HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Scream Hostel

Hostel | Viale Monza 111, Milan, Italy 20127

73.4% Overall Rating

223 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

"Other stayers there were cool to talk to. You always saw someone in the hallway to talk to. Good comfortable atmosphere. Clean and the lady at the desk will help you if you ask her. She also pretty much lives there, so…"

Read all Scream Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

From 1 September 2013 the taxes is 2 € for person/night

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Black&White Hostel
12.44 USD

Hostel 67.1% 191 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Metro
45.61 USD

Hotel 5 star 74.9% 32 reviews
Euro Inn B&B
9.68 USD

Guesthouse 65.3% 256 reviews
Lovely Gazebo
48.38 USD

Apartment 97.1% 4 reviews
Hotel Siro
33.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.5% 3 reviews
El Paso
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 51 reviews
Seven heaven
35.38 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 8 reviews
Hostel California
9.66 USD

Hostel 56.0% 723 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

223 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Scream Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 278 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Other stayers there were cool to talk to. You always saw someone in the hallway to talk to. Good comfortable atmosphere. Clean and the lady at the desk will help you if you ask her. She also pretty much lives there, so dont get on her bad side.

Disliked: There wasnt lockers available to me. The lady at the desk said someone had the locker, and its almost like the only locker they had. The rooms themselves were kept clean, but there also wanst somewhere i can put my stuff, shelf etc.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014

Liked: Its cheap

Disliked: Everything. Terribel place...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Olivia McCaffrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014

Liked: The place had great character - seemed like sort of old hotel or apartment - very picturesque however, there was no air conditioning and rather cramped. I slept in a small room with 7 other people and it was too much. The area was quite rough as well. Nevertheless, there were good metro links and the Carrefour was close.

Disliked: No air conditioning which is vital in Italy in July.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly people, value for money

Disliked: Nothing really going on there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far one of the cheapest hostel in Milano. If you are traveling on a budget. You must go here . The locations is perfect and the staff is very friendly. Not the best hostel I have stayed in, but I liked it.

Disliked: There were a few things that' I dislike about this hostel. 1) the whole hostel smells like smoke. I saw a few people smoking in the kitchen and the lady in the front desk smokes all the time. It sucks because the smell of smoke is gross to me. 2) the door in the restroom takes forever to close 3) you have to be out of the room evey day by 11 am for cleaning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Csenger Sarkadi

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

11 February 2014 Csenger would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly

Disliked: nothin

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, close to metro, price.

Disliked: The €2 for tax, no receipt given even when asked for. I think they keep it for them.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. It has a kitchen you can use. 2. Great location. 3. Cheap.

Disliked: 1. In case of few nights in dorms, Credit Cards are not accepted. 2. Despite you pay €2 for tax, they don't give you an official tax receipt. I do stay in Milan often and every where I go, they always give me both the accomodation receipt, and the tax receipt. I don't think they are paying any tax on the dorms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brian Wolf

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Clearn room and helpful staff. Nice location, closed to metro and carefour.

Disliked: But if you don't smoke, please stay away from this hostel. The lady and guests there smoked all day long when we were there. As soon as we opened the door, we could smell it. Very unpleasant. They advertised that they accept credit card, but we tried to pay with credit card, they said that it was the end of the month and they needed cash to pay their bills. Beware if you want to pay with credit card.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Barbara Hoijtink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013

Liked: Clean, next to the metro that goes direct to the centre

Disliked: The smell from the smoke, is everywhere. The cold, to get rid of the smell. So either it stinks, or is cold or both. And structual every weekend overbooked. All the times changing bedrooms. Only 2 toilets for about 24 guests.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dagmara Wegrzyn-Zakrzewska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Dagmara would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, distance from the city center, staff, hot water in bathroom :)

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and bathroom was clean. 24hour reception. The staff was helpful.

Disliked: The linen was not included, we had to pay extra money 1.5EURO each, and City Tax 2EURO. Location was not good. And there was not key, we had to ring every time to back the hostel.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaun Declerck

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Metro is only 150m away, friendly staff and clean impression. Kitchen facilities more than allright. Surely worth for value.

Disliked: Dodgy neighbourhood, but close to the metro. Door of the room lets noise from the reception area in, talkings and sounds until 01 am at night, but with ear plugs mainly resolved.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 September 2013

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: I did not expect much for so cheap, but even so this was not a good experience. Due to a rail accident I arrived later than planned. But as there is supposedly 24hour reception this should not have been a problem. The staff was asleep - so I was ringing the bell outside a long time before I got in. Then they could not find my reservation (eventually they did), they did not give me my change from my payment. The staff had been sleeping in the bed they gave me. The room had extra bunkbed in it (10 instead of 8) so there was no locker for me and it was difficult to find space for my bag / very crowded. In the morning I saw that there were other completely empty rooms - so there was no need to crowd us all into one room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2013

Liked: The location is the best thing of the scream hostel. 24h Reception is on good value. The staff has friendly persons.

Disliked: 1-The communal kitchen is too mall for a hostel with so many people and They have half of the kitchen only for the staff (cabinets and in 2 fridges the guests have only 1). 2-I travelled with my young brother (under 18 years) and they charge him the touristic tax. I've reshearched now and is one exception. Look http://www.comune.milano.it/portale/wps/portal/CDMLanguages?WCM_GLOBAL_CONTEXT=/wps/wcm/connect/ContentLibrary/inglese/homepage/english_touristtax 3- The rooms are too small for so many people per room. 4- Lack some cleaness in the rooms, my linens was used before for anybody! is unceptable! 5- The mattresses are old not good for your back.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sophie Varnier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful and friendly Great value

Disliked: Further outside of milan, but close to metro station Small dorm rooms All worth it for the price thou

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, comfy beds.

Disliked: Limited facilities, 1 power plug excess able for the room. Only came across 2 bathrooms, with the toilets in there. So for about 30ish ppl staying I the morning bit of a pile up to use & access toilets and showers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good - right next to a metro station that can take you anywhere in Milan. The staff were really nice - we showed up early so they quickly prepared the room for us. Value for money is excellent. I read reviews before booking & noticed a lot of people complaining of staff chatting & smoking - this is true but didn't really bother me. This is an Italian hostel - it is expected,

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms so you have to wait just about every time. It was also very hot in the night but for the price i can't complain

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

ece akalin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013

Liked: Clean sheets and hot water.

Disliked: Rude staff, directions to hostel was so poor i had to look for it for like half an hour after i took the subway. What does " Once you arrive hear you can find the Scream Hostel " mean anyway? . No common room, no place to sit and talk to people actually besides a small kitchen.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordability

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Knights

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, very secure, shame the lockers are only small, but I felt completely safe leaving my less valuable possessions under the bed, don't be deterred by the location, 5 min metro ride to Milan central shopping area, I would stay again at this price, bargain!

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sabat

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were very comfortable but very close together. The kitchen was nice and clean as well as the bathrooms. Close to metro stop that takes you to the center of the city.. or about a 20-30 minute walk... not bad!

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms with a toilet/shower and although we did not have any problems, we found people waiting outside sometimes to use it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the metro station. You can reach the main attractions like the Cathedral by taking the metro. The bathroom and the rooms are clean. The staff is helpful.

Disliked: The rooms are two crowded. The Italian guy in our room was always complaining as we were trying to book a flight on the internet and he comlained about us to the staff. They said we need to turn off the lights at ten. That was ridiculuous.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels