HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel California Milan Hostel

Via Lambrate,18, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 39%

Location 54%

Safety 55%

Staff 44%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Not Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 101.94USD
  • Breakfast 2.27USD
  • Linen 2.72USD
  • Towel 0.57USD

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email **

Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card.
If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded.
Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price :

- linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price

- city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory )
Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2015 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2015 ( from 13 April 2015 till 19 April 2015 included ) and the EXPO ( FROM 1ST MAY 2015 TILL 31ST OCTOBER 2015 ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before your arrival. The Booking is not refundable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 47%

Facilities 39%

Location 54%

Safety 55%

Staff 44%

Value 54%

Showing 131-72 of 72 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Solo che ha il wifi e la posizione.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I thought the room was of an exeptional standard and surprisingly quiet. Also I really loved having a bathroom in the room.The best bit for me though was just how secure it was. Security access, no keys required and camera's everywhere.Its the first time staying in hostels that I actually left my very expensive guitar unattended and felt like it was safe, which was a real treat :)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Leaving!

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only the price was less, so ideal if you want to spend few hours or just the night.

Disliked: No safety lockers, too many people in same room, suffocating environment, no privacy and security.Don't plan any long stays here...

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price

Disliked: They have charged me for the bed sheets

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice staff who provided basic information about localisation of most important things in Milan, rooms and bathrooms tidied and cleaned up every day, good localisation, good food places around.As for hostel and for such price conditions were at least good. Do not expect as if it was 4-star hotel: bathroom didn't look very well but it was cleaned every day. Sleeping with 12 people in the same room wasn't very comfortable as well but that's a hostel - if you expect to have your own marriage bed don't go to place like California Hostel.In general, all was very good and we left that place having good memories.

Disliked: Weird roommates.Not informing about 'city tax' fare before making payment at the reception desk (not big amounts, like 1E/day per person but still, we weren't informed about that).

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: NOTHING. DISASTER TO STAY IN CALIFORNIA HOSTEL.

Disliked: COMPLETELY. THE STAFF IS HOPELESS. THE BOOKED ROOM WAS NOT GIVEN.IRRESPONSIBLE STAFF.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: not alot. private bathroom i suppose was a plus.

Disliked: I hated it before i even got there. Only after i booked and paid the booking fee did i recieve an email from the telling me that the last two nights would be almost double the price; 15 Euros instead of 8, with no exceptions. Thenn after all the mandatory extras were added when i got there it ended up being 69euros, instead of the 40 or so it was meant to be. ABSURD!

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: close to the railway station and 2 supermarkets

Disliked: no air-conditioning, extremely hot in the rooms, no towels included (although should be according to the description), not much equipment in the kitchen (not even a kettle!!), very dirty everywhere, the staff didn't understand much English

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The lounge was ok.

Disliked: I've done lots of hostels in my life, and this one was definitely the dirtiest; I think the staff is way to busy to do nothing behind their desk to clean the damn bathrooms (and kitchen); even the towel I had to buy was full of orange stains; the toilets had no seats, everything was broken and disgusting; the 16 people dorm it just the worst, bed are really close together and make an awful lot of noise

Check Availability