We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

44.7% Overall Rating

427 out of 768 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

"As a photographer, the room I stayed in had a roof that was slanted which provided beautiful sun light that entered through the rooftop window. It was also mosquito free which was nice, compared to Florence."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 98.71
  • Breakfast USD 2.19
  • Linen USD 2.63
  • Towel USD 0.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
31.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.9% 112 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
13.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.4% 270 reviews
Hotel Alba
25.22 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.5% 295 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 190 reviews
Hotel Galla
24.13 USD

Hostel 67.7% 111 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
36.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Monteverdigarden
13.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
27.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
44.7%

Overall Rating

427 out of 768 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
45.6%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
43.2%
Value
48.8%
Safety
51.2%
Refine your results Showing 416 of 708 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011

Liked: Rooms were quite cozy

Disliked: Hotel staff, they drank beer at work and were never actually at the reception.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful and the whole place had a good vibe. Its a quick walk to the Lorento metro stop which was great.

Disliked: Nothing, it's a typical hostel- not a four star hotel. Worth the $$$!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011

Liked: They have kitchen that you can use. The bathroom is quite big but I think they should seperate it into two that more people can use in the same time.

Disliked: The location is not so close but it is ok for me. Though they have common place to cook and meet people but it's smoking area. I can't stay there for long cause I don't smoke and I feel really uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roomes are nice

Disliked: one of the brothers is not nice the other one is really nice

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I got money stolen from me in the reception because no one is ever there.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011

Liked: it was easy to find from the train station

Disliked: the place was absolutely awful... cold. still under construction. I don't think i slept at all through the night. people were partying and drinking, but the walls are so paper thin that you can hear everything. from the outside and inside. i do not recommend this hostel to anyone... ever

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool and nice people - good fun and play like it in the hostel warranted

Disliked: Very cool and nice people - good fun and play like it in the hostel warranted

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i mostly liked the friendly atmosphere in this place, which was strictly connected with great possibility to get to know people from all over the world. a room was cleant every day.

Disliked: kitchen is a mess, at the time of our arrival it was being rebuilt, so there was a lot of dust, dirt and noise, that we weren't informed of before. but still i loved its atmosphere ;>

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Marcin Pawlewski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011

Liked: The advantage is the location only.

Disliked: I have been accommodated in a larger room than booked. The hostel is a building site, it is terribly dirty. Dirty bathrooms, dirty rooms, the lack of anything for personal items. But that's nothing. I got up completely sleepy. Hostel staff with some guests organized the party - there was no chance for sleeping, half the night screaming, slamming doors and the drunken howls. The door to our room was always opened and closed, someone vomited in our bathroom. Never again.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Antonio Rodriguez Villarin

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: When we arrive we had to move to another hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very fun to hang out with people in the common room

Disliked: difficult to find

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2011

Liked: The friendliness and companionship of all guests and workers at the hostel.

Disliked: To dirty, the building is under construction and repairs and is working like there is nothing happening. They don't accept credit card or debit card only cash.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011

Liked: It is possible to sleep there.

Disliked: The staff was terrible. They didn't check e-mails. A receptionist woke me in the night because he remembered, that he gave me wrong receipt. We didn't get linen and the hostel was dirty.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 February 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty, cold , unsecure

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of the stuff

Disliked: it was quite cold at night and in the morning it was very noisy because of the birds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect value for the price: nice beds, really hot shower, a map on arrival.

Disliked: loud: people coming home anytime during the night made a lot of noise - but that was expectable

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Emily Stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011

Liked: Cheap place to stay

Disliked: unclean, unfriendly staff, woken up early in the morning

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: room feels cold.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: The linen is clean. The kitchen is quite nice (though we didn't use it )

Disliked: very not organized reception. we wait almost 1 hr to get our room but actually, it is not like a room. (it is like a aisle connecting two other rooms.) will be interrupt by people coming back and out the heater is very weak. We are so cold that we wake up again and again. some people are loud in night and 5 in the morning... the bathroom is very bad. the shower is like SPA.... (in some way...) it is a stream of water coming from a hole on the wall. the floor in the bathroom is really wet, my companion even almost flipped.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is a big lobby and kicken in the hostel, where we can meet alot of friends

Disliked: the room is very cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: toliet in room, big kitchen and lounge area

Disliked: no lock

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011

Liked: was alright. cheap

Disliked: poor shower, cold room. uncomfortable bed , bed bug far away from the city centre, poor security system

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This is the worst place that i have ever been in Europe. The staff were too rude! They just care about their beers and drinks. One guy was always smelly like beer when i wanted to ask about the city. They don't care about you, and i had to move two times to differents rooms because they made a "mistake". The showers were OK. The common area was dirty, messy, dark and smely! A nightmare!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was quite nice.

Disliked: There could be security problem because there is no safe to put your things you just left your bags in your room.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels