HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel3

Hostel | Via ignazio Ciaia, 5, Milan, Italy 20158

64.5% Overall Rating

136 out of 190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2013)

Anudeep Bhatnagar thinks…

"The Staff and the manager Uday is very helpful and nice man. He helps all the guests in finding places, basic Italian, finding best deals on food, travel etc. He is simply running the show very…"

Read all Hostel3 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hostel Salus
16.44 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 68.0% 15 reviews
New Moon Resort Hostel
23.83 USD

Hostel 72.0% 52 reviews
Hotel Bogart
31.08 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Holiday Homes Residence
117.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Gala
27.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 46 reviews
Rent Room ZARA
17.96 USD

Hostel 68.5% 36 reviews
Brera B&B
30.39 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 34 reviews
BBMILAN Bed & Breakfast
62.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.5%

Overall Rating

136 out of 190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel3'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Liam Lyttle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2014

Liked: Good view from the upstairs balcony. Sort of Central in Milan.

Disliked: The room was rather large but the beds were all grouped together, there was no space for your bags, no lockers, very few places to charge your electronics. They really could have used more signs outside, I spent about 30 minutes walking back and forward outside the hostel just looking for it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anudeep Bhatnagar

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

28 September 2013 Anudeep would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff and the manager Uday is very helpful and nice man. He helps all the guests in finding places, basic Italian, finding best deals on food, travel etc. He is simply running the show very well....

Disliked: There should be 2 more bathrooms.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013

Liked: This was probably the worst hostel i have ever stayed in , it had nothing but beds cramped into one apartment building . Do yourself a favor and pay the extra couple of euro to stay at a better one .

Disliked: I disliked everything about this property!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kacem chabbar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 kacem would recommend this property

Liked: a cool place to stay .. clean and you can sleep as much you can

Disliked: nothing just that about the distance from the metro station to the hostel

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2013

Liked: Nothing special,

Disliked: There were more beds than stated in the room and the atmosphere was in the beginning hostile due to some happening which provided police officers to come to the building. Scary.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Malgorzata Pietrzak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious room, clean toilet, close proximity to cheap local cafes and restaurants

Disliked: It gets very loud when taking a shower in women bathroom, not easy to find

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

05 November 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: They had fleas, I don't think I have to add anything else.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near Politecnico Bovisa

Disliked: Litle dificult to find

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erin Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: storage in office available. free wifi. balcony & patio area.

Disliked: no lockers, only one bathroom for M & F. lights out at midnight. no maps provided. hard to find from directions.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: The place was pretty clean and only a short distance to Dergano Metro Station with a supermarket just up the road.

Disliked: I'm quite sure this is just someones flat, the rooms are cramped and ridiculously hot. The beds are poor quality fold-outs and there is hardly any room to put your bags. No lockers either. We didn't receive towels, there is only one bathroom, often no toiletpaper, no communal space. We arrived early in the morning after flying into Milan, the 'receptionist' was clearly unimpressed and quite rude. I don't like giving negative feedback and maybe if the dorm room was cheaper it would have been ok but the fact that there are many other cheaper places (inc. hotels) made me a little frustrated.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easygoing atmosphere created by the staff. Nice bathrooms. It was fairly clean.Free wi fi.

Disliked: No facilities , no real kitchen, no toiletpaper, no common-relaxing spaces, without any decoration or personal style.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diana Yukari Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Diana Yukari would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and the terrace is great for chilling after a long day walking around. It's a really simple place, though, there's nothing fancy about it and it actually look like a simple apartment with big rooms and lots of beds.

Disliked: No lockers always bothers me, although here we had the option of leaving our belongings in the staff "office", which is another room in the apartment. And in my first day the lady's toilet sink was out of order, then all the bathroom couldn't be used so in the end of my stay everybody in the hostel was using the same bathroom.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Pas grand chose si ce n'est la joie d'en être partis

Disliked: Lors de notre arrivée, les réceptionnistes (ne parlant pas italien mais seulement un anglais restreint) réclame le double du prix convenu lors de la réservation ! Malgré une prétendue erreur de frappe de leur part, ils nous mettent la faute sur le dos, et aucun recours possible. À ÉVITER !

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly cheap and it offered free wi-fi. The bathrooms were also very nice. Please note that the establishment itself is way less sketchy than it looks!

Disliked: Well, it was in a sketchy part of town that I didn't want to walk around in at night, and the room we got (room 1) was absolutely stifling. They provided a fan, but it was still way too stuffy for my liking.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Matthias Rochtus

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012

Liked: easy to find

Disliked: Well, there were few big rooms that looked very nice, but we good a small crappy room, where you could hear the neighbours typing on their computer, for real this was pure crap hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Very out of the way, and definitely not in the greatest neighbourhood. Very noisy street outside, and quite a ways from the train station and any touristy areas. The room itself didn't lock, and although we had the option of leaving valuables in the office, I didn't feel like my stuff was very safe. Also one of the staff actually came into the room when it started to get dark and closed the blinds, and then came in a couple hours later when one guy was asleep, and turned off the lights for us...would really have liked to have had a locking door.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The prices are ok, a subway station not far from it, and and a welcoming staff.

Disliked: Not enough space in bedrooms, not enough bathrooms, and walls weren't sound prouf.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean and we had our own key from the room. Stuff was friendly and helpfull ( they speak english! great!). We were very satisfied! Great price and location. It´s close to disco Alcatras (just about 15 min of walk) .. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and cool staff.

Disliked: Lights out to early.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very friendly. He went out of the way to help us have an enjoyable stay there.

Disliked: A bit of walk to the nearest subway station

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Michael Hein

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2012

Liked: Some of the stuff were friendly and tried to make the best out of this very simple hostel. The bathrooms were clean and acceptable.

Disliked: We had a private double room right next to the room of the stuff. We could hear every single word they spoke, every single bell who ringed. So we where unable to sleep peacefully. The rooms are as simple arranged as possible and lot's of the furniture is old and damaged. The mattress was horrible and needs to renewed as quick as possible.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011

Liked: clean

Disliked: its location is far from tourism object. No common room. less helpful keeper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavol Ondrus

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 November 2011 Pavol would recommend this property

Liked: the receptionist was proffesional.

Disliked: anything

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Denis Lazarev

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

26 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Indian administrator, complete freak! At night, discovered bedbugs, said the administrator ... in response, he accused us of bugs that we brought ... refused to return the money ... I do not advise to stay here ... Give someone an administrator in the face with his foot! thanks!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: I really liked how easy it wad to get around from the hostel, very well placed to public transport, so sightseeing was a breeze.

Disliked: It was unfortunately on a busy street so traffic could be heard all night. There is also no communal area to be able to meet other travellers, just a room and bathroom. So this made it unsociable and essentially a lonely experience for me as I travel and had no opportunity to meet other travelers as there was no incentive for anyone to stay at the hostel and mingle.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels