We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

52.6% Overall Rating

421 out of 749 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Anna Hoad thinks…

"The hostel was a relatively good location, not too far from the nearest metro that would get you to the main center to see the beautiful city of Milan. And for one night's stay it was a roof over our…"

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 97.05
  • Breakfast USD 2.16
  • Linen USD 2.59
  • Towel USD 0.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
22.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
16.17 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 294 reviews
Hotel Ambra
10.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.0% 187 reviews
Hotel Galla
17.79 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
34.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.6%

Overall Rating

421 out of 749 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
53.6%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
54.4%
Value
55.2%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 408 of 689 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graham Humphrey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: bit of a ways away from the center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything,location, big rooms and kitchen, very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christine Pizzuti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: There is a great atmosphere at Hostel California and this is largely due to the friendly, welcoming and helpful staff that are always readily available. The facilities are clean and I ended up meeting some really nice travellers there as well. The location is good in that it is only a 10 minute walk to great shopping on Corso Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Some small renovation works that are currently being completed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is definately one of the cheapest places to stay in Milan, the staff are helpful and there was free wi-fi.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold at night even with extra blankets so take really warm clothes with you for sleeping in. As the hostel was out of the city centre it was not easy to get to after midnight as the metro shuts early, so be prepared for this is arriving late. There are also no lockers in the rooms and the room doors are not locked so be careful about bringing valuables.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and very frindely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

01 December 2010

Liked: nothing!!

Disliked: everything!! It was the worst hostel I have ever stayed In! The room smelled awful! The guy at the desk wasn't there when we woke up and needed him to call a cab for us so I had to knock on the door until he came out and he was drunk and smelled of booze!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksander Górski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest possible in Milan, great location and SUPERIOR staff (Host gave us map and pointed most important things to see and do in Milan and also the best Apperitive in Milano - ASK HIM OUT !!)

Disliked: Nights are cold, no heating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anya adrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Anya would recommend this property

Liked: Located 45 mins walk from the Duomo and 5 subway station is really well placed. the neighborhood and calme.The hostel is clean and responsible smiling and giving good adviceTo exit, A bar 'The Lambrate is a 10min walk and serves 10In pressure of beer quality.The rooms are quite large.The ground, showers and toilets are clean.

Disliked: Anya left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010

Liked: This hostel is the most terrible hostel I have ever known.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel even for my worst enemy. The only worse thing than sleeping in this hostel is sleeping on the street. If you have no other place to go I suggest sleeping in the airport, at least you'll be warm there. The heating system in this hostel didn't work, it was terrifically cold when I was there, the temperature inside the room was just around 2 or 3 degrees. To tremendously stress onto the matter they gave me a blanket which was no thicker than a bed sheet and refused giving me another one when I asked. The staffs were rude and unhepful, the kitchen was dirty and they have a very annoying dog. Stay away from this hostel, there are lots of many better in Milan.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2010

Liked: Met nice people there. Staff was friendly though they didnt manage to solve or answer almost any of our doubts and probs.

Disliked: The place is run down and dirty. Cigarette-buds and dog crap on the kitchen floor! There was no heating for the first 24h and very thin quilts so we all slept in trousers sweaters and socks and the jacket on top of the quilt and still I shivered through the night... We asked for more quilts and were told to be pacient! The next day they fixed the heat but it didn't really make much difference, had to sleep with the same acessoirs again (I never sleep in anything more than my boxers at home, and I'm swedish). The guys working there were nice but hard to get hold of and they failed to answer or solve most of our inquires.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jiří Urbášek

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010

Liked: internet connection

Disliked: In the hostel they have no heating so it was damn cold in the night. Terrible experience. Moreover rooms for couples are directly next to the office and between bathrooms so you cannot sleep because either someone is having a shower or speaking in the office. I did not really sleep any night I was there. The kitchen was quite dirty, but it is probably more about the people living there. This was the worst thing I ever experienced and would suggest to others, avoid this hostel if possible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2010

Liked: Hostel was clean, even the bathroom and toilet in the rooms. Guy on reception desk, if he was there, was wery helpfull.

Disliked: As it was November, the room was very cold. We were wery disappointed with the condition of the kitchen. Dirty (probably still under construction), very badly equipped with furniture and dishes, cold kitchen without any of lounge area, where you can meet people. The biggest dissapointmen was - it wasn´t possible to lock the room, we didn´t obtain any keys, it was just electronic locking from reception. When there was nobody, the room stayed open.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matus Pollak

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: staff, no heating...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010

Liked: Its cheap, free wifi

Disliked: Very cold rooms everything is freezing and you just sleep under an itchy blanket that doesnt really keep you warm. They really should consider getting some sort of heating. There is no common room or anywhere to sit besides 1 couch where the reception is. It says on there site that linen is free but you have to pay 2euro pp. Didnt see a bar? Breakfast isnt actually at the hostel. The private double should be cheaper you dont even pay that much each for a nice hotel. Oh and im pretty sure all the windows dont close properly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marzena Klepacka

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010

Liked: 1.price2.quite good location (15 minutes by metro to the city center)

Disliked: 1. The dog uses kitchen as his toilet, it was really disgusting! (It is not a puppy!) 2. Cold shower. 3. Freezing rooms (even staff wore jackets and scarves inside). 4. Problem with cleanliness. 5. Problem with communication in English (staff tried to be nice, but it was not enough to get all needed information).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hanna walkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 hanna would recommend this property

Liked: it is cheap, clean, secure and friendly :)

Disliked: hanna left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010

Liked: I liked nothing!

Disliked: I didn't like this place, not at all! First of all, the location is not good. It's really difficult to find this place. And The Stuff are not so friendly, even they try to be. There was no towel personally! Place was really cold! And there is no good place around this hostel to have fun. I do NOT definitely recommend this hostel!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and good enough for just 2 nights. One of the attendants was quite friendly and both were helpful. The beds are comfortable too!

Disliked: The beds were not ready upon arrival. Cold shower for the first couple minutes. FREEZING rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff friendly givin us great tips about the city, specialy the dog Diablo.

Disliked: Kitchen not really clean.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2010

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Toilets poor Cleanliness of room and bed the climate in room(cold) the type of room is not as we requested. not secure, no lock room. poor internet connection.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nice. It had big rooms an a real space to function as a kitchen. It is really super...

Disliked: I don't think that I have something to blame this hostel for.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Patrick Kidd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and fun to spend time with in the evenings. The place was a bit dingy but if you take it at face value and don't expect the earth you will have a really great time. Also, the cutest dog in existence lives here.

Disliked: No locks on the room doors was a concern, but nothing was stolen as staff about 24/7. Other than that, the shower room was a bit dirty, but not disgustingly so, and was cleaned during the day. Was a bit hard to reach if you had no map.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ruengkiat Ruengpreechavech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Many things

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: not so clean all the time bathroom wise


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels