We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel Galla

Hostel | Via Galla Placida 5, Milan, Italy 20131

66.4% Overall Rating

84 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/07/2013)

"most of the staff are really nice and helpful, atmosphere is relaxed, hostel was easy to find and location is ok there is few minutes walk to nearest metro. kitchen is available though its not the best equipped. overall…"

Read all Hotel Galla reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

From 1 September 2012 shall enter into force in Milan the city tax called " Tourist Tax". All those staying in Milan in a hotel of one star pay an amount of EUR 1.00 per person per night. Children under 18 years of age are free. This amount is NOT 'INCLUDED in the price of the room and must be paid (in cash).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Alba
20.24 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 76.0% 293 reviews
Hotel Chopin
24.04 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.7% 13 reviews
Hotel Ambra
12.65 USD

Hotel 1 star 70.4% 185 reviews
Hotel Adelchi
18.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 58.6% 100 reviews
Hostel Colours
26.55 USD

Hostel 78.9% 172 reviews
New Generation Hostel Urban
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.2% 92 reviews
Hotel Ca' Grande
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 266 reviews
Hotel Lugano
42.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 55.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.4%

Overall Rating

84 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Galla'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
65.6%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Feiran Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Feiran would recommend this property

Liked: I met some new friends in this hostel and it's a really nice place.

Disliked: Feiran left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 September 2013

Liked: Location is reasonable

Disliked: The staff did not answer the door fo 20 minutes; staff was inpolite when we asked to get a check-in; we were not provided with the demanded rooms; the hotel blamed hostelbookers for the "mistake" in providing the requested rooms (although the hotel had contacted me in advance and asked if I still request 2 rooms); we were not provided with breakfast nor towels

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013

Liked: Reasonably small and quiet. Breakfast provided if required.

Disliked: Only one bathroom for females and one for males. Toilet paper dispenser didn't work so we had to get our own. Shower head and door in female bathroom was broken. Communal wet bathmat on floor. Bathroom generally not very clean. One of the men at reception tried to claim that he'd given us 20 Euro too much change back the night before when we paid our tariff, which definitely wasn't the case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most of the staff are really nice and helpful, atmosphere is relaxed, hostel was easy to find and location is ok there is few minutes walk to nearest metro. kitchen is available though its not the best equipped. overall i would stay there again, it felt safe and i met some nice people there

Disliked: well i hated that toiletpaper was too many times impossible to get out of the box.. and one old guy in reception was unfriendly (he did behave friendly sometimes..maybe the language barrier was the cause....)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: I dislike that hostelbookers mixed up my reservation and we were unable to stay at Hotel Galla until the last night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maiju Karhu

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Maiju would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place with a good breakfast and very helpful and pleasant staff. :)

Disliked: More paintings to the corridor :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: I liked that the people who worked here where very nice and that it was 24 hours.

Disliked: I disliked that my friend and I got bit by bed bugs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, Very clean, new towels and linens every day.

Disliked: The showers were a bit old, but they worked properly, so I guess it's not really a problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap with nice service staff.

Disliked: Very small bathroom

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2011

Liked: I don't know, I weren't it the hotel itself

Disliked: When I arrived, they explained us there had been an informatic problem, and my reservation was disappeared until a week before our arrival. They sent us to a guest house on the limit of the urban area, in the other part of the city very far from the centre (we had to use the train instead of the underground!), in a suburb where there were nothing but a supermarket. Moreover, I had book for two rooms, one double and another single, and we finally were in a unique room for the three people we were. They reduced our prince in only 13€, "because of the inconvenience", but we were very far from our destination and very very far from the centre, and we were in only one room, instead of the two we had book. A totally fraud!!! I don't recomend it!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So not a hostel but a hotel. Had a three bed room to myself. Was put into a different hotel around the corner that the owner also owned, but seemed to be the same.

Disliked: Far from the city center.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 January 2011

Liked: it is really cheap. it was very difficult to find the place at first, the instructions given were unclear.

Disliked: the service staff has severe mood swings, maybe it is the Italian way, but they were very forthcoming in informing us that Asians make the most mess.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

ChunZhin Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Shared bathroom, looks more like hostel

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -pretty good location. not far from metro or the center. -

Disliked: -Noisy. Very thin walls so you hear everything;not suitable for peace seekers. -no TV (good and bad) -family run. service&hospitality can be improved. -wireless internet not very convenient. -if you are staying longer than a night, better bring your own towel+shower gel/shampoo. They do offer but the towel is the thinnest ever and they forget to give u shampoo again. -overall friendly but sometimes too straight so can be a bit rude sometimes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very nice and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not badly located, it takes just 5 min to the nearest underground station (Lambrate FS). Highly recommendable!

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIT YEE Chan

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

02 December 2010 KIT YEE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room is clean and facilities are neat. Public area are newly refurbished, nice place to stay for the price.

Disliked: Would be better if there are 1 more shared bathroom....was waited a little bit long for shower in the morning. Slightly far from the metro station.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Cihlar

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic owners, helpful staff, it's located near two supermarkets, plenty of restaurants and pizzerias, reception open 24hrs. Every day you get fresh pillowcases, towels and shower gel / shampoo. Approximately 8 minutes from metro. The big advantage is it's quietness at night - there is no traffic directly outside the hotel! And of course, one of the cheapest hotel in Milano!

Disliked: I'm a thin guy, but even for me, the shower space was too narrow. Except for that, the hotel was fantastic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels.

Disliked: Lack of toilet boards

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: aa

Disliked: bb

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

24 October 2010

Liked: The room and bathrooms were both clean, the staff were helpfull and funny with a bit of personality!

Disliked: The place was terribly out of the way from both the train station and main sights, although once you worked out Milan's Metro system there was a station nearby and traspotation was a peice of cake.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite a good place to stay for a couple of days.

Disliked: A little far away from the metro station ~10 min on foot .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nikolaos Tsiskakis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 October 2010 Nikolaos would recommend this property

Liked: Nice price and stuff

Disliked: Dificult to find a free parking for car.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2010

Liked: cleanhelpful owner

Disliked: location, not as close to metro as anticipated

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were realy kind, clean and nice rooms.

Disliked: only two badrooms


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels