HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Central Station

Hostel | Viale Lunigiana 4, Milan, Italy 20125

73.7% Overall Rating

160 out of 218 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Clean and safe...and nice location near central train station and easy to go to the durmo and more sightseeing places."

Read all Hostel Central Station reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Your reservation can be cancelled 3 days before. In case you cancel it witnin 3 days, the first night value to be cancelled shall be charged by your credit card.For Noshow we charge you the first night value. Breakfast service is from 7:00 and on, and costs 2 euro/person. We prefer cash payment on arrival. Credit card is NOT accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Bio city Hotel
45.59 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews
Villa Melchiorre
27.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.0% 22 reviews
Hotel Central Station
41.44 USD

Hostel 72.8% 416 reviews
Hotel Club
40.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 23 reviews
Hotel Demo
34.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.5% 650 reviews
Hotel Monopole
33.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.4% 82 reviews
B&B I AM HERE - GIOIA 66
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 29 reviews
Hotel Stazione
43.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

160 out of 218 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Central Station'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 164 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Janaina Lima Fogaca

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012

Liked: Wifi working well and close to central station.

Disliked: Cold room and shower inside the room wasn't working.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo Dias

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: very good to stay

Disliked: Gustavo left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011

Liked: closeness to the train station.

Disliked: one member of staff was not very polite. rooms were cold. outside was very loud. rooms did not lock. no where to chill out, no communal area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hanako Aoyama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2011

Liked: Quite clean. And we can use free wifi.

Disliked: Location is so bad, cause security is poor in that area.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is 10 minutes walking distance to the main station.

Disliked: No breakfast served. No fridge available and no possibility to make yourself some breakfast. Wallplaster is losening in one of the bathrooms, hardly water pressure in the showers...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 September 2011

Liked: property is near by central station

Disliked: friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, bad location of some rooms - heavy trafic near by

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fan each!

Disliked: Receptionist was washing her hair when I needed to get in!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location very close to the central station. Convenient to the airport shuttle bus if you have an early morning flight. Towels provided (nice after doing without for a few weeks). Fairly clean.

Disliked: The place is very hard to find, despite being close to the station. Poorly written directions. It took me an hour to find it, and that was after asking many people on the street. Beds are rock-hard. Very noisy, as it is located on a busy street. No amenities (kitchen, lockers, etc.). Fine just for a one night stop-over.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, freindly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: little noisey as no aircon windows were always open and street noise was little loud in the morning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdul Bari

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Abdul would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, receptionist Simora

Disliked: Direction for reaching the hostel should be clearly indicated by map with landmarks.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011

Liked: sink facillity in room

Disliked: close to the main road making the room noisey. Fan in the room not working and room too hot

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011

Liked: It was close to central station, but not as close as directions say!!

Disliked: VERY warm rooms with no locks in a bit of a sketchy neighbourhood, I didn't feel safe here at all! Also the directions given when booking were completely off, it took my friend and I almost a half hour to find.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

morten hojbjerre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 morten would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite near the train station and fairly cheap

Disliked: Had a very uncomfortable bed, no kitchen and social room, didn't take credit card

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

XINGFANG WANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: Location is close to Milan Central Station (but in reality you want to avoid that train station, as there's a lot of crimes near there) Cheap to stay (though not counting the amount of money you would lose from staying at here because all of your valuables get stolen)

Disliked: - Totally lacks security, if there is such a thing as security at all here - Owner has no morality, he will do anything for money - Do stay here if you want your valuables to be stolen and yourself accused of stealing According to HostelBookers.com website, Hostel Central Station in Milan, Italy has "friendly and helpful staff [which] will assist with any of your essential needs", "offer[s] clean, comfortable accommodation at affordable prices", and their staffs "understand exactly how to make your stop in Milan more pleasure and comfortable." These descriptions with Hostel Central Station all seemed true until I stayed there for 1 night on July 26, 2011. All of my computer, 600 euros, passport and a credit card were stolen from the hostel locker on the day of my stay (I have the police report from Milan as well as a letter from the Canadian Embassy in Rome proving this). Moreover, the hotel owner, Mr. Mingxi Wang (who also owns Hotel Central Station and several other hostels near Milan Central Station) accused me of stealing and extorting, just to avoid taking responsibilities for this incident. The hostel is fine in other aspects, but totally lacked security. In fact, there isn't such a thing as "security" while living there. Hostel Central Station does not have Closed Circuit TV monitoring, nor does it have individual room keys. All lockers were made of very fragile wood and located in a single shared room. My locker, which I had locked using a padlock, was cut. My computer, 600 euros, passport and a credit card were stolen. Another Thailand girl lost 2000 euros and a computer as well. Much to everyone's surprise, the hostel receptionist, Ms. Sun, was sitting there at the reception when all these happened in the hostel locker room. The hostel owner, Mr. Mingxi Wang, did not want to take any responsibilities, so he said I brought an already-cut lock myself and placed it on the locker to trick him. Mr. Mingxi Wang said that I purposefully took away my own stuff plus another girl's, and I'm just trying to extort money from him. He said, "you've done this many times at many different places before, haven't you?" "Now you want to trick me?" "All you want is money. I could have sent you to prison by talking to police (mind you the police in Milan only speak Italian, so only he can talk to the police), but I'm nice, so I'm letting you go". The receptionist also treated me as if I am a theif/liar while she knew what really happened. So I have not only lost my valuables, but also have been accused of stealing (how funny is this?). Do stay here if you want the same happen to you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The prize was OK

Disliked: Bathrooms could be better

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Steeper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main station so very convenient for passing through Milan. The man on reception was lovely and helpful.

Disliked: the directions given were a bit unclear. Right on the main road so very loud. Not near anything of tourist value. Rooms were awkwardly furnished (the twin room had too many dressers!) and no kitchen to use.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's around 10min walking to the Central station of Milan, so that's good if you have to catch an early train. The rooms and bathrooms are all very clean, and it all feels pretty safe. Overall you get what you pay for, it's not an amazing place but it will do for simple accomodation.

Disliked: The staff isn't really helpful at all, the women at the reception was playing World of Warcraft almost all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is a big + close to metro & central train station where you can find buses to airports

Disliked: no common room, place looks more like a 1*hotel, no AC - only fans

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: Wi-fi

Disliked: No lounge

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Had a TV. OK location - get a day pass for the metro and it's all good.

Disliked: It's just a boring hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are excellent. Two Chinese girls were very helpful and someone was there 24/7. Secure and great showers and toilets. Very clean. Good wifi. Great for cheap eats and Milan Central Station.

Disliked: Hard to find at first

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011

Liked: The bathroom is spacious and clean

Disliked: It's not so close to the station and the room is small

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachael Evans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious

Disliked: the directions werent very clear, it took us ages to find it. we only found it cos we bumped into a couple that were going there too. And if your not a couple and book into the double room, be warned there is a shower just casually on the side of the room........ lol

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: hard to say...maybe location

Disliked: No airconditioner! , noisy street ....


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels