We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel HI Piero Rotta

Hostel | Via Salmoiraghi, Milan, Italy 20148

67.8% Overall Rating

597 out of 913 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

"The receptionist has been friendly and helpful. Proximity to San Siro stadium. Private park."

Read all Hostel HI Piero Rotta reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***The rates are with the HI membership card, if not, only 3 euros more per night. Maximum 14 night stay. Please note rooms are closed from 9:30 am till till 3pm for cleaning. 30% IN ADVANCE BY CREDIT CARD (NUMBER AND EXP. DATE NEEDED ) NEEDED TO CONFIRM GROUP BOOKINGS. As per your INFO we inform you about penalty according to IYHF policy : - within 31 days before arrival 10% of total amount - between 30 and 8 days before arrival 50% of total amount - between 7 days and 48 hours before arrival 75% of total amount - 24 hours before - no show 100%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Bel Sit
23.40 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.6% 77 reviews
Lumiere Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Star Hostel
29.10 USD

Hostel 63.3% 51 reviews
Amendola Fiera
29.51 USD

Hostel 76.7% 12 reviews
BBMILAN Bed & Breakfast
43.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Emmy Hostel
13.28 USD

Hostel 54.5% 108 reviews
Hotel Edy
23.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Losanna
164.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.5% 67 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

597 out of 913 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel HI Piero Rotta'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 413 of 451 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, and had easily accessible, secure lockers.

Disliked: It's location. It was close to the train station and bus station, but at night, I was a little uncomfortable walking to it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrius Tamosiunas

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2011

Liked: Firstly, it is close to SanSiro stadium :) Furthermore, it is inexpensive to compare with other hostels.

Disliked: dark rooms :) From my point of view white color is much better :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Petra Chao

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Subway nearby! Fine to stay at when going for a citytrip

Disliked: Easy to get in to if you we're not staying in the hostel at night. Not very special atmosphere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location has pros and cons, when you accept that's pretty far outside, you get an incredible view

Disliked: no kitchen, breakfast is not worth the money

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriel Alatorre

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: + Inexpensive + Free Internet + Free coffee/breakfast + Great staff

Disliked: - Internet connection disconnects a lot - Having to continuously recharge your Internet account - Not the most secure lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Anita Gerding

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively cheap hostel, free WiFi and free car parking. Close to a subway station, so you can easily reach the cirty centre by subway. Breakfast was OK.

Disliked: There were a lot of ants on our room floor! We dropped a cookies packaging on the floor, so that's why there were so many, perhaps if we didn't drop it there wouldn't have been any. But still, to have so many ants on the second floor, it was nasty... Shower turned itself off after a few minutes, which was quite disturbing. There was no elevator. Overall, the entire hostel felt like a school campus, due to both the setting and the average age of the guests. Which is fun if you are a student/backpacker, but as ex-students we felt a bit out of place. However, the atmosphere was OK.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest place to stay in Milan, breakfast was pretty good. Large number of showers, camp style though so just a curtain.

Disliked: Lockers outside rooms were very noisy cause people would go outside and slam the doors etc thinking that cause they were outside the room noone could hear them...but you can hear everything! A large hostel so just people everywhere (and lots of families etc).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near a metro station. The facilities are really good and clean.

Disliked: They don't have A/C in the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the atmosphere the best

Disliked: i disliked that we had to leave the room at 10 until 14 h

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ludek Cigler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Ludek would recommend this property

Liked: The place was reasonably clean, plenty of locker space (while you are checked in, you can use a big locker in front of the room, when you check out, you can still use a public locker for 1 EUR/day)

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy sometimes.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011

Liked: wifi, breakfast

Disliked: i feel more like staying in a bunker than a hostel. no local value i can learn from this hostel.. however it's still good for you traveller that seeks place to sleep with having minimum interaction with other.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many people use this hostel.

Disliked: The price the web site said is defferent from the real price.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Corey Gravelle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: cheap. free coffee in the morning (:

Disliked: lacks personality, toilets are pretty dirty and showers are small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only that it was close to the metro station.

Disliked: a lot of bugs and mosquitoes from the near by trees that do you a lot of red dotes everywhere,no warm water for bath when needed in the morning after breakfast and very poor breakfast...only the basic stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ang Song Kiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Ang would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of big lockers

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms were dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and with many facilities.

Disliked: Cleanliness is not so good, I found a bug in my bed. Also the reception was really really slow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ana Leopoldina Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 April 2011 Ana Leopoldina would recommend this property

Liked: The place is nice, have a underground station near.

Disliked: The hostel don't have elevator and the light of bathroom turn off alone all the time!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011

Liked: Breakfast, good shower.

Disliked: The prices was so so confusing... they would like me to charge because it was "summer price"... even with my book telling another price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they have a table soccer

Disliked: hostel is situated quite remote, difficult to get there when its already dark, especially for women because you have to walk along a quite long and lonely path to get there (200-300 metres)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we can use big locker with key ,so very safety!! and the room is clean! there are many showers , it's also good.

Disliked: location isn't very good, not near the central part of the city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Dogulin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Close to San Siro, Close to metro, clean, secure rooms, large lockers, bathrooms are acceptable. Staff spoke lots of languages.

Disliked: I went to breakfast and left.. (Its italy do yourself a favor and go to a cafe) Slightly noisy, bring ear plugs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cinzia bianchi

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 February 2011 cinzia would recommend this property

Liked: Finally a real hostel, not an apartment filled up with bunk beds! It'near to the metro stop qt8, the staff was really helpful, the hostel is clean, the breakfast is ok, and the place is very safe, because you are given an electronic key and a locket in the corridor. they had to move my stuff in order to clean the room, but gave back everything to me later. No problem whatsoever!

Disliked: at night the area is not very nice, it's quite an isolated place. I started to feel a bit "uncomfortable" about the shower facilities when I first saw a guy coming out of it...and realized that everyone could enter at any moment...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's free parking and wifi, and its not expensive.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better, as well as the rooms, toilettes and bathroom. Atmosphere is not that good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no very fun, but ok

Disliked: no very fun, but ok


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels