HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 44%

Location 62%

Safety 58%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 108.21USD
  • Breakfast 2.40USD
  • Linen 2.89USD
  • Towel 0.60USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 44%

Location 62%

Safety 58%

Staff 54%

Value 54%

Showing 141-80 of 80 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The price

Disliked: The bathroom has the ceiling at a very short height; it is allowed to smoke in the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not great location- a good few metro stops and directions to it made it difficult to find.

Disliked: An okay common area for meeting people- otherwise standard beds and rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really cheap place to stay, good atmosphere and great staff

Disliked: the hostel is a bit of a walk to the centre, though it is close to public transport. The bathrooms could have done with a really good clean. Also they need to change the directions they have here as they are a bit wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i enjoyed the people that i met over my stay. also there is a great pizza place just down the road and some good bars near by. the commen room is a good place to meet new people and the free wifi has helped me stay intouch with my family and friends near by. the reception staff were helpfull in telling me how to get around and where is good to go. they also knew prices of how to get to the airport and what was the cheapest option. i am glad to say that i have enjoyed my stay in hostel california very much and am sad to say my farewells to the people today.

Disliked: the heat in the rooms was to much to handle, also the commen room could use an aircon as many people sit and smoke in the room and there is no real strong air flow to get the smoke out or even let in some cool air.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: peut être le calme...

Disliked: Personnel pas agréable, pas d'ambiance, chambre en plein dans le passage de l'entrée, douches sales, couloir/dortoirs/terasse en travaux, literie d'apparance propre mais supcons de puces de lit...

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Close by to train station and relatively near main attractions. Some good local ristorantes and bars.

Disliked: We had booked a private room with bathroom but when we turned up we were informed that there was an error and so only had a dorm option or had to go to a partner hostel. Opted for the dorm which was cheaper but not what wanted.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Seriously nothing

Disliked: I paid for 3 nights and I leave the hostel in the first night. If you want a very bad experince go this hostel, maybe is cheap but is better sleep in the street.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: vicinanza metro, supermercati, pizzerie,

Disliked: pulizia

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I payed for 14-bed mixed room and I got 6-bed female one! They are supernice :)

Disliked: My friend, who was helping with my bags wasn't even allowed to enter the room!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, great location (on the main street of Riomaggiore), very clean, recently renovated, perfect!

Disliked: Only dislike I can think of is that there was no wi-fi - the rest was great!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability