We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Central Station

Hostel | Viale Lunigiana 4, Milan, Italy 20125

71.9% Overall Rating

176 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2015)

Evandro Passero thinks…

"Nearby the central staton, about 10 minutes walk from the main entrance. Rooms are nice and organized, also the shared bathrooms. Cheap place just to sleep."

Read all Hostel Central Station reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Your reservation can be cancelled 3 days before. In case you cancel it witnin 3 days, the first night value to be cancelled shall be charged by your credit card.For Noshow we charge you the first night value. Breakfast service is from 7:00 and on, and costs 2 euro/person. We prefer cash payment on arrival. Credit card is NOT accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

INN-Perfect Room
24.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Melchiorre
16.33 USD

Hotel 73.6% 37 reviews
Hotel Central Station
21.77 USD

Hostel 77.5% 429 reviews
Hotel Club
32.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.2% 25 reviews
Hotel Demo
22.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 653 reviews
Affittacamere Central Station
19.60 USD

Guesthouse 51.4% 4 reviews
Hotel Monopole
27.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.0% 93 reviews
B&B I AM HERE - GIOIA 66
23.14 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

176 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Central Station'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
69.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 226 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: It was close to central station, but not as close as directions say!!

Disliked: VERY warm rooms with no locks in a bit of a sketchy neighbourhood, I didn't feel safe here at all! Also the directions given when booking were completely off, it took my friend and I almost a half hour to find.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

morten hojbjerre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 morten would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite near the train station and fairly cheap

Disliked: Had a very uncomfortable bed, no kitchen and social room, didn't take credit card

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

XINGFANG WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: Location is close to Milan Central Station (but in reality you want to avoid that train station, as there's a lot of crimes near there) Cheap to stay (though not counting the amount of money you would lose from staying at here because all of your valuables get stolen)

Disliked: - Totally lacks security, if there is such a thing as security at all here - Owner has no morality, he will do anything for money - Do stay here if you want your valuables to be stolen and yourself accused of stealing According to HostelBookers.com website, Hostel Central Station in Milan, Italy has "friendly and helpful staff [which] will assist with any of your essential needs", "offer[s] clean, comfortable accommodation at affordable prices", and their staffs "understand exactly how to make your stop in Milan more pleasure and comfortable." These descriptions with Hostel Central Station all seemed true until I stayed there for 1 night on July 26, 2011. All of my computer, 600 euros, passport and a credit card were stolen from the hostel locker on the day of my stay (I have the police report from Milan as well as a letter from the Canadian Embassy in Rome proving this). Moreover, the hotel owner, Mr. Mingxi Wang (who also owns Hotel Central Station and several other hostels near Milan Central Station) accused me of stealing and extorting, just to avoid taking responsibilities for this incident. The hostel is fine in other aspects, but totally lacked security. In fact, there isn't such a thing as "security" while living there. Hostel Central Station does not have Closed Circuit TV monitoring, nor does it have individual room keys. All lockers were made of very fragile wood and located in a single shared room. My locker, which I had locked using a padlock, was cut. My computer, 600 euros, passport and a credit card were stolen. Another Thailand girl lost 2000 euros and a computer as well. Much to everyone's surprise, the hostel receptionist, Ms. Sun, was sitting there at the reception when all these happened in the hostel locker room. The hostel owner, Mr. Mingxi Wang, did not want to take any responsibilities, so he said I brought an already-cut lock myself and placed it on the locker to trick him. Mr. Mingxi Wang said that I purposefully took away my own stuff plus another girl's, and I'm just trying to extort money from him. He said, "you've done this many times at many different places before, haven't you?" "Now you want to trick me?" "All you want is money. I could have sent you to prison by talking to police (mind you the police in Milan only speak Italian, so only he can talk to the police), but I'm nice, so I'm letting you go". The receptionist also treated me as if I am a theif/liar while she knew what really happened. So I have not only lost my valuables, but also have been accused of stealing (how funny is this?). Do stay here if you want the same happen to you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The prize was OK

Disliked: Bathrooms could be better

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Steeper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main station so very convenient for passing through Milan. The man on reception was lovely and helpful.

Disliked: the directions given were a bit unclear. Right on the main road so very loud. Not near anything of tourist value. Rooms were awkwardly furnished (the twin room had too many dressers!) and no kitchen to use.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's around 10min walking to the Central station of Milan, so that's good if you have to catch an early train. The rooms and bathrooms are all very clean, and it all feels pretty safe. Overall you get what you pay for, it's not an amazing place but it will do for simple accomodation.

Disliked: The staff isn't really helpful at all, the women at the reception was playing World of Warcraft almost all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is a big + close to metro & central train station where you can find buses to airports

Disliked: no common room, place looks more like a 1*hotel, no AC - only fans

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: Wi-fi

Disliked: No lounge

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Had a TV. OK location - get a day pass for the metro and it's all good.

Disliked: It's just a boring hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are excellent. Two Chinese girls were very helpful and someone was there 24/7. Secure and great showers and toilets. Very clean. Good wifi. Great for cheap eats and Milan Central Station.

Disliked: Hard to find at first

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: The bathroom is spacious and clean

Disliked: It's not so close to the station and the room is small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachael Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious

Disliked: the directions werent very clear, it took us ages to find it. we only found it cos we bumped into a couple that were going there too. And if your not a couple and book into the double room, be warned there is a shower just casually on the side of the room........ lol

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: hard to say...maybe location

Disliked: No airconditioner! , noisy street ....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the train station, staff was efficient, rooms and bathroom were clean

Disliked: not in a great area if you are trying to see the sights, gets sketchy at night

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked 6 room dorm and I slept in 2 bed room. Thanks !!!

Disliked: It is a bit strange that you do not have key for your room. There is not any common room (i.e. living room) where you can chill out a bit. But, in the any I have all my staffs :)...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Juhani Väihkönen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011

Liked: Hard to say any special good, but did meet some interesting people

Disliked: The internet was not working so well, Didn't have own key for the house so had to buzz always to somebody open the door. Noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to the main train station, which is what I was looking for. The staff is helpful and friendly, facilities are clean... basically, it feels more like a hotel than an actual hostel!

Disliked: Not a very good place to meet other travelers, but I wasn't looking to socialize so it suited me just fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danni-Elle Hampton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Danni-Elle would recommend this property

Liked: We had single bed rather than bunks which was a nice change, free wifi was good most of the time, and we had our own tv. The cleaners made our beds everyday friend staff. About a 5 min walk from the station.

Disliked: We didn't have our own keys which meant we had to buzz in every time but other than hat everything was really good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's close to the train station

Disliked: very unwelcoming staff shady area gloomy atmosphere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexis Martinez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: it literally is right around the corner from the train station, which is exactly what i needed. nice clean hostel, staff are nice, and you get exactly what you pay for.

Disliked: nothing in particular. only stayed for a night!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

RONALD HERRERA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: I made a reservation but they didnt have it and they wanted to set me up in another hostel at 11 p.m. and they werent even sure if i could a room there. They only reason I got a bed there is because there was a group reservation and of them didnt show up and they offer its bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value place to crash very close to the central train station. The beds were good and the bathrooms were clean. Free wifi was good too.

Disliked: Nothing really in the way of common areas or other hostel services. It's a fine place to sleep, but dont expect much more.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big room, nice beds, clean, had everything we need.

Disliked: the traffic jam that could be heard at night from the nearby boulevard. the windows' good isolation helped :) the stuff needs to learn a bit more english :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Louise Oliver

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 May 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin. It was near the station and so was convenient for me to travel to the airport early the next morning. The staff were helpful and spoke English. It's not the most atmospheric place but fine for what i wanted.

Disliked: No keys to rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wi-fi, very nice and helpful staff, the location was amazing, clean rooms, good and clean bathrooms

Disliked: if you don't read their instructions about how to get there, you will not find it - no signs, people dont know ...


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels