HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

56.0% Overall Rating

410 out of 723 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

Daniela Albuquerque thinks…

"Its a hostel for persons that just want a place for sleeping. There are only 2 bathroon, so you need to adapte on this situation. Its a good place."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.21
  • Linen USD 3.32
  • Towel USD 0.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
27.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 109 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
17.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 257 reviews
Hotel Alba
18.65 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 75.2% 285 reviews
Hotel Ambra
13.81 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.7% 180 reviews
Hotel Galla
23.48 USD

Hostel 68.8% 108 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
45.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
26.25 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.34 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 65.0% 91 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.0%

Overall Rating

410 out of 723 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
58.4%
Value
54.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 667 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This is the worst place that i have ever been in Europe. The staff were too rude! They just care about their beers and drinks. One guy was always smelly like beer when i wanted to ask about the city. They don't care about you, and i had to move two times to differents rooms because they made a "mistake". The showers were OK. The common area was dirty, messy, dark and smely! A nightmare!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was quite nice.

Disliked: There could be security problem because there is no safe to put your things you just left your bags in your room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Deramore Denver

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, good location

Disliked: v

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010

Liked: price

Disliked: freezing at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed is comfortable, location is not bed.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't reply my several emails, it should be cleaner. The kitchen should be also improved.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Émilie Benoît-Beaulé

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 December 2010 Émilie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and the dorm is comfortable.

Disliked: Theres no lockers in the hostel and the dorm aren't lock. The only security is a buzzer next to the main door...and than you don't have to pass in front of the front desk to get acces to the dorm...so anybody can buzz the door and go to your room...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010

Liked: During my stay I saw 2 guys on reception. The first one I saw early in the morning when I came to drop my backpack and he was too sleepy and might have drunk a lot previous night. I was rather disappointed. The second one that was in the hostel in the evening was really friendly and tried his best to help me with my problems. Other good things: - the prize (it's really cheap) - the kitchen (it's cosy)

Disliked: There were some holes in the walls between the rooms what was not that bad. The worst was the cold!!! It was awfully cold in the room and the heating didn't work well. Moreover, the blankets were terrificly thin! I slept in my clothes and it's still was awfully cold! It was a luck I stayed there just one night. If you need a cheap place, then it must be a good choice. If not, you'd better try another hostel!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alexandre Silva

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010

Liked: almost nothing, very old facilities and poorly maintained

Disliked: look at previous answer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: every thing is good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010

Liked: good value. within walking distance of a decent shopping street.

Disliked: It was very cold. Cold wind kept coming in through the windows all night and the covers on the bed were not exactly thick, so not a good place to stay in the winter. Also there is no duvet cover provided so you basically have to sleep underneath the same duvet that other ppl have slept under. We asked for an extra bed sheet and put it underneath the duvet. The bed linen was not free as advertised on hostelbookers, but cost a couple of eur extra.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graham Humphrey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: bit of a ways away from the center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything,location, big rooms and kitchen, very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christine Pizzuti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: There is a great atmosphere at Hostel California and this is largely due to the friendly, welcoming and helpful staff that are always readily available. The facilities are clean and I ended up meeting some really nice travellers there as well. The location is good in that it is only a 10 minute walk to great shopping on Corso Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Some small renovation works that are currently being completed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is definately one of the cheapest places to stay in Milan, the staff are helpful and there was free wi-fi.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold at night even with extra blankets so take really warm clothes with you for sleeping in. As the hostel was out of the city centre it was not easy to get to after midnight as the metro shuts early, so be prepared for this is arriving late. There are also no lockers in the rooms and the room doors are not locked so be careful about bringing valuables.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and very frindely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

01 December 2010

Liked: nothing!!

Disliked: everything!! It was the worst hostel I have ever stayed In! The room smelled awful! The guy at the desk wasn't there when we woke up and needed him to call a cab for us so I had to knock on the door until he came out and he was drunk and smelled of booze!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksander Górski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest possible in Milan, great location and SUPERIOR staff (Host gave us map and pointed most important things to see and do in Milan and also the best Apperitive in Milano - ASK HIM OUT !!)

Disliked: Nights are cold, no heating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anya adrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Anya would recommend this property

Liked: Located 45 mins walk from the Duomo and 5 subway station is really well placed. the neighborhood and calme.The hostel is clean and responsible smiling and giving good adviceTo exit, A bar 'The Lambrate is a 10min walk and serves 10In pressure of beer quality.The rooms are quite large.The ground, showers and toilets are clean.

Disliked: Anya left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010

Liked: This hostel is the most terrible hostel I have ever known.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel even for my worst enemy. The only worse thing than sleeping in this hostel is sleeping on the street. If you have no other place to go I suggest sleeping in the airport, at least you'll be warm there. The heating system in this hostel didn't work, it was terrifically cold when I was there, the temperature inside the room was just around 2 or 3 degrees. To tremendously stress onto the matter they gave me a blanket which was no thicker than a bed sheet and refused giving me another one when I asked. The staffs were rude and unhepful, the kitchen was dirty and they have a very annoying dog. Stay away from this hostel, there are lots of many better in Milan.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2010

Liked: Met nice people there. Staff was friendly though they didnt manage to solve or answer almost any of our doubts and probs.

Disliked: The place is run down and dirty. Cigarette-buds and dog crap on the kitchen floor! There was no heating for the first 24h and very thin quilts so we all slept in trousers sweaters and socks and the jacket on top of the quilt and still I shivered through the night... We asked for more quilts and were told to be pacient! The next day they fixed the heat but it didn't really make much difference, had to sleep with the same acessoirs again (I never sleep in anything more than my boxers at home, and I'm swedish). The guys working there were nice but hard to get hold of and they failed to answer or solve most of our inquires.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jiří Urbášek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

28 November 2010

Liked: internet connection

Disliked: In the hostel they have no heating so it was damn cold in the night. Terrible experience. Moreover rooms for couples are directly next to the office and between bathrooms so you cannot sleep because either someone is having a shower or speaking in the office. I did not really sleep any night I was there. The kitchen was quite dirty, but it is probably more about the people living there. This was the worst thing I ever experienced and would suggest to others, avoid this hostel if possible.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

25 November 2010

Liked: Hostel was clean, even the bathroom and toilet in the rooms. Guy on reception desk, if he was there, was wery helpfull.

Disliked: As it was November, the room was very cold. We were wery disappointed with the condition of the kitchen. Dirty (probably still under construction), very badly equipped with furniture and dishes, cold kitchen without any of lounge area, where you can meet people. The biggest dissapointmen was - it wasn´t possible to lock the room, we didn´t obtain any keys, it was just electronic locking from reception. When there was nobody, the room stayed open.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matus Pollak

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: staff, no heating...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010

Liked: Its cheap, free wifi

Disliked: Very cold rooms everything is freezing and you just sleep under an itchy blanket that doesnt really keep you warm. They really should consider getting some sort of heating. There is no common room or anywhere to sit besides 1 couch where the reception is. It says on there site that linen is free but you have to pay 2euro pp. Didnt see a bar? Breakfast isnt actually at the hostel. The private double should be cheaper you dont even pay that much each for a nice hotel. Oh and im pretty sure all the windows dont close properly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels