there. The kitchen was quite dirty, but it is probably more about the people living there. This was the worst thing I ever experienced and would suggest to others, avoid this hostel if possible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

25 November 2010

Liked: Hostel was clean, even the bathroom and toilet in the rooms. Guy on reception desk, if he was there, was wery helpfull.

Disliked: As it was November, the room was very cold. We were wery disappointed with the condition of the kitchen. Dirty (probably still under construction), very badly equipped with furniture and dishes, cold kitchen without any of lounge area, where you can meet people. The biggest dissapointmen was - it wasn´t possible to lock the room, we didn´t obtain any keys, it was just electronic locking from reception. When there was nobody, the room stayed open.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matus Pollak

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: staff, no heating...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010

Liked: Its cheap, free wifi

Disliked: Very cold rooms everything is freezing and you just sleep under an itchy blanket that doesnt really keep you warm. They really should consider getting some sort of heating. There is no common room or anywhere to sit besides 1 couch where the reception is. It says on there site that linen is free but you have to pay 2euro pp. Didnt see a bar? Breakfast isnt actually at the hostel. The private double should be cheaper you dont even pay that much each for a nice hotel. Oh and im pretty sure all the windows dont close properly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marzena Klepacka

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

23 November 2010

Liked: 1.price2.quite good location (15 minutes by metro to the city center)

Disliked: 1. The dog uses kitchen as his toilet, it was really disgusting! (It is not a puppy!) 2. Cold shower. 3. Freezing rooms (even staff wore jackets and scarves inside). 4. Problem with cleanliness. 5. Problem with communication in English (staff tried to be nice, but it was not enough to get all needed information).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hanna walkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 hanna would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap, clean, secure and friendly :)

Disliked: hanna left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010

Liked: I liked nothing!

Disliked: I didn't like this place, not at all! First of all, the location is not good. It's really difficult to find this place. And The Stuff are not so friendly, even they try to be. There was no towel personally! Place was really cold! And there is no good place around this hostel to have fun. I do NOT definitely recommend this hostel!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and good enough for just 2 nights. One of the attendants was quite friendly and both were helpful. The beds are comfortable too!

Disliked: The beds were not ready upon arrival. Cold shower for the first couple minutes. FREEZING rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff friendly givin us great tips about the city, specialy the dog Diablo.

Disliked: Kitchen not really clean.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Toilets poor Cleanliness of room and bed the climate in room(cold) the type of room is not as we requested. not secure, no lock room. poor internet connection.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice. It had big rooms an a real space to function as a kitchen. It is really super...

Disliked: I don't think that I have something to blame this hostel for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Patrick Kidd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and fun to spend time with in the evenings. The place was a bit dingy but if you take it at face value and don't expect the earth you will have a really great time. Also, the cutest dog in existence lives here.

Disliked: No locks on the room doors was a concern, but nothing was stolen as staff about 24/7. Other than that, the shower room was a bit dirty, but not disgustingly so, and was cleaned during the day. Was a bit hard to reach if you had no map.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ruengkiat Ruengpreechavech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Many things

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: not so clean all the time bathroom wise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Skaftouros

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 November 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, Relaxed, Free Internet, management very generous.

Disliked: Showers, It was always very cold at night, Common room closes after about 12, common room not very hygienic and not the best place to meet other people.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We can park for free, in the street next to California.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010

Liked: cheap

Disliked: inconvenient place and one of a reception he can't speak English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price was good, and the location

Disliked: It was a little bit cold at night

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Buthe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010

Liked: Cheap, good place to stay if you just need to crash for the night in milan, very clean.

Disliked: Far from the center, kind of in a sketchy area at night, we couldn't figure out how to turn on the heater so our room was absolutely freezing, the common room is more like an unfinished attic filled with random stuff they found on the streets.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 November 2010

Liked: staff, if anything...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels