We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel HI Piero Rotta

Hostel | Via Salmoiraghi, Milan, Italy 20148

78.7% Overall Rating

609 out of 928 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

Balint Hujter thinks…

"Good breakfast. Although it is not in the center, it is easy to reach by urban transport (metro 1 or 5; trolley 90/91). Cheap."

Read all Hostel HI Piero Rotta reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.13
  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***The rates are with the HI membership card, if not, only 3 euros more per night. Maximum 14 night stay. Please note rooms are closed from 9:30 am till till 3pm for cleaning. 30% IN ADVANCE BY CREDIT CARD (NUMBER AND EXP. DATE NEEDED ) NEEDED TO CONFIRM GROUP BOOKINGS. As per your INFO we inform you about penalty according to IYHF policy : - within 31 days before arrival 10% of total amount - between 30 and 8 days before arrival 50% of total amount - between 7 days and 48 hours before arrival 75% of total amount - 24 hours before - no show 100%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Bel Sit
33.79 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.5% 81 reviews
Lumiere Hostel
21.40 USD

Hostel 75.7% 4 reviews
Star Hostel
21.40 USD

Hostel 63.3% 51 reviews
Amendola Fiera
48.81 USD

Hostel 76.7% 12 reviews
Emmy Hostel
40.43 USD

Hostel 51.7% 109 reviews
Hotel Edy
39.25 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.0% 12 reviews
Hotel Losanna
146.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 67 reviews
Gogol'Ostello
31.54 USD

Hostel 87.0% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

609 out of 928 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel HI Piero Rotta'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 422 of 466 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers on the floor, breakfast included

Disliked: Hard to find, location on map is wrong, Additional tourist tax, no value for that, no maps, no info material about milan, toilets not the best...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Balint Hujter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2015 Balint would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Although it is not in the center, it is easy to reach by urban transport (metro 1 or 5; trolley 90/91). Cheap.

Disliked: Restrooms were dirty. Long queue at check-in desk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jessica Fox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015

Liked: Breakfast - fresh rolls, assortment of spreads, hot drinks, orange juice.

Disliked: Only one member of staff at reception who was always busy. There are very limited powerpoints (1 per 6 person dorm). No atmosphere. Living room= stainless steel chairs, no couches or books or games. Location- yes it is near the metro, but you're 25 mins from Central Milan!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Volodymyr Korchynskyy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Volodymyr would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: I dislike only those- Piero Rotta isnt in every city i have been.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luke Cameron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: Atmosphere

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Kondakov

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

01 August 2015 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location close to metro, green quite area with clean air and comfortable sleep with open windows, simple, but tasty breakfast with Coffe, juice, cheese and corn flakes.

Disliked: Mid-20th century showers with weak water pressure, changing water temperature and couple of chairs for your belongings. Making me remember my childhood in Soviet Union with kindergarten toilet / shower facilities. Strange people in age staying for visiting Expo, trying to use your personal charger, unplugging your own device, walk in your slippers, because their slippers were stolen, somebody stolen my tooth paste, which I forgot in the morning at the sink shelf etc. Security in a place can be better.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

beren verenel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2015

Liked: It was clean And had a beautiful garden to talk to your friends etc. The location was good. There were signs at the metro so it was easy to find

Disliked: The common room was empty there were nothing to do to spend some time. There could have been some cards, games And books. There were curtains at the showers and they do not close properly. There weren't mirrors at the bathroom especially girls need it. And there weren't saop also. The hostel looked cold and empty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and that is clear and spacious.

Disliked: They need to keep the toilets a bit more clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy metro access! very convenient location

Disliked: smell was a little funky but we got used to it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Watchara Saengsrisin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2014 Watchara would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi. Linen and bed sheet. Locker with lock.

Disliked: Toilet. Electric socket is not enough in the room. Very noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The whole vibe was one of cool. Quiet and comfortable, close to everything.

Disliked: No kitchen! The breakfast is appreciated but a small kitchen would be very helpful. Also, can the directions to the hostel be updated? As a first time person in Milan, walking is all good, but better directions from the train station to QT8 would have been appreciated. However, we loved the walk!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Egor Dzyubenko

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

09 July 2014 Egor would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff are friendly, on the reception 24h

Disliked: Very spartan atmosphere - only floor, iron chairs and that's all. No facilities inside (no play room, no bar, no comfortable common room). Very important and bad - you always have to be out of the room 10 - 12, and they are turning on the loudspeakers to make sure you are out.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist has been friendly and helpful. Proximity to San Siro stadium. Private park.

Disliked: Beds old and not confortable. Breakfast almost inexistent. Bathrooms dirty and broken. Other guests noisy,. Area is not safe.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice setting on hill amongst trees Lady very helpful and full of information Free pickups from camerlata square - need to ring to organise Great views of town and lake nearby

Disliked: 40min+ walk from town - all uphill - recommend takin bus! No doors locked, but still relatively secure Guy wasn't as helpful - left me waiting in square for 50mins to be picked up (did get a free beer tho, thanks!) Showers are awkward

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014

Liked: La cama era cómoda y el staff era amigable.

Disliked: Está lejos del centro y principales atracciones turísticas. Los baños parecen de colegio, para niños pequeños. Se está obligado a salir del hostal en las horas de limpieza, sin acceso a baños, casilleros ni dormitorios.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gytis Balciunas

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, walls paperthin, bathrooms dirty, everything is so old, i don't know where they put money, they need to renew every cm of interior.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the money i paid..

Disliked: The sheets and mattreses were not clean and there were complaints that there were also insects on the sheets. This was not what we poid for.. however having said that when we asked for a different bad they gave us one immidiately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, no noise from outside, nice staff; metro station nearby- travel to Duomo takes only 10 minutes; very good hostel, comparing with other hostels in Milan

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised to be able to park my car on a locked parking. :-)

Disliked: Toilets are far and low to the ground.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce staff, clean rooms and easily accesed by metro

Disliked: The padlocks on the lockers did not really work, you could open locked lockers by sliding the padlock around.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2013

Liked: Quiet, near the metro, near a nice swimming pool

Disliked: Not modern enough - there were no power points in the rooms and the building is a bit out of date

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013

Liked: I can't say there was anything to like.

Disliked: Very institutional.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me the best thing was the location, is very close to metro and the area is calm. I apreciate the breakfest in the morning and function WIFI.

Disliked: During my stay I can´t say there were something I dont like. Maybe the bathrooms they are old but they were clean and this matters.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest places I could find for my stay in Milan. The free breakfast was good and plentiful. There were a max of 6 beds per a room, so the rooms never felt overcrowded. It was also very close to metro and bus stops, so it was very easy to get into and back from the city. The parking was free too.

Disliked: Although it was safe on the outside, it didn't seem very safe within the hostel. I had a key to my room, but it was very difficult to lock the room and no one did, so it stayed unlocked. They provided a locker and padlock, but the lockers were outside of the room which was a bit inconvenient. The staff were friendly, but there was always a line and it took forever to talk to someone.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff,

Disliked: Old and fatigued bathroom/shower facilities, rooms on the ground floor have no electric sockets at all (how we can charge our personal devices?) and are scruffy.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels