We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel California

Hostel | Via Lambrate, 18, Milan, Italy 20131

59.7% Overall Rating

417 out of 738 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

christopher redmond thinks…

"particularly the people who worked there and the other guests. all very relaxed, friendly and interesting."

Read all Hostel California reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 114.17
  • Breakfast USD 2.54
  • Linen USD 3.04
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

**Cancellation requests must be sent via email ** Please note that after your booking the Hostel California will do a pre-authorization on your card. If the credit card is not valid or not working the reservation will be cancelled automatically and your deposit won't be refunded. Bed linen and city taxe are n't included in the price : - linen, sheets, maps, and internet are included for prices more than 17 euro per person [prices lower than 17 euro or 17 euro per person per night have to pay 2,40 Euros per night for linen, sheets , map and it will be added automatically at the price - city taxe : 2 € per person per night ( obligatory ) Special Policy for Milan Furniture Fair 2014 : Reservations made for the exhibition (Salone Internazionale Del Mobile) in April 2014 ( from 07 April 2014 till 13 April 2014 included ) are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled or changed. We have the right to charge the total cost before you arrival. The Booking is not refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel La Pace
31.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.7% 110 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Alba
20.30 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Ambra
12.69 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.4% 185 reviews
Hotel Galla
21.57 USD

Hostel 66.4% 109 reviews
Hotel San Francisco
41.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Chopin
25.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
19.03 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.7%

Overall Rating

417 out of 738 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel California'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
56.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
60.8%
Value
63.2%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 401 of 679 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of the stuff

Disliked: it was quite cold at night and in the morning it was very noisy because of the birds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect value for the price: nice beds, really hot shower, a map on arrival.

Disliked: loud: people coming home anytime during the night made a lot of noise - but that was expectable

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Emily Stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011

Liked: Cheap place to stay

Disliked: unclean, unfriendly staff, woken up early in the morning

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: room feels cold.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: The linen is clean. The kitchen is quite nice (though we didn't use it )

Disliked: very not organized reception. we wait almost 1 hr to get our room but actually, it is not like a room. (it is like a aisle connecting two other rooms.) will be interrupt by people coming back and out the heater is very weak. We are so cold that we wake up again and again. some people are loud in night and 5 in the morning... the bathroom is very bad. the shower is like SPA.... (in some way...) it is a stream of water coming from a hole on the wall. the floor in the bathroom is really wet, my companion even almost flipped.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there is a big lobby and kicken in the hostel, where we can meet alot of friends

Disliked: the room is very cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: toliet in room, big kitchen and lounge area

Disliked: no lock

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011

Liked: was alright. cheap

Disliked: poor shower, cold room. uncomfortable bed , bed bug far away from the city centre, poor security system

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: This is the worst place that i have ever been in Europe. The staff were too rude! They just care about their beers and drinks. One guy was always smelly like beer when i wanted to ask about the city. They don't care about you, and i had to move two times to differents rooms because they made a "mistake". The showers were OK. The common area was dirty, messy, dark and smely! A nightmare!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was quite nice.

Disliked: There could be security problem because there is no safe to put your things you just left your bags in your room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Deramore Denver

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: comfy beds, good location

Disliked: v

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010

Liked: price

Disliked: freezing at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed is comfortable, location is not bed.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't reply my several emails, it should be cleaner. The kitchen should be also improved.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Émilie Benoît-Beaulé

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 December 2010 Émilie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and the dorm is comfortable.

Disliked: Theres no lockers in the hostel and the dorm aren't lock. The only security is a buzzer next to the main door...and than you don't have to pass in front of the front desk to get acces to the dorm...so anybody can buzz the door and go to your room...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010

Liked: During my stay I saw 2 guys on reception. The first one I saw early in the morning when I came to drop my backpack and he was too sleepy and might have drunk a lot previous night. I was rather disappointed. The second one that was in the hostel in the evening was really friendly and tried his best to help me with my problems. Other good things: - the prize (it's really cheap) - the kitchen (it's cosy)

Disliked: There were some holes in the walls between the rooms what was not that bad. The worst was the cold!!! It was awfully cold in the room and the heating didn't work well. Moreover, the blankets were terrificly thin! I slept in my clothes and it's still was awfully cold! It was a luck I stayed there just one night. If you need a cheap place, then it must be a good choice. If not, you'd better try another hostel!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alexandre Silva

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010

Liked: almost nothing, very old facilities and poorly maintained

Disliked: look at previous answer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: every thing is good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010

Liked: good value. within walking distance of a decent shopping street.

Disliked: It was very cold. Cold wind kept coming in through the windows all night and the covers on the bed were not exactly thick, so not a good place to stay in the winter. Also there is no duvet cover provided so you basically have to sleep underneath the same duvet that other ppl have slept under. We asked for an extra bed sheet and put it underneath the duvet. The bed linen was not free as advertised on hostelbookers, but cost a couple of eur extra.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Graham Humphrey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: bit of a ways away from the center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything,location, big rooms and kitchen, very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christine Pizzuti

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: There is a great atmosphere at Hostel California and this is largely due to the friendly, welcoming and helpful staff that are always readily available. The facilities are clean and I ended up meeting some really nice travellers there as well. The location is good in that it is only a 10 minute walk to great shopping on Corso Buenos Aires.

Disliked: Some small renovation works that are currently being completed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is definately one of the cheapest places to stay in Milan, the staff are helpful and there was free wi-fi.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold at night even with extra blankets so take really warm clothes with you for sleeping in. As the hostel was out of the city centre it was not easy to get to after midnight as the metro shuts early, so be prepared for this is arriving late. There are also no lockers in the rooms and the room doors are not locked so be careful about bringing valuables.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and very frindely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

01 December 2010

Liked: nothing!!

Disliked: everything!! It was the worst hostel I have ever stayed In! The room smelled awful! The guy at the desk wasn't there when we woke up and needed him to call a cab for us so I had to knock on the door until he came out and he was drunk and smelled of booze!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksander Górski

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest possible in Milan, great location and SUPERIOR staff (Host gave us map and pointed most important things to see and do in Milan and also the best Apperitive in Milano - ASK HIM OUT !!)

Disliked: Nights are cold, no heating.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels