HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of OstellOlinda Milan Hostel

Via Ippocrate 45, Milan, Italy

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 76%

Location 64%

Safety 78%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 76%

Location 64%

Safety 78%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location

Disliked: timings of the office

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Close to metro station - basic but adequate room - friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: It was quite difficult to find the hostel as the number given in the listing actually belongs primarily to a museum which is next door.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good

Disliked: good

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is located in a park wtih other buildings in a calm neighbourhood. Although it is far from the center, it is very close to the subway station if you know the way. The breakfast is OK and there is a restaurant with good food in the next building. The room I stayed is quite big and has a lot of space.

Disliked: The reception is closed at 8 pm and the main entrance gate of the garden is closed before 11 pm. Therefore, I used another entrance and walked through the garden in return. If you do not discover it before, you have to find your way in the dark while you are returning.Other problem I have faced is the description of the access to the hostel only fits when you leave the subway from the right exit. If you leave the subway from a wrong exit, it takes too much time to find the hostel as you do not know the environment and ask to people while there is no map.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are very friendly and do all they can to help. When there was an issue with another resident, they acted quickly and got the situation resolved. They also held our luggage for us all day after check-out so that we could explore Milan for the day.The breakfast is also nice, but is only served after 0830. We could only take advantage of it on 1 day of our 3 day stay as we needed to be away by 0800 in hte morning to get to the World Dog Show.Not too far from the centre of Milan and price is quite reasonable for accomodation in this city.

Disliked: The property is still very much a hospital, even down to the bed sheets and there are no soft-furnishings or carpets so noises seemed louder and everything echoes.There are still some former hospital patients who live in the hostel and, when we stayed, it was one of them who had drank on his medication which caused him to shout constantly in his room (the room next to us!) for over an hour. I managed to find a member of staff who did get someone to speak to him to resolve it. Shortly after, everything was quiet and we got a decent night's sleep. It was still quite worrying for my wife, although the next morning we saw the person and they were fine.Also, the TV in the lounge area was not working during our stay.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and security, close to metro

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent, well-informed and caring staff. Information about location is accurate and helpful but finding it is still a challenge. Very clean, peaceful and worth the time locating.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: neighborhood seemed to have lots of children, and they locked the main gate at 8pm, so it seemed pretty safe

Disliked: The first night I stayed there, a live band was playing on the hostel property until about 1am, and I did not know this was scheduled until my arrival; I was a bit annoyed since the walls were very thin, and I had intended to get a good nights' sleep before an early wake-up. There was very poor lighting in the rooms, and the shared bathroom kept turning up dirty...

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Price!Bathroom and bed very clean!

Disliked: No heating.COLD during night.Check in time was VERY limitedStaff unhelpful and abrupt during tel. call. I could not find the location, no help offered to pick me up at the entrance of the main external door (via Ippocrate 45)Wifi moderate.

Check Availability