HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mister Mido

Hostel | Via Goldoni, 84, Milan, Italy -

52.3% Overall Rating

112 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2013)

Alana Calvert thinks…

"This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in hundreds across Europe and Australia. Everything is awful. Do not stay here!!!"

Read all Hostel Mister Mido reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.70
  • Breakfast USD 2.76
  • Linen USD 5.52
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

IMPORTANT- For bookings of more than 6 people or for more then 3 nights made via this website, the cancellation policy is 21 days before arrival: if you don't cancel with 21 days notice, the property will charge the full amount of the booking as penalty.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

hotel medea
16.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Royal
25.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 11 reviews
Hotel Aladin
34.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 3 reviews
Hotel Ideale Milano
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.7% 306 reviews
Hotel Delizia
45.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 176 reviews
Hotel De Albertis Eco-Art
39.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel San Giovanni
35.88 USD

Hotel 77.3% 23 reviews
La Caravella
30.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.7% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.3%

Overall Rating

112 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mister Mido'

Atmosphere
43.2%
Location
56.0%
Facilities
42.4%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
50.4%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013

Liked: it had a vending machine (THAT IS THE ONLY THING)

Disliked: Everything. Miles away from everything. Beds are old with bed bugs, sheets stained, dirty guests, cockroaches and bugs on floors. Bathroom really really dirty. Staff unhelpful.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alana Calvert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013

Liked: This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in hundreds across Europe and Australia. Everything is awful. Do not stay here!!!

Disliked: You are forced to pay for linen even if you have your own and it's 4 euro. The description given is not truthful- there is no breakfast, no kitchen, no tv or phone in rooms, it is no where near the centre of Milan and the overall place is just scummy and awful. The door to my 'dorm' didn't even shut properly let alone lock. Then at 5am one of the staff decided he was going to sleep in my room on the bottom bunk and he woke me up as he came in and out of the room while he also continued to attend to reception. I've never felt so unsafe and uncomfortable in a hostel. I couldn't wait to get out of there. It is awful, truly awful.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: Room was quite spacious, and it wasn't too far away from the centre of Milan

Disliked: Bathrooms didn't lock and weren't clean at all. In one bathroom, the shower didn't work which meant there were only 2 showers for all the residents. Staff weren't very friendly. We'd booked a 4 bed room but they'd made it in to a 5 bed room so it was a bit cramped and too hot

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristina Rasskazova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, design

Disliked: Everything was good

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Not very friendly. Have to pay 5 euros for bedsheets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, price, price There is a kitchen (open also in the morning), a supermarket nearby.

Disliked: well, this is a hostel, so it is not as clean&quiet as hotel...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jaakko Hyvönen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013

Liked: Cheap hostel. O.k. faculties.

Disliked: They had some trouble finding my booking when I arrived. Only one of the staff spoke English. Hostel was cheap, and o.k. but I have been in better ones in this price range. Usually you get some tourist map from hostel, but from here I got only unclear A4 copy of a map which wasnt enought to find anywhere in Milan, so I had to buy a better one. They also didn´t have lockers to put valuables.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean on a whole (at least the sheets look like they have come from the wash!) and cheap. Check out the blender bar 2min away where you buy a drink (9euro) and eat for free buffet style.

Disliked: No lockers available so no where secure to put your belongings if you go out even if you bring a padlock etc. staff a bit rude and obviously not sure whet they were upto. No communal living room so it wasn't social. Bad vibe about the place. You have to get a bus to go anywhere and no maps were available as they said they would be. Showers a bit dodgy.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013

Liked: There was a kitchen

Disliked: The hostel was NOT clean and the staff was very unprofessional. While we were cooking, the two guys on duty were drinking and smoking a joint.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Christopher Borders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: Most things. Broken showers flood the bathroom floors. There are few outlets in the rooms. The internet is spotty. The kitchen is only open a few hours in the evening, making it pretty useless if you want to eat apertivos in the evening and need it for breakfast or lunch. The decor is dingy. Most of all, the staff barely speak English and were generally pretty rude.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Lucy Hooi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap and not too bad. It's easy to find the hostel.

Disliked: The hostel is quite old and noisy.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 April 2013

Liked: except the non italian person who were working there and who were not speaking in english. this is the only good thing about him, he helped me a couple of times during my stay.

Disliked: Pretty much everything. I travelled a lot, and mostly stayed in hostels. this is by far, the worst. it's dirty, it's not comfortable, far from the center, they do not even serve breakfast, the kichen closes really freaking early, and it smells. it's cheap though, but this is not worth it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was just amazing, we were a group of 10 youngsters and it was marvelous to stay for 7€/p/day quite close to centre of Milan. The room, beds and toilets were clean. The stuff did not read our previous e-mail, but really did their best to correct everything, which was very nice of them. I would describe them being very FAIR - OK, we correct this, which was our fault; but we will not make any exception for anything you need, rules are rules.

Disliked: Kitchen open from 11am(!! what about breakfast??) till 10pm only, kitchen fee 2€ per person (we did not pay or try, since we arrived 10pm ane left 9am). I never saw a hostel where kitchen would not be free. The room could not be locked. One of the staff was doing really obscene gestures towards our girls, who were a bit worried; but really NOTHING HAPPENED, maybe we just misunderstood their Italian sense of humour :) The note on the door said "check-in till 22.00 only", which was not said on the internet.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Iacob Duch

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was run down, and the beds were very old, maddresses as well , it was loud and squiky

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2012

Liked: Very dirty i stinky room for 9 peoples

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012

Liked: Really nothing!!!

Disliked: Everything!!! Its sh*t!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure because people had to ring the reception before they would open the gate for you. Very near BILLA (supermarket), in a safe area because there is a school nearby. Also very near Japanese and Chinese food at reasonable prices (7€ for tuna and salmon sashimi at Fujiyama). Wifi reception was strong and reliable. Big and spacious toilets

Disliked: Only one toilet which contained the toilet bowl, bidet, bathtub and sink all together. If you're lucky there won't be a queue for the toilet. There are other toilets but no hot water in the rest. Location was really tricky, kept missing the hostel because there was no sign except on the doorbell where you had to find Hostel Mr Mido (press 9 to ring).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Crisco

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012

Liked: It was relatively economical, and really quite clean. They had a functional kitchen, which is important for me in a hostel, and they had one bathroom with a bathtub...kind of a unique amenity.

Disliked: It's a somewhat spartan, bare-bones establishment. Not a lot of character, or staff with a special sense of customer service. Things like fixing all the broken shower heads and keeping toilet paper stocked in the restrooms (there rarely was any) would go a long way in making staying at this hostel more convenient.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ziad Abosteif

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Cheating with prices

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: The treatment by staff

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: Balconies.

Disliked: There were no lock on the doors and the stuff just entered the room without knocking the door.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic, cheap, and good.

Disliked: The location could be better.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near city center

Disliked: no lockers, noisy beds....

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: We ordered a 4-bed female dorm and ended up in a 7-bed female dorm. One of the three bathrooms was out of order. No real kitchen facilities. Bring your own cutlery. The boss of the hostel was unfriendly, even rude. He always overbooks his hostel and you have to sleep in a room full with other people, even if you booked something else. Also, you do not get a key for your room, so everyone can simply go to your luggage. Not safe at all. JUST DO NOT STAY THERE AND LOOK FOR ANOTHER HOSTEL!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Ninov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay in the hostel because of the nice location - about 10 minutes with bus to the center and the Duomo, and almost the same distance to the train station (probably about 15 mins with a bus). The bus stops are very near to the hostel. Also nice kitchen with a beautiful terrace. And the conditions were very good. Comfortable dormitories and two big clean bathrooms with working showers

Disliked: The fact that the hostel staff spoked only in italian and in specific the manager at the reception spoked only italian which was a bit silly beacause that doesn't correspond with the definition of a hostel.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels