HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan

Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 48%

Location 64%

Safety 64%

Staff 58%

Value 56%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 106.42USD
  • Breakfast 2.36USD
  • Linen 2.84USD
  • Towel 0.59USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 48%

Location 64%

Safety 64%

Staff 58%

Value 56%

Showing 141-93 of 93 reviews

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: peut être le calme...

Disliked: Personnel pas agréable, pas d'ambiance, chambre en plein dans le passage de l'entrée, douches sales, couloir/dortoirs/terasse en travaux, literie d'apparance propre mais supcons de puces de lit...

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Close by to train station and relatively near main attractions. Some good local ristorantes and bars.

Disliked: We had booked a private room with bathroom but when we turned up we were informed that there was an error and so only had a dorm option or had to go to a partner hostel. Opted for the dorm which was cheaper but not what wanted.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Seriously nothing

Disliked: I paid for 3 nights and I leave the hostel in the first night. If you want a very bad experince go this hostel, maybe is cheap but is better sleep in the street.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: vicinanza metro, supermercati, pizzerie,

Disliked: pulizia

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I payed for 14-bed mixed room and I got 6-bed female one! They are supernice :)

Disliked: My friend, who was helping with my bags wasn't even allowed to enter the room!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, great location (on the main street of Riomaggiore), very clean, recently renovated, perfect!

Disliked: Only dislike I can think of is that there was no wi-fi - the rest was great!

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: do not book here!!!!

Disliked: do not book here!!!! i booked a room for a couple of nights. showed up and they had given away my space! they then said i would be moved to their sister hostel across town. they lied and said it was not far away... it turns out the hostel wasnt even on the map of milano and took almost and hour to get to the center of city by tram and subway! you ha to take a bus or tram to the nearest subway. the other people at the "hostel" were paying 5 euros a night... i was not refunded even though i was paying more than this. do not risk it booking here! find a better place to stay. the actucal hostel is in a bad part of town.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really good price.

Disliked: There wasn't free room in hostel California despite it was booked. They moved us to another hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: very good quality/price ratio in such an expensive city, cooking facilities, sometimes you get better room (less guests) than you paid for.

Disliked: x

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The price was good, kitchen facilities were great to have (and there is a grocery store very close by), the staff was nice, and the beds were comfortable. If you are here short term and want to save money, this is good.

Disliked: The directions to get here were a little off. I didn't like that there was smoking in the common areas. Definitely not enough bathrooms. On my last night some girls checked in to my dorm after 12, which was annoying. It was even more annoying because they were loud with their stuff and then stayed up laughing and giggling loudly. The staff can't help their annoyingness, but i thought the latest checkin was earlier than midnight.

Check Availability