HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hostel Central Station

Hostel | Viale Lunigiana 4, Milan, Italy 20125

69.1% Overall Rating

166 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

"We liked this property as we were booked in a six bed dorm and upon arrival were shown into a two bed room which was a pleasant surprise! The room was lovely and the best we have stayed in in a 'hostel.' The staff were…"

Read all Hostel Central Station reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Your reservation can be cancelled 3 days before. In case you cancel it witnin 3 days, the first night value to be cancelled shall be charged by your credit card.For Noshow we charge you the first night value. Breakfast service is from 7:00 and on, and costs 2 euro/person. We prefer cash payment on arrival. Credit card is NOT accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Bio city Hotel
43.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 89.4% 7 reviews
Villa Melchiorre
26.53 USD

Hotel 72.8% 29 reviews
Hotel Central Station
30.51 USD

Hostel 76.7% 425 reviews
Hotel Club
31.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 24 reviews
Hotel Demo
26.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 651 reviews
Affittacamere Central Station
21.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Monopole
32.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.8% 89 reviews
B&B I AM HERE - GIOIA 66
19.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

166 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Central Station'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 170 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Alberto Gómez Isassi

Alone

City break

04 May 2013 Jose Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: I used the hostel just to sleep for a few hours and everything seem right to me.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness

Disliked: Rather noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fernando Maffey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is rather small, but the rooms and baths are clean, and the beds are comfortable. Still more important, it is only six hundred meters away from the main Railway Station.

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable big double bed. Nice room.

Disliked: Nothing really

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station

Disliked: The neighborhood was a little scary

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rusminah Ridwan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013

Liked: Not too far from the central station

Disliked: There is not lockers to put our stuffs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maneesh Dhooper

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Maneesh would recommend this property

Liked: Location - it is perfect if u want to catch an early morning train..It is not 200 metres from the central station as mentioned..Never the less, it is still about a 15 minutes walk... there is no curfew..I had to arrive at 1 am and there was no problem

Disliked: The shower could have been cleaner...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is for the location. It is the closests to Milano Centrale. It is not in a great neighborhood. It is safe and clean inside. The staff is pleasant. It's a bed and a nice shower. The rest is what you make of it.

Disliked: Hard to find because the directions are not correct of the web-site.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Munteanu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very close to the railway station and very cheap.

Disliked: The door at the room 111 needs repairing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Very clean. Modern and very clean bathroom with good hot showers. Nice, clean linen and towels provided. A microwave and kettle available. Close to Milan Central Station which makes getting around easy. It's on the first floor which is good if you have heavy suitcases.

Disliked: One very minor thing is that it's not marked from the outside. There are no signs on the outside to show you where it is, but if you look on the doorbell list outside the building you can find the hotel name.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked our room on the day that we needed it and there was no problem when we showed up 20 min later to check in (we couldn't get a train that day and didn't have anywhere to stay) the location was perfect, less than a five minute walk from the station and relatively good restaurants at reasonable prices in the area. Clean room with comfy bed and warm water in the shower. WiFi worked well (handled a Skype call back home easily), not much more to ask for.

Disliked: Shower was in the room in a frosted glass cubicle that hides nothing... an ensuite would have been a little more comfortable, not sure why you would have the shower in the room like that but I don't think it's the same in shared rooms (we booked a double). Had to leave our key at the desk when we left (no big deal but worth mentioning...)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Kelpsaite

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 November 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 10mins walk from the central station. The girl at the reception speaks good English, I needed to leave at 5 am and she was nice enough to wake up for me. The towel and linen were clean.

Disliked: The street outside the hostel is extremely noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quite.

Disliked: No breakfast. Even though internet was free, no computers to surf!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hotel, nice location, running by Chinese peoples, but very simple not outclass.

Disliked: very simple,

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tristin Westphal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Tristin would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and had wifi in the room

Disliked: No lockers or locks on room doors, sketchy location, mosquitoes were quite vicious, not much to do around hostel, found a cockroach in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean

Disliked: Too noise.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, rooms nice.

Disliked: Difficult to find as there is no sign outside.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LAURA BORRAS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: Cleanliness and location. Bath.

Disliked: Room next to the road, very noisy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly near the station and cheaper than any other place we looked at online

Disliked: We arrived after 22.00hrs and it was dark. We struggled to find the property as there was no visible signage. we thought the building was an apartment block

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is 10 minutes walk to Milan's main railway station (Centrale) which connects to the much more interesting parts of the city by metro, bus and tram (which shares its tracks with other motorists and thus takes forever - avoid it if possible). If you are looking for nightlife (and you should, because the Piazza XXIV Maggio district is an excellent night out) this is fine, because the buses and trams run to Centrale station till at least 2.30am. The area around the hostel, though a bit rundown, is well-equipped with local amenities, such as cheap bars and restaurants, grocers, an internet cafe. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, although they are really close to the floor. In the room we stayed in, the beds were arranged in a rather scattered fashion, along with a huge wardrobe, and other furniture, including a TV which did not have an aerial. All the accommodation is situated on the ground floor of a large building shared with other businesses including a dental practice, so close the inner window shutters to avoid being awoken by morning rush hour traffic (the outer window panes can be left open to make the heat bearable). Towels are provided and wi-fi is available. There are two clean and well-presented bathrooms with a shower in each, but the hostel is rather small so there are unlikely to be queues. Despite the lack of a communal area, the hostel does sell bottled water, pop and Heineken at cheap prices.

Disliked: The fact that there are no keys to the rooms (the receptionists said there was only one key per room, but we were never allowed to actually have it, even though we asked), and they appear to be left unlocked all day and night is slightly worrying, and the two receptionists, who seemed to be on rotation for the entire duration of our stay, seemed completely blase about this. Having said this, the reception desk was never unmanned so any would-be intruder would have to get past that. The area around the hostel is a bit run-down, and local businesses include a seedy-looking gay club and a table-dancing bar, and it - and the hostel itself - seems to attract a lot of Chinese and other ethnic minorities. The receptionists (also Chinese) were a bit thick and didn't seem to understand what a postbox was when I asked in English where the nearest one was to mail a postcard. They laughed rather rudely at me and claimed that there was "no post in Milan" - which is perhaps the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard (not to mention, completely untrue).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012

Liked: It's close to the central station. So it's a good place for staying when you're leaving the next day from Milan. The staff is very friendly. The beds are comfortable and they provide free towels.

Disliked: There's no kitchen or common room to hang out. It doesn't really seem like a nice backpackersplace.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

stephanie brewer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: clean good rooms, good helpful staff

Disliked: not as close to the station as it says. technically it is next to the station but about 10 minute walk to the entrance of the station

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012

Liked: The fact that is near to Central Station. So, it's is appopriate for both very early and very late arrival.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pratiques pour ceux qui ont besoin d aler tot a Malpensa, pres de la gare, ensuite bus qui aprtent de la gare pour la aeroport.

Disliked: Bruyant car au niveau de la rue, mais cela n empeche pas de dormir et c est un hotel plus de passage que pour reelellement visiter milan a mon avis.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012

Liked: Nada

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels